visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Monday, November 30, 2009

Review: Naughty List (ARC) by Suzanne Young


BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Razorbill
where can you buy: bn, amazon
release date: February 04, 2010

As if being a purrfect cheerleader isn't enough responsibility! Tessa Crimson's the sweet and spunky leader of the SOS (Society of Smitten Kittens), a cheer squad–turned–spy society dedicated to bringing dastardly boyfriends to justice, one cheater at a time. Boyfriend-busting wouldn't be so bad . . . except that so far, every suspect on the Naughty List has been proven 100% guilty!

When Tessa's own boyfriend shows up on the List, she turns her sleuthing skills on him. Is Aiden just as naughty as all the rest, or will Tessa's sneaky ways end in catastrophe?

The Naughty List. Is your boyfriend on it?

THOUGHTS:
So far I've seen nothing but good reviews about this book. Praises for Suzanne Young, indeed it is. The plot revolves around cute cheerleaders by day spy at night. They call themselves S.O.S Society of Smitten Kittens, they decided to omit the K because it doesn't sound right. The S.O.S is lead by head cheer Tessa Crimson.

What are they spying about?
They are a non-profit organization that gathers data / evidence; visual, audio and written (Yes, they have sophisticated state of the art spy gear. Apparently their clients give generous donations) to prove if their client's beau is guilty or not of cheating. Sadly all cases came back as 100% cheater. Tessa was so into this whole thing that when Chloe Ferril transferred to Washington High and openly flirts and prances her ware around her boyfriend Aiden, of course she got paranoid and suspicious.
But I can't help but notice Chloe's brother, Christian. Intriguing, with a stalker like attitude that kind of creeps me out.

But who is really right for Tessa, the boy that she's inlove with, who in return says he loves her or the boy who knows her secret?

Here's what I don't like about the book. Too sweet for me. I am annoyed at Tessa's little Ms. Perfect attitude. She calls out her cheer peers, and her boyfriend everytime they cuss. And remains polite even though the insult was right in front of her face.  I think after reading this I prefer the cheerleaders with rotten attitude. Maybe it's my choice of heroine too. I like them awfully independent and bad ass. The expressions used to substitute the cuss words: Strawberry Smoothie whipped cream!, Good Gravy! Peanut Butter Sandwiches! Butterscotch! Apple Dippers! Fudgesicle! - corny much?!

Over all it was fun, comical, fast paced read with quirky characters and lots of sexy innuendos. Here's to hoping more character development and more sleuthing in the future.

BookBlips: vote it up!

Borrow My Book Tour (1)

Welcome to the first batch of
BORROW MY BOOK TOUR
(how does this work?)

BLURBS from GoodReads
(keywords: erotica, demon, shaman, urban fanstasy,vampires)

Participants Reviews
Mandy's review @ She Reads
Stacy's review @ Wicked Walker


BLURBS from GoodReads
(keywords: steampunk, vampires, werewolves, victorian, humor)

Participant Reviews:
Lady Storm's review @ Books, Movies, Reviews, Oh My!
Katrina @ Bloody Bad





*sign up for this batch is done*

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Guest Blogger: Larissa of Larissa's Life

Please welcome my guest blogger for tonight...


FULL NAME: Larissa Piva Benoliel

BIRTHDATE: August 11th, 1983
LOCATION: Tel Aviv, Israel
BLOG URL: http://www.larissaslife.com/
BLOG CONTENT: Personal and Book Reviews

FIVE THINGS PEOPLE DON'T KNOW ABOUT YOU:

1.I started teaching English as a second language when I was 17 and taught it for 7 years.
2.I love drawing. Mainly Women's clothes and abstracts.
3.I'm afraid of heights but love roller coasters.
4.I used to compete in swimming when I was younger and was pretty great at it.
5.Larissa means "full of joy" and my Jewish name, Sarah, has a similar meaning. It matchs my usual outlook to life.


Larissa Talks about her GUILTY PLEASURE

Hey there everyone. No, you are not mistaken and you did not tune into the wrong channel hehe. But we are not following with your regular programming today.


When Pat, the awesome author of this blog, asked me to come here and guest post, I felt really honored and said “Hell Yeah! I would love to.”. My second thought was “What the Heck am I going to blog about, Jeez”. Well, Pat gave me an idea and I’m going to run with it =)

Why don’t we talk about Guilty Pleasures? I mean, they are so much fun and the supposed guilt we feel from enjoying them is just extra spice to the mix, don’t you think?

I find that the term “Guilty Pleasures” might not apply to mine though. I’m not in the least guilty about it and when I think of it, I find it hard to point them out. However, I will definitely try.

First and foremost, I think my guiltiest pleasure would be, enjoying Paranormal Smut. Hawt Vamp loving as in the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by J.R WARD or pure and primal Were Romance as in The Others Series by Christine Warren are just the right fit for it. All these books should come out with little fans as bonus, because I certainly need one whenever I read those books =)

Another guilty pleasure of mine is actually a confession of sorts. I LOVE gadgets, Digital Camera, iPod, Touch Screen Cell Phone and Blue Tooth, I consider them all my babies. I absolutely <3 them all. However, that is not my confession. The thing is that, I actually name them. Each of them has a name and I have rules to the naming process =P

It has to be the name of a fictional character from TV, Movies or Books and it has to be male hehe. So, my Laptop is Chandler, My Camera is Barney II (from the TV show, How I met your mother), My cell phone is Dimitri (from the Vamp Academy series) and my iPod is Nilik (From the Aspect of Crow trilogy). The only exception of them all is my blue tooth, that since it accompanies the cell phone, I have named Rose =)


I guess that is enough Guilty Pleasures for me. I hope you don’t think less of me for my quirkiness. If you do, I am sorry to hear, but there is nothing I can do about it =)


Thanks again to Pat inviting me over for this guest blog. You Rock Pat! Thank you all for letting me share and if any of you want to know and read more about me and my reviews, don’t forget to check out my virtual home.


Thanks!

xoxo,
Larissa

Check out Larissa's blog for book reviews and for blog buttons and personalizes headers.

New Feature: Guest Bloggers


 I decided to jump the bandwagon and have my own feature about it too.

Peace Love & Guest Blogging will feature our favorite bloggers and authors. Articles are completely chosen by them. It will be a diverse topic about everything and anything.

I came across this article below, it makes perfect sense and this is also a good opportunity to get to know my fellow bloggers and great authors.

Why Guest Bloggers are Good for your blog and mine? (reference: http://problogger.net/)

The blogger who does the guest spot wins because it exposes them to a new readership and if you link back to your blog or if you arrange to have a byline with a link in it you can directly draw traffic back to your own blog as a result. Of course if you’re going to include links in your post make them relevant to the post itself.


The blogger who owns the blog wins because they get to take a break and keep their blog ticking over, they get to involve another blogger and they get a fresh perspective on their topic.

The reader wins because they get to hear about the topic of the blog from a new angle. Someone once told me that one of the lessons that they learned as a mother was the its not just parents who need a break from kids – its kids who sometimes need a break from parents. I think the same thing applies for bloggers and their reader – as much as your readers might love you – they need a break from you just as much as you need a break from them!

If you are interested to be featured pls. e-mail me. Happy Reading :)

Friday, November 27, 2009

BORROW MY BOOK TOUR - Guidelines


BORROW MY BOOK TOUR is an experimental feature where in I share my personal library to bloggers that loves to read and voice out their opinions about the book by writing a review about it. My collection ranges from PNR, YA, chick lit, urban fantasy, dystopia, horror, fantasy, metaphysics and contemporary fiction.

GUIDELINES in BORROWING

It's simple, I'll list the books that I own that you guys can borrow.
Click below for selection:
1st batch (closed for sign ups)
2nd batch (closed for sign ups)
3rd batch


1. How does it work?
The method / concept is borrowed from all the ARC tours.

•I'll ship it to the first person on the list.
•Read it then write a review about it. And link the BOOROW MY BOOK TOUR url to help me spread the word about this feature.
copy this ---->
http://peaceloveandpat.blogspot.com/search/label/Borrow%20My%20Book%20Tours
•Send it to the next person.
•The last person on the list needs to ship the book to me :)

If the book is shared by one of my blogger friends.

•He or she will ship it to the first person on the list.

•Read it then write a review about it. And link the BOOROW MY BOOK TOUR url to help me spread the word about this feature and get more traffic for my contributor's blog.
copy this ---->
http://peaceloveandpat.blogspot.com/search/label/Borrow%20My%20Book%20Tours and you also need to link the contributor's blog url. (this will be located at the batch page)
•Send it to the next person.
•The last person on the list needs to ship the book to the book owner.
*any other questions / concerns regarding the owner's book, please e-mail me*


2. How do I sign up?
You have to be a follower. (of this blog & the contributor's blog, whichever applies)

You must be blogging (reviews) for at least 4 months to qualify.
Leave a comment on the batch page with the choice of book you want to borrow, your state, e-mail and if you are willing to ship internationally.

3. How long can I keep the book?
Like the library there is a deadline, my maximum is 2 weeks once you receive it.

FOR AUTHORS who wanted to donate a book please contact me for info.
FOR OTHER BLOGGERS who wants to be a contributor by sharing their books, please e-mail me.
I will also leave a shout out card where everyone who particapted and leave me a little note or give suggestions on how to improve this program.

Since this is a pilot feature, I can only chose 5 people on the list.
All I ask is to be gentle with it, treat it like your own.
We all love our books right?

Any other question please e-mail me: peaceloveandpat@yahoo.com
Please title the subject line as BORROW.

AFFILIATES:
Borrow My ARC Tour


The Introverted Reader


 
 
I've also received several comments & e-mails asking me if they can do the feature at their blog too.
The answer is YES, I'd love to. Please fill out the form below so I can also link your site and maybe borrow from you as well :)



Review: My Soul to Lose & My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent


BLURBS:

where I got my copy: My Soult to Lose - B&N free e-book, My Soul to Take - Borders
where can esle can you buy it: B&N, Amazon

She doesn't see dead people, but…

She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next…

THOUGHTS:
 My Soul to Lose is a pre-quel for the Soul Screamers series. It basically tells the stroy on what happened to Kaylee when she wailed in the mall when she saw a kid in a wheel chair. It was her sad trip to the asylum when she started thrashing around and was trying to rip her throat to stop the horrible screams that came from her voice box.

My Soul to Take is the official start of Rachel k Vincent's YA series. Like I said Kaylee let's out a scream like a banshee, and yes she is exactly one according to the- she is book bean sidhe (banshee), I love mythology and I mentally kicked myself for missing this one. I must have dozed off when our english teacher talked about it. No clue on what a banshee is exactly (except that they do this terrible wailing), this book schooled me about their basic element...
Moving back to Kaylee's world. The major thing that happened was at the start of the book, when she and her best friend Emma snuck out to go to a club named Taboo where Emma's sister works as a bar tender. That night she saw another symptoms of a pre-departed (someone that is about to die). A grief so powerful, it devastated her, a panic overwhelming it shock  her very soul and then shadows surrounding the pre-departed and finally the wail that will make your ear drums shatter, only that night it did not happened. She met a senior named Nash who calmed her down by easing her pains and controlling the screams that threatened to be heard from three blocks away. I knew something wasn't right about Nash either (the good kind) but I couldn't really guess what he is since, I am too ignorant about Kaylee's nature. But like Kaylee, I think I'm going to collect him as my fictional boyfriend. LOL.

A world where our protagonist can tell who's going to die. Intriguing plot with interesting characters and mythological / supernatural creatures that has surprises along the way. Romance, suspense and a foreboding mystery.  Another good read, definitely adding this on my series to follow up on reading. This is my first Rachel Vincent book and I'm glad I like it.

BookBlips: vote it up!

Thursday, November 26, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving!!!




 
A few of the things that I am thankful for:
  •   My husband and son
  •  Good Friends
  • Good Food
  • Good Books
  • Brilliant Authors
  • My awesome blogger friends and Twitter people
  • Inspiring Music and Entertaining Movies
  • Work (eventhough I whine about it all the time)

  
I wish everyone safety and that you may have a wonderful Thanksgiving.
Food coma here I come!!!

Monday, November 23, 2009

Meme: Top 10 TV couples

This meme was from Angieville's blog. I haven't really thought about who my favorites are until I read her complication.

Here's the instruction: Compile a list of your top 10 favorite television couples and pass it on.
This is probably the most enjoyable meme I've filled out so far.
Here's what I got in no particular order.


Beth Turner and Mick St. John of Moonlight
I still mourn for the lost of this show but like a delusional ex-girlfriend, I am still hoping that the execs of this show will ressurect it. They are so far the best Vampire-Human coiple that I've seen on TV. Beth works at a web based news station helping Mick, a private detective solve cases involcing paranormal (mostly). They are not enemies, they do not not have ill feelings towards each other. Simply two beings that will surely "could have" had a happy ending (again back to my first sentence). Plus the two have good chemistry shown in TV. Swoonable.



Dean & Sam Winchester of Supernatural
Talk about bro-mance, these two hotties are my number one. Dean with his sarcastic,bad boy, sexy, impala driving bod who went to hell and back (pun intended) is my perfect bad boy protecting his younger brother Sam, Lucifer's chosen one, yet gentle, smart and extremely kind hearted. He did made me mad in a few episodes with his poor choices but no one can deny, they are really good for each other.
Plus hello, eye candy?! Killing evil forces. No contest.

 
Buffy & Spike of Buffy the Vampire Slayer
I think a lot of people understand and i don't really need to elaborate. The more you hate the more you love. Proven? well... yeah at least on this TV show. The Slayer that falls in love with her supossedly number one enemy.



Sue Sylvester & Will Shuester of Glee
What? They're not a couple? Why? Because they are not lovers, related or friends. You don't know that for all we know this is Sue's definition of best friends. LOL.
 Well Sue decided to pick on Mr. Shue and he fights back- on the first few episodes and their banter was hilarious, so without Mr. Shue there would be no psycho Sue, so I say they're a couple.



Joey Potter & Pacey Witter of Dawson's Creek
Who deosn't like them? Amazing on-screen chemistry, heart melting love, totally high shcool. I based my fictional love life watching this show. My classmates nicknamed me and my former class partner Joey and Pacey. It's cheesy now but it was a fun memory.


Will & Carlton of Fresh Prince of Bel-Air
This is probably one of the most funniest show aired on television, something about the dorky Carlton and the ghetto Will tickles my fancy. The cousin, best friend, enemy and wingman relationship that they have was one the best. The teasing was always hilarious. Did you see that episode when Carlton thought no one was in the house so he decided to do a lip-synch of Tom Jone's song and then Will caught him in the act? Or when Will stole Carlton's gf and they both got a flu? How about that episode where Will got shot protecting Carlton?


Paula Abdul and Simon Cowell of American Idol
Seriously without Paula's crazy and Simon's sarcasm and without their disagreement, I would have never watch American Idol.


Michelle Gilboa & David Shepherd of Kings
Ahhh... a classic tale of forbidden love. The show is based on fictional America ruled by the royal family Gilboa, loosely based on the biblical story of King David.
Michelle and David's love breaks my heart. They have to keep it as a secret which kills me because they are so good together. Why all the drama. She's a Princess and he is a humble war hero, you guys know how it works.
I also chose them because I heart David, those soulful eyes makes me melt like butter.



Carly Shay & Sam Puckett of iCarly
That's right, I watch Disney and I love this show, not because I have a kid, heck, I watch this even if he's out playing with friends or having a sleep over. Carly and Sam are best friends and they have their own web show. Their antics are comical. Carly is the peaceful, reasonable and well like one while Sam was a tomboy-ish, obnoxious and a trouble maker.


Blair Waldorf and Chuck Bass of Gossip Girl
I stopped watching the show a long time ago. But I do love some Chuck and Blair loving and wickedness.
Based on season one, where I stopped, both are equally wicked and nothing but selfishness and trouble in mind. They are the male and female version of each other.

Tag you're it!
Post a Meme of your own top 10's
Please leave your link or leave a comment with your list so I can read what you have :)

Thanks for reading mine.
Have fun...

BookBlips: vote it up!

Review: Moonrise (Unbidden Magic 2) by Marilee Brothers


BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Compliments of Belle Books
where can you buy: amazon

Her mom's still dating losers. Her boyfriend's gone back to Mexico. Dad still hasn't told his wife and kids that she exists. At school, the drama queens and bullies still rule. But worst of all for Allie Emerson--aka the Star Seeker of an old Gypsy prophecy--is that her powers have taken a hike. She can't read minds anymore. She can't move stuff just by looking at it. The other Star Seekers are counting on her psychic gifts more than ever, and the evil Tri-marks are closing in, eager to snatch her magic moonstone necklace while she's helpless. The hot new guy at school is ready and willing to fight her battles, but he comes with some wicked baggage. Dear Diary: I'm a little worried. My new BF is a demon.


Welcome again to Allie Emerson's funny, scary, amazing, and always unpredictable life, as the girl voted least likely to save the world from evil.

THOUGHTS:
The second book of Unbiddden Magic made this series "unputdownable", while I resent Faye for being an immature mom dating losers and being all patheic and sadly irresponsible it gave me a clue on why, she possess a secret that her daughter our refreshingly optomistic protagonist, Allie. But that detail will have to wait until book 3 entitled Moon Spun, which sadly is not due until February of 2010.
Book two starts with Allie on her way to conjugate with the member of her world called the Star Seekers, where she was a guest of honor due to her previous adventures with the evil driven organization called Trimark, whose main purpose in life was to take the magical Moonstone from her by eliminating her out of their way and rule the world with their malevolent plans. He previous used of her Telekinetic power resulted in killing a Trimark memeber which in turn unleased the power of three. The main result was she lost her juice. Coincidently, some one new was there to help her. Beck Bradford, easy on the eyes and born with special powers too. Beck and her twin sister Nicole are half-demon. (Their mother was raped by an incubus). How did Beck helped her? He is a healer or a Shaman, and did some chanting and ritual that helped her loose the nightmares and the feeling of guilt. Not only did he helped Allie got her juice back, he now also held Allie's heart at present. Junior, Allie's supposedly boyfriend went to Mexico, possibly not returning anytime soon or ever.

Book two also revealed that there are two prophecies, one we already knew was about her and the other one involves something about the Trimark themselves. There were three villains this time. The one was obvious but the two others snaked their way in to get close to her. They did some pretty interesting magic on their end too. We also met Allie's estranged grandfather Claude, who gave Allie something to think about. "Ask you mother why is she so unhappy", "Ask her about her mother Melia" oh and he knows Allie's powers...now the plot thickens.

BookBlips: vote it up!

Other book(s) from this series that I reviewed:

Saturday, November 21, 2009

How Twilight Should End

I saw this at TheBookVixen's page and she saw it at VampChix page, like her I wanted to share the laugh.

Review: Moonstone (Unbidden Magic 1) by Marilee Brothers


BLURBS:

where I got my copy: courtesy of Belle Books
where can you buy: Amazon
The girl voted least likely to save the world may have to do just that.


A sickly mom. A crappy travel trailer. High school bullies and snarky drama queens. Bad-guys with charming smiles. Allie has problems. And then there's that whole thing about fulfilling a magical prophecy and saving  world from evil.

Welcome to the funny, sad, sometimes-scary world of fifteen-year-old Allie Emerson, who's struggling to keep her act together (not to mention her mom's) in the small-town world of Peacock Flats, Washington. A zap from an electrical fence sets off Allie's weird psychic powers. The next thing she knows she's being visited by a hippy-dippy guardian angel, and then her mysterious neighbor, the town "witch," gives her an incredible moonstone pendant that has powers only a "Star Seeker" is meant to command. "Who, me?" is Allie's first reaction. But as sinister events begin to unfold, Allie realizes she's got a destiny far bigger than she ever imagined

If she can just survive everyday life, in the meantime.

THOUGHTS:
Alfrieda Carlotta Emerson, Allie for short used to be a normal teenage 15 year old. She lives in 24 foot trailer situation on his Uncle Sid's land with her destitute single mom who claims she has Fibromyalgia just so she can get some support from the government. Their situation was depressing but in real time there are people with similar situation. Allie's dad supposedly left when his parents threaten to disown him. Her mom then swore that she will never ask anything from him. But one day something weird happened, upon investigation and of course with the help of a hippy ghost named Trilby and her friend Kizzy she found out that she has special powers of Telekinetic. Not only that she was the "chosen one" from the prophecy. Kizzy gave her the Moonstone that have some awesome powers. To name one, when she rotated it she can hear other people's thought. What is this stone all about? A lot of people seems to want it to themselves. When her friend Kizzy got beaten up people called the Trimark sudenly wants her dead.

This is the first book of the Unbidden Magic series, and it looks promising. Allie is a likeable character, she's smart, strong, charming and has a good heart. The story was comical, magical, suspenseful and the supernatural plot draws you to Allie's world.



Movie Review: New Moon




It's finally here. I am not a hardcore fan of the movie but I am supporting it in honor of the book.
New Moon is definitely a step up from the Twilight movie the CG, the director, the new addition of actors, the scenes shot in Italy scream "now we have the budget to redeem this movie".
While I resent Director Chris Weitz on how he ended the movie,
I love him for doing so. The ending had a killer cliff hanger that for someone who chose not to read the books, they will now surely buy and read it.
The actions scenes were bad ass. The one where the wolf pack chases Victoria, I like that, especially the slow motion shots. I heard people are complaining that there aren't that many action scenes, well duh! if you want more action you should have watched Law Abiding Citizen or whatever movie that fits the bill.
The movie was 2 hrs. 10 minutes long, as far as I'm concerned they made the important scenes.
The actors, (here we go) ---> RPatz as Edward? I still stand to my previous opinion. NOT Edward Material. Last night there was a ridiculous debate about Team Edward vs. Team Jacob, while a lot rooted for Jacob at the first half of the movie then others went back to Edward at the end, most stayed with Jacob, why? well... I did talk to some people. I took this review seriously by interviewing some, yes and these are the answers that I got.
...because Edward left Bella.
...because when Jacob gaze into Bella's eyes, my friends and I melt
and
...because Jacob is Taylor Lautner - that body, that abs, my libido went haywire, and it goes on...
Whoever did RPatz make up really made him look dead and it should be because after all he is plays the role of a vampire but it was too cakey; Emmet's, Jasper and Carlisle even the Volturi's men doesn't look as gross compared to Edward's. Not only that RPatz looks scrawny / malnourish besides Taylor. I mean RPatz shouldn't be as buff but dude, it wouldn't hurt if he puts on a little more weight / muscle. And jeez the acting, so unromantic, insincere and boring. Maybe Edward's character is really hard to act out but surely someone can do better than him.
I only stayed Team Edward because he is a vampire and that he redeemed himself in Eclipse.
If hotness is concerned not doubt I am Team Jacob.
Ok, enough about RPatz, let's move on to Bella. KStew - I love her. Something about her awkwardness and anti-social nature draws me. I adjust well in weirdness. But her acting was all wrong too but at the same time I don't know who else can play the perfect Bella.
Alice played by AshG remains my favorite Cullen she's so cute and AshG played the part.
The Wolf pack too was the crowds favorite. yes there is a lot of man boobs in this movie, although the females are not perverted they did wish their man posses the same physique. Not me I think it's way too much but I agree they were HOT!
Please tell me you guys notice Alex Meraz the guy who played Paul? I almost had a heart attack when he did that side glance and said sorry to Bella. hahaha
The Volturi were awesome too. Lucian, I mean Aro played by Michael Sheen is as eerie as he is in books. Dakota Fanning as Jane looks as bitchy, intimidating and powerful as her role.
So over all I rate the movie B-

How about you guys? What's you take?


Looking forward to June 20, 2010 :)
Here the first Eclipse poster.



This review is part of my Vampire Challenge 2009

BookBlips: vote it up!

Friday, November 20, 2009

Review: Blood Promise (Vampire Academy 4) by Richelle Mead


BLURB:

where I got my copy: borrowed from a friend
where can you buy: BN

How far will Rose go to keep her promise?


The recent Strigoi attack at St. Vladimir’s Academy was the deadliest ever in the school’s history, claiming the lives of Moroi students, teachers, and guardians alike. Even worse, the Strigoi took some of their victims with them. . . including Dimitri.

He’d rather die than be one of them, and now Rose must abandon her best friend, Lissa—the one she has sworn to protect no matter what—and keep the promise Dimitri begged her to make long ago. But with everything at stake, how can she possibly destroy the person she loves most?


THOUGHTS:
WOW!!! Did I mention that I'm really into this series? Did I mention that there's something about Rose's impulsivity, sarcasm and will power that makes this book world go round?! And did I tell you that Richelle Mead is a goddess?! Well then...

The tragic and intense emotional scene written at the end of book 3 left me at the edge of distress. I wanted answers right away and so after a few minutes of finishing it I read it with careful scrutiny to make sure I don't miss any detail. And with that I have to apologize now, I won't be able to shut up with this book, so if you haven't read any of this series yet turn back now and come back later or stay read what I have to say and go running towards the nearest book store and buy the box set. LOL. Either way you've been warned.

When Mason nodded as an answer to Rose's question whether Dimitri is now a Strigoi, I've unleash a string of curses that even I made myself cringe. NO! NO! NO... how the hell can Mead let this happened? it was too much but again, it was brilliant. Rose of course knowing how she is decided that she will hunt down Dimitri and kill him herself. She dropped out of school and left her best friend Lissa to fend for herself. The conversation that they had made me want ot slap Lissa, what a selfish bitch! She didn't even offer to go with her. Why can't she be supportive? Are they going to lose each other too? But that was pushed to the side with the more pressing matter. Where on Siberia is Dimitri?

Rose had quite an adventure in this book she met a human named Sydney who apparently called herself an Alchemist. She knows of the world of Moroi, Dhampir and Strigoi and serves as the protector of their secret to humankind. She also found another shadowkiss and spirit user named Mark and Oksana who gave her good advice and help her save Lissa towards the ends of this book. She also met the Belikovs, it sucks that she has to be the bearer of bad news. They welcome her like a part of their family, the reception was heart warming, well until this shady character Abe, who later revealed as her father blackmailed her into leaving Baia. She still keep tab on Lissa and Adrian still visits her in her dreams. There was another enemy in the name of Avery Lazar, of course I never see that coming, I thought her plan was long term. I thought her goal was to make Lissa forget about Rose or break Lissa and Christian's relationship ordered by the Queen. The most heart breaking and intense thing that happened, was when Rose found Dimitri or should I say Dimitri found Rose, help her captive and persuading her to be "awakend" like I said, I cannot believe that this is happening, Dimitri was now truly a monster power hungry and selfish. The most depressing part of the book was what he did with Rose. Those were the pages that I pained to read. After summoning all her will power I was convinced that Rose is the strongest female character that I've ever read, how could anyone bounce back like that? She finally did what she came for, that bridge scene gave me hope that Dimitri will be healed some day. I believe that Robert can help them but until then...

The ending was not depressing like the third book, I was happy that Rose got direction in her life again and I am also leaning towards giving Adrian a real chance, hey it could happen when Sookie Stackhouse and Bill Compton started I never thought that I would become team Eric Northaman but I did. So Adrian-Rose is not impossible. But then again Dimitri-Rose might be really for each other we'll have to wait until May next year?! really?! *sigh*


BookBlips: vote it up!

Other book(s) in this series that I reveiwed:

Thursday, November 19, 2009

2010 Young Adult Reading Challenge

J. Kaye's Book Blog is hosting this challenge. This is another excellent way to get tbr's for the YA genre. Go over to her site to join now.

Here are the rules:

1. Anyone can join. You don't need a blog to participate.

--Non-Bloggers: Post your list of books in the comment section of the wrap-up post. To learn how to sign up without having a blog, click here.

2. There are four levels:
--The Mini YA Reading Challenge – Read 12 Young Adult novels.
--Just My Size YA Reading Challenge – Read 25 Young Adult novels.
--Stepping It Up YA Reading Challenge – Read 50 Young Adult novels.
--Super Size Me YA Reading Challenge – Read 75 Young Adult novels.

3. Audio, eBooks, paper all count.

4. No need to list your books in advance. You may select books as you go. Even if you list them now, you can change the list if needed.

5. Challenge begins January 1st thru December, 2010.
____________________________________________________________________________
I chose the Super Size (75 books)
1. Beautiful Creatures - Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
2. Some Girls Are - Courtney Summers
3. Undead Much? - Stacey Jay
4. Forget-Her-Nots - Amy B. White
5. The Vinyl Princess - Yvonne Prinz
6. Swoon at your Own Risk - Sydney Salter
7. Circle of Friends V (Heather) - L. Dianne Wolfe
8. The World We Live In - Susan Beth Pfeffer
9. Freaksville - Kitty Keswick 
10. Siren - Tricia Rayburn
11. The Line - Teri Hall
12. Once Bitten - Kalayna Price 
13. Angel Star - Jennifer Murgia
14. Rise of Renegade X - Chelsea Campbell
15. Shadow Hills - Anastasia Hopcus
16. Claire de Lune - Christine Johnson 
17. Plus - Veronica Chambers
18. Hourglass - Claudia Gray
19. Stalker Girl - Rosemary Graham
20. My Soul to Save - Rachel Vincent
21. Thirteen Days to Midnight - Patrick Carman
22. My Soul to Keep (Soul Screamer #3) - Rachel Vincent 
23. Birthday Ball - Lois Lowry
24. Splendor Falls - Rose Mary Clement-Moore
25. Kiss of Death - Rachel Caine
26. Meridian - Amber Kizer
27. Vamps - Nancy Collins
28. The Mark - Jen Nadol 
29. Something like Fate - Susan Colasanti
30. Airhead - Meg Cabot
31. Manifest - Artist Arthur
32. Pretty Little Liars - Sara Shepard 
33. Catching Fire (Hunger Games 2) - Suzanne Collins 
34. Spirit Bound - Richelle Mead 
35. Perfect Chemistry - Simone Elkeles 
36. Nocturne - L.D Harkrader 
37. The Giver - Lois Lowry 
38. I'd tell you I love you, but then I have to kill you - Ally Carter
39. Still Sucks to be me - Kimberly Pauley

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Review: Shadowkiss (Vampire Academy 3) by Richelle Mead


BLURBS:

where I got my book: snatched it froma  friend's book case ( I need to buy my own after this)
where can you get your copy: Barnes & Nobles, Borders

Is Rose's fate to kill the person she loves most? It's springtime at St. Vladimir's Academy, and Rose Hathaway is this close to graduation. Since Mason's death, Rose hasn't been feeling quite right. She has dark flashbacks in the middle of practice, can't concentrate in class, and has terrifying dreams about Lissa. But Rose has an even bigger secret . . . .She's in love with Dimitri. And this time, it's way more than a crush.


Then Strigoi target the academy in the deadliest attack in Moroi history, and Dimitri is taken. Rose must protect Lissa at all costs, but keeping her best friend safe could mean losing Dimitri forever...


THOUGHTS:
Another EXCELLENT book in the series! This is my favorite so far. I am also glad that now we have grasp on what "shadowkiss" really means...

I am just going to do this as a quick rant without really giving out anything major but something that will get those who are not convinced that this should be a tbr priority.

Complications are piling up. Rose seems to be getting a lot of it. This series contains angst beyond ordinary teenager (in fiction). Mason came back, only not as what we all hoped for. The Guradian field experience is up and there was an unexpected pairing. Lissa can use her powers again only there are consequences and our badass best guardian in the making plays a role that is so huge it questions the Dhampir to Moroi code of conduct or motto or whatever you wanted to call it. Victor jack^%$ was ushered away, for now. The Queen is a total bitch and has a long term goal that got me pissed off ( I know it's only a book and I should calm down, but no. I am passionate and this is what I feel). We also still have Adrian and I think he's going to stay, I actually like his role but I am still suspicious. Christian's insecurity about that his family reputation and Adrian-Lissa training with their magic is getting the best out of him. The moment that I was waiting for finally happened, what now?! how will this change them? I am so EXCITED!!! I think most of the fans that read that part actually jumped up and down, coz I did and some people I know did too. Only they aren't at lunch sitting inside their office with an open door when they did that. (uh-huh I embaraased myself again). Finally an unexpected, never been imagined, never benn questioned and action pack "awesomeness" happened and a part that screams "this is an outrage! really is this happening?" How? What? I am not telling, you have to read it NOW people, you don't know what you're missing.

P.S
I was so suckered in I wanted to e-mail Richelle Mead all these questions and demand some answers.
Seriously I think I'm OD-ing on fantasy. LOL

{Reading Book 4 now...}



BookBlips: vote it up!

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Review: Frostbite (Vampire Academy Book 2) by Richelle Mead











BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Barnes and Noble
where else can you buy it: amazon, borders 

Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose...

It's winter break at St. Vladimir's, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy's crawling with Guardians—including Rose's hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if handto- hand combat with her mom wasn't bad enough, Rose's tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason's got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa's head while she's making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy's not taking any risks....This year, St. Vlad's annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price...


THOUGHTS:
This only the second book but I can already see how exciting the next books will be. Richelle Mead is a goddess. I am not even exaggerating. I have no complaints, the story is perfect. I totally got sucked in. I forgot that I love Eric Northman and Sookie Stackhouse. That is huge because Southern Vamps, is the one series that I cannot stop recommending to people. There's something about the world of the Moroi, and Dhampirs figthing the blood thirsty Strigoi that fascinates me at no end, their interaction is somehow realistic.  Love triangles, cliff hangers, mystery, politics, new intriguing and interesting characters, sexual tension, and drama, drama, drama. I had a hard time writing this review. I did three revisions. The problem was, I can't seem to shut up, I don't want to give away anything major. I think I finally got myself satisfied with this one, so here goes.

Book 1 ends with Victor and Natalie as the perpetrator. Book 2 posed so many complexity in Rose's life. First Dimitri accompanied her on a drove 5 hours for Rose's Qualifier's exam only to find out the guy that would be testing her was dead - massacred, together with his Moroi charge and family. There they found disturbing evidence that humans are possibly involve, she found a silver stake at the ground that clearly cut off the wards.
Second, her mother showed up and gave her a black eye when they were on sparring practice.
Third, her feelings towards Dimitri is still intact and no matter what distractions and mental pep talk she gives herself, she keep coming back to where she started.
Fourth, Lord Adrian - a new character that got some interesting and very suspicious powers.
Fifth, her non-existent feelings for Mason.
Sixth, the bond that she shared with Lissa.
But those are actually petty issues compared on what happened at the end. Another attacked three states away, made a former enemy now their ally. A tragedy caused by wrong judgement resulted in a tragedy that took a life of one of the few important people in her life. She did get her first two Molnija tattoo for decapitating two Strigoi but it wasn't as glamorous and she did not feel as proud as she imagined it to be.

That last part suck but it was brilliant. I got carried away and felt Rose's pain. Something big is coming up. Rose seems to be getting moody and her personality is becoming darker. What big surprises will I get in reading book 3? Only way to find out...

P.S
So I read this one book review and she totally hates the book. She hates Rose's defiance, recklessness, impulsivity and she think the characters are too self centered because they have boy problems. Wow! F you then. I was a teenager once and I think most people at that age had the same dilemma, so I have no idea why that concept bothered you. Where and when were born? Even my super conservative sisters expereinced that. Clearly you are boring.  You didn't even acknowledge the plot, you centered your review on that specific area. <--- ok that wasn't part of review I just got to let that out.


BookBlips: vote it up!

My ongoing contests that you might want to check out:

Win Book 1 & 2 of Chicagoland Vampire Series
Win a Immortal Series Book
WIN 4 BOOKS



Monday, November 16, 2009

Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead



BLURBS:

where I got my copy: BN
where else can you buy it: Borders, Amazon

St. Vladimir's Academy isn't just any boarding school—it's a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They've been on the run, but now they're being dragged back to St. Vladimir's—the very place where they're most in danger. . . .


Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy's ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world's fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

THOUGHTS:
Like I said on Twitter, I did an all nighter for this book. I never anticipated that I will enjoy it this much. I can't believe nobody pushed me to read it sooner. I had my eye on this series for a long time now but I read the HON first and that one was horrible, when I read the back cover of the first book for both series, it sounded like the wanna be of each other, a vampire school, royal vampire blood, never ending gossip and politics... But yesterday finally I decided to read a chapter inside Barnes and Noble, the next thing I know I went ahead and bought it. And as soon as I got back from watching 2012 with my family, and after helping my son with his human needs and tucking him to bed I read till I finish.

Rose reminds me of my rebellious teenage years. The sneaking out to go to parties, the smart mouth, a bit disregard towards school authority (the principal-yes!!) and defending friends... that was my connection with this book and her character. Like Dimitri, I am greatly impressed at her will power and dedication in protecting her best friend / charge and Moroi Princess Vasalissa that I am a bit appalled that she is so weak.  (I hope that improves soon) But that worked fine, it balances the characterization in the book. Even Jesse, Ralf and Mia's irritating antics and  were in place.

There are a lot of reason why this book is unputdownable:
1. The storyline was intense.
2. Dimitri Belikov.
3. I cannot stop reading until I find out why they ran away - the first part of the book.
4. What's up with Mia? What's with all the hate?
5. What exactly is/are Lissa's powers? and How is she connected with Ms. Karp and St. Vladimir.
6. Teenage Hormones (well ok, ever since I read that article that this book is banned from a Texas library I wanted to find out where they got the ridiculous notion that this spreads evil amongst teens- the result? Whole lotta bull)
7. Who the hell is pulling the atrocious animal killings that puts poor Lissa on the edge?
8. The Vampire - Dhampir relationship in this book.

So yep, I was sold. I am officially jumping on the bandwagon and I don't care what the haters say, I was greatly entertained, that I am reading the second book as soon as I finish this review. Highly recommended for both YA and adults.



BookBlips: vote it up!
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos