visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Monday, February 23, 2009

Accidentally Dead by Dakota Cassidy


BLURBS:
It’s a lousy first day on the job for Nina Blackman when a patient, loopy from the anesthesia, bites her. At least he was cute. But for real drama she can’t beat the next evening. Nina wakes up with a set of razor-sharp fangs, bionic vision, supersonic hearing, and a taste for blood. But there’s a good explanation: It’s her patient, Long Island vampire Greg Statleon. Actually they’re perfect for each other—if Nina’s willing to commit to one man for eternity.

THOUGHTS:
Potty mouthed Nina Blackman, I love her. I think I love everything that is feisty, opinionated, difficult, independent and head strong as a female heroine. Nina is like a gangster when she talks, I think the mobsters will be scared when they talk to her. LOL. I find it really entertaining and super funny. Her best friends Wanda Schwartz (the human) and Marty Andrews (now Werewolf) are the best, they are waay cool. They're there for each other thru thick or thin, even if one of them is diffucult as hell. I wish I have the same tolerance for myself. Like Nina I don't do color wheel, way to girly. (points for that). The best part of this whole story- Gregori Statleon, HAWT! and Vampire. Cassidy has this unique take on the vampire thing, well at least her book is the first that I read that Vamps can create illusion, like the castle that Gregori got. And that on your 500th year old on being a Vamp you have to get blood bonded with a bloodline or forever turn to dust...

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Go Ask Alice by Anonymous

BLURBS:
This is a very powerful book, based on the real experiences of a teenage girl so isolated from those around her she can only talk to her diary. When Alice finds a group of friends who accept her she also finds drugs, which become her only escape from an increasingly unbearable reality: 'Nothingness', she writes, 'is a lot better than somethingness.' This is a very mature and lucid account of her experiences, far from being just a stream of consciousness. Alice has a strong command of language. The passages where she describes the effects of drugs on her body and mind are vivid and frightening, but at the same time they show quite graphically the seductive nature of drugs. The psychiatrist's report at the end on Alice and her situation balances the more intimate, personal style. Exactly how real the story is is still in doubt - it is so well written and the horrors so graphic that it reads more like a brilliant work of fiction. But however true or imaginary, this is a harsh, disturbing account of the effects of alienation which has sold over a million copies since its first publication in 1972, and has not dated at all. Necessary reading for all teenagers and their parents.
THOUGHTS:
First of all the owner of the diary is UNNAMED, she is not Alice. The only Alice in the diary is another runaway that she met in Denver. I know there is a lot of contoversy sorrounding this book. The Authenticity is being questioned, either way, it's still pretty damn good and the scenarios she vividly wrote really happened sometime in the 60's and for all we know it is still happening somewhere. Reading this reminds me so much of Edie Sedgewick (refer to Sienna Miller's character in my favorite Factory Girl or the movie Ciao! Manhattan- you cannot find it in an ordinary store though, as this is underground 60's movie). The Diary was so sad, it all starts with a game that involves 10 drinks laced with LSD. I found myself wishing that she could stop and that she could say no, until eventually she's already addicted. It is definitely a mind opener, our future kids should read this when they reach the 4th grade so they'll find out the inevitable consequences just in case they are thinking of engaging. I have interviewed a lot of people that do drugs but none of them came as close to what the main character felt everytime she have a "trip". A must read.

A Certain Slant of Light - Laura Whitcomb

BLURBS:
Helen died 130 years ago as a young woman. Unable to enter heaven because of a sense of guilt she carried at death, she has been silent and invisible but conscious and sociable across the generations. Her spirit has been sustained by its attachment to one living human host after another, including a poet and, most recently, a high-school English teacher. While she sits through his class one day, she becomes aware of James and he–unlike the mortals all around them–is aware of her as well. James, who also died years earlier, inhabits the body of a contemporary teen, Billy. James and Helen fall in love, he shows her how to inhabit the body of a person whose spirit has died but who still lives and breathes, and the two begin to unfold the mysteries of their own pasts and those of their adolescent hosts. Jenny, whose body Helen now uses, is the only child of strict religious parents who controlled her beyond what her spirit could endure. Billy's spirit left his body after a string of tragedies resulting from drug abuse and domestic violence. James and Helen court in both modern and old-fashioned ways; here is a novel in which explicit sex is far from gratuitous or formulaic. Whitcomb writes with a grace that befits Helen's more modulated world while depicting contemporary society with sharp insight.
THOUGHTS:
Do you believe in ghost? If you were to ask me, I've no idea. I haven't seen any apparitions and haven't sensed one by far. I do believe that we have soul. How about heaven? Certainly but I'm not sure if it is what I picture it to be. This book by Laura Whitcomb has a beautiful ending, a Light finding her peace and literally a soulmate. LOL. Whitcomb made a character that will grow on you as they developed through out the book. it challenges each one of us not to take love for granted. It has that unique theme. the first 4 Chapters was abit mediocre but once it catch up it becomes a page turner. It puts me on the edge to find out the life of the body that they dwell in and it surprises me.

Wuthering Heights - Emily Jane Brontë

SUMMARY:
First published in 1847, Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights ranks high on the list of major works of English literature. A brooding tale of passion and revenge set in the Yorkshire moors, the novel has inspired no fewer than four film versions in modern times. Early critics did not like the work, citing its excess of passion and its coarseness. A second edition was published in 1850, two years after the author’s death. Sympathetically prefaced by her sister Charlotte, it met with greater success, and the novel has continued to grow in stature ever since. In the novel a pair of narrators, Mr. Lockwood and Nelly Dean, relate the story of the foundling Heathcliff’s arrival at Wuthering Heights, and the close-knit bond he forms with his benefactor’s daughter, Catherine Earnshaw. One in spirit, they are nonetheless social unequals, and the saga of frustrated yearning and destruction that follows Catherine’s refusal to marry Heathcliff is unique in the English canon. The novel is admired not least for the power of its imagery, its complex structure, and its ambiguity, the very elements that confounded its first critics. Emily Brontë spent her short life mostly at home, and apart from her own fertile imagination, she drew her inspiration from the local landscape—the surrounding moorlands and the regional architecture of the Yorkshire area—as well as her personal experience of religion, of folklore, and of illness and death. Dealing with themes of nature, cruelty, social position, and indestructibility of the spirit, Wuthering Heights has surpassed the more successful Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre in academic and popular circles.
THOUGHTS:
The love story between Heathcliff and Catherine forms the crust of Wuthering Heights. A love story not tender but rather ferocious one.Wuthering Heights is an intense Gothic romantic fiction.How dark can a character get? Dark enough to influence the tone of whole tale by his own existence. That’s what Heathcliff’s character does to Wuthering Heights. Heathcliff’s tortured and frustrated emotion called ’’Love’’ for Catherine expresses itself in his cruel acts. Catherine’s character is nothing but a mirror image of that of Heathcliff’s. She is as wild and fierce as Heathcliff can be. At one point in the book, Catherine speaks about Heathcliff, ’’...he’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same...’’ This explains the bond between the two protagonists. Wuthering Heights comes as a dark and brooding tale of love lost and regained. Author Emily Bronte creates mystic atmosphere around her characters. She creates stubborn characters and how their stubborness creeps on their relationship and eventually this very stubborness kills them. However the reader feels an array of emotions for the central characters. One likes them, pities them, hates them and mourns for the same characters. The climax of the book is somehow dual. It sees end of two wild lives but the end of their lives starts their afterlife together. In the same way as Catherine and Heathcliff’s character’s don’t undergo changes, young Cathy and Hareton change themselves for love and defy the stubbornness that left Heathcliff and Catherine thirsty for love. Somehow the end of this dark book turns out to be a happy one. Happy for the souls who meet after death as well as the young couple who through out the book, never seemed to even distantly like each other.

Lullaby by Chuck Palahnuik

BLURBS:
"I need to rebel against myself. It's the opposite of following your bliss. I need to do what I most fear." Beleaguered reporter Carl Streator is stuck writing about SIDS and grieving for his dead wife and child; he copes by building perfect model homes and smashing them with a bare foot. But things only get worse: Carl accidentally memorizes an ancient African "culling song" that kills anyone he focuses on while mentally reciting it, until killing "gets to be a bad habit." His only friend, Nash, a creepy necrophiliac coroner, amuses himself with Carl's victims. Salvation of a sort comes in the form of Helen Hoover Boyle, a witch making a tidy living as a real estate broker selling-and quickly reselling-haunted houses. She, too, knows the culling song and finances her diamond addiction by freelancing as a telepathic assassin. Carl and Helen hit the road with Helen's Wiccan assistant, Mona, and her blackmailing boyfriend, Oyster, on a search-and-destroy mission for all outstanding copies of the culling song, as well as an all-powerful master tome of spells, a grimoire. Hilarious satire, both supernatural and scatological, ensues, the subtext of which seems to be Palahniuk's conviction that information has become a weapon ("Imagine a plague you catch through your ears"), and the bizarre love affair between Helen and Carl offers the lone linear thread in a field of narrative flak bursts.
THOUGHTS:
Kids who like books better than sports tend to get beat up quite a bit. We rationalize it of course, explaining that brains conquer brawns and that the muscle-bound jock of today is the oil-change guy of tomorrow. But secretly, in the dark hours, we wish that our reading gave us some kind of tangible ability to fight back, a way to even the score with bullies. Sticks and stones can break our bones, but wouldn't it be nice if words were deadly?
Chuck Palahniuk has written a novel that gives the answer to that very question. Palahniuk is most famous for his cult, literal and metaphorical, novel Fight Club. To describe Palahnuik's style is to describe his manic plots for it is in weaving the most disparate of elements together that Palahniuk works his craft. A split personality that becomes an icon (Fight Club), a messiah on a suicide mission (Survivor), and a con man who shills personal redemption through the Heimlich maneuver (Choke) and show off Palahniuk's maddening ability to take the most maddening of concepts and spin them into clever narrative.
In Lullaby Palahniuk takes his already wild ideas to a frantic new level. The book is ostensibly about a 'culling song' that can kill simply by recitation. This song is discovered by a reporter, Carl Streator, doing a series on Sudden Infant Death syndrome who "accidentally" becomes a serial killer. Added to this is Mona, a Wiccan, her scheming boyfriend Oyster, and Helen, a real estate agent who specializes in properties with high turnover rates, mainly because the walls of the lovely homes have a tendency to bleed and have ghostly messages scratched in them. These characters are brought together to destroy every copy of the culling song, a task which takes them on a cross-country road trip filled with dark magic, mediations on the media and an explanation of why tumbleweeds weren't really part of the old west. Palahniuk's attention to detail is intense, bordering on the obsessive, but rather than sidetracking the plot it adds lush detail to this strange pseudo-fantasy world that Palahniuk's writing invokes.

Friday, February 6, 2009

Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher

BLURBS:
Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker--his classmate and crush--who committed suicide two weeks earlier. On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out how he made the list. Through Hannah and Clay's dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.
THOUGHTS:
Where should I start?
With the author - Mr. Asher did a spectacular job, truly.
The story it self - I agree with the New York Times, it is a mystery, eulogy and ceremony.
I understand the horrors that Hannah faced before she committed the suicide. Not thru first hand experience, but how it was written in the book. Uh-huh, it was that good, and heart wrenching and sad. I don't know why, but for some reason high school in America can be a dangerous place. The gossips get out of hand and harmless actions can turn out to be a beginning of a tragedy. It lead other kids to their untimely death. Either suicide or killing other students. (The Columbine Massacre for example). Are they too weak? too doubtful of themselves? Reading through this I am scared for my kid to be in high school, I know it's silly but I can't help it. I've watch, read and listened to too many stories about high school here. Can you blame me?
Ok so back to story. As far as revenge goes or having closure, our heroine Hannah got the job done. Completely exposing the people who thought everybody knew, to the other people who have done you wrong was brilliant but killing yourself totally kills the sweetness of it. The reaction from this said individuals were priceless, I pictured it like watching it on TV. Do they deserved being blamed? probably. Was hannah being unfair? yes, in some extent. But she clearly feels that it was necessary and I think ending it all and giving out those audio tapes set her free or at least I hope that did it.
P.SThis book reminds me of the movie: Odd Girl Out (Alex Vega), Speak (Kirsten Stewart)

Thursday, February 5, 2009

Everlost by neal Shusterman

BLURBS:
Nick and Allie don't survive the car accident...
...but their souls don't exactly get where they're supposed to get either. Instead, they're caught halfway between life and death, in a sort of limbo known as Everlost: a shadow of the living world, filled with all the things and places that no onger exist. It's a magical, yet dangerous place where bands of lost children run wild and anyone who stands in the same place too long sinks to the center of the Earth.
When they find Mary, the self-proclaimed queen of lost kids, Nick feels like he he's found a home, but Allie isn't satisfied spending eternity between worlds. Against all warnings, Allie begins learning the "Criminal Art" of haunting, and ventures into dangerous territory, where a monster called the McGill threatens all the souls of Everlost.
In this imaginative novel, Neal Shusterman explores questions of life, death, and what just might lie in between.
THOUGHTS:
As you can see I read alot, I read more than I have time for. which is bad ina lot of ways because I always end up wishing the days are longer. So it is really such a drag when I finish a book and no matter how much other people like it, I beg to differ. Like this book ofr example, Everlot, yes I got lost literally, the characters are so under developed and sadly it is poorly written. The plot is scattered and there's alot of questionable patterns. The lack of conclusion bothers me. I think it was kind of funny how the story says that if you are a ghost you cannot stand on the "live earth" or you'll sink into oblivion, and so Nicka and Allie made this "Snow Shoes" or as Leif calls it "Road Shoes", I think that was really lame. I do appreciate the imagination. And It makes me ponder if there's really such place when you die? -something to ask on the book club. A lot of people rate this book as a 5. Maybe it's just not for me.

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

For Francine...
BLURBS:
Rae, nicknamed Sunshine by her stepfather, is the baker at her family’s coffeehouse. She’s happy getting up at 4 am to make cinnamon rolls for the breakfast rush, and dealing with people and food all day. But one evening she needed somewhere she could be alone for a little while, and there hadn’t been any trouble out at the lake for years. She never thought of vampires. Until they found her.
THOUGHTS:
This book was recommended by Coralyn after my life with Stephanie Meyer. At first I couldn't get passed Chapter 1. I couldn't identify with the character and I didn't really agree much with the decisions that she made. The writing still was abit disorienting. The bakery part and the whole location of the story was a bit hard to imagine. Plus I was still in the process of separating myself from the Twilight books and at that time I feel like there was no other book that can get passed it. But when "Rae" or Sunshine got kidnapped when she get all sentimental and went to her grandma's deserted cabin by oh whatdya know vampires. Then I started getting interested. Not solely because there is a vampire involved in the story but because I am new on the whole "transmutter" thing. And this is actually kind of nice because from all the vamp books that I read the vampire Constatine in this book isn't the drop dead gorgeous kind. I will not give out any spoilers, just give the book a chance.

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

A Child Called "It" by Dave Pelzer

For Jethro...
BLURBS:
Dave Pelzer shares his unforgettable story of the many abuses he suffered at the hands of his alcoholic mother and the averted eyes of his neglectful father. Someone with no one to turn to, his dreams barely kept him alive. Through each of his struggles, readers will find themselves enduring his pain, comforting his loneliness and fighting for his will to survive.
THOUGHTS:
This book is one of the reasons why I do not read much autobiographies. Other than crying in movies I cry for books like this. I take the whole story very seriously, I feel their pain, their joy, their frustrations, their hopes, etc. So far this is one of the most powerful, inspiring, and heart breaking book that I've ever read. When I read this 2 years ago I couldn't finish it, from what I have remembered this happened when Dave was 5 -12 years old. A autobiography about a hild being tortured by his own mother is just sick. Renaming your child as "IT" is all kinds of wrong. Asking your child to lie on top of the stove burning his flesh, feeding him ammonia because he has to steal food because he hasn't been fed for days, was just disgusting. I consider the whole child abuse as effed up as the Saw movies or whatever it is considered at the same level. And what kind of a father just resigns to the fact that your wife is a mother from hell? How can a father stand by and watch his son get tortured physically and emotionally? I have to put down the book after the drunk mother stabbed Dave by the chest and continued treating him as an animal. I consider this a hard read. A complete nightmare from another child being shared. I finished after a month of hiatus. I need to know what happened to Dave, and I was very glad about the ending... Until my co-worker told me that he have 3 other books. But no sorry Jethro, I am not reading the other two, so let me know how that goes for you after you finish this first one.
P.S
The same level of emotions and a similar child abuse story can be seen on the movie "An American Crime" another true story of how the child named Sylvia Likens got murdered. Starring Ellen Paige (Juno)

Wake by Lisa McMann

BLURBS:
For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people's dreams is getting old. Especially the falling dreams, the naked-but-nobody-notices dreams, and the sex-crazed dreams. Janie's seen enough fantasy booty to last her a lifetime.
She can't tell anybody about what she does -- they'd never believe her, or worse, they'd think she's a freak. So Janie lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn't want and can't control.
Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else's twisted psyche. She is a participant....
THOUGHTS:
Very unique, fast paced and have that good concept. Janie is a dream catcher. Never had a dream of her own. The story was freaky in a good way, I mean I wonder, how one would feel if you get suck into a dream with people you know? Sharing their nightmares, fantasies, and even memories that they hold dear and secret. Maybe Intriguing and embarassing, who knows? rhetorical. I like how Janie evolves into a frantic teenager with this weird gift/diability/curse into someone who contributes and makes a difference. Typical heroine, nonetheless, it's the personality of the character that I look at. I like how Ms. McMann conjure a story so fast paced some sentences are a 3 liner (I suppose you can call it prose) that some of them did not really match up to the weight of the subject, but that becomes an understatement after a few chapters. I was left hanging though? There was a lot of unanswered questions (of course, aren't they always) that I was hoping to get at least a hint or at least a preview if this will be answered on the 2nd book, oh I know I am a little impatient. Again.

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Revealers by Amanda Marrone


BLURBS:

Jules has a rebellious streak, a massive crush on Connor, and the abilities of a Revealer witch. By day, she and her coven friends seem like typical high school seniors. By night, they have the power to make werewolves, vampires, and ghosts reveal themselves, so they can destroy them. It's not exactly cheerleading, but at least the girls know they're doing the world some good. One by one, Jules's friends turn eighteen and are initiated into the coven's inner circle. And one by one, they are getting completely freaked out. Jules is the youngest, and though her friends are too scared tell her what's going on, something's clearly not right. As her birthday approaches, Jules realizes she's got to find out what's behind the shadows of her coven before it's too late to save her friends...and herself. But what she discovers may be too powerful for even the toughest witches to defeat.


THOUGHTS:

It has a very good twist but nothing that you can't already figure out, once you get to that part when it was Sacha's turn to be 18 and get initiated. Jule's rebellion appeals so much to me though, I share the same sentiments with her. Seriously, old school? The coven still makes them fly with their brooms, the still use crystal balls, they still have those cauldrons and yeah they still wear cloaks that gives them that "Little red Riding Hood" look. Even the newbie Vampire Kelsey, that Margo staked noticed that. Bravo for Miss Marrone for not doing the conventional boy-girl lives happily ever after. Like in her other book Uninvited the first love of the main characters turned out to be such douche they ended up in hell. And mother's signing off their daughter's soul to demons? I know shocking and so not cool. Oh and what's up with that part of the story that she was dissing - I believe the Twilight book? that was pretty obvious, the fans might get all butt hurt about it. It was all cool to me though, I find it pretty funny actually and she does make a good point, there really is something creepy about 300++ year old vamps making high school kids their blood bonded mates. I still love vamps though. The spells that the girls have in the book was super lame too. Reveal, Steal, Light, Out, blah... But after all that, I was still entertained, I like the blend of vampires and wiches, the plot was pretty cool. so the money that I paid didn't really go to waste.

Sunday, February 1, 2009

Evermore by Alyson Noel

SPOILERS ALERT! I can't help it I'm sorry.
BLURBS:
Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people’s thoughts, and know a person’s life story by touch. Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste…
Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition. He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets. Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she’s thinking—and he’s the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head. She doesn’t know who he really is—or what he is. Damen equal parts light and darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies.
THOUGHTS:
Let me tell you how truly happy I am for buying this book. Let me tell you that I am probably one of first thousand people who read this book because it was just released this week and that I am extremely smug about that. Let me tell you how much I love reading every page of it. How I swoon like an idiot on how romantic the whole "undying love" thing and how mortified I am because I have a constant smile everytime Haven-Ever and Miles do their conversation and tolerated each others sarcasm. Let me tell you how much it lead me to believe that this is another vampire novel that I get drawn to yet again. Let me tell you how shocked I am that it was so clearly not after Chapter 23. Ever was convinced she was a freak because after an accident that caused the demise of her whole family she started having psychic abilities and can see people's aura. So she chose to drown them all out by cranking up her ipod in to its utmost volume and listen to the likes of Sex Pistols, The Cure, Nine Inch Nails, etc (and all those bands that I love) and hides in those hideous hoodies and sunglasses. But then Damen shows up will all his glory tuning out all of it. ok so kind of like Edward with Bella, seriously people let us stop comparing Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Romance YA books with Twilight, it's getting old. And like I said, I love it how in every direction it mislead me on believing that yep Damen and Drina is yet another blood sucking vampire that I love. But nope they are Immortals, extraordinary eternal. Yes imagine my glee and yes this is book #5 on series that I'll wait for. I have to wait until August this year for the second book. This is worth my $10.00 and frankly I felt like it deserved more since the only part that suck was Ever was so dang stubborn worst than you and me combined. I wish the next book can shed more light on how Damen really discovered the potion of immortality. Please read this book, not only the story is awesome but the author is really passionate about her books and is sincerely wanted to reach out to her fans. We chat. =)
Reading this book I know my aura is in Yellow (optimistic, happy, intellectual, friendly-none the negative) and Pink (Love, sincerity, friendship) right now.Happy Reading..
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos