visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Friday, October 30, 2009

Review: Friday Night Bites (Chicagoland Vamps 2) by Chloe Neill




BLURBS:

where I got it: Borders- Yorba Linda, CA
buy here: b&n, amazon.com, borders.com
or join my contest to win a gift card to buy for it. Click here to go to the contest page.

 
Ten months after vampires revealed their existence to the mortals of Chicago, they're enjoying a celebrity status usually reserved for the Hollywood elite. But should people learn about the Raves-mass feeding parties where vampires round up humans like cattle-the citizens will start sharpening their stakes.
 now it's up to the new vampire Merit to reconnect with her upper class family and act as liaison between humans and bloodsuckers, and keep the more unsavory aspects of the vampire lifestyle out of the media. But someone doesn't want peace between them-someone with an ancient grudge...

THOUGHTS:
After the capture of Celina at the end of the first book, our resident heroine- Merit and her cohorts; Mallory, Catcher, Ethan and Morgan are back. This time with another enemy. Namely Nicholas Breckenridge and his family. Who? you ask. It was Merit's former flame and her family's family friend. When the young member of the Brecks threaten to release an expose on the "raves" that some vampires still practice, Merit and Ethan (as much to very specific people's chagrin) introduced themselves to the social world of Chicago to get some inside scoop and possibly allies. It was effortless, Merit is after all a daughter of  one of the elite. At this social shenanigans was where they found out what exactly is going on. I was surprised that the Brecks aren't what they seem, I thought it was the Pack's leader from N.A that was causing all this for some reason and yet the answer was us right around the corner. At the end it all comes down to another traitor from the Cadogan House, sad really that they seems to be charmed and manuevered easily. I wasn't convince that Celina's going to be gone for 3-4 books and I was right.

I feel for Merit. The fight with Mallory about questioning her feelings towards navarre's new master. The distrust of Morgan, which was such a shame because I was really beginning to like him. He was sweet and sincerely interested in Merit despite obvious house situation but then again Mer was right he did force her to court her infront of her whole house, but sooo not the point I know and then their Ethan's with his blonde delish body Master-of-the-House attraction with her yet a freakin coward (in a way) was tiring even for me, ahhh but all this supernatural drama really is so much fun. I was even kind of happy when snarky-evil-bitch Celina provoke her, now the vampire in her will change everything beneficial or not, we'll have to see about that.

Another exciting and entertaining read from the real creator of Cadogan House herself (yes that would be Chloe Neill). Join Merit's new adventure as a young initiate with a dorky past that now holds a skill with a Katana.

This is what's so tiring about reading a series, I am all pumped up because of all the action and them wham I was forced to halt until the next time...



BookBlips: vote it up!

Interested in this book? Join my contest to win a gift card to buy for it. Click here to go to the contest page.

Other book reviewed in this series:
Some Girls Bite - Book 1
 

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Meme: Book Talk

I saw this at J. Kaye's Book Blog on a boring Wednesday afternoon, this seems pretty fun.



1. Do you have a favorite author?
I have favorite authors in every genre that I prefer. There's Paulo Coelho, Charlaine Harris, Dan Brown, Rachel Caine, Chuck Palahnuik, and lots more.
2. What are your favorite genres?
YA, paranormal romance, urban fantasy, chick lit, sci-fi fantasy, metaphysics, mystery & thriller, and fiction. Oh and occasional Erotica.


3. Least favorite genre?
 Futuristic, religious and estreme Sci-Fis

4. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Sad to say that I am one of those girl who swoon when I read about Edward Cullen (I don't like the Edward movie though). Then there is Eric Northman from Souther Vampire Mysteries, Shane from Morganville Vamps, and Mr. Darcy :)


5. What genre would you like to read more of but don’t?
 Chicklit. I use to love them but lately the vampires get all my attention.


6. What was your favorite book when you were 10 years old?
 I'll never forget it. Bloodline by Sidney Sheldon. that's when i started reading seriously.

7. What books are on your wish list right now?
Wow. I have a lot but let me list the important ones

Top of my list: Asetian Bibile
The Pace by Shelena Shorts (she's new and the blurb is intriguing)
Angel Star by Jennifer Murgia (coming next year)
Temptest Rising by Nicole Peeler
Fallen by Lauren Kate
Firespell by Chloe Neill




So what about you? What book is on your wish list that you are dying to get?




Tuesday, October 27, 2009

IN MY MAILBOX (4)

Check Out:




I am trying very hard not to check out what people think about After, I'm afraid that I'll read some spoilers, so if you are to comment please don't give me any :)

Soulless' tagline says: A novel of Vampires, Werewolves and Parasols? the later was funny and it was enough to make me buy it. This one I'd be happy to get a spoiler.

And the new Anne Rice book that I got late yesterday.

Library Loot:

Wow it's been six months since I set foot inside our local library, I missed it. The Librarian made me promise to visit more. She is a dear lady. Anyway, Here are the books that I got:

I finally decided that it is time for some Jeanine Frost. This will be the first time that I will be reading her work, so hopefully it won't disappoint.

The Midnight Guardian - I have mix feelings, I am not certain if I will like it. (yes I know even though it is about vampires) *fingers crossed*

The Unspoken. According to the library's description - Six teens are drawn back to the small, North Carolina town where they once lived and, one by one, begin to die of their worst fears, as prophesied by the cult leader they killed five years earlier, and who they believe poisoned their parents.

How about you guys? What do you have this Tuesday?

Interested in any of this books? Join my contest to win a gift card to buy for it. Click here to go to the contest page.

Monday, October 26, 2009

Review & Interview: Through the Triangle by C.P Stewart

I am thrilled to announce that I am featuring my first ever author interview today.
Please welcome C.P Stewart author of the new sci-fi thriller and mystery Through the Triangle


BLURBS:

buy here: amazon.com

Jake Myers and his semi-estranged teenaged son Nathan were supposed to be on a healing jaunt: a Florida vacation spent deep-sea fishing and theme park hopping. But they and the three other passengers aboard Oblique View happened to be in the wrong place at the right time – in a storm within the Devil’s Triangle. On a deserted shore, they discover they are in the right place at the wrong time – the Florida coast nearly three-hundred years in the future. Then there’s the metropolis nearby that appears to be deserted … appears, that is...


Now, this group is about to confront a dangerous species - part animal/part human … that can see in the dark. Together with a loose association of other humans, fellow travelers cast off in this strange land and strange time, they’ll have to rely on instinct and cunning to survive. But something as deadly as the Devil’s Triangle they just passed through might be one of their own…

What follows is a journey of enlightenment as Jake discovers the shocking historical events leading to this new reality and the love lurking right under his nose. It all combines for a savvy time-travel thriller that will keep you guessing right up until the shocking finale.


THOUGHTS:
One of my favorite unexplained world mysteries is the “Bermuda Triangle”. So when I read the back cover of this book I immediately placed it on the top of my “TBR” list.

The book begins at a rest stop where Allen Cranston has been murdered by Manny Contraldo. Manny who has just broke out of prison and is in a hurry to get out of the country to evade the police force, discovered that Allen was on his way to a deep sea fishing trip, the perfect escape and decided to pose as him. He soon realized though that he wouldn’t be able to execute that plan, since there are four other people going on the fishing trip that was expecting a one Allen Cranston to join them. Mason Bankowski, Captain of the Oblique View. The father-son Jake and Nathan Meyers and Juan, Mason's assistant. So while Manny is hurriedly formulating plan b, they encountered a freak storm that was both quick and short lived. Then, strange things begin to happen.

On their quest for answers they are faced with frightening discoveries. They have actually entered the Devils Triangle and the storm they encountered has transported them 300+ years into the future where mutants - half-man/half animal exist. There, technologies are light years in advance, with genetically modified food, strange buildings and people who refer to themselves as Azul Ojos which means Blue Eyes.

The book was well written and the plot was thorough. The idea of those lost ships, planes and people transported into another dimension after entering the “Bermuda triangle” has always sparked my curiosity. So, for me, reading this book was totally awesome. Futuristic and Sci-Fi stories are not really my favorite genre but every once in a while I'll stumble onto something like this book that is worth recommending.




BookBlips: vote it up!

Interested in this book? Join my contest to win a gift card to buy for it. Click here to go to the contest page.

 
Interview with the book's author: Charles Stewart

PL&P: Can you please tell us something about the book.
C.P Stewart: Although Through the Triangle is classified as science fiction, I wrote it to also appeal to readers of genres other than science fiction. Readers who appreciate thriller and adventure genres, or just want an interesting read are showing interest in it. The story follows five individuals as they experience the capriciousness of the Devil’s Triangle and then must cope with the consequences, since reversing the effects is not possible. They discover that they are now in the year 2283 and, as you can imagine, history has taken its course and they now must deal with the results of that history.


PL&P: When and where did you begin to write?
C.P Stewart: I started writing Through the Triangle in the living room of my son’s condo in Naples, Florida while visiting him for Thanksgiving in 2004.


PL&P: What inspired you to write your first book? Why the Bermuda Triangle?
C.P Stewart: I have been curious about the Bermuda Triangle since I first read about it, and the concept of time-travel has always fascinated me. Some of the main elements of the story had been rattling around in my head for decades, but I didn’t seriously consider writing until I retired from full-time teaching. At that time, I figured I would try to put something on paper and see if it would lead anywhere; at least I could see if the story would have an ending. After a few chapters, the characters took on a life of their own and the story took off in directions I hadn’t even planned … you might say the story almost wrote itself.


PL&P: Is one of the characters based on you or someone you know?
C.P Stewart: None of the characters are based on actual individuals; however I patterned Scotty’s speech and accent on what I remember of my grandfather who emigrated from Scotland with his wife and two small children.


PL&P: What are the reactions of your family, friends and students when they heard that you are going to release your first book?
C.P Stewart: Actually, not many people outside of my immediate family knew I was writing until the book was published. I have not made a public announcement locally as yet, but word is spreading quickly by word-of-mouth. So far, the reaction of everyone has been extremely positive.


PL&P: In your interview with Simon Barrett, you mentioned that you had a hard time getting through the big publishing companies. What was the greatest challenge in being a new writer?
C.P Stewart: Obviously, the biggest challenge to new writers is trying to convince an agent or publisher that what you have is worthwhile. Writing the illusive query letter, by guessing what that agent or publisher is looking for, is a formidable challenge. As I learned from Simon during his interview for Blog Talk Radio, more than 300,000 new books were issued ISBN numbers last year alone, so obviously in today’s economy, publishers are more fearful than ever about taking a chance on an unproven commodity. They are out to make money, not throw it at something that is not guaranteed to make a profit. By publishing as I did, the book is out there where people can read it and I retain all my rights, which gives me the option of considering publishing offers, should any be forthcoming in the future.


PL&P: What was the most rewarding experience while writing Through the Triangle?
C.P Stewart: I would have to say the most rewarding experience has come since the book was published by hearing readers say how much they enjoyed the book. No matter how much a first time writer believes in his book, there is still that unsettling feeling that readers and reviewers will not have the same feeling about it. It is extremely reassuring to have a reviewer say, “This just might be the best book I have reviewed this year.” and “Truly, it is one of the best Sci-fi books I have read since Stranger in a Strange Land.” Even giving a book to a local businessman and then having him say he enjoyed it from the first word to the last is rewarding.


PL&P: Do you have a book that you read recently and feel that it hasn't been noticed enough?
C.P Stewart: Yes, I just read a book that was written by MaryAnn Aikins, entitled, “They’ll Teach You a Lesson,” that I think should be mandatory reading for every new parent and every teacher in the country. Each chapter relates a lesson she learned from an individual child while teaching pre-school, and how those children’s experiences were the product of their parents’ actions toward them. Every parent and teacher could learn many lessons about how to treat innocent children to allow them to grow into happy, well-adjusted adults.


PL&P: Who is your favorite writer, and how did they influence your work?
C.P Stewart: Tough question. I don’t think I have a favorite writer, but have learned much from various authors: James Rollins, Kathy Reichs, Clive Cussler, Robert B. Parker, Cormac McCarthy, and others. I mostly read for the story and not the writer.


PL&P: Your book has been receiving positive feedbacks. Congratulations. I myself is impressed, I even got my father-in-law to read your book.
Do you have other books in the works? Will it have the same concept as Through the Triangle? Can you give us a little bit of information about it?
C.P Stewart: I prefer to write stories that I would like to read, as I did with Through the Triangle. I have a couple of books started: Lykoi, in which a northern Pennsylvania lawman deals with early winter weather, an attempted kidnapping, and a shape-shifter while trying to solve a murder, and Redland, a story set in the not-too-distant future dealing with a government cover-up of a sabotaged mission to Mars. Although these two are fairly well under way, the reception of Through the Triangle has me contemplating two sequels: Beyond the Triangle, where Jake and his family travel to see their friends in Florida only to find them imprisoned by corrupt military officials, and Above the Triangle, which follows Jake and his family as he accepts a job on the space colony at L5 as Water Treatment Supervisor … a “Triangle trilogy.” We’ll see.


PL&P: Aside form Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble, where else can we buy your book? And do you have any event that you have on schedule that you wanted to plug?
C.P Stewart: The book can also be ordered through most bookstores, and also from Outskirts Press. Additionally, it is available in e-book and Kindle form. If sales go well and the good reviews keep posting on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com, some bookstores may actually begin to stock it. Remember that bookstores have only so much space, the vast majority of which is stocked by books from large publishers, and that doesn’t leave much room for books from first-time writers unless they have shown to have a decent following.

The book has only been out about six-weeks, so I have yet to schedule marketing events, but Outskirts Press is including it in their ad in the December 13th New York Times book review section. This book would make a good Christmas gift for anyone who likes to read. Additionally, I should have a blog up and running sometime this week at http://throughthetriangle.blogspot.com/ for any of your readers that may be interested in interacting with me or following the trials and tribulations of a first-time author.

Thank you for reviewing Through the Triangle and setting up this interview. I wish you the best at Peace, Love, and Pat. God bless.

PL&P: Thank you also for giving me the opportunity to read your book and conduct this interview. Much luck for this book and for your future project.



 

Saturday, October 24, 2009

Review: Intertwined by Gena Showalter



BLURBS:


buy here: b&n

Most sixteen-year-olds have friends. Aden Stone has four human souls living inside him:

One can time-travel.

One can raise the dead.

One can tell the future.

And one can possess another human.

With no other family and a life spent in and out of institutions, Aden and the souls have become friends. But now they're causing him all kinds of trouble. Like, he'll blink and suddenly he's a younger Aden, reliving the past. One wrong move, and he'll change the future. Or he'll walk past a total stranger and know how and when she's going to die.

He's so over it. All he wants is peace.

And then he meets a girl who quiets the voices. Well, as long as he's near her. Why? Mary Ann Gray is his total opposite. He's a loner; she has friends. He doesn't care what anyone thinks; she tries to make everyone happy. And while he attracts the paranormal, she repels it. For her sake, he should stay away. But it's too late….

Somehow, they share an inexplicable bond of friendship. A bond about to be tested by a werewolf shape-shifter who wants Mary Ann for his own, and a vampire princess Aden can't resist.

Two romances, both forbidden. Still, the four will enter a dark underworld of intrigue and danger—but not everyone will come out alive….

THOUGHTS:
Don't you dare judge this book by it's cheesy and utterly uncreative book cover. Do not also assume that this book is what it seems to be out of it's back book blurb. That did not even do justice to its true content. This had been a buzz kill for stress and anxiety for me.

Pay great attention in reading it. There is a lot of characters, you might get lost. But all of them is not in the book by mere namesake they are with a purpose (well ok, some of them have mundane role but still...). How do I start. First meet Haden Stone, a boy that has extreme supernatural power, Showalter doesn't have a name for his abilities. But what he does is draws power/supernatural beings. He have 4 souls inside of him (trapped), ever since he was born. He consider them as his friends. Eve who can time travel, Julian a necromancer, Elijah could do pre-cognition, mostly deaths of the person who passes him and Caleb can posses another human being. Second/Fifth character is Mary Ann Gray, a neutralizer as described, she mutes all Aden's soul when she's around giving Aden peace but the souls were thrown into a dark void. Then there's Riley, the werewolf, body guard of Princess Victoria, vampire, daughter of our very own Vald the Impaler a.k.a Dracula king of all vampires. Then there's Tucker, jock, part demon. The D&M boys lead by Dan Reeves, proprietor, founder of the juvie that housed Ozzie, Shannon, Aden and several other boys.Then Penny and Dr. Gray then there's witches, goblins, fairies, and soon all the supernatural community.

This is obviouisly a series which I celebrated up and about 1:13 am. Have I ever praised a book so much? I don't think so. Maybe because it is my dream come true. Supe Community smack inside a series, c'mon? No contest. Catastrophic interactions of characters aside, the plot is unique, (like I said) confusing yes, but give yourself time to adjust, you'll appreciate it too. The mystery is thicker than my hard headed skull, gratifying than Cheese Cake Factory's Red Velvet Cheesecake and as equally WOW as Brad Pitt's behind when we all saw him in Troy. So yeah I guess you could guess the book was "unputdownable" and that I was blown away.

When will she release book 2? Anyone know?


BookBlips: vote it up!


Thursday, October 22, 2009

Review: Septimus Heap Book 1 - Magyk by Angie Sage



BLURBS:

buy here: b&n or amazon.com

The seventh son of the seventh son, aptly named Septimus Heap, is stolen the night he is born by a midwife who pronounces him dead. That same night, the baby's father, Silas Heap, comes across a bundle in the snow containing a new born girl with violet eyes. The Heaps take this helpless newborn into their home, name her Jenna, and raise her as their own. But who is this myster ious baby girl, and what really happened to their beloved son Septimus?


THOUGHTS:

It starts with a death of Septimus Heap, seventh son of the seventh son, at the same day Silas Heap found a baby girl in the snow, who they named Jenna. Ten years after that fateful day, they found out that Jenna is actually the Princess of their kingdom, not only that but she is also in danger. Jenna has to be hidden from evil characters such as the Assassin, The Supreme Custodian and Wizard-turned-Necromancer, Dom Daniel, who needs her dead to be able to get to her crown. So Silas, Nicko (his son), Jenna and the extra Ordinary Wizard Marcia fled towards the Marshes with a sentry from the Young Army named Boy 412, to seek refuge at Aunt Zelda's place and the adventure began..

Took me a while to read this book. The first five chapters were not as engaging as the following one, so patience is needed. Sage over did her descriptions a little bit which is a benefit in a way but unnecessary. The story was complex and I needed time to adjust in Septimus' world. I got really into it when Chapter 27 hits. I found myself asking a one question over and over, until I found the answer. What is the deal with Boy 412?

A good start of a new series. Magyk is filled with advernture, quirky enthralling characters, funny scenes, mysterious events, clever spells, charms and potions. It also leads into a fantastic journey with thing like Boggarts, Brownies, a cat but a duck named Bert, a Message Rat, etc.

Recommended to fans of magic theme fantasy genre if you think that this is a Harry Potter wanna be I am telling you now this is nothing like the story of The Boy who lives and his world. Septimus Heap's have his own magical system and adventure.


BookBlips: vote it up!

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Review: Blue Moon by Alyson Noel


Blurbs:

I bought mine at: b&n

Just as Ever is learning everything she can about her new abilities as an immortal, initiated into the dark, seductive world by her beloved Damen, something terrible is happening to him. As Ever’s powers are increasing, Damen’s are fading—stricken by a mysterious illness that threatens his memory, his identity, his life.


Desperate to save him, Ever travels to the mystical dimension of Summerland, uncovering not only the secrets of Damen’s past—the brutal, tortured history he hoped to keep hidden—but also an ancient text revealing the workings of time. With the approaching blue moon heralding her only window for travel, Ever is forced to decide between turning back the clock and saving her family from the accident that claimed them—or staying in the present and saving Damen, who grows weaker each day...

THOUGHTS:
For Jazz, I am so sorry for the late review. Thanks for requesting. Here goes...

I fell inlove with Evermore. I remember sending Alyson Noel an e-mail as soon as I finished the first book, asking how long I have to wait for the second book. I was three weeks late on reading this when it got released and had some spoilers from my friends.

Now that Drina is out, this series needs a new trouble maker right away, it's not the time for Ever and Damen's happily ever after yet. New and interesting character slash villain- Roman, instantly showed up. He enroleed himself in Ever's high school. It's kind of hard to guess what his next move will be since he is so freaking unpredictable and the moment Ever met him, she already got that unexplainable dislike towards him, like Miles, Heaven and Damen, I thought she was just over reacting, thus explains the distant feeling that formed on those pages. On top of that major paranoia Damen started getting sick, wait what?! I thought he is immortal, what's up with that? And so Ever begins this journey to their mystical place - Summerland, there she was faced with a choice between saving her family or saving Damen.

The first 50 and so pages of this book made me wonder, where is this going? It was getting ridiculous how Ever keeps praising Damen (how hot, how nice, how handsome, blah blah blah) and then wham! I got hooked again. The mystery surrounding Damen's past and Ever's quest for answer left a weight on the mystery (enough that I refuse to have dinner at our favorite Korean Bbq place - my husband was shocked) and some surprising actions and decisions/choices made me like her again. The ending though, ugh! Alyson left me hanging. I hate it when I am left to speculate. But I'm glad I would not have to wait that long. Shadowland - Book three will be release on November 17th.

Like I said the book has a slow start but don't give up. Surprises are coming your way.


BookBlips: vote it up!

New Author Challenge 2010

I found this challenge on Jennifer's blog - Reading with Tequila
Challenge Host is Literary Escapism

The idea behind this is to find new authors that you’ve never tried before. They can be in your genre of choice or be brave and try something new. You never know what you’re going to like until you try it. If you’re looking for some suggestions, you can check out the Author page here at Literary Escapism or the 2009 Challenge page. With over 1000 reviews posted, I’m sure there will be something there for everyone.

Here are the guidelines:


1.The challenge will run from January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2010.


2.Since this is an author challenge, there is no restriction on choosing your novels. They can definitely be from other challenges. However, the authors must be new to you and, preferably from novels. Anthologies are a great way to try someone new, but only a third of your new authors can be from anthologies.


3.I want this to be an easy challenge, so you can pick to do either 15, 25 or 50 new authors. It all depends on how fast you read and how adventurous you want to be. For me, I’m trying another 50 new authors. If you reach your goal halfway through the year, don’t stop. Any new author you try can be added to Mr. Linky. We all want to know about your new experience.


4.After reading your new author, write your review and then come back here and add your link to Mr. Linky. Make sure you include your name and the author, but adding the title is completely up to you.


5.Bloggers or Non-Bloggers alike are welcome


Once you reach your goal, you don’t have to stop. Any new author you try, go ahead and head back here and add it to the list. Introduce us all to whoever you find. Afterall, there’s no reason to stop trying new authors, right?

_______________________________________________________________________
I have chosen to read 50 of My New Authors. Their website and the book that I read written by them will be posted here:
1. Beautiful Creatures - Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
2. Some Girls Are - Courtney Summers
3. Undead Much? - Stacey Jay
4. Forget-Her-Nots - Amy B. White
5. Girl Made of Cool - Alan Fox
6. Crimson Rose - Robin Malone
7. The Vinyl Princess - Yvonne Prinz
8. When Good Wishes Go Bad (As You Wish #2) - Mindy Klasky
9. Rampant - Saskia Walker
10. Nocturne - L.D Harkrader
11. Broken - Shiloh Walker
12. Swoon at you Own Risk - Sydney Salter
13 Magic Bites (KAte Daniels #1) - Ilona Andrews 
14. Her Vampire Husband - Michele Hauf
15. Freaksville - Kitty Keswick
16. Angel's Blood - Nalini Singh 
17. The Cold Room - J.T Ellison 
18. Circle of Friends V: Heather - L. Diane Wolfe 
19. Siren - Tricia Rayburn  
20. Angelology - Danielle Trussoni
21. Line - Teri Hall 
22. Original Sin - Allison Brennan  
23. Once Bitten (Haven #1) - Kalayna Price 
24. Hard Magic - Laura Anne Gilman
25. Angel Star - Jennifer Murgia 
26. Rise of Renegade X - Chelsea Campbell
27. Shadow Hills - Anastasia Hopcus
28. Claire de Lune - Christine Johnson 
29. Angelology - Danielle Trussoni 
30. How to Lose a Client by Becky Bartness 
31. A Vampire's Kiss - Laura Stamp 
32. Poor Little Bitch Girl - Jackie Collins 
33. Plus - Veronica Chambers 
34. Thirteen Days to Midnight - Patrick Carman
35. Stalker Girl - Rosemary Graham
36. Shadow of the Sun - Laura Kreitzer
37. The Birthday Ball - Lois Lowry
38. Meridian - Amber Kizer
39. Vamps - Nancy Collins
40. Would-Be Witch - Kimberly Frost
41. The Mark - Jen Nadol
42. Something like Fate - Susan Colasanti
43. Revenge Served Cold - Jackie Fullerton
44. Manifest - Artist Arthur
45. Ancient Whispers - Marie Claude Bourque
46. I'd tell you I love you, but then I have to kill you - Ally Carter
47. Pretty Little Liars - Sara Shepard
48. Perfect Chemistry - Simone Elkeles 
49. Alexandria Letter - George Honig 
50. Sucks to be Me - Kimberly Pauley


IN MY MAILBOX (3)

Check Out:



I wasn't satisfied with the first book of Bewitching series but my friends tell me it get interesting so I got the 2nd book. The Touch of Dead. I was disappointed when I found out that this is not the 10th book, but are back stories as long as I have Eric-Sookie to read. i'll take it. And my last purchase for this week. Book 2 of Septimus Heap. I am loving it, intriguing plot and full of magyk.

Mail:

Released this August, a Sci-Fi novel about the Bermuda Triangle. I am very excited.
(This is book was send by Bostick Communications and C.P Stewart)



Monday, October 19, 2009

Just Thoughts

BMP: You've been blogging since last year. It's a smae that you only have 52 followers.

PL&P: F You! so what do you care? I don't market myself enough. So if you can give met tips, that'll be great instead of being an ass.

BMP:  i'd love too but then again, I've nobody to laugh at.

PL&P: Some friend you are! Plus I have subscribers in from my friends that doesn't have blogger account. *sniff* You're so mean.

BMP:  Korean BBQ?

PL&P: Sounds good

Sunday, October 18, 2009

Review: The Trouble with Magic by Madelyn Alt


BLURBS:


buy here: amazon.com, b&n
author's web: Madelyn Alt

Bringing a little culture to Stony Mill, Indiana, Enchantments is one of the area's finest antique shops. But shop clerk Maggie O'Neill and her employer Felicity Dow do more than conjure up curios for the locals--the each possess a talent for spellbinding sleuthing.

Bored with her office job (and subsequently fired for excessive tardiness), Maggie jumps at the opportunity to work at Enchantments. She was a little weirded out when Felicity described herself as a witch, but if her boss wants to play with broomsticks and cauldrons, where's the harm? However, Maggie's first day on the job may turn out to be her last when police question Felicity in the murder of her estranged sister. With everyone in town proclaiming Felicity's guilt faster than the Salem Witch Trials, Maggie finds herself wondering if she'll also be tied to the stake. And lately, she's been receiving messages on a spiritual frequency guiding her to prove Felicity's innocence--and to embrace her own "charmed" life . . .

THOUGHTS:
It took me a long time to finish the book. I have to put it down to give way to three books before actually finishing it. I got bored. Maggie O'Neill's character is not interesting enough to make me want to find out what will happen to her involvement with Felicity Dow (her new boss, and owner of Enchantments slash witch). The novel tends to be descriptive.


It was not until Maggie found out that she is a Clairsentients, or a fancy word for Empath that I found myself getting a bit pumped up. The introduction of N.I.G.H.T - Northeast Indiana Ghost Hunting and Tracking Society. Not the Ghost busting type but they said they promote a happy coexistence among the spirit world and our world, that was when I got really interested. But this series need serious fixing'. Tom Fielding and Marcus Quinn could be interesting if Alt can lose the mediocre traits. The magic and charms explanation are ok and the thought of having witches in a conservative town surely has a great potential. I will continue reading the series in the hopes of character and plot evolution.



This book is part of my 3-4-5 Reading Challenge





Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Contest: Minor Change on Devoured Contest

Hey Guys,

I am now giving away 2 copies of Devoured.
+1 autographed by Amanda Maronne herself.
+1 my original book for giveaway

click here to go the contest page.

Thanks for participating.

Love,
Pat

Review: Code of Destiny by Sara Enochs


BLURBS:

buy here: amazon.com

Ava Ballantyne has a unique and special gift. A gift so powerful that she's not even allowed to share it with her closest friends. She knows that if this information fell into the wrong hands, the consequences could be dire.


At every turn there are those who want to learn her secrets. It's only natural for them to be curious about a woman who is not only deeply connected to an age-old secret society, but who's also being pursued by a telepathic CIA agent.

Join Ava as she daydreams about the past and begins to understand our future by reinventing her own life story, in The Code of Destiny.

THOUGHTS:
What exactly is this rare and extraordinary talent that Ava has? And a CIA telephatic agent? That was the most intriguing questions pertaining to this book and that itslef has keep me reading. A story that intertwined with the past and the present. At first I wasn't sure if I am going to like the protagonist. Ava Ballantyne was your typical control freak / Type A next door neighbor (or not) a death in her family will expalin why she is acting the way she is. I think everyone can relate to Ava. Her story was of  family, personal demons, adventure, loss and one one handles grief and history. A magical and heart warming story.
This is the first book in the Code Series.


I got my copy at Bostick Communications


What do you guys think about this?

FTC: Blogger must disclose payments for reviews

The Federal Trade Commission will try to regulate blogging for the first time, requiring writers on the Web to clearly disclose any freebies or payments they get from companies for reviewing their products.


The FTC said Monday its commissioners voted 4-0 to approve the final Web guidelines, which had been expected. Violating the rules, which take effect Dec. 1, could bring fines up to $11,000 per violation. Bloggers or advertisers also could face injunctions and be ordered to reimburse consumers for financial losses stemming from inappropriate product reviews.

The commission stopped short of specifying how bloggers must disclose conflicts of interest. Rich Cleland, assistant director of the FTC's advertising practices division, said the disclosure must be "clear and conspicuous," no matter what form it will take.

Bloggers have long praised or panned products and services online. But what some consumers might not know is that many companies pay reviewers for their write-ups or give them free products such as toys or computers or trips to Disneyland. In contrast, at traditional journalism outlets, products borrowed for reviews generally have to be returned.

Before the FTC gave notice last November it was going to regulate such endorsements, blogs varied in the level of disclosures about these potential conflicts of interest.

The FTC's proposal made many bloggers anxious. They said the scrutiny would make them nervous about posting even innocent comments.

To placate such fears, Cleland said the FTC will more likely go after an advertiser instead of a blogger for violations. The exception would be a blogger who runs a "substantial" operation that violates FTC rules and already received a warning, he said.

Existing FTC rules already banned deceptive and unfair business practices. The final guidelines aim to clarify the law for the vast world of blogging. Not since 1980 had the commission revised its guidelines on endorsements and testimonials.


Cleland said a blogger who receives a freebie without the advertiser knowing would not violate FTC guidelines. For example, someone who gets a free bag of dog food as part of a promotion from a pet shop wouldn't violate FTC guidelines if he writes about the product on his blog.

Blogger Linsey Krolik said she's always disclosed any freebies she's received on products she writes about, but has stepped up her efforts since last fall. She said she adds a notice at the end of a post, "very clear in italics or bold or something — this is the deal. It's not kind of buried."

source
____________________________________________________________________

I've never been paid to do a review before, while that is a cool way of making some extra money, I'm actually just satisfied with authors, publishers, PR companies, etc... giving me a copy. And I do thank them for sending me one.


IN MY MAILBOX (2)

Check Out:



Intertwined looks sounds really interesting, I'm excited to start read it tonight. Hush, hush is a debut novel and I'm always rooting for the underdog, well ok, of course their book has to be good too. I read a fair amount of positve - negative reviews about this book. So I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

 My Mailbox:


Shirley of Newman Communications, thanks for sending me the book. Will read books 1-4 first.

Still Up for Review:

Will write what I think soon promise.



Monday, October 12, 2009

Review: Covet by J.R Ward






BLURBS:


Redemption isn’t a word Jim Heron knows much about—his specialty, both personally and professionally, is revenge, and to him, sin is all relative. But everything changes when he becomes a fallen angel and is charged with saving the souls of seven people from the seven deadly sins. His weapon: the power of love. His enemy: the darkest of evil. And failure is not an option.


Vincent Di Pietro has surrendered himself to his business—until fate intervenes in the form of a tough-talking, Harley-riding, self-professed savior, and a woman who will make him question his destiny. With an ancient evil ready to claim him, Vin has to work with a fallen angel not only to win his beloved over…but to redeem his very soul.

THOUGHTS:

Jim Heron died, electrocuted. but then he had a dream or he thought he was dreaming. There were 4 guys who basicalyy told him that he is now on the playing field. Saving souls, saving mankind.-whooosah! Of course he thought it was ridiculous. But then he woke up and he realized that yeah he's was really on a mission and first one is his boss. Vin di Pietro. Real Estate Mogul, filthy rich. - the 7 deadly sins that he's guilty of was Avarice. So at first he thought that he was supposed to help him propose to his uber hot and pretty girlfriend (to be on the right path), Devina Avale, whom he had an encounter inside his truck the night before he died. So yeah he was feeling a littlke guilty and ashamed of himself because Jim is not like that. Vin on the other hand was being haunted by the memory of his wife-beater dad and suddenly had doubts. Devina came home with her stunning Blue Dress on the night that he was supposed to proposed but he noticed that she doesn't have a lipstick on, and for Devina that's just odd. Especially when he met Marie-Therese, a prostitute with morals and has zero personality. I was conflicted at first but as the story goes that actually turned out ok. So then Vin and Jim got into a fist fight with a couple of college douche that was harassing Marie-Therese and from then on everything got weird for all of them. Killings, Nightmare of having sex with a corpse, pre-cognition resulting to death, mystery stalker, knowledge that there are demons lurking on earth, etc. But at the end the good won but not quite. It was a very cheesy ending and don't even get me started at the hideous book cover.

What I really think?
At first I wasn't sure If I can continue reading. The prologue and first chapter was weak and I'm thinking, I have too many tbrs to waste my time on this one, but I endured the boredom and force myself into reading it. This was my first J.R Ward experience which turned out to be a disappointment.

I like Jim, he reminds me of Standard Alpha male, bad ass attitude that suddenly became all vengeful towards a death of a girl that he doesn't know. Vin di Pietro's all manly concern for Marie-Therese's safety and the mystery killer. Typical. I really thought it was Marie-Therese's ex-husband who was executing all this men. He sounded like the kind of guy that will pull a McGuyver to get out of prison.
It was a promising start for a new series (if you get impressed) but I wasn't blown away by this book. A certain chemistry is missing, for me to put this series into
"I cannot wait for the next book and see what happens to him." bookshelf. It doesn't also help that I keep thinking about my favorite TV show Supernatural (as there was some semblance to it) the angels an demons in this book sounds lame compare to the show, maybe in all books that has the same concept.




BLOG WITH BITE DISCUSSIONS

Q#1 - Did you relate to Jim at all? Did you feel like he was a good choice or worthy of this mission?
No not really. Maybe that's the problem there was just no connection between Jim and me. But as far as being worthy, definitely. He obviously have a good heart and the toughness fits with the job. Plus it was all about redemption and everyone deserves that.

Q#2 - How do you feel about the tone of the book? Did you think that there was too much slang/not enough/just enough? How did you feel about the word choice in the book- did it add to your reading of the story or take away from it?
The slang and cursing did not come out as cool in anyway. I did learn 2 new words for my vocabulary, gesticulate and fubard at least there's that.


Q#3 - When the "fantasy" of the book is based on a belief system that is regarded as truth by some religions (the angels & demons) does it help you relate better with the story, as opposed to a story about vampires and werewolves?
I was schooled in a Catholic private school since I was in kindergarten, so yes I believe in Angels and Demons but I still could not relate to Ward's version, there's something eerie about it, but I couldn't pin point exactly what/where. Both sides looks evil to me. Vampire and werewolves on the other hand are in a total different category and I never had problem reading about them. 

Q#4 - In the opening of this book we read about a football game analogy of Demons verses Angels, even though this is fiction what do think of Demons in this case Jim the Fallen Angel being portrayed as a "Good Guy"?
Well ok let's say Jim is the good guy (badly flawed at that) it seems like he'll never get a touch down. His personality isn't that strong to dodge the demons on his way on scoring the big points especially since it looks like he is battling a demon inside himself. At this point they look like they're playing on the same team. bad vs. bad.


Q#5 - How do you feel knowing this will be a 7 book series featuring Jim and he might win all of the battles?
I tried formulating some scenes and specualting on what Jim will become but nothing came out of it. But I am willing to read 2 more books in this series because I usually expect the 1st book to suck, so I'm, hoping it gets better.

Saturday, October 10, 2009

CONTEST & PRIVACY POLICY

Contest Policies
Terms of Contest Entry
  • You must be 13 years or older (for YA books) or 18 years or older (for books with mature content) to participate in Peace Love & Reviews giveaway.
  • Peace Love & Review is not responsible for items lost in shipping or items shipped directly from sponsors.
  • Winners will be chosen randomly by Peace Love & Reviews.
  • Most contest, you DO NOT have to be a follower to participate, unless otherwise indicated.
  • Winners will be contacted by Peace Love & Reviews via email. (no reply for address after 24 hrs., another winner will be randomly picked)
  • You must provide Peace Love & Reviews with an address where you want your prize to be shipped. Some sponsors might not want to ship on a P.O box, if this is required it will be indicated on the giveaway page.
  • No limit to the amount of giveaways you can enter on Peace Love & Reviews but you can only enter each giveaway once. If found you will be disqualified.
  • If not stated, it should be assumed that giveaway items have been provided by a sponsor as a donation to Peace Love & Review.
  • As a right, all contests can be extended or ended without notice or reason given
  • NO CHEATING! Entrants can be disqualified without notification, please read the rules carefully.
  • There are no substitutions allowed
Terms of Contest Entry
  • All personal information collected during the duration of a contest will be discarded immediately after the winners are chosen and notified. Personal information will NOT be shared or sold to third parties with the exception of the winners to the prize contributors.
    Related Posts with Thumbnails

    Total Pageviews

     
    Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos