visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Bride of Casa Dracula by Marta Acosta


BLURBS:
buy here: amazon.com
author's web: Marta Acsota

Milagro De Los Santos is having serious problems planning her wedding to fabulous Oswald Grant, M.D. Her future in-laws loathe her, her dog just died, and Oswald's family has a genetic anomaly that makes them crave blood. Then her extravagant best friend hijacks the role of wedding coordinator, and the secretive Vampire Council assigns conniving Cornelia Ducharme to guide the couple through the ancient vampire marriage rituals.


To top it all off, Milagro's career is on the skids. She's reduced to ghost-writing the memoirs of a loony little man who claims to be a shapeshifter. And why does Cornelia's decadent, way too attractive brother, Ian, always show up whenever Milagro is away from Oswald? When a series of accidents interferes with wedding plans, Oswald worries that Milagro is cracking under the pressure, Is she just paranoid, or is a hidden enemy trying to make sure Milagro doesn't wed the undead?

THOUGHTS:
The story so far... Oswald has proposed to Milagro by the end of the 2nd book, they were both thrilled and Milagro couldn't be any happier. She's marrying the one she loves and in turn he loves her back. Her best friend Nancy appoints herself as the Wedding Planner and was doing a fantastic job keeping Oswald's mom at a safe distance while she writes a memoir for the weirdo and self proclaimed shifter Don Pedro, everything seems to be in place. It was her dream come true, until it's not...

I cannot believe the surprises that I got from this book!!! I finished the book at 12mn, mouth hanging open, sighing and grinning like an idiot. I was shocked at the turn of events, sad that it happened and relieved at the same time. Ms. Acosta that was brilliant. Her recipe: the seduction, intensity, hilarity and mystery that is Milagro De los Santos, add more of Ian Ducharme and less of the dull and workaholic Oswald K. Grant, a sexy love scene that was written with passion not pornographic, an unknown killer, subtle werewolf and shifter involvement. It was perfect. (cheers! to a glass of blood)

Another amazing book from Marta Acosta, this marks the change of everything in Milagros life. It's the book that the fans have been waiting for. Full of intense and emotional scenarios. Milagro's growth of character showed in every chapter of this book. I am glad that she is still herself only better. Bride of Casa Dracula is so far my favorite book in this series. I cannot wait for the release of book 4.


Saturday, September 26, 2009

Vampire Kisses Books 2-6 by Ellen Schreiber

  • Kissing Coffins - In search for her Vampire love, Goth girl Raven sets too to visit her Aunt in a place she calls Hipsterville. But instead of only bringing Alexander back, she also bought the harbinger of chaos, Alexander's nemesis - Jagger, brother of Luna, Alexander's ex-fiancĂ©.
 Fun, quick read for a boring night with no good show on TV or while waiting for the books that you have ordered to arrive. Don't expect a great mystery though.



  •  Vampireville - This is where this series get better. Not only Raven pretends to be a vampire bonded to Alexander for eternity she is now acting as Nancy Drew while looking for the hidden lair of the nefarious Maxwell twins. Arch-enemy Trevor got entangled in this vampire revenge, Luna- vampire teen who got stood up by the altar was planning to take Trevor as his mate. Or is that really the plan? Once again join Raven and her cohorts in this enjoyable read.

 I wish that Schreiber would let at least one other mortal character finds out that Alexander is indeed a child of the night so Raven won't be burdened with all the secrets.


  • Dance with a Vampire - The Maxwell twins fled town, our resident Goth and Vampire wanna be Raven and her Prince of the Night Alexander has finally free of stress - not!. Young brother of the Maxwell twins -Valentine decided to show up. Is he as evil as his older brother Jagger? What exactly is his plan for Raven's own - Billy?

 While Schreiber like to call Alexander our resident vampire, he still remains the less appealing character in this book. I am bored reading the parts that he's in it, unless it involves the sly Trevor. When Alexander's said Trevor is more like a vampire than him. I agreed. No kidding. Alexander's character needs to step up, I am beginning to think of him as a loser and rooting more on Trevor-Raven angst.

Books 2-6 is part of my 3-4-5 Reading Challenge

  •  Coffin Club - School is out! Alexander took off leaving Raven at Dullsville. it's not what you think, he took off to bring his nemesis young brother back to him. But being Raven she had to see Alexander, so she set off to have a summer at her Aun Libby's place back in Hipsterville. Drawn to this Gothic bar named Coffin Club she decided to visit it once more. Two things: to see if Jagger is still in town and to belong. It was her dream club only she discovered something much more underground- or should I say unworldly. Lurking behind locked door was the real Coffin Club, where vampires party and just be themselves. There's a mystery though, who is this Phoenix person? What is he planning to do? And most of all how is she ever going to tell Alexander on what she knows?
With a surprising turn of events, I finally find Alexander interesting. But only at the last part of this book. Better late than never.

  • Royal Blood - After a summer of adventure, it was time to go back to school. It was bliss. No more Maxwell siblings to ruin the day, no more vampire planning to take over Hipsterville. But then Alexander got a mail from his parents saying that they are coming home. His parents are the classic vampires with cape and all. There's also a great change. Raven is maturing she started thing about career. She and Becky see eye to eye too. And let's not forget about her Arch-nemesis Trevor.
Overall, a good read. But really it is for the younger ones. Everything seems incomplete. When Raven ask Alexander to bite her again he said it is not time yet. But without further explanation. it also lacks the suspense that I get from most teen vampire novel and this is already the 6th book.?  I think it's time I say goos bye to this series.




Friday, September 25, 2009

Thursday Night TV shows



Last night was probably the most exciting night of TV shows. Yes, I am talking about the return of my beloved Grey’s Anatomy, I knew George will be dead, but damn Lexi for giving me hope that it’s not him and he is probably somewhere and not so mangled and brain dead. As expected I consumed half a box of Kleenex. I am beginning to suspect that Chief Surgeon is going to betray someone, the merging with Mercy West will be chaotic, I can already picture it. the writers have decided to move in with our tough economic times, I just hope the politics side of the hospital will remain hidden, I am so not interested in men wearing black suits waving the financial stat of a hospital. The question remains: Will Izzy really beat cancer? Who’s going to get laid off? Is Derek really the choice to be the next chief, or it is a diversion? Will the other resident and interns call Miranda Nazi again?



I go this clip though


Now because of all that warm welcome-back to Grey’s Anatomy, I temporarily forgot about Dean and Sam, I didn’t even change the channel to peak at them when it was commercial. I cannot believe that Grey have that much effect on me!!! To top it all off, we are probably the only household in America that doesn’t have TiVo. LOL. I never really feel the need to until last night. So what happened? is this the episode when Jessica made an appearance? Did Sam met Lucifer yet? What did Dean do on the first hunt without Sammy? Pllllleeeeeasssse I am begging anyone give me the gist, or point me to a link where I can watch it. Does CW have video episodes?



Lastly, I am glad that Ugly Betty is no longer following before Grey’s and that I think I found my 3rd TV show on a Thursday night. ABC premiered a new series entitled Flashforward. The premise was people all over the world lost consciousness at the exact same time getting a snippet of their future (6 months ahead) for exactly 2 minutes and 17 seconds, the craziest part, FBI agent’s (who I will soon remember the names, as I wasn’t really paying attention on that detail) saw one dude awake and walking while everybody else was on the ground. How exciting!!! whoever ok’d this show and created it (which again would have to be acknowledged later) is a total genius. Looking forward to the next episodes.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Heather Davis interview on BWB


Interview w/ Heather Davis author of the teen paranormal novel Never Cry Wolf and the upcoming The Clearing

click here to go to our reading group blog.

The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield

BLURBS:

ISBN-13: 9780446518628
buy here: b&n

In the rain forests of Peru, an ancient manuscript has been discovered. Within its pages are 9 key insights into life itself — insights each human being is predicted to grasp sequentially; one insight, then another, as we move toward a completely spiritual culture on Earth. Drawing on ancient wisdom, it tells you how to make connections among the events happening in your life right now and lets you see what is going to happen to you in the years to come. The story it tells is a gripping one of adventure and discovery, but it is also a guidebook that has the power to crystallize your perceptions of why you are where you are in life and to direct your steps with a new energy and optimisim as you head into tomorrow.

THOUGHTS:
For Samantha :)

Not only this book is inspirational it is also motivational and helped me view some aspects in my life towards a better and positvie perspective. The book is basically discovery inner peace and to calm the mind. Some even consider it as a manual.


The insight that stood out on my end was 2 insights. The first one, which is the Critical mass. it is saying that there is no actual coincidence, it was never a conventional change that we always think it is but rather the kind that shape our lives if we pay enough attention. The 9th insight, it is on the side of mysticism. This was the first theory about 2012 that I read. And it wasn't as scary as what they have on History and Discovery Channel. Redfield wrote that the last insight was the highest level a person can achieve and by the time every insight dawned on you, One can go to realms beyond the physical. He of course was talking about crossing the other dimension - the after life. It was quite impressive how he theorized that the Mayans achieve this goal thus their mysterious disappearance.

I read this book 7 years ago and when I reread it In was still in awe on how enlightening it is. More than a fictional adventure. Life changing. I highly recommend it.



Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Vampire Kisses by Ellen Schreiber


BLURBS:

ISBN-13: 9780060093341
buy here: B&N

In her small town, dubbed "Dullsville," sixteen-year-old Raven — a vampire-crazed goth-girl — is an outcast. But not for long...


The intriguing and rumored-to-be haunted mansion on top of Benson Hill has stood vacant and boarded-up for years. That is, until its mysteriously strange new occupants move in. Who are these creepy people — especially the handsome, dark, and elusive Alexander Sterling? Or rather, what are they? Could the town prattle actually ring true? Are they vampires? Raven, who secretly covets a vampire kiss, both at the risk of her own mortality and Alexander's loving trust, is dying to uncover the truth.

THOUGHTS:
I've read too many vampire themed books and so it's really hard not to compare it to my favorites.

Before I read this book I wasn't sure what to expect of Raven, so I speculate on an awkward girl that had a traumatic experience when she was a kid, and now reaching sweet 16 she reflects it by having a dark phase with very low self esteem and parental issues. Of course now I see that I was wrong. Raven is a very interesting character. She have a loving parents that used to be hippies. She's witty, funny and have a lot of spunk. She never cares what people think and doesn't dodge Trevor's BS. (Their bouts are always a hoot, except for that last part.) Aside from her preference in clothing and her ambition in life - which is to become a vampire, I think she's pretty normal. Schreiber under-described Alexander which I think adds mystery to his character. All I got was he was tall, pale, handsome... and I view this as a good thing.

The negative part was the vampires in this book we're the stereotypical ones. They only come out at night, can't handle garlic, no reflection, they turn into bats, etc... but it seems like they age. Which raised a very interesting question- do they really? if yes, how? I guess I'd have to find out if that is the case.

This book is part of my 3-4-5 Reading Challenge




Monday, September 21, 2009

11 Minutes and Veronika decides to Die by Paulo Coelho



BLURBS:

ISBN-13: 9780060589288
buy here: AMAZON.com

Once upon a time, there was a prostitute called Maria"-thus begins Coelho's latest novel, a book that cannot decide whether it wants to be fairy tale or saga of sexual discovery, so ends up satisfying the demands of neither. In his dedication, bestselling Brazilian novelist Coelho (The Alchemist) tells readers that his book will deal with issues that are "harsh, difficult, shocking," but neither his tame forays into S&M nor his rather technical observations about female anatomy and the sad but hardly new fact that many women are dissatisfied with their sex lives will do much to shock American readers. In Maria, however, the author has created a strong, sensual young woman who grabs our sympathy from the first, as she suffers unrequited love as a child, learns a bit about sex as a teenager and, at 19, makes the ill-advised decision to leave Rio on a Swedish stranger's promise of fame and fortune. Maria's trials and triumphs-she goes from restaurant dancer to high-class prostitute-would make for an entertaining if rather prosaic novel, but Coelho, unfortunately, does not leave it there. Instead, he embarks on a philosophical exploration of sexual love, using Maria's increasingly ponderous and pseudo-philosophical diary entries as a means for expounding on the nature of sexual desire, passion and love. At the end, the story boils down to a rather predictable romance tarted up with a few sexy trappings.


THOUGHTS:
Fo Danica. I read this every year back to back with his other book Veronika decides to die (see review below this, you might like that one too) Thanks for reading. Hope this helps you buy the book.
 
Paulo Coelho is one of my favorite author of our time. He writes beautiful prose, dramatic truths and brave visuals thru his scenes. He makes me contemplate on the things that I don't normally consider having strong views on. He challenges my reasoning and makes me do a double take on my opinions. 11 Minutes is my 2nd favorite from all his books.
 
From the back cover of the book and from the blurbs I gathered from AMAZON.COM the book sounds like your typical erotic books that portrays a young girl that got mixed up with the world of prostitution thus comes graphic descriptions of sex. Nope, this book is more than that. The book is about the difference of Sex and Love. One girl's journey from innocence to understanding the real world will make you want ot read the book page after page until you sigh on how wonderful her story goes.
 
I find the book overpowering due to the subject it presents. Especially the moral vindication and the metaphysics (inner being and the soul) approach on the subject.



BLURBS:

ISBN-13: 9780061124266
buy here: AMAZON.com

Twenty-four-year-old Veronika seems to have everything -- youth and beauty, boyfriends and a loving family, a fulfilling job. But something is missing in her life. So, one cold November morning, she takes a handful of sleeping pills expecting never to wake up. But she does -- at a mental hospital where she is told that she has only days to live.


Inspired by events in Coelho's own life, Veronika Decides to Die questions the meaning of madness and celebrates individuals who do not fit into patterns society considers to be normal. Bold and illuminating, it is a dazzling portrait of a young woman at the crossroads of despair and liberation, and a poetic, exuberant appreciation of each day as a renewed opportunity.

THOUGHTS:
For Jessica, yes, reading the book first and see if the movie rendition is worhty. That's what I always do. LOL. And This is my favorite Coelho book.

In one his his many interviews Coelho said this is a book about life and death. Agreed 100%.
It starts off with our protagonist Veronika's night when she deided to overdosed herself with sleeping pills. only to wake up in an asylum called the Villet, the doctor then explained how they managed to revived her but barely, she was told that she only have a few days to live. She then found and met interesting people. The horrifying treatments and the heartbreaking story of their life made me finish the book in one sitting.

I can never really describe how much this book change the way I view mental illness. Veronikas situation is so colloquial that I felt the depression that drove her to suicide. But like any other person looking outside the box I also feel that her stunt earned her a place in the aylum and then I got to know her, like Zedka, Mari and most especially Eduard.

In a society that one simple act of temporary violence is considered a disease thus said people are shunned by the public and most of their relative. Example: Mary, in a heated arguement with her co-worker pulls her hair, out of frustration. Said co-worker then pressed charges and Mary was sent to a mental institution backed up with paper works from a professional that labeled her as a bi-polar, Mary then was given medications that they think would help her "get well" and the result... could be many things. She maybe now suicidal, lost or even dead. I respect the professionals but I question the authenticity of their diagnosis. My point is, can someone really say one is truly disturbed, based on one given situation? Because for me people who annoys you or people who lost their temper and smash, say an ex-husbands windshield because she caught him cheating doesn't count. (ok, enough reality shows. LOL)

Beautifully written. Based on Paulo's personal experience in the asylum. Prepare to cry. A life changing book.


Friday, September 18, 2009

My Life According to the books I've Read




I saw this at Angieville's blog site, I am a sucker for this kinds of stuff so I'd thought to follow on her foot steps.


one of my many bookshelves

Using only books you have read this year (2009), cleverly answer these questions. Try not to repeat a book title. It's a lot harder than you think!



Describe Yourself: Love, Rosie  by Cecelia Ahern

Describe where you currently live: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

How you feel: Bachelorette Party by Karen McCullah Lutz

If you could go anywhere, where would you go: Fly me to the Moon by Alyson Noel

Your favorite form of transportation: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Your best friend is: Sookie Stackhouse Southern Vampire Mysteries by Charlaine Harris

You and your friends are: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

What's the weather like: Tempting Evil by Keri Arthur

Favorite time of day: Darkest Hour by Meg Cabot

What is life to you: Sunday's at Tiffany  by James Patterson

Your fear: Life as We Knew it by Susan Beth Pfeffer

What is the best advice you have to give: Go Ask Alice by Anonymous

Thought for the Day: Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

How I would like to die: Evermore by Alyson Noel

My soul's present condition: The Devil and Miss Prym by Paulo Coelho

Midnight Brunch by Marta Acosta


ISBN-13: 9781416520399
Buy here
About the book

BLURBS:

Hip, funny Milagro de los Santos thinks she's finally found love and a home at the California ranch of fabulous Oswald Grant and his urbane relatives, who have a rare genetic disorder that some call vampirism. But Milagro is bewildered when she's excluded from an ancient and mysterious midnight ceremony whose participants include Oswald's unfriendly parents, a creepy family elder, and Milagro's ex-lover, the powerful and decadent Ian Ducharme. What skeletons are the vampires keeping in their designer closets?

When Milagro's life is threatened by a rogue family member, she flees to the desert to hide. Instead of solitude, she encounters an egomaniacal actor, a partying heiress, a sly tabloid reporter, and a lavish spa full of dark secrets -- all of which might help her find a way home.


THOUGHTS:
I'd like to thank Marta Acosta for sending me a copy of this book. You are awesome.

Midnight Brunch is the sequel of Happy Hour at Casa Dracula. It starts with our protagonist Milagro de los Santos living with her boyfriend Oswald at the ranch where she has been staying for over a year since the accidental blood infection took place. But an unfortunate introduction to Oswald's parents and heated argument between out two love birds, mysterious family rituals and shady relatives takes our beloved Milagro on another adventure.

I am officially categorizing this as a Chicklit Vampire Mystery Comedy. It was still a laugh-out-loud read. Who wouldn't love Milagro? She's funny, ballsy, smart, and sexy. One can easily relate to her, except for the genetic disorder called Vampirism, it's funny how until now Oswald's family at the ranch refuse to admit that they are bloodsucking entity. I found myself drawn to Ian's character and was secretly rooting for him, the absence of Oswald from the good part of the book made me doubt his intentions. Plus seriously being a mama's boy is so irritating.

Milagro also had a lot to deal with on this book. Romantic issues, career developments, egotistical has been actor, vampire psychos, etc. From living in the ranch to getting stabbed and a quick escape from being drained in the city to finally arriving at a place named as La Basura, how ironic that she ended up fleeing over there. I found myself really happy that she was given a chance to rewrite a screen play not exactly the book deal she wanted but definitely a stepping stone but that was interrupted when Thomas Cook showed up. I am also relieved that the vampire theme here still stayed as human as possible. No bloodbaths, a show of excessive strength and over the top vampire qualities.

The biggest incentives of this book will be insane moments, witty dialogues, interesting new characters, bigger mysteries and complicated matters of the heart. Expect to laugh and symphatize with Milagro all the way. I can't wait to read the next book.


Marked - House of Night 1 by P.C & Kristin Cast



BLURBS:

ISBN-13: 9780312360269
Buy here
About the Book

Enter the dark, magical world of The House of Night, a world very much like our own, except here vampyres have always existed. Sixteen-year-old Zoey Redbird has just been Marked as a fledgling vampyre and joins the House of Night, a school where she will train to become an adult vampire. That is, if she makes it through the Change--and not all of those who are Marked do. It sucks to begin a new life, especially away from her friends, and on top of that, Zoey is no average fledgling. She has been chosen as special by the vampyre Goddess Nyx. Zoey discovers she has amazing powers, but along with her powers come bloodlust and an unfortunate ability to Imprint her human ex-boyfriend. To add to her stress, she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers: When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school's most elite group, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny--with a little help from her new vampyre friends.


THOUGHTS:
The real story started towards 3/4 f the book, unnecessary scenes, excessive pop culture citation, and under develop characters. The story does have a very interesting plot so I am hoping that this will get better. Reading the book was fun but the element of the usual fantasy-paranormal tenor was low for a second I thought I was reading Gossip Girls.


There are reminders that they are vampire fledgling, no one will miss it. "Zoey and her Crescent Moon Mark" and that Zoey is special because the goddess vampire Nyx has chosen her. But other than that, it consist of complaints about raccoon eyes, hags from hell, drinking, smoking, sex, hypocrisy, etc..I get it that this book is more for the teenagers but it all sounds pretentious and Zoey is very Mary Sue that it contradicts with the bloodlust part and her raging hormones when she is near Erik. I wonder if the Mother-Daughter tandem in writing has anything to do with it.


Let's talk about the Daughters of the Night. It was more of like a social circle for the rich, beautiful and snotty than an actual organization that insinuates importance. So stripping Aprodithe of her power to lead that group was a nice touch, so I am giving this series another try, in the hopes that Zoey's character exceeds expectations that would really make a difference in her vampire world.


Thursday, September 17, 2009

3-4-5 Reading ChalIenge




I am thrilled to join this challenge. I saw this at The Mindful Musings Book Blog's site like her I am  spreading the word so people can join in.



Here's how it works.


1.It will run from August 1, 2009 to August 1, 2010

2.You may sign up at any point in this time period

3.To complete the challenge, you must read
THREE books from one series,
FOUR books from another series,
and FIVE books from another series

4.You do not have to choose your books ahead of time (but are more than welcome to)

5.You do not have to 'complete' a series (i.e. you don't have to read a trilogy for your three book requirement - just 3 books from the same series)

6.Only books that you read between August 1, 2009 and August 1, 2010 count

7.The books you read may count for other challenges


To join in the challenge with me visit Chick Loves Lit


Once I have completed the set of books I will post a review and I will also highlight it here.

5 Books From a Series - Bewitching Mysteries by Madelyn Alt
2 - A Charmed Death
3 - Hex Marks the Spot
4 - No Rest for the Wiccan
5 - Where There's a Witch




4 Books From a Series - Vampire Kisses by Ellen Schriber


3 Books From a Series - Jeaniene Frost

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Dan Brown's Lost Symbol


BLURBS:

As the story opens, Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is summoned unexpectedly to deliver an evening lecture in the U.S. Capitol Building. Within minutes of his arrival, however, the night takes a bizarre turn. A disturbing object--artfully encoded with five symbols--is discovered in the Capitol Building. Langdon recognizes the object as an ancient invitation . . . one meant to usher its recipient into a long-lost world of esoteric wisdom.


When Langdon’s beloved mentor, Peter Solomon--a prominent Mason and philanthropist--is brutally kidnapped, Langdon realizes his only hope of saving Peter is to accept this mystical invitation and follow wherever it leads him. Langdon is instantly plunged into a clandestine world of Masonic secrets, hidden history, and never-before-seen locations--all of which seem to be dragging him toward a single, inconceivable truth.

As the world discovered in The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons, Dan Brown’s novels are brilliant tapestries of veiled histories, arcane symbols, and enigmatic codes. In this new novel, he again challenges readers with an intelligent, lightning-paced story that offers surprises at every turn. The Lost Symbol is exactly what Brown’s fans have been waiting for . . . his most thrilling novel yet.


THOUGHTS:
*Spoilers Alert*
After months and months of surmise on what will our Robert Langdon will decode this time, we are finally here. So for the people who weigh that it will be about the Templar, Atlantis, Bermuda Triangle or something about a religious sect, -wrong. This time Brown decided - Freemasons. I've watched too many Discovery and History channel for this one yet reading about them and the "supposedly" initiation and practices did not surprise me but reading it on Dan brown's novel is diverse.

The usual tenor are still there. Langdon gets summoned to go somewhere that, well hello - he has to solve a mystery and since he is professor or symbology and all that he got into the middle of it. The profligate is someone who have grotesque looks. This time his name is Mal'akh, dude was covered in tattoos from acientt symbols/signs, pillars to a double headed phoenix on his chest, etc. he is probably the most bizarre and insane villain out of all Langdon books. And let's not forget something gruesome to start off. This time its a hand. Severed hand skewered on a wood to be exact with tattoos of the Ancient Mysteries with the index finger pointing upward. (I hope you are not eating while reading this) Lastly,  historical facts and fictions were amalgamated, and of course something that people can look up at the world wide web. I for one is a victim of this, took me awhile to finish the book because I have to find out what and where is 1733 16th St. NW and 4210 Silver Hill Rd. Grinning like an idiot,. I found out that the 1st one is The Scottish Masons - Supreme Council 33 degree and the 2nd one is the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History. I also admit to calling the phone number 202-329-5746 out of curiosity. Brown must have put that there for some reason right? and I interpret it as "you must find out what this is". (dork? yes?) You may also find yourself researching about Noetic Science, OS, the Invisible College, SMSC and more.

I admit, I got lost on some parts, so I have to pause and digest what I just read. The theme / plot ruminate around this Ancient Mysteries and Katherine's research and goal in life - the use of advance science to rediscover what the lost knowledge the ancient world had unveiled about our universe. I wouldn't even bash about the flaws, I'd let the professional book critic do that. As a fan of Brown's - I'd say this book is brilliant, suspenseful, informative, highly intriguing, it kind of gave me a new perspective on the eventful prediction that is supposed to happen on 2012 and it made me want to go back to D.C and examine the capitol a little to closely. In short it an enjoyable diversion from the real world. Highly recommended.

I bought mine here: Lost Symbol
ISBN-13: 9780385504225


Monday, September 14, 2009

Ruined: A ghost story by Paula Morris

BLURBS:

ISBN-13: 9780545042154

Rebecca couldn't feel more out of place in New Orleans, where she comes to spend the year while her dad is traveling. She's staying in a creepy old house with her aunt. And at the snooty prep school, the filthy-rich girls treat Rebecca like she's invisible. Only gorgeous, unavailable Anton Grey seems to give Rebecca the time of day, but she wonders if he's got a hidden agenda. Then one night, in Lafayette Cemetery, Rebecca makes a friend. Sweet, mysterious Lisette is eager to talk to Rebecca, and to show her the nooks and crannies of the city. There's just one catch: Lisette is a ghost. A ghost with a deep, dark secret, and a serious score to settle. As Rebecca learns more from her ghost friend - and as she slowly learns to trust Anton Grey-she also uncovers startling truths about her own history. Will Rebecca be able to right the wrongs of the past, or has everything been ruined beyond repair?

reference: AMAZON.com,

THOUGHTS:
This book made me want to see New Orleans intensely soon.
The description of Garden District made me google the place sooner than you can day "Mardi Gras here I come".
Rebecca Brown's character was likable. She's not the typical 16 year old character that's so desperately wanting to fit in her new surroundings or else she'd probably die of an untimely social death. Its a refreshing changing of the typical high schooler climbing the social ladder or the Queen Bee harassing a poor insecure new girl. Anyway I love the story. The mystery started in 1853 at the time of the yellow fever. Morris has also thrown in a little bit of New Orleans history and how the Mardi Gras works and made a beautiful story out of it.
The mystery surrounding Lafayette Cementery, the patrician ways of the Bowman, Suttons and Grey will pique anyones curiosity, the ghost of Lisette, and the suspicious involvement of Rebecca and the gap in her family history are the main points of why I finished the book in a day and a half. Morris' writing still made me want to know what's going to happen chapter after chapter. My $16.99 well spent.

where to buy: AMAZON.com,


Friday, September 11, 2009

Happy Hour at Casa Dracula by Marta Acosta




BLURBS:
Latina Ivy League grad Milagro de Los Santos can't find her place in the world or a man to go with it. Then one night, at a book party for her pretentious ex-boyfriend, she meets an oddly attractive man. After she is bitten while kissing him, she falls ill and is squirreled away to his family's estate to recover. Vampires don't exist in this day and age — or do they? As Milagro falls for a fabulously inappropriate man, she finds herself caught between a family who has accepted her as one of their own and a shady organization that refuses to let the undead live and love in peace.

reference/where to buy: Barnes and Nobel,



THOUGHTS:
*laughing out loud* Hilarious book. I love the F.U Alumna, Snappy comeback, Wordsmith, Sexy, Vampire heroine. -Milagro de Los Santos. Granting she does suck on picking beaus, so who doesn't in the past? I like her. She's not too obscene, too timid, too pathetic or too wild and she doesn't seem to wallow so much in self pity after she was turned - unlike most vampire ladies that I read. She has the right amount of spunk.


The men in this book did not disappoint too. Oswaldo (granting the name sounds funny) was dreamy. Sam is a perfect gentleman and evil hot ex-flame Sebastian Beckett-Witherspoon is my kind of villain. Is it just me or is there someone out there that kind of wished / still wishing that Sebastian will sometime snap out of his delirious murderous state and realize that he is indeed inlove with Milagros but was too coward and too ambitious and probably too brainwashed to admit it? No? - ok yeah maybe that's just me. Sebastian was my favorite until granddad and fiance caught him with his pants down, literally. He suddenly seems so small...


It's a refreshing break from my typical "I am a vampire, see me roar" heroines.This is my first Acosta book experience, definitely worth the money. Truly funny with the equal amount of heartbreak and romance.

Happy Reading.

Like the book? See other book from this author: Marta Acosta



New TV Seasons

Summer is almost over. Thank You, I'd have enough of this heat. I love Septembers, because that means start of new TV seasons. I am getting back on the loop, I had been elbow deep in reading that I have neglected the plasma. I don't really watch a lot of TV, I am more a movie person. But i do have some favorite shows that I keep tabs on. the first one just had a Season 5 pilot last night.

Supernatural Season 5 - Symphaty for the Devil



After Sam's stupidity the Winchesters are back and they have brought Lucifer with them. I have missed Dean and I am glad that he is still hot. LOL. I am glad that the exchange of dialogues still has the wit and sarcasm that I find really hilarious.

Sam has a new crazy fan. Bobby got possessed which was shock, then when the demon that invaded his body was about to slit Dean's throat he suddenly snapped and stabbed himself, awesome will power. Then there's the usual bro-mance drama of Sam and Dean, really I love how they really care for each other. Oh and did I tell you that Castiel exploded into pieces when Chuck's Archangel came into his house and then he suddenly showed up, alive and kicking arse's of other angels and threatening Zacharia to leave Dean and Sam alone. Obviously the greater heavens are probably at work. Then it ended with Lucifer asking permission from a dude that he taunted and brainwashed so he can use him as his vessel.

A very good start, I cannot wait for what's in store. When will Dean allow Michael to enter his body? or will he really? What first horror will Satan do against the world? has anyone heard anything? Please let me know what will happen next, I don't mind an advance summary/speculation on what will happen.

Vampire Diaries



I was just browsing on youtube (2minutes ago)- I got this video above and I've already seen some violent reactions. Apparently the Twilighters are enraged and the Vampire Diaries fan are defending the turf. I agree with the VD people. This is nothing like Twilight. I love the saga with all the love of Edward to Bella, but with that kind of plot VD is how I want it. I like em darker. Plus this was written way back from 06, so hello stop hatin'. There's also True Blood vs. Vampire Diaries. there's a fair amount of hating and loving there. Personally I am a bit disappointed with the Tv series of true Blood, they have butchered the novel and the casting was all wrong. Sookie is so clingy to Bill. Eric is portrayed as this deceitful vampire and Sam is being haunted by a Maenad? Ugh! they were supposed to have hot sex. Seriously sometimes the visual renditions ruin everything.

So back tot he topic at hand.  Surprisingly the pilot episode is not as horrid as I think it is going to be. I like the casting. The hottie playing Damon (Ian Somerhalder) is perfection, I wish he stays evil until Elena get ressurected from the dead like the book. Do you think the TV show will follow the book plot? Anyway, Elena (Nina Dobrev) portrays a good Elena eventhough she is not blonde as what I have always imagined.

As far as the book vs. TV comparison. Of course they tweaked it. there's no Meredith, which is a disappointment, Matt and Vicki are siblings, Elena has a brother instead of a sister and they have showed Damon way to early. But I am glad that Tyler is still an ass and that Caroline is as vapid both in the books and on TV. Sadly I will not watch this TV show, I was just curious. The whole thing is too teeny boopy-ish for my taste. I wish them more power though.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Artemis Fowl - The Arctic Incident by Eion Colfer


BLURBS:
Artemis Fowl receives an urgent e-mail from Russia. In it is a plea from a man who has been kidnapped by the Russian Mafiya: his father. As Artemis rushes to his rescue, he is stopped by a familiar nemesis, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. Now, instead of battling the fairies, Artemis must join forces with them if he wants to save one of the few people in the world he loves.




THOUGHTS:
This 2nd installment of boy genius Artemis Fowl has more action. And has deeper schemes. Now that Artemis' mother is back to lucidity, he is now adjusting to whbat is supposed to be normal. It was such a laugh when he used his vast knowledge about psychology to threw off his counselor. I think Artemis' teaming up with the LEP is too soon, I imagined that they would have more encounter as enemies first insteadof this. But then again authors have such wit on plotting. And again such big words for the 6th grader, which I think is good, now they'll get to use the dictionary more often while reading this. LOL. Also this hero needs to learn kung-fu or something, too much brain without any combat skills tend to get boring. Now that Artemis' dad has been rescued and fortunate alive, how will Artemis manage? I cannot wait for more of his adventures. And for the maturity of his character, and then I can really call him dangerous.


Percy Jackson and The Olympains Book 5 by Rick Riordan


BLURBS:
All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds of a victory are grim. Kronos’s army is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, the evil Titan’s power only grows.




While the Olympians struggle to contain the rampaging monster Typhon, Kronos begins his advance on New York City, where Mount Olympus stands virtually unguarded. Now it’s up to Percy Jackson and an army of young demigods to stop the Lord of Time.


In this momentous final book in the New York Times best-selling series, the long-awaited prophecy surrounding Percy’s sixteenth birthday unfolds. And as the battle for Western civilization rages on the streets of Manhattan, Percy faces a terrifying suspicion that he may be fighting against his own fate.


THOUGHTS:
Sheena - Sorry for the late review.


Like every other series that I learned to like, I am sad that this is the last book of Percy. From a scale of 1-5, Five being the highest. I rate this book 3.5. I know. I know. Don't hate me, let me first share the positive: I love how Percy turned out to be as smart, kind hearted and strong as what a god (in my opinion) should be. It gives out the conclusions on all the questions that nags me, Dare's destiny and when they were already actually fighting Kronos' evil minions, there's so many good action scenes. The negative part... here goes. Ever since the beginning of this series, I was given the impression that Percy will make this huge decision that will determine the fate of the gods as well as mankind, and I keep making up scenarios on what it would be... but it turned out to be an ordinary one. It was very dramatic for something that turned out so mediocre. It was the weakest in the series, the Battle of Labyrinth was my favorite. it seems so uninspired for a series ending.


Still... I will miss the series and the world of the gods.


Like this book? See other books from this Author: www.rickriordan.com


The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins


BLURBS:


In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival.




THOUGHTS:
After putting off reading this book for so long I finally gave in. I have the Catching Fire and to read that I have to go thru with this first. The thing is post-apocalyptic / dystopian is not really my thing, but when I started reading, I was hooked. It has a very catchy and interesting twist. Sad that Katniss' world was divided into 13 Districts that has a specific livelihood. So you can imagine that some of them is scarce on food. District 12 -Kat's being the poorest, since their industry is Coal Mining... Imagining their world makes me all sad and the horrors that is the Hunger Games made it the more Barbaric and somewhat savage. Reminds me of that movie that I hate. - Doom. You'll find yourself rooting for Katniss & Peeta and will find yourself sharing the growing resentment over the Capitol and get intrigued with the people they call Avox. Adventurous, unique and I highly recommend it. Worth every penny.


Like this book? See other books from this Author: www.suzannecollinsbooks.com


The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice


BLURBS
From bestselling author Anne Rice, writing as A.N. Roquleaure. In the traditional folktale of 'Sleeping Beauty,' the spell cast upon the lovely young princess and everyone in her castle can only be broken by the kiss of a Prince. It is an ancient story, one that originally emerged from and still deeply disturbs the mind's unconscious. Now Anne Rice's retelling of the Beauty story probes the unspoken implications of this lush, suggestive tale by exploring its undeniable connection to sexual desire. Here the Prince reawakens Beauty, not with a kiss, but with sexual initiation. His reward for ending the hundred years of enchantment is Beauty's complete and total enslavement to him…as Anne Rice explores the world of erotic yearning and fantasy in a classic that becomes, with her skillful pen, a compelling experience.






THOUGHTS:
What was your reaction when you heard that there is a Hentai version of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves? Brace yourself because when Anne Rice said Erotica is not limited to the male gender, she did prove a point and she decided to alter Sleeping Beauty's tale into a much more adult version. Prince not only kissed Beauty, he also deflowered her and made her his Sex Slave. The novel have the basic sensual and graphic descriptions.BSMD, orgy, threesome, voyeurism, etc... Not for the soft hearted and definitely never ever for the young. I was shocked, yes me of all people. It was a erotica gone over the top. it made me blush, it made me seriously wanted to jump inside the book and strangle Prince, his mother the Queen and all the members of their court. I watched a 10 minute clip of BDSM and for some reason Anne Rice's description made me squeamish. Maybe because in the book it was a for real BDSM not a role playing. It made me think, why/how did some people like it?


Like this book? See other books from this Author: www.annerice.com


Artemis Fowl by Eion Colfer


BLURBS:
Artemis Fowl is a one of the greatest criminal minds the world has ever seen. He is heir to the Fowl family empire—a centuries old clan of international underworld figures and con artists. He is arguably the most cunning Fowl of all. He is also twelve years old.






Artemis' interest in mythology and an obsession with the Internet leads him to discover proof of the existence of "The People"- otherwise known as fairies, sprites, leprechauns and trolls. He learns every fairy has a magical Book. If he can find the Book, it will lead him to "The People's" vast treasure of gold.




With his brutish sidekick, Butler, he sets his plans in motion. Artemis tricks a drunken old fairy woman into loaning him her Book, a tiny golden volume, for thirty minutes. He scans it with a digital camera and emails it to his Mac G6 computer. Back in his mansion in Ireland, he is the first human to decode the secrets of the fairies.




Artemis needs a leprechaun to help him with this plan. He and Butler hunt down Holly Short, a tough, female LEPrecon, part of a gung-ho Fairy commando unit, who is on a reconnaissance mission. He kidnaps her, and a major battle begins. It's satyr against gnome, man against elf, and for the first time in his life, Artemis must decide what he values most.






THOUGHTS:
Criminally inclined boy genius? I like it. Artemis Fowl's character is likable in spite of his reputation. He is not truly selfish and avoids killing people or supernatural alike, as much as he can avoid asking Butler to do it. I still can't grasp about the whole Fairy part of it. It's not really my thing but kids and adults will love Holy - she's feisty and pretty Elf according to the book. Lot's of adventures and high technology gadgets described. Adults might not like it as much as the 5th graders but it's still worth your time.


Percy Jackson and The Olympains Book 1-4 by Rick Riordan


BLURBS:


Humans and half-bloods alike agree-Percy Jackson and the Olympians is a series fit for heroes! Re-live the adventure from the beginning with this boxed set of the first three books.




The Lightning Thief
Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can't seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. When his mom tells him the truth about where he came from, she takes him to the one place he'll be safe-Camp Half-Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island). There, Percy learns that the father he never knew is actually Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon Percy finds himself caught up in a mystery that could lead to disastrous consequences. Together with his friends-a satyr and other the demigod daughter of Athena-Percy sets out on a quest to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.




The Sea of Monsters
After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly calm. But things don't stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters-the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia-only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name: the Bermuda Triangle. Now Percy and his friends must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family-one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon's son is an honor or simply a cruel joke...




The Titan's Curse
When Percy Jackson receives a distress call from his friend Grover, he immediately prepares for battle. He knows he'll need his powerful demigod allies, Annabeth and Thalia, at his side; his trusty bronze sword Riptide; and... a ride from his mom. The demigods race to the rescue, to find that Grover has made an important discovery: two new powerful half-bloods whose parentage is unknown. But that's not all that awaits them. The Titan lord, Kronos, has set up his most devious trap yet, and the young heroes have unwittingly fallen prey. Hilarious and action-packed, this third adventure in the series finds Percy faced with his most dangerous challenge so far: the chilling prophecy of the Titan's curse.




The Battle of the Labyrinth
Percy Jackson isn’t expecting freshman orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears on campus, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.


In this latest installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half-Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos’s army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop the invasion, Percy and his demigod friends must set out on a quest through the Labyrinth–a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn. Full of humor and heart-pounding action, this latest audiobook promises to be their most thrilling adventure yet.


THOUGHTS:


I love Greek Mythology, the story of the gods and the weirdness of their lives just fascinated me, so when I heard that there is a YA that caters to that world, I bought it right away, well ok, I downloaded it at Wattpad right away. The books were short, it did not give enough justice on the whole story. I feel that there is something missing but I cannot put my finger on a specific scenario / detail. The Big Three kids were awesome Thalia, Nico and of course our favorite hero Percy. I wish that on the last installment These 3 would join forces and fight the evil Titan Kronos. I wish Annabeth and Percy would end up together. A son of Poseidon and a daughter of Athena conceiving a child would be awesome. I cannot also wait on the fate of Tyson (Percy's half-brother cyclops) and Grover (Percy's Satyr best friend) The book is entertaining, with the right amount of comedy, action and lots of Greek Mythology. It is highly recommended for humans of all ages. Watch out for the movie next year President's Day 2010.


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos