visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Monday, October 4, 2010

Gothic City Lights by Brindle Chase



BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Review copy e-book from author
where to buy it: Loose ID ,Amazon (Kindle)

It was just a fling. Lilith Templeton had no clue he was a human agent working for the angels. No big deal, but she got caught and Mother Superior, Portland’s most powerful angel, wants penance. Or death, Lilith’s choice. Being a lowly half-demon and therefore not a participant in the never-ending war for souls, she knows it's insane to cross the full-blood demons like Mother Superior wants. But opting out isn't an option: do or die. For additional penance, she's paired with an angel who not only ignites her lust but something more. Lilith wants to fall in love, to know what it was like to share herself with just one man. Yet since succubi needed to stay sexually satisfied, falling in love with the angel of chastity is a mistake she can’t afford.

Gabriel would have never second-guessed his choice to ascend through the virtue of chastity. Until he meets Lilith. Now, his ascension would be forfeit if he cannot vanquish his need for her. Having no choice but to ignore the fire burning inside them, they work towards tempting the demon cult’s human leader into revealing the hideout. Lilith, sexually irresistible half-succubus, is the perfect bait. Get in, send the signal and wait for the angel to rescue her. Oh and not get killed, or tempt the angel. Simple, right?

THOUGHTS:

When I read the blurb I know a half blood succubus and an angel of chastity is the perfect recipe for disaster.

Lilith hates her name so she wanted everybody to call her Lil, she is the half blood succubus who frequent the bar named Gothic City Lights, she knows and tasted everyone in "the backroom" of the bar at least twice. She is fun, sexy and everything someone with a succubus blood should be. And then there is Gabriel, an Angel of Chastity one level away from ascension, pure and a solid temptation for our little succubus. Mother Superior (the head Angel in Portland) had the brilliant idea of pairing them up to find out the demon responsible for funding gangster extraordinaire Coyote's drug business, for all intents and purposes, Lilith and Gabriel has a mission that would benefit any, but the pairing up is almost cruel. A punishment for Lilith and the ultimate test for Gabriel.

I was frustrated and angry for both of them. They obviously have massive amount of pent up sexual energy, enough to cause an earthquake once they get it over with but no something extremely deadly have to happen and they did it in the most bizarre situation in their life. I was glad that they finally did it but of course like most stories that did not end there, there were consequences and other revelations that seriously annoyed me not because I did not like like but because it was so cruel to be played like that.*wink*



Wednesday, September 22, 2010

I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore


BLURB:

where I got my copy: Borders
where to buy: Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Book Depository

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books—but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. we have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.
They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.
I am Number Four.
I am next.

THOUGHTS:

After reading Mockingjay, this was recommended to by VIA Facebook, Twitter and GoodReads so I was expecting a total dystopian genre, make no mistakes it is still present day Earth and although the blurb says they are aliens, humans are still oblivious of the fact that they are among us. I am not very fond of alien themes but I do love watching them in the movies but something about I am Number Four catches my attention. Maybe its the: "Nine of us came here." or "We are the superheroes you worship" or the creepy feeling that nine aliens came here on earth, either way whoever wrote the blurb gets to have a champagne bottle because it worked.

I love the concept of the story and the futuristic theme. The Mogadorians are going planet to planet to suck up all its natural resources to feed their greed. They have already done so, on the planet Lorien where our heroin for this book, John Smith a.k.a Daniel Jones a.k.a Number Four came to earth with his Cepan (bodyguards, keeper, etc) Henri and the other nine kids. This book has been garnering some attention, maybe because Spielberg is directing a movie on it. I hope it turns out well because the book is just OK. It did not really offered anything new or super exciting, the dialogues are border line lame too I still have hopes for this book, the action scene was good and I wish there was more of that somewhere in the middle... anyway, the point is it did not suck too much for a debut, it could use some improvements and still deserve to be read.


Friday, September 10, 2010

Convo of Mockingjay (Hunger Games 3) by Suzanne Collins with Rex Robort reviews


BLURB:

where I got my copy: Borders
where to buy: Amazon, B&N

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

THOUGHTS:
I have rated this 2 stars as soon as I finish reading it and I wrote a little of what I am feeling on GoodReads.com but after much contemplation I decided to change the rating. But before that let me just say that I still hold the ground that I think part 1 and part 2 was a waste of paper. I was bored and I feel sorry for all the characters and annoyed by the turn of events. I guess that is what Ms. Collins is after (minus the boring part), because this is dystopian after all. No sugar coated scenarios and no mellowed down scenes. I can't stand it everytime Katniss is being manhandled, seriously. Coin needs to die, so I was happy at the end.

Here's my convo with Julia of Rex Robot Reviews on Facebook after reading Mockingjay.
I decided to post this since, I have already read a million reviews about Mockingjay, so I figured other people might already get sick of reading another review. So I opted for this route.

STATUS: Patricia Ann Tolentino-Ortin I am so disappointed with Mockingjay :( I WAITED for this?! Julia Sutch you done reading?

September 2 at 1:22pm Friends of Friends · ·





    • Julia Sutch I'm done... I liked it! But you know, I was kinda depressed about the ending... I wanted to see Katniss happier than that. She seemed too apathetic for me.
      September 2 at 2:00pm · ·



    • Patricia Ann Tolentino-Ortin Yes!!!! that's why. But the first two parts is what really gets me :( I got bored and I keep waiting for something exceptional to happened but no... I haven't been to your website, I'll go there and see if you review it yet.
      September 2 at 2:44pm · ·



    • Julia Sutch
      I haven't posted a review for it... I mean, every single site is posting reviews, so I'm going to wait awhile. With all the people posting about it the past two weeks, I got sick of the cover/title. haha.

      What did you think about the two th...at died?!?!See More
      September 3 at 4:07am · ·



    • Patricia Ann Tolentino-Ortin
      Oh me too. I think I am going to wait till everything dies down. lol Maybe post my broken Lake and Blameless review.
      After much contemplation, I realized that I am riddled with emotions after finishing Mockingjay. I realized that I was just ......seriously frustrated with the lack of action and flatness in character on the first two parts but after that it was actually good. I have finally realized that I am Team gale and I am very very sad on what happened to them.

      Two that died? You mean Rue and Finnick?
      See More
      September 3 at 1:02pm · ·



    • Julia Sutch
      How was Broken Lake and Blameless? Don't you give my any Blameless spoilers! I am going to start that book today. Did you read Deeply, Desperately yet? I'm going to read that one after Blameless.

      (Mockingjay spoilers below to anyone who has...n't read the book)

      I felt like my heart was broken at the end of Mockingjay. I liked the happy ending, but I want Katniss to feel more joy/happiness. I just didn't feel that when she was talking about the life she had with the kiddos. I'm sad Gale kinda went MIA too, but I was really happy she ended up with Peeta. I think they were the better match.

      Two that died - Prim, her sister and Finnick. He had just gotten married and had a baby!!! AGH!! And then Prim, she went through all this hell to save her, and in the end, the Capitol gets their way anyway.
      See More
      September 4 at 4:28am · ·



    • Patricia Ann Tolentino-Ortin
      yeah I meant Prim and Finnick. i dunno why I keep saying Rue, since she's been dead since end of Hunger Games.

      Exactly what I am thinking! my heart broke when Prim died. She had such a good future ahead of her and she is so smart and talent...ed. i know that was the final straw for Katniss. i was surprise she didn't really go insane. Finnick's death, I don't have so much, but the fact that i wish he could have had some last words, a message for Annie. like a convo maybe between him and Kat before the whole mission.

      Why does it have to be Gale's invention that killed Prim and those kids? odds have been so against him, it was obvious that Peeta is a better choice. And ohhhh Sbiw should have died a painful torturous death after the genocide anf inhumanity that he has done, but no! he died of what? Poison, stampede, unknown reason? weeeak. Coin's death was kind of awesome, the woman had it coming.

      Broken Lake is goood :) read it soon. i haven't read Blameless yet, i decided to read I am Number Four first. Dooood it is pretty interesting you gotta check it out. Def,maybe... i havent bought a copy yet.
      See More
      September 4 at 8:33am · ·



    • Julia Sutch
      Finnick went through so much and was a little insane, so I'm glad things were better for him before he died- but he was a relatively large character and I feel like his death wasn't given enough time!! Agh!! I wish she were writing more.

      I ...liked Snow's death... I feel like it would have been tiring and made the Rebels just like the Capital if they would have tortured him. I was so happy when Katniss killed Coin. I had a feeling they were going to take her out in one way or another.

      What is Broken Lake about? I started Blameless- good so far. I have an ARC of I am Number Four... I wasn't that interested in starting it right away, but let me know what you think- if it is good I will jump on it. I've been more into the YA books lately... but I'm still getting more romance ARCs than YA. :(

      PS! I'm glad you're back!!! :)
      See More
      September 5 at 4:08am · ·

Thursday, September 9, 2010

Fans of Marta Acosta

Good news to all Marta Acosta fan, there is a free read of Nancy's Theory of Sty at Scribd for us.
You can download on you e-readers (Nook, iPad, Kindle...) or download it on your computers. This is the draft of the book so the cover is of different version. If you haven't read it here is the perfect chance to see what it is all about.
 
 
 

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

CSN Store's Quilted Faux Leather Evening Bag

A few months ago I hosted a giveaway from CSN Stores for a very hefty gift card price of $75.00 to the lucky winner. I decided to visit their website again ---> CSNStore.com ,  they have over 200 stores. They have vast selections of products from office supplies, gardening tools, fitness equipment, bedroom vanity, shoes, handbags, pet products, everything and anything that I could think of. After a few days of browsing through their website I finally found this...

Kathy Ireland by Murval City Chic Quilted Faux Leather Evening Bag in Black 

I've been looking for an evening bag, something that looks elegant, something that I can partner with everything, quilted and has a long strap. Yes Chanel's quilted lambskin would be perfect but I don't really have $1200.00 extra to get, and quite frankly even if I do, I don't think I can spend it on a purse. So I decided to search of CSN have one and lo and behold they do and this one is the right size and has a cute shape, perfect size and the price is right! This would be my alternative accessory bag when I attend parties, weddings or even for a girls' night. I am excited to get it.

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

AT&T iPhone 4, 16gb with 3gs network


So I said, "I am not buying the new iPhone 4, I'll probably wait for the next generation or for the 4g network and switch back to Verizon." But then again PMS and some $#!+ happened and I decided that I want one. I have looked at the high seas and millions of miles away wherein I can purchase it right away but to no avail. This frustrates me, I even had a fight with one chick because I was supposed to get it but I was literally 3 seconds late in grabbing the last one at Best Buy. I finally said, "F it, i am going to order this online." And then Apple told me that it will get to me 3 weeks from purchase. I was supposed to go to Hawaii! So I did the expedited shipping and got it the same day I was leaving for my vacation. I was so happy and excited. I do not care about the little signal problem that people are having, I do texting and internet anyway. I sold my iPhone 3gs to my best friends boyfriend for $350.00 NOT. BAD. It just basically replacing the money that I used to buy this iPhone 4. 

Let me tell you about the design... It is epic! It looks so technologically advance, sleek, elegant and it matches with all my outfit. *laughing out loud* that last part, I heard that from this girl shopping at Louis Vuitton.. I'm sure the Droid X is a phenomenal phone too but to me the material they use looks like a cheap hard plastic when placed side by side with the iPhone 4. I know this because I tease my boss endlessly about this and our office voted on it. The resolution? Is the bomb! everything is HD even the sucky videos in Youtube. The camera; even though it is not on a 10 megapixel level it is way better than my Canon, Sony Camera's, the Blackberry and the Droid's resolution. The Face Time is so awesome, I did a test run in Hawaii and connected to April (@Sugar Fling) in Irvine and it was so clear! Ok, as long as you stay within the Wi-Fi range which was cool since we are not even using phone minutes. The only thing that I do not like is the glare. Damn it is like a mirror. Do not go into the sunlight, you will not see anything on your phone and this means that I have to buy one of those InvisiShields that will cost me another $20.00 and if I buy it at Best Buy, they will charge $8.00 for the application. Boo... As far as on how fast it can connect tot he apps and browser? Damn AT&T killed it for Apple. My signal was fluctuating, and sometimes I cannot even connect, and this was showing all full signal! We had a Road to Hana trip in Maui and Road to Wailea and I cannot get a signal! All the people in that trip uses Verizon so they made fun of me, the bastards. The only thing that i would love for this iPhone to change is the Face Time. I wish there is a way to do it with the 3g, I wish I could use it for IMs and I wish we could do a 3 way Face Time. Jailbreak? (afraid to try it, if you did can you let me know how it works?)

Conclusion: So... yeah it is the coolest phone ever stuck in a crappy network. As soon as Verizon releases their iPhones next year I am switching back. I am not paying top dollar to get lousy service.

Phone

 AT&T Service

Monday, August 23, 2010

5 Mini Reviews

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Library

They said his uncle Ian died in a car accident. Alex Rider knows that’s a lie, and the bullet holes in his uncle’s car confirm the truth. But nothing can prepare him for the news that the uncle he always thought he knew was really a spy for Britain’s top-secret intelligence agency. Enlisted to find his uncle’s killers and complete Ian’s final mission, Alex suddenly finds himself caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse, with no way out. The original novel that started the worldwide phenomenon is now a major motion picture!

THOUGHTS:
I've been hooked with spy novel as of late; Anna Campbell, Evelyn Salt, Annie Walker or Chuck Bartowski might have slight influence on the whole thing but I am just generally fascinated with the whole espionage business. The mystery, danger and drama of it all provides great entertainment. Young Alex Rider here is no exception, in fact he is completely awesome, i still cannot get over that whole fiasco on that metal grinder. I keep thinking this could not be happening, maybe I am missing something and Alex is actually a cyborg or a half breed of something but no, it was all teenager with great spy skills passed down by his uncle without him knowing it. Agood start of a great series. Can't wait to read book 2.

.5





BLURB:

where I got my copy: Library Thing Early Reviewer

Jessica's life seemed difficult enough since the sudden loss of her mother, but meeting Pietr Rusakova turns her world upside down again. The newest member of Junction High, Pietr is a first generation Russian-American, a fact that by itself makes him different enough to get lots of attention in the small town. But Pietr is far more than good looks and an interesting accent, Pietr has secrets to hide-secrets including dramatic changes he's undergoing that will surely end his life early. Secrets dating back to the Cold War get the better of Jessica's curiosity, leading her into an exciting and dangerous world where her understanding of reality and what makes a man or a monster will be challenged.

THOUGHTS:
I cannot stress enough how much I am not interested in anything werewolf. I'm sure they are great but I just could not get pass the whole total transformation thing, metaphorically sure its great but visualizing the whole "changing" process also reminds me the smell of a wet animal... But, sometimes I encounter a book as well written as this and I suddenly forget all my whining about them. I am not so much a fan of the pace but I think the fans of this book could all agree with me when I say that, the pace adds a little to the mystery and to the anticipation. There are some parts that I do not approve on but it worked out, maybe book 2 would be so much better.





BLURB:

where I got my copy: Amazon.com

Lively young socialite Nancy Carrington-Chambers has always believed an excellent sense of style and strict attention to detail are what it takes to succeed, but her own husband Todd is showing symptoms of incurable tackiness, so Nancy flees their McMansion for her posh San Francisco apartment. She knows her event planning company, Froth, is a real winner, but she must prove herself by reinventing the turgid Barbary Coast Historical Museum fundraiser. Luckily, Nancy now has the perfect assistant. Derek Cathcart is British, impeccably dressed, gorgeous, and clearly gay—so why does Nancy find him so attractive?

Before Nancy can unravel her feelings, her irresponsible cousin Birdie abandons her little daughter with Nancy and takes off. Nancy, Derek, and Eugenia make an unlikely “family,” but strangely it seems incredibly right. Now Nancy’s parents are pressuring her to return to Todd, and she still has to pull off a spectacular party. For someone who’s always known exactly where she’s going, Nancy is in dangerously uncharted waters.

THOUGHTS:
Small trivia: Grace Coopermsith is the pen name of Marta Acosta.
If you are a fan of her Casa Dracula books then you are familiar with Nancy. Let's just say that she is someone I avoid because of all the perfection and rules about social etiquette and what-not. But I love this girl, despite her high standards, use of fancy words, and elaborate ridiculousness about flowers and stuff; I can actually relate to her. She's hilarious and has a strong personality. So imagine her with a gay English assistant and baby sitting her irresponsible cousin's 4 year old daughter. The ideas are endless, I tell you.

.5

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Cadence

Randall Lender was a Wanted Man. He was wanted by the Clergy of the Major Organized Religions, the Governments and the New World Order, but that was the least of his problems. After going out of body (astral projection) Randall Lender suddenly found himself in such a paradox where the surrealism meets dilemma. Within this phenomenon of Looking Through the Hour Glass he unfortunately after leaving his physical body ended up into another's. This was his paradox. This was his dilemma. This was his surrealism. And regrettably for Lender this was the real quantum problem. Randall Lender found himself on an unexpected journey with its twists and turns until he realizes that he must die to live for his return to his former body. And now the elixir of questions remains: What? How? And Why? Then you'll ask why me? Why him? And What If?

THOUGHTS:
Unfortunately I had a hard time reading this book. I just could not connect with the character and the story. The language has nothing to do with it. The book and I are just not compatible. I do love the question behing it though - "What happens if one's soul gets lost after leaving the host body?" it has been a topic of drunk conversations and weird nights with family and friends but sadly reading about it is just not the same. Maybe I'll try to read it again sometime.

BLURBS:

where I got my copy: I won from Good Golly Miss Holly

In the final weeks of eighth grade, Lauren Wood made a choice. She betrayed her best friend, Helen, in a manner so publicly humiliating that Helen had to move to a new town just to save face. Ditching Helen was worth it, though, because Lauren started high school as one of the It Girls--and now, at the start of her senior year, she's the cheerleading captain, the quarterback's girlfriend, and the undisputed queen bee. Lauren has everything she's ever wanted, and she has forgotten all about her ex-best friend.


But Helen could never forget Lauren. After three years of obsessing, she's moving back to her old town. She has a new name and a new look, but she hasn't dropped her old grudges. She has a detailed plan to bring down her former BFF by taking away everything that's ever been important to Lauren—starting with her boyfriend.

Watch out, Lauren Wood. Things are about to get bitchy.

THOUGHTS:
I am all about the mean girl and teenage angst as long as it is made into a comedy and less of a horror story that involves some of the characters dying, ending up in an asylum or worst permanently screwed up and taking people with them. Lauren Wood is your typical high school Queen Bee, she'll use every one important to her to get what she wants. Gossip Girl, Mean girls, It Girls, we are all familiar on how they are and what they are capable of. I will try the lip gloss and mascarra thing next time as an evil prank and see if it will work. The only thing that did not work out was the ending. What. was. that. all about? I feel like it was totally rushed and that none of them completely learned their lessons. I wanted to know if Bailey and the other Lauren pose remain friends with her, how Brenda did with the whole drama thing and if Helen figured out what she want with her life now that she stopped obsessing about Lauren and if Queen bitch decided to mellow out...

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Winner - Marilee Brother's contest

And the Winner is....



LIA SUNNY


Please e-mail me your contact info to claim your price.

Monday, July 19, 2010

BLOG ON HIATUS

Hi Everyone,

My blog will be on hiatus. I have some personal problems that I need to resolve, it has been a hell of a weekend and I am sorry that this has to happen.
I will be back and hopefully soon. For the authors and publishers that have sent me their book. I promise I will still review your books and when I get back it will be all reviewed.
Thank you for understanding and support.


Patricia

Friday, July 16, 2010

Karma Girl (Big Time 1) by Jennifer Estep

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Barnes & Noble

Bigtime, New York, is not big enough for both Carmen Cole and the superheroes and ubervillains who stalk its streets. An intrepid reporter, Carmen's dedicated her life to unmasking the spandexwearers, all because her fiancé turned out to be a superhero, and a cheating one at that-sleeping with none other than his nubile nemesis.

Exposing the true identities of the nation's caped crusaders and their archenemies has catapulted Carmen from her sleepy southern hometown to the front pages of the country's biggest newspaper, The Exposé. Hobnobbing with millionaires and famished fashionistas is all in a day's work for a woman on the trail of the Fearless Five and Terrible Triad. But when Carmen gets the scoop of her career, her life comes crashing down around her. And even Bigtime's sexiest superhero, Striker, may not be able to save her.

THOUGHTS:
Hell hath no fury than a woman scorned.

On Carmen's wedding day she found out that her fiance and her best friends were entangled in a very shocking way. She literally caught him with his pants down while her best friend moan with pleasure, after her heart shattered into million pieces, the shock did not end there, in the throes of undressing, she caught a glimpse of another clothing underneath, and found out that her fiance was a superhero named Machinator  (controls machines with his mind) and Crush (freakishly super strength). So what do you do if you are an investigative report scorned and heartbroken? You take a picture and turn your humiliation into a headliner. And that was exactly what Carmen did, she made it her personal vendetta to expose superheros and ubervillains so nobody won't feel cheated like her ever again. And more months / years she was successful at it, people are fascinated by her skills on uncovering who is behind those mask and spandex until one of the superheroes group member called Fearless Five committed suicide after being exposed.

Booed and threatened by the public, Carmen was forced to write the society page of the newspaper. But her life got even more complicated when she was kidnapped by the ubervillain nemesis of Fearless Five called the Terrible Triad. She is of course being black mailed and was given some nasty image of how they are going to torture her but then she met Striker (leader of the Fearless Five) and she never thought a superhero can be so good looking with a spandex. Conflicted with the past and stressed out by what is happening in the present, Carmen still did what she does best, nosy, sarcastic, funny and impressive on everything.

I love the story the plot, the humor, the characters and the ending. I haven't read much of a superhero vs. villains book but every time I do, I always end up wanting more and Jennifer Estep's is no exception.
I wish Big Time series could be all about Carmen and her superheroes... a girl could dream

Thursday, July 8, 2010

Author Post: Marilee Brothers


The Bad Mother

Relationships. They’re hard. Don’t let anyone tell you different. Husbands and wives. Fathers and sons. Mothers and daughters. One of the themes in my YA Unbidden Magic series is the relationship between my protagonist, Allie Emerson, and her young, single mother, Faye. It’s true; Faye isn’t exactly “Mother of the Year.” Still, I was unprepared for the reaction of some reviewers. After reading Moonstone, one reviewer hated Faye so much she wanted to “smash her in the face.” Another resorted to a string of fake profanities like *#*$**! Yet another felt compelled to address her remarks directly to Faye by shouting, “GET OFF YOUR LAZY ASS AND GET A JOB!”

Okay, people, let’s all take a deep breath and think about it. Why did my portrayal of Faye hit so many hot buttons? The obvious answer: Bad mother, Faye, tapped into their own experiences, dredging up bitter mother-daughter memories. If this is the case, I completely understand and sympathize. However, there may be another explanation. Smother mothers. Women who live their lives through their children at the expense of their own identity. I believe there is a distinct possibility that some of the horrified reactions to Faye’s character may be code for, “Look at me! I devote every moment of my life to my children. I am the poster child for good mothering. Faye should be more like me.” Of course, there’s also a distinct possibility that I’m wrong!

Like most writers of fiction, my books are based on the real world. When I worked as a counselor in an alternative school, I encountered many “Fayes” and “Allies,” mothers and daughters whose relationships were totally upside down. In other words, the kid was the adult, the adult the kid. I learned a valuable lesson from this experience. One might think the teen forced into early adulthood would be hateful toward such an immature parent. Quite the opposite is true. These kids love their mothers.  And Allie, despite having moments of extreme anger and frustration, cares deeply for her mother. As I write each book in the series, I make an effort to deepen the relationship between Faye and Allie even though it remains dysfunctional. It’s called keeping it real. Time (and reviews) will tell me if I succeed.

I’d love read your comments and opinions on good and bad mothers, as well as answer your questions. If you leave a comment, you’ll be entered into a drawing for a signed copy of any of my books. Many thanks to Pat for allowing me to express my thoughts.



ABOUT MARILEE
I've been in love with the written word since the age of four when I sat on my mother's lap, scanning the newspaper for the simple words she'd taught me. One of my first memories is of visiting the public library and returning with an armload of books. Even now, you can find me standing over the stove, stirring spaghetti sauce with one hand, an open book in the other.
Early on, I began to create my own stories. Elaborate fantasies with a full cast of characters played out in my mind. I made people fall in love, killed off a few and continued to tweak plots vowing, some day, I would write a book. Some day.
Well... some day is here. I now write full time, and, with the support of my husband and an eighty-five pound black Labrador Retriever sleeping on my feet, I'm working on my fourth book. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I've enjoyed writing them!

 My reviews of Marilee's books here:

Moonspun - Soon (book to be release this July)

Contest: Marilee Brothers Book

Win any book of your choice signed and directly from Marilee Brothers.





 My reviews of Marilee's books here:


Moonspun - Soon (book to be release this July)



HOW TO PLAY:
Mandatory: Leave a comment for Marilee here
                                                          You must be a follower of this blog. Blogger or Non-Blogger

+ 2 Retweet this contest..
+ 2 Add me on Facebook, Twitter or GoodReads
+ 3 Leave comments on my review of Marilee's books.
contest ends: 07/21
  • You must provide a working email when you leave a comment so that I can notify you should you win.
  • Contest is open to Blogger and Non-Blogger and must be US  residents only.
  • Winner will be notified via email and has 48 hours (two days) to respond with a mailing address. If the winning contestant does not respond after 48 hours a new winner will be drawn.

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Only the Good Spy Young (Gallagher Girls 4) by Ally Carter

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Planned Television Arts

When Cammie Morgan enrolled at the Gallagher Academy, she knew she was preparing for the dangerous life of a spy. What she didn’t know was that the serious, real-life danger would start as soon as her junior year. But that’s exactly what happened two months ago when she faced off against an ancient terrorist organization dead set on kidnapping her.

Now the danger follows her everywhere, and even Cammie “The Chameleon” can’t hide. When a terrifying encounter in London reveals that one of her most trusted allies is actually a rogue double agent, Cammie no longer knows if she can trust her classmates, her teachers — or even her own heart.

In this fourth installment of the New York Times best-selling series, the Gallagher Girls must hack, spy, steal, and lie their way to the truth as they go searching for answers, recognizing that the key to Cammie’s future may lie deep in the past.

THOUGHTS:
Oh.My.Gawd! This is by far the most exciting and my favorite in the series. Book three left us wondering why the bad guys from Circle of Cavan is after Cammie, here in book four we found out why. The opening of the story starts in London while Bex and Cammie were ice skating when all hell broke loose. An ally is being accused of being a double agent! An ally that are very close to them, somebody that they trust and somebody they look up to. I wasn't really shocked that this happened, I've seen too many spy and action movies where in the good guys turned into or accused as being one of the bad guys. But it is still hard to tell because the premise of the book... Spies, which means they all lie! How can you tell if people around you are lying to you? Would you leave it to faith? Intuition? Or are you going to put matters into your own hands?

When you are Cammie and friends you sleuth your way into the mystery until it is solved.
A lot of the questions were answered. Like... who is Zac Goode, really? Where is Blackthorne? What really happened to Cammie's dad? Is the "Ally" really a bad guy? Book four marks the true nature of this series, my doubts were straightened out and I am really impressed on how the story from book one to four evolved. The characters matured and in every book the gravity of the career that they will have in the future is being shown. It wasn't over the top yet filled with actions, and gadgets that seems unattainable yet not impossible.When I reach Chapter 40, I seriously want to hit something, a scene like that being read at three a.m is dangerous for me, if what I thought really happened I would lose Friday sleep altogether. This is how I read books, if I am really into it, it get way too much involve but usually after I finish reading it I get back to reality. LOL. No but seriously, I think this is what the fans of this series are waiting for. The ending left me wondering how Cammie is going to do it? Is her friends going to follow her? and other more pressing questions that I cannot really write because it will spoil yourreading pleasure.

Dont Judge the Cover by Her cover (Gallagher Girls 3) by Ally Carter

BLURB:

where I got the copy: Barnes and Noble

When Cammie “The Chameleon” Morgan visits her roommate Macey in Boston, she thinks she’s in for an exciting end to her summer break. After all, she’s there to watch Macey’s father accept the nomination for vice president of the United States. But when you go to the world’s best school (for spies), “exciting” and “deadly” are never far apart. Cammie and Macey soon find themselves trapped in a kidnappers’ plot, with only their espionage skills to save them.

As her junior year begins, Cammie can’t shake the memory of what happened in Boston, and even the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women doesn’t feel like the safe haven it once did. Shocking secrets and old flames seem to lurk around every one of the mansion’s corners as Cammie and her friends struggle to answer the questions Who is after Macey? And how can the Gallagher Girls keep her safe?
Soon Cammie is joining Bex and Liz as Macey’s private security team on the campaign trail. The girls must use their spy training at every turn as the stakes are raised, and Cammie gets closer and closer to the shocking truth. . . .

THOUGHTS:
Let's face it, the moment Macey stepped out of that shiny black limousine when we first met her in I'd tell you I love you but I have to kill you. We were all expecting that her political background will be a good plot to write a kidnapping story. When's a better time to do it? Election day of course. And that's is how it all started.

Cammie accepted Macey's invitation to go to her while she is attending the campaign for her Senator father. A detour via elevator to the roof top had them faced to face with kidnappers riding on a helicopter. But since they are no ordinary silly teenagers they got away via trash chute but not unscathed. Besides scratch and bruises Macey and Cammie were somewhat traumatized but when you are a spy in training this nightmares cannot hinder what is in front of you. A group of people is out there wanting to hurt them and they must find out who they are. Armed with their wits, girl power, disguise and other knowledge from their Covert Operations classes Cammie, Macey, Bex and Liz with the help of the mysterious Zac head on to the mystery that lead us to some shocking twist and a revelation that will completely change the course of this series.

Twice Bitten (Chicagoland Vamps 3) by Chloe Neill

BLURB:

where I go my copy: Penguin
release date: July 06, 2010

Merit, Chicago’s newest vampire, is learning how to play well with others. Other supernaturals, that is. Shapeshifters from across the country are convening in the Windy City, and as a gesture of peace, Master Vampire Ethan Sullivan has offered their leader a very special bodyguard: Merit. Merit is supposed to protect the Alpha, Gabriel Keene—and to spy for the vamps while she’s at it. Oh, and luckily Ethan’s offering some steamy, one-on-one combat training sessions to help her prepare for the mission.

Merit must accept the assignment, even though she knows that she’ll probably regret it. And she’s not wrong. Someone is gunning for Gabriel Keene, and Merit soon finds herself in the line of fire. She’ll need all the help she can get to track down the would-be assassin, but everywhere she turns, there are rising tensions between supernaturals—not least between her and a certain green-eyed, centuries old master vampire.

THOUGHTS:
Before reading this book, I recalled how I came across this series. I've never heard of it and did not read any reviews when I decided to purchase its first book Some Girls Bite. I am always happy when I find a book on my own and influence friends int o reading. It is really awesome that I found this book and my bloggers friends seem to love it like I do.

Since this book has not been released yet, I will try to avoid spoilers as much as I can.
So remember where we left off in Friday Night Bites? The Shifter leader - Gabriel Keene and his Apex pack are in town to have some convocation about staying in the area and maybe allying with one of the Vampire Houses. Ethan and Merit were in the center of it all. The story was not as highly political as I would think it would be which suited me just fine. Gabriel is a pretty interesting character he has valor, intelligence and a genuine love for his people and family, a sign of a great leader. I hope to see more of him in the future Chicago Vampire books.

This is by far my favorite book in this series. I love every page of it. This is what I've been waiting for (what we've all been waiting for); a start of something, a pace in the series... A more up close and personal profile of Cadogan House, Master Vampire, Ethan Sullivan. And a newly improved Sentinel of the Cadogan Merit. These two kept me all night robbing me of sleep, whether because of a training scene in the Sparring room, the constant bickering and there is great amount of foreshadowing that heightens their undeniable attraction for each other. Ethan made me swoon, broke my heart, then got me back to swooning some more. And Like I said have improved, in every thing fighting skills, she had fully embraced vampiredom but still has the heart and stubborness of the former human version of herself, and she is really coming out of her own. Even if other elements are trying to influence her.

Chloe Neill did it again, and I think she especially did a splendid job on this one. It has plenty of action scenes that will give you a good imagination on how dangerous and awesome Merit has been. A fair amount of humor. Romance that everybody will be rooting for. Intrigue that will categorize this book as unputdownable. And a heart of a writer that puts in a lot of thought and emotions into her. It has all the elements that will get a reader hooked.

Still Sucks to be Me by Kimberly Pauley

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Raab Assoc.

With vampire boyfriend George and best friend Serena by her side, Mina thought she had her whole life—or rather afterlife—ahead of her. But then Mina’s parents drop a bomb. They’re moving. To Louisiana. And not somewhere cool like New Orleans, but some teeny, tiny town where cheerleaders and jocks rule the school. Mina has to fake her death, change her name, and leave everything behind, including George and Serena. Not even the Vampire Council’s shape-shifting classes can cheer her up. Then Serena shows up on Mina’s doorstep with some news that sends Mina reeling. Mina may look a lot better with fangs, but her afterlife isn’t any less complicated!

In this eagerly awaited sequel to the popular Sucks to Be Me, Kimberly Pauley addresses many of her fans’ most pressing questions (Will Serena become a vampire? What happened to Raven? What’s next for Mina and George?) with signature humor and breezy bloodsucking style.

THOUGHTS:
I haven't read the first book but I love Mina. Sure some parts were missing but short details that can fill some blanks are provided here on the second book so I'm good. Have I mention that I love Mina? Well... she is hilarious, I love her sarcasm and her stubborn way of dealing with the changes in her life, not only of the undead vampire part but also the moving to Cartville, (out of nowhere) Louisiana part since the vampire authorities forged their death. A necessary precaution yet Mina insists to be unnecessary. There is also the part that her boyfriend George decided to go to Brazil to look for his undead parents which means not only did Mina is far away from her best friend Serena, George might be prancing around Brazil not to just look for his parents but might also meet some Brazilian hottie.

Mina isn't depressed as what she believe she would since stuff at Cartville keeps her pretty occupied. The next door neighbor's son who seems to have a mean girl on his tail, a vampire hottie that is a member of some controversial vampire clan (that screams suspicious), parental comedies, teenage worries, powers that came along with being a vampire, etc. Mina found out that vampires like her and her mom who feed on animal blood has a very lovely nickname called the Pig Swigger or the Cullenist depending on who is saying it. And these stuff would be just boring without a mystery so of course our witty heroine is sitting on one. An unexpected visit from her best friend and a reappearance of her psycho enemy named raven from Book 1 and some very questionable stuff about Cameron and his clan. A quick read full of laugh out loud moments, sarcasm, wit.

Insatiable by Meg Cabot

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Barnes & Noble

Sick of hearing about vampires? So is Meena Harper.
But her bosses are making her write about them anyway, even though Meena doesn't believe in them.
Not that Meena isn't familiar with the supernatural. See, Meena Harper knows how you're going to die. (Not that you're going to believe her. No one ever does.)

But not even Meena's precognition can prepare her for what happens when she meets—then makes the mistake of falling in love with—Lucien Antonescu, a modern-day prince with a bit of a dark side. It's a dark side a lot of people, like an ancient society of vampire hunters, would prefer to see him dead for.
The problem is, Lucien's already dead. Maybe that's why he's the first guy Meena's ever met whom she could see herself having a future with. See, while Meena's always been able to see everyone else's future, she's never been able look into her own.

And while Lucien seems like everything Meena has ever dreamed of in a boyfriend, he might turn out to be more like a nightmare.

Now might be a good time for Meena to start learning to predict her own future…
If she even has one.

THOUGHTS:
I have only read one Meg Cabot series and I thought it was excellent, I still read them from time to time whenever I needed s character with enough moxie to make a dull day. Yes it is Suze from the Mediator series, then I started with Airhead series but I cannot seem to find a day to pick up the next book. And now this... Meena Harper was awesome. She can predict when somebody is going to die and how they are going to die. Not the coolest gift ever since people kind of don't want to know that they are about to die? I don't know I think its cool, you can save lives... but that is of course easier said than done. Her career is a script writer for the soap Insatiable, which took off on a different direction since vampire is all the rage. She has charm and humor.

Prince Lucien and his cronies of vampire screams ancient. He is the direct descendant of Dracula, they stalk at night, use compulsion as they wish, get ashed when sunlight touch their skin and is being hunted by Vatican vampire slayers. Typical and late, I think Cabot jumped too late on the vampire novel wagon. I got bored when I got to the middle part, too cliche and too predictable but the ending is something else. I felt genuinely weepy and heartbroken for Meena.
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos