visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Sunday, February 28, 2010

Review: Original Sin (Seven Deadly Sins) by Allison Brennan

 
BLURB:
where I got my copy: MLM Media Relations
where to buy: BN, Amazon, Borders

Haunted by chilling memories of demonic possession and murder, Moira O'Donnell has spent seven years hunting down her mother, Fiona, whose command of black magic has granted her unprecedented control of the underworld. Now Moira's global search has led her to a small California town that's about to become hell on earth.

Tormented by his own terrifying past and driven by powers he can't explain, ex-seminarian Rafe Cooper joins Moira's dangerous quest. But Fiona is one devilish step ahead. Hungry for greater power, eternal youth, and stunning beauty, the sorceress is unleashing upon the mortal world the living incarnations of the Seven Deadly Sins.

Together with a demonologist, a tough female sheriff, and a pair of star-crossed teenagers, Moira and Rafe are humanity's last chance to snatch salvation from the howling jaws of damnation.

THOUGHTS:
I wasn't really sure if I was going to finish the book. Not just because the first 50 pages was a bit on the frustrating side, it was also because I wasn't sure how I feel about Moira and because I felt a bit lost. But then Anthony, the demonologist showed up. His snide comments made him look like such a douchebag that I started liking Moira, especially when he decked him. LOL. We'll get into that in a sec.

I love the concept of this book. Seven Deadly sins, unleashed in our world by a power hunger magician and Moira's mother named Fiona. That wasn't her original intention though, she was going to use an arca (which I think means vessel) in the form of a virgin teenager to serve as her most powerful soldier but then a mysterious guy named Rafe Cooper showed up and did something profoundly awesome. I was still lost in all this but after that everything started to make sense. Like I said, the first 50 pages were a bit frustrating. One of them was a mention of a guy named Peter. I was not really clear who Peter was and I started to think that maybe there was a pre-quel that I should read first to understand how he was related to Moira's past, a few chapters later his role came to light. So that issue was solved. I also like that I finally got a clue on Moira's history. Her role in her mother's coven how she escaped how she met Father Philip, her training with Rico, Anthony's animosity towards her, up until the time Peter died. But I still don't understand how she's seeing this visions from the underworld? I have my possible scenarios and I got one right so I wasn't as shock when I found out.

My favorite character was Rafe, his character was the most intriguing. Sure it was probably his fault that Fiona sic the Seven but still... I remember thinking, what is he? how did he wake up on a magical induced coma? and who is backing him up? I kept reading until I found the answer and I like what I got. This is only the first of the series, so I'll give the next book a chance maybe that one won't have too many point of views.
 BookBlips: vote it up!

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Review: This World We Live In (Survivors #3) (Galley) by Susan Beth Pfeffer

 
BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Houghton Mifflin Hardcourt
where to buy: Amazon, B&N, Borders
release date: April 13, 2010

It's been a year since a meteor collided with the moon, catastrophically altering the earth’s climate. For Miranda Evans life as she knew it no longer exists. Her friends and neighbors are dead, the landscape is frozen, and food is increasingly scarce.
The struggle to survive intensifies when Miranda’s father and stepmother arrive with a baby and three strangers in tow. One of the newcomers is Alex Morales, and as Miranda’s complicated feelings for him turn to love, his plans for his future thwart their relationship. Then a devastating tornado hits the town of Howell, and Miranda makes a decision that will change their lives forever.

THOUGHTS:
The book picks up after Miranda's last diary entry on Life As We Knew It. I haven't got a chance to read book two, I wasn't sure if I wanted to read another version of what happened at Miranda's world and the possible outcome of our world if such phenomenon happens. The last time I read Life as We Know it, I got so worked up on building a disaster emergency kit. LOL. But I figured I might as well finish the series.

Miranda's past literally a thing of yesterday. All the friends she knew is either dead or gone. She find it hard to picture what earth used to look like and miss everything she used to know. In her new Earth everything is scarce; food, electricity, water, gas, oil, sunlight, friends, prom, etc... Now her favorite activity is breaking and entering, scavenging for food. They only eat two times a a day and that in itself is considered a luxury.

At the beginning of chapter 5. Her brothers: Matt & Jon decided to go fishing, the snow / ice has started melting and they want a chance to see if the lake will give them any food. They came home with bags full of shads and a surprise. Her older brother Matt has not only brought home fish but also a wife named Syl. And to think that is a problem? After a few more chapters, they all looked at each other when the door bell rang, the sight of their father standing there, in our world this is a major cause for a celebration, not theirs though this means they are happy to see him but he posed as a burden, another mouth to feed. the thing is he wasn't the only one their he of course have his wife and his new baby boy, yes a baby born in a world full of death and hunger. It is a miracle that he is alive. Also with them are three additional people who helped them get to Miranda's. Now there's a total of 10 in their household. It was a cause for worry and even panic but after what they've all been through they managed to stay calm and found means to get by. It wasn't acquired easy but they survived it. I truly love this series, It will open your eyes about things that are more important, how we should never take a moment in life for granted and how hope lives as long as there is life.

Other Books in the Series:



CymLowell

Review: Siren (ARC) by Tricia Rayburn

 
BLURB:
where I got my copy: Around the World ARC Tours
where to buy: BN, Amazon, Indiebound
release date: July 13, 2010

Seventeen-year-old Vanessa Sands is afraid of everything—the dark, heights, the ocean—but her fearless older sister, Justine, has always been there to coach her through every challenge. That is, until Justine goes cliff-diving one night near the family’s vacation house in Maine, and her lifeless body washes up on shore the next day.

Though her parents hope that they’ll be able to find closure back in Boston, Vanessa can’t help feeling that her sister’s death wasn’t an accident. After discovering that Justine was keeping a lot of secrets, Vanessa returns to Winter Harbor, hoping that Justine’s boyfriend might know more. But Caleb has been missing since Justine’s death.

Soon, it’s not just Vanessa who’s afraid. All of Winter Harbor is abuzz with anxiety when another body washes ashore, and panic sets in when the small town becomes host to a string of fatal, water-related accidents in which all the victims are found, horrifically, grinning from ear to ear.

Vanessa turns to Caleb’s brother, Simon, for help, and begins to find herself drawn to him. As the pair try to understand the sudden rash of creepy drownings, Vanessa uncovers a secret that threatens her new romance—and will change her life forever.

THOUGHTS:
The first chapter of the story introduced me to Vanessa and Justine Sands. Two sisters who spend their every summer at Winter Harbor. People have high hopes for Justine, she was to set foot and study at Dartmouth that coming school year, her younger sister looks up to her. She's beautiful, clever, fearless and the perfect sister. Whereas, Vanessa (the younger sister) was a wimp. I'm sorry... but she really is she's afraid of the dark and gets paranoid that a vampire or some monster is waiting for her to fall asleep and then snatch her or kill her, she's afraid to speak her mind, etc... It's not that she's insecure she was just plain scared. This particular summer she promised herself to be bold. To start off, she promised herself to actually jump when Justine and Caleb go cliff diving at Chione Cliffs the next time. But time has ran out to do anything bold together with her sister. After Justine argued with their mother about her adventures and about hanging out with Caleb she stormed out of their cottage and the next day was found dead. The newspaper and the people in the area ruled it out as a suicide. Distraught, guilty and missing her sister Vanessa did not believe that Justine would do that, she's an adrenaline junkie not a moron and definitely not suicidal, she would know better than to cliff dive at night. She could not believe any of it. She is not really thinking murder but there is something that she cannot put her finger on it. What happened to her sister she's not satisfied with it. So she decided to go back to Winter Harbor to investigate.  This is when I started warming up to her...

Before Justine died, Vanessa could smell the scent of salt water on her skin and for some reason that got imprinted on her mind, especially right after she died. It was like following her. Was it Justine? Or is it her inner wimp trying to scare her? Then she started seeing a light too and then other images and sometimes voices that sound like Justine. I find this really interesting because if I were as wimpy as her I would immediately thought of a ghost but she never seem to think that way at the beginning. Or maybe when someone close to you dies even if they are haunting you, you wouldn't get scared? hmmm...
So anyway her first investigation will be to talk to Caleb and see if her sister was hanging out with him that night but he wasn't there, his older brother Simon said he's been missing since the day his brother talked to the police. Where could he be? So Simon & Vanessa set out to find the missing Caleb. At the course of their search male bodies started getting ashed ashore, drowned with a creepy grin on their face, like the cause of their death was worth it. 

The creepy story is of course with a supernatural cause, what kind of a supernatural creature it is? you'll have to find that out yourself. I like the book despite some loose ends and unsatisfactory ending. There is a romance but the story does not revolve around it and that suited me fine. It has a haunting tale full of unexpected twists. Is this a series? because I'd love to find out what happens next.


BookBlips: vote it up!

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Review: The Cold Room (ARC) by J.T Ellison

 
BLURBS:
where I got my copy: Planned Television Arts 
where to buy: BN, Amazon, Borders
release date: February 23, 2010

Homicide detective Taylor Jackson thinks she's seen it all in Nashville—from the Southern Strangler to the Snow White Killer. But she's never seen anything as perverse as The Conductor. Once his victim is captured, he contains her in a glass coffin, slowly starving her to death. Only then does he give in to his attraction.

When he's finished, he creatively disposes of the body by reenacting scenes from famous paintings. And similar macabre works are being found in Europe. Taylor teams up with her fiancee, FBI profiler Dr. John Baldwin, and New Scotland Yard detective James "Memphis" Highsmythe, a haunted man who has eyes only for Taylor, to put an end to this horror.

Has the killer gone international with his craft? Or are there two "artists," competing to create the ultimate masterpiece?

THOUGHTS:
The Conductor is a sick human being. That is a huge statement coming from me. I often watch gory and truly horrifying films (both paranormal and twisted demented minds of a serial killer) my cousin-in-law and I, would watch three consecutive films every other saturday and would have a lengthy discussion of what happened to the characters, the camera angles and the acting, etc. With that I rarely get the urge to buy a book a read them up. But when The Cold Room was offered to me, the blurb intrigued me to no end so I grabbed the opportunity.

So the premise is - the Conductor kidnaps his victim, place them in a clear coffin like glass box, starves them to death, strangles them then performs the disgusting and truly perverse way of Necrophilia and of course it does not end there after the "process" he then calls the poor kidnapped / dead victims as his doll / masterpiece by reenacting famous artworks, disposing them that way. Pay very attention on the first chapter of this book, it hold a great clue about the Conductor himself.

The love drama between Jackson, her FBI profiler boyfriend, Dr. Baldwin and Scottland Yard's Highsmythe neutralizes the horrors of the crime written in this book. I didn't realize that this is book 4 of Taylor Jackson series, I did not get lost nor had that fleeting urge that I should have read the other books first and that works for me. I like Taylor and will be reading her previous adventures. If you are looking for a great suspense-thriller-and murder mystery book, this one is for you.

BookBlips: vote it up!

Building a Book Boyfriend Meme

"We all have our favourite book boyfriends and now you have the chance to create one just for yourself and your fantasies! How do you play? Fill out the quiz below, post a picture of a sexy man and tag five (5) other book addicts to do the same. Don't forget to pop to their blogs as let them know they have been tagged! Once tagged... you have to do the same, grab the button, answer the questions, and keep it rolling! But don't forget the picture of the sexy man! It doesn't have to match your fantasy man, just a little eye candy for the rest of us... heheheee!"- The Gutter Girls-

I've been tagged by:
Caitlin at All Things Print
 
 
*Hair Color & Style

Long haired guys are not appealing to me. I like it short with sandy brown color or dark clonde

*Eye Color & Facial Features

Vivid blue eyes, chiseled cheek bones and tanned skin

*Height & Body Type

I don't want him towering over me that much. 6 feet 1 is good. Not too much muscle but with a six abs.

*Visible Age

I would go for the late 20's, say 28-29

*Bangability (kinky/bi/size)

Well then I want him to have the skills of Eric Northman and Bones without the blood sucking of course.

*Human or Other

Fictional right? Ok. I wanted him to be fallen angel. Human features and everything. 

*Paranormal Skills

Inhuman strength, incredible healing powers and can move objects with his mind

*Interests

His idea for a Monday is rock climbing or bungee jumping or sky diving.
He loves making people laugh. Sarcastic and never too serious.
His idea of a romantic dinner is in Paris or somewhere else but the city that he lives in.
Must love food.
Must love movies.
Reader.
The music that he listens too are the likes of Miles David, Elliott Smith, Bob Dylan, Joy Division of the occasional music of Kings of Leon and he like hip-hop only if he's in a club.


*Special Skills

Does not need to use too much guns because he got skills like McGuyver, knows kung fu better than Bruce Lee and was trained like a Navy Seal.

Jensen Ackles is my ultimate book boyfriend model. 
I love him and I don't need to see him shirtless, he doesn't need to :)
Tag your it:
RexRobotReviews
Larissa's Life
Sagi's Randomness
Wicked Little Pixie
Trelaina

Sunday, February 21, 2010

Review: Circle of Friends V: Heather (ARC) by L. Diane Wolfe

 
BLURB:
where I got my copy: L. Diane Wolfe 
where to buy: BN, Dancing Lemur Press, Amazon
release date: March 15, 2010

When confidence turns to frustration…
A new beginning awaits Heather Jennings. The position at Clemson means she will finally realize her dream of coaching basketball. Heather is ready to focus on her duties, using sheer force if necessary to prove her independence. Sadly, her triumph is hampered as her father and greatest advocate lies dying of cancer. Battling her grief, she must also deal with a sister who appears incapable of responsibility or achievement. And once basketball season begins, a talented but cocky player who resembles her in every manner challenges all that remains of Heather’s patience. Heather’s life changes when she encounters a man capable of handling her bold and feisty attitude. Straightforward and smug, he entices her to date him, and despite his gruff nature shows a great capacity for compassion. However, the last thing Heather needs is a serious relationship with a man equally fixated on work and opposed to marriage…

THOUGHTS:
Heather Jennings has always been goal orientated, driven, self confident and has proven herself responsible.
After graduating with Masters at Duke University, she immediately find her first coaching job as an assistant coach at Clemson University. It was what she always wanted But that personality is not without challenges. She still harbored the memory of his best friend marrying her roommate from college. Her father was terminally ill with Cancer and died a few months later. Her sister is having major self-esteem issue and she met a younger version of herself from one of her girls' basketball team and is proving to be as cocky as she was.

She had resolved the first issue, a visit to Denver to see her married best friend Matt has proved that she is finally over him. Through the course of that visit she had mention that she needed a new car. Matt told her to check out his brother's car dealership. She did got a car a sweet deal a that. She has also found an unexpected relationship with Matt's brother. At first Mark seems to be so self assured and a bit cocky, but so was she but with that they make a perfect couple. Despite both having so many different issues, they actually kept each other in line. Mark was so sweet. Always there for her. When her dad died and when sister broke down and attempted suicide, etc... It was not easy since he is battling his own demons too not to mention they both have a career that demands attention / priority. But at the end of every week they always manage to find time for each other, whether just to vent out or encourage each other. It was quite a refreshing read. A story about family, friendship, grief and love. Something anyone can relate to.

I haven't had the pleasure of reading any of Ms. Wolfe's book but this has proven to be a wonderful read. I would definitely pick up the rest of her books.

Friday, February 19, 2010

Review: Angels Blood (Guild Hunter) by Nalini Singh

 
BLURB:
where I got my copy: Library
where to buy: BN, Amazon

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux is hired by the dangerously beautiful Archangel Raphael. But this time, it's not a wayward vamp she has to track. It's an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor's edge of passion. Even if the hunt doesn't destroy her, succumbing to Raphael's seductive touch just may. For when archangels play, mortals break.

THOUGHTS :
After two grueling week of reading slump, I am finally back on my niche and that is thanks to Nalini Singh for writing this book. Elena is a vampire bounty hunter, that sounded a little too familiar but the picturesque description of her Manhattan apartment, her notable personality and impressive work ethics immediately isolated her from the "other" VBH that I've read about. I love a dreamy image that is the New York City and in addition to where this story is set there is now a additional architecture called Archangel Tower, ruled by the powerful and dangerous Archangel Raphael, his angel and Vampire equivalent of the Secret Service called the Seven. My imagination went over drive reading this book. I immediately adjusted on how they place and characters look like.

There are simple yet many interesting points that stood out (my opinion) while reading this book. About the Archangels:
1. At the beginning, Elena doesn't seem to know where Angels come from, what no heaven? no hell? Elena hasn't seen any cherubs, do Angels reproduce?
2. Archangels rule every city in the world. Although there are still humans in position (government).
3. Angels are the only ones who can make a vampire. By selective / lottery and the candidate goes through intense test, they only choose 1000/ year and in return is upon their mercy for 100 years of service, disobey and a Bounty Hunter like Elena finds them.
4. Angels have what we call the equivalent of demon juice, ecstasy, aphrodisiac and that is Angel Dust. Which was described as the most enticing / exquisite of chocolates or as Elena put it "orgasm on a stick".
5. They are everything that I want Castiel of Supernatural to be. Bad ass, in every way yet I can't categorize them. Good or Bad? They seems to be neither, well except for Uram (Archangel gone rouge) obviously.
6. Archangel Michaela is a total bitch and I am happy that Elena infuriates her.
7. Jeffrey Deveraux, father of our protag deserves to have a very unhappy situation yet I am grateful for his tyranny, as it molded Elena's character.
8. What are the secrets these Archangels keep?

Characters? I love Elena she is strong independent and stubborn woman who knows how to do her job and has an amazing will power to resist our resident angel. Raphael is just perfection. His arrogance and the hint of cruelty most especially. The supporting characters are amazing too. Elena's best friend Sara and her "occasional" friend Ransom strengthens Elena's character and Dimitri's vampiric prowess and his loyalty to Raphael helped me visualize a big part of their world.


The plot is definitely marvelous. As mere mortal vampire hunter Elena was tasked to do a job of looking for the Archangel turn rogue Uram. Surely she wouldn't stand a chance, only another Archangel can kill one of their own. Despite her awesome persona, I was really concerned for her. And then of course my doubts were all proven wrong. Of course she has hidden powers beyond just any human, I should have expected that really but I didn't, maybe because the "sexual tension" for the first 12 chapters that build up was so distracting. I've read wonderful review about this book yet I didn't really expect it to live up to my expectations. I did and more. I love it!
BookBlips: vote it up!

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

BORROW MY BOOK (4)


Participants:
Katrina @Bloody Bad


 

Participants:


(This is sponsored by Kat of Bloody Bad you must be her follower to in order to borrow this book, she is also doing ARC tours, info on the link above)

Participants:



*sign ups are closed for this batch*

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Guest Post: Eleni of La Femme Reader


FULL NAME: Eleni
BIRTHDATE: June 20, 1985
LOCATION: New York
BLOG CONTENT: La Femme Readers is a book review blog that mainly focuses on Young Adult Fiction. I also have author interviews, fun giveaways and try my best to keep my followers updated on all the amazing up and coming YA book releases.
IF YOU WERE TO BE ANY WHERE IN THE WORLD AT THE MOMENT WHERE WILL IT BE? WHY? 
I would want to be somewhere tropical, like Fiji. I love the idea of staying on a remote island surrounded by water.


MY FAVORITE GENRE AND BOOK AT THE MOMENT

Hi everyone! My name is Eleni and I run a Young Adult book review blog called La Femme Readers. I was approached by Patricia to write a guest post on her amazing blog. So thank you girl! I really enjoy reading and reviewing Young Adult fiction, especially supernatural and urban fantasy. I simply just can't get enough of how this genre is evolving into a fascinating phenomenon. I feel blessed that I'm part of a growing blogging community where books are everyone's passion. The thing I love most about YA books are how creative and captivating the story line's are and plus they have super cute covers!

At the moment, I have a favorite series in my mind, I'm sure you all heard of Wondrous Strange and Darklight by Lesley Livingston? If you haven't, I highly recommend that you run out and grab a copy! I'm not a huge fan of faeries books, but truthfully this series changed my mind. It's full of suspense, romance and shocking surprises. It's been awhile since I read a book that kept me up at night because I wanted to finish it, even if I lost sleep :) So, I really hope you give it a chance because I'm sure glad I did!

I have so many all time favorites though, I must say I am a Twilight fan, I absolutely adore the series. Another genius masterpiece is The Mortal Instrument series by Cassandra Clare, it takes you on a crazy ride you'll never want to end! Now, all my favorites aren't series, I have a good amount of novels that I fell in love with such as Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles, Blindness by Jose Saramago, Hate List by Jennifer Brown, etc. However, I also want to name The House of Night series by PC Cast + Kristin Cast and The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. Okay then, I really hope you all come visit my blog one day, I'd love to meet new bloggers! Thanks for taking the time out to read my guest post and thank you again Patricia for featuring me! Isn't she the greatest!?

Review: Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

 
BLURBS:
where I got my copy: National Bookstore
where to buy: Amazon, B&N

Excerpt:
There are six things very wrong with my life:
1. I have one of those under-the-skin spots that will never come to a head but lurk in a red way for the next two years.
2. It is on my nose
3. I have a three-year-old sister who may have peed somewhere in my room.
4. In fourteen days the summer hols will be over and then it will be back to Stalag 14 and Oberfuhrer Frau Simpson and her bunch of sadistic teachers.
5. I am very ugly and need to go into an ugly home.
6. I went to a party dressed as a stuffed olive.
In this wildly funny journal of a year in the life of Georgia Nicolson, British author Louise Rennison has perfectly captured the soaring joys and bottomless angst of being a teenager. In the spirit of Bridget Jones's Diary, this fresh, irreverent, and simply hilarious book will leave you laughing out loud. As Georgia would say, it's "Fabbity fab fab!"

THOUGHTS:
This is a re-read. I think the first time I read this was year 2000. Lisa of Bounded by Books recently review Georgia Nicolson's last book and I decided it is time to visit Georgia. Georgia is a hoot. She writes the silly and most hilarious stuff that happens to her in her diary. About boys, about her parents, her friends, her little sister Libby and her part tabby part Scottish wildcat Angus.

Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging introduce us to Georgia an average English girl who constantly gets in trouble with her teachers for being lively. Her antics are truly laugh out loud funny. It is a fun, memorable quick read. You might want to buy the next 3 books to start you off.

The movie version on the other hand was cute but Georgia's wit wasn't quite captured on the screen, she seems so serious on the bog screen. The guy who played Robbie the Sex God was cute though and perfect fro the role. Are they going to come up with a movie for book 2?

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Review: Freaksville (ARC) by Kitty Keswick

 
BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Princess Bookie's Around the World Tours
where to buy: Amazon, B&N
release date: January 08, 2010

Every woman in the Maxwell family has the gift of sight. A talent sixteen year old Kasey would gladly give up. Until Kasey has a vision about Josh Johnstone, the foreign exchange student from England. The vision leads her into deep waters, a lead in a play, and into the arms of Josh. But Josh, too, has a secret. Something that could put them all in danger. To solve a mystery of a supernatural haunting, they must uncover the secrets of the haunted theater when they are trapped on the night of the full moon.

THOUGHTS:
It was an interesting book. It was written as a blog style, complete with comments and screen names that are easy to guess whom it belongs to and little drawings. It was very cute. Kasey has this power of seeing the future by touching an object or a person. She always wear gloves, her best friend knows about it and her parents are some type of a supernatural too. So it is safe to say that she does not carry a lot of burden since she can talk to people about her "gift". Kasey loves Jensen Ackles and got this amazing relationship with her best friend Gillie, so I liked her almost instantly. Her love interest's name is Josh, a foreign exchange student from England who apparently lives in her street with the snooty popular girl Petra. He is mysterious, yet he did not quite hold my interest very much, despite Kasey's obvious swooning for this boy, the only thing I find sexy about him was his accent and that he is "supernatural".

It all started when Kasey saw a vision that Josh was all sprawled out in the ground. She can't exactly warn him a that time so she did the best that she could do. Stalk him just to make sure that if anything happen someone will be there for him. (or I think that's how she played it out) So he was stalking him right? the next thing she know she was trying out for a play. Reading lines for Romeo & Juliet. The shocking part, she actually got the part with Josh being the Romeo. Then her first kiss interrupted by a ghost. But the ghost is just a part of the story. The events that happened next was even more interesting than that. Major points in the story are the Maxwell-Johnston feud, Kasey's family gift, the best friend relationship of Kasey & Gillie and the other paranormal creatures that lurks at night.
BookBlips: vote it up!

Guest Post & A Contest: Ivy of Book Reader Times


FULL NAME: Ivy Suarez
BIRTH DATE: 03-03-1983
LOCATION: Worcester, Ma
BLOG URL:
www.bookreadertimes.proboards.com
 
BLOG CONTENT: BRT is a forum were you can discuss any author or book. You can also discuss movies, TV shows and more.
 

Favorite fictional character that you wish is real?
I have too many! For now I would have to say Wrath from J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood Series. He is sooo HOT!


First of all I would like to thank Pat for inviting me to do a guest blog. I am very happy to be here today. I was debating on what topic I would talk about. So, I decided to share with you all how I was introduced to world of paranormal books.
My first vampire book ever was Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I read her Twilight series in less than a week. I was hooked! I was very sad when I finished all four books. I thought that I would never read anything like it again. I was sooo wrong! One of my friends introduced me to the Anita Blake Series by Laurell K Hamilton. I knew then that I could not stay away from the paranormal. 


I started doing research on line and started going into that section of the book store that I never visited before. The next thing you know I had over dosed on paranormal books. Before these books, I had absolutely no idea that there were so many great paranormal books out there. I did however come across another a problem… I quickly learned that many people were not into vamps and wolves. I only had 2 friends that I could talk to about the books I was reading.
At first I could not get any of my other friends to share the same interest as me in paranormal books. I slowly started lending them some of my books. Now I have more friends that read and share the same interest in paranormal books as I do. I started the Book Reader Times book club in December 2008. The BRT forum came shortly after. I love how there can be so many different opinions about the same books. The club and forum have certainly introduced me to new people, books, authors and bloggers. 

The blogger community out there is AMAZING. So many blogs and so little time! I can sit at my desk and read blog after blog all day. I can say now that I will stay true to my paranormal books for as long as I shall live! Lol!
What was your first paranormal book? Did you try to get your friends to read that first book? Who is your favorite paranormal author?

Thanks for reading Ivy's post. She is also sponsoring a contest.

Prizes
1 copy of "Inked" by Karen Chance, Marjorie M. Liu, Yasmine Galenorn, Eileen Wilks
1 Copy of "Look for me by moonlight" by Mary Downing Hahn

2- Book lights (not the actual photo, just place it here for reference)

How to Win: 
Leave a comment for Ivy.
Open to everyone, bloggers or non-bloggers.
This contest is international.

Extra Entries:
+2 BookReaderTimes follower on Twitter
+3 BookReaderTimes Member 
+2 Follower of this blog
+2 Tweet this contest

Contest ends February 22

Monday, February 8, 2010

Review: Her Vampire Husband (Galley) by Michele Hauf

 
BLURB:
where I got my copy: HQN
where to buy: Amazon, B&N, Book Depository
release date: April 1, 2010

An arranged marriage between a werewolf and a vampire.
There will be blood.
She may resist his bite, but she can't resist his charms...
Werewolf princess Blu Masterson won't allow her seductive vampire husband to consummate their marriage with his bite, marking her forever. Alone in a secluded estate with her sworn enemy, Blu curses the marriage arranged to bring their rival nations together, especially since Creed Saint-Pierre calls out to her most feral desires.
When Blu uncovers her pack's secret plot to destroy the vampire nation—and Creed—she is forced to confront her growing feelings for her sexy undead husband. Will she choose the only life she's ever known or accept his vampire bite? 

THOUGHTS:
Her Vampire Husband has a promosing start. Starts off with an arranged marriage between a Vampire and a Werewolf Princess just so they can prove to the Union that these two nations can actually get along after centuries of violence with one another. Blue Masterson, our Princess Werewolf have spunk and a smart mouth to complete the ensemble. She sported a green wig on her wedding night and the thme of her wedding is black, way to express the mood huh? Our resident Vamp is named Creed Saint-Pierre, 900++ year old vampire with magics stolen from witches. Good looking and extremely proper. Despite the obvious difference of nations, these two actually got along pretty good. They almost immediately called out a Truce and fell in love. Blu and Creed found out that the peace talks and their marriage are just a decoy for both parties while they plan the attack on each other. Upon knowing this Blu and Creed against the world happened.

I had issues with Creed at the beginning, the way he talks, so proper, so old school, so 19th century. I find it hard to conjure a mental image of how he looks like. He is described as this hot 30 year old looking vampire but every time I read his dialogue I keep picturing an old man plus he keeps saying that he's old. But not to worry that did not stay as an issue.Blu on the other hand lacks finesse, her slang and modern language is just too cackling and those outfits. Togehter, they are so damn entertaining. As far as taking care of the problem, I don't like most of the decisions they did. But it all worked out for the best so my complaint stops right there. LOL

Blu's father is a horrible man / animal. All the lies and situations that he put Blu on was just despicable, and that's what I like about this story, it shows that traumatizing part on our heroine, it makes her vulnerable sure but it also made sense on why she's the way she is. I also like how Hauf played the Vampire - Werewolf marriage, it was quite unconventional. The knowledge that they posses about each others race was all based on rumor until they get to live in together. And the love scene, that was intense the first time Blu spent the full moon with Creed. A bit creepy but totally appropriate for the whole plot. I am a first time Michele Hauf reader and I must say I like her style.
BookBlips: vote it up!

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Review: Wings by Aprilynne Pike

BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Kat of Bloody Bad's Library
where to buy: B&N, Amazon, Borders

Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.
Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.
In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.

THOUGHTS:
Wings is by far the weirdest book. I've heard of Faeries commanding the nature. But Laurel's predicament was unheard of (maybe just to me since I rarely read anything with faeries in them) on my fictional imagination. There were clues since the beginning that Laurel is different. She does not eat dairy products. She is vegan to the extreme since she ate like a giraffe. Canned fruits and syrup is her preference, water or soda only and veggies and not even a lot. She hates enclosed spaces and no she is not claustrophobic she is just not comfy being indoors. She needs the air and the sun and the open nature. But I was shock when the whole petal incident came. That was a shock to me, I know that she is a fairy, I think that was pretty obvious but I could have never imagined that she is a  .... can't say you have to find out. LOL. Our protag's first main boy, David is just the sweetest. He is not only uber nice and intelligent but he proved himself worthy of being trusted with Laurel's enormous secret. Romance wise Laurel is confused. She can't really choose between Tamani and David. Understandable. David is just perfect, for a human. But Tamani, they're of the same species and he is awesome too.

Negative: Laurel is obviously close to her parents, so I thought that it was vital that she tell them when her petals were merely just a bump. I just find it irritating when she found out that her powers entails her of making potions to cure illness but she never tried it on her father. Why?!!! But those are just two scenes, the book was still written well.

I've read several reviews saying that Wings was written to attract the Twilight fans well then... I don't think that"s going to happen. Haven't they noticed that the book is completely different? Jeez the only similarity is the love triangle and the keeping of the secret part. This is also to be adapted on the big screen by Miley Cyrus. I love the kid really but when she made that statement that she won't see any Twilight movies because she does not believe in them... NO DUH! That's a really dumb statement to make since she's going to play the part of Laurel? oh well...
BookBlips: vote it up!

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Guest Post: K.C & KK Malone of SmokinhotBooks


 
FULL NAME: KC is a nickname my mother used to call both of us. KK is Kristin Khan and KC is Cassie Malone
BIRTHDATE: July 5th
LOCATION: Orange County
BLOG URL: http://smokinhotbooks.com/blog
BLOG CONTENT: Sassy Blog about Sexy Books – Entertaining Book Review

Smokinhotbooks Is In Control –  Book-Obsessed Addicts Who Would Sell A Kidney On the Black Market for a Book.
(please don’t take us up on the offer…we’re weak and have no willpower)

*Addict [n. ad-ikt; v. uh-dikt]: Person who is obsessed with everything to do with romance, erotica and all things whimsical and naughty.
*Obsessed [uhb-sest]: someone who is dependent on vampires, werewolves, and erotic man-love and needs these features as an integral necessity for life. Shelter and food are optional for survival. (source: smokinhotapedia.com)


A little bit about us (yes there’s two!!) 
I (KC) run a romance blog with my identical twin sister K-Khan and we gush about sexy books ALL DAY LONG. We started this blog a little less than a year ago because we just couldn’t imagine that there weren’t more people like us out there. You know…romance and erotic- naughty, junkies. So, in an effort to find those who fly their freak flag high we set out to blog to those who care, about our inner thoughts and the movie-pictures in our heads. KC-Malone (aka Cassandra if you meet me in real life) is the ‘face’ of our blog, meaning she is head marketer, cheer coach, task masker, dictator, and founder of our little bloggie. K-Khan is the worker-bee that is constantly late with deadlines, makes excuses for why she is late, does a piss-poor job of editing and haggles KC-Malone about her ‘management style’. But all in all it’s a match made in heaven.

Our Genesis
Our romance addiction started in high school, where we could be found stealing our mother’s Julie Garwood historicals, hiding under the covers with a flash light, and pretending to be asleep whenever footsteps got too close to the door. Fast forward more years than we care to admit and I found myself staring at the Target bookshelves holding a paperback with the moniker ‘paranormal romance’. Since then

Finally, in the spirit if Bernard Pivot and in honoring the great James Lipton, we turn the tables on ourselves and ask these questions.

Smokinhotbooks: What is your favorite word?
   K-Khan: moose-knuckle . I can thank KC’s hubster for that one. Every time I hear the word I giggle and then normally end up on the floor laughing. I just taught it to our parents.  

KC-Malone: Easy Peasy. I’ve even dubbed my Kindle Mrs. Easy Peasy ‘casuse she gets my instant gratification needs. 


SHB: What is your least favorite word?  

KK- Mine’s more of a phrase:  ‘It is what it is.’ Gah! Nothing sends me more into a rage than this passive aggressive technique of basically saying, you f’ed up, but don’t worry I’ll just martyr myself for the cause. (I know, I have issues…)

KC: No. Nothing sends me into a hissy fit than hearing “No , or no that can’t be done, or No you can’t have that.” 


SHB: What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
 
KK: Kindness, humor, great authors,…my husband when he’s behaving.

KC: Books. I know right? Didn’t see that one coming. Books make me feel good, books grab me emotionally, books can even make me  pray àPlease God let Karen Marie Moning devout a whole chapter to Mac and Barrons getting it on. See told you. 


SHB: What turns you off?  

KK: Arrogance and narcissism. Try working in a male-dominated industry for a while…whew, talk about egos! I’ll take a cat-fight over male chauvinism any day!

KC: Arrogance was my first answer but KK took that one so I’ll say ignorance and bad communication. 


SHB: What is your favorite curse word

KK. This is a toughie, I have so many I enjoy. I think I’ll go with the most heavily used one. Fuck. Then add mother before the word for extra emphasis or dire circumstances. 

KC: God Dammit {Insert Hubs name here}. Mother F*cker is a close second.



SHB: What sound or noise do you love?
 
KK: Children laughing. You just can’t help but smile when they giggle. Also, when my husband laughs because he doesn’t actually make any vocalizations. His whole body starts to shake and his face breaks out in this little boy smile. (guess that counts more of an observation rather than a noise)

KC: The sounds my computer mouse makes when I click Buy on Amazon. 


SHB: What sound or noise do you hate? 

KK: I jump out of my skin when I hear anything scratching on a clay or chalk-board surface. My mom is a Pampered Chef consultant and has stocked my kitchen with ‘stoneware’ only I hate using it because when it rubs together it makes that sound. Ooooo, I’m shuddering already.

KC: My Starbucks barista’s voice. It’s kind of nasally and it is really early in the morning, and I haven’t had a chance to drink my coffee yet. I shudder each time she says “soy latte”.  


SHB: What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? 

KK: This is funny. I’m actually trying to get my master’s to become a Nurse Practitioner. But if reality doesn’t enter into the equation then I would have to say bounty hunter because you can wear leather and carry a ‘piece’. 

KC: Being the wife to Brad Pitt count? Well if that one is already taken I’d like to be a college professor corrupting young minds, er…I mean teaching young minds.  


SHB: What profession would you not like to do?

KK: Work in the car industry.

KC: A guy duck collector. I saw this once on Dirty Jobs and have been disgusted ever since. 


SHB: If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?  
KK: “Lucy, you got some esplan’in to do…” Then holds up my entire collection of male-male erotica.
    KC: God proceeds to pull up my twitter conversations. God “Spidey Smut Sense? Tell me why I should let you in”. Me: “I’m the world’s worse interviewer. Uh I promise a great ROI God.” 


TOP 5 BOOK TITLE THAT ROCKED YOUR WORLD:
Only 5? M’kay I’ll pick by genre:

Paranormal Romance: Kresley Cole’s Immortal After Dark Series. She constantly quotes from the movie Aliens and I heart her for that.

Erotic Romance: Dead World by Lorie O’Clare

Urban Fantasy: Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series (ALL OF THEM)
Male/Male: Cover Me by LB Gregg
Historical: Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber

Thanks to Pat for letting us come on to her bloggy place and talk about our book addiction.
So are you a book addict? What author makes you want to give a kidney to read one of their next books? Be honest your among fellow book addicts. 

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos