visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Review: Hourglass by Claudia Gray

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Harper Teen
where to buy: BN, Amazon, Borders

Bianca will risk everything to be with Lucas.
After escaping from Evernight Academy, the vampire boarding school where they met, Bianca and Lucas take refuge with Black Cross, a fanatical group of vampire hunters. Bianca must hide her supernatural heritage or risk certain death at their hands. But when Black Cross captures her friend—the vampire Balthazar—hiding is no longer an option.

Soon, Bianca and Lucas are on the run again, pursued not only by Black Cross, but by the powerful leaders of Evernight. Yet no matter how far they travel, Bianca can't escape her destiny.
Bianca has always believed their love could survive anything . . . but can it survive what's to come?



THOUGHTS:
I was this [  ] close on deciding not to read the next book of Evernight Series. Ms. Gray finished book two with Bianca saying yes to be part of Black Cross. That pissed me to no end. Seriously! how can you become a part of a group that haunts down your race? I get it, love is a powerful thing that makes you do all the irrational things in the world but come on! So after that, I'm like, I'm done with you Bianca! be that way. But then after blowing off steam I remembered how Ms. Gray mislead me into thinking that Lucas was the vampire on the first book and then gasped when Bianca has bitten Lucas. That was the most awesome thing ever.

After reading the first chapter of Hourglass, I'm all gunning for Bianca again. So they do plan to escape... I like that but it took forever for them to do it. I wasn't a happy camper and then Balthazar got caught, that's when it got really interesting... I've always been team Balthazar since the start of this series so when Lucas decided to set aside his high horse and help him I was really grateful. I could kill Rachel for ratting them out, but Dana make up for it and nothing really happened to our star crossed lovers but still that kind of betrayal and small mindedness placed Rachel as the "must-die-soon" character on my list.

This wouldn't be an Evernight book without the thrill, the shocker(s) and a disappointment. And I am very very happy that all three elements were there.

The Thrill- That intense scene when they finally escaped Black Cross HQ. Including that memorable night for Lucas and Bianca.

The Shocker -That "huge" Bianca scene. Remember when Bianca's mother told her that, she has now turned the hourglass of her future. She wasn't kidding. I am not sure if I can resign to what Bianca has become. I cannot help but wonder if she will stay that way forever or is there some type of a loop hole / clause on that wraith - vampire agreement that she can work into bailing herself out.

The Disappointment - Bianca's fate for sure. I was pissed when it happened. WHY?! Ms Gray.

I love it that I can never predict on what will happen on every Evernight book. So I stop speculating after finishing each chapter up until I read the ending. It kills me that it ended like that. I am impressed on what happened. Have you read the Morganville Vampire books? Then you know how Rachel Caine always end each book with a killer cliff hanger as an ending, well... this was almost as good as that.
I know I'm talking in riddles I know but it will kill the excitement for those who hasn't not read it if I summarize the whole thing. So you must trust me and grab a copy after this review.

Saturday, March 27, 2010

Review: First Drop of Crimson by Jeaniene Frost

BLURBS:

where I got my copy:  Borders
where to buy: BN, Amazon

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Night Huntress series comes a breathtaking new journey to the dark side of desire.

The night is not safe for mortals. Denise MacGregor knows all too well what lurks in the shadows—her best friend is half-vampire Cat Crawfield—and she has already lost more than the average human could bear. But her family's past is wrapped in secrets and shrouded in darkness—and a demon shapeshifter has marked Denise as prey. Now her survival depends on an immortal who lusts for a taste of her.
He is Spade, a powerful, mysterious vampire who has walked the earth for centuries and is now duty-bound to protect this endangered, alluring human—even if it means destroying his own kind. Denise may arouse his deepest hungers, but Spade knows he must fight his urge to have her as they face the nightmare together . . .
Because once the first crimson drop falls, they will both be lost.

THOUGHTS:
I think everyone who is a fan of Cat & Bones whooped with joy when they found out that Spade and Denise is going to have their own book. I was excited especially now that we all have to wait for another Cat & Bones story to be released.

Like I said we met Spade and Denise at Night Huntress series. Spade is one of Bone's mates when they were still human up until now that they're undead. Denise on the other hand is Cat's best friend. Denise was left off grieving at the end of At Grave's End when her husband Randy did some unwise decision of getting out of the basement to face- out of control zombies. Now any fan of paranormal fiction knows that this heroic thinking, especially if you do not possess any supernatural gift at all was absolutely deranged and stupid. And so Randy died. It was tragic and I feel really bad for Denise but everything happens for a reason and this is where Spade comes into the picture...

A corporeal demon named Raum is on a hunt to find one of Denise's ancestor named Nathanial, who double crossed him when he was supposed to give up his soul in exchange to having demon powers. But Raum cannot find Nathanial, he suspects that he is hiding with the vampires or the ghouls. He then decided to go after Nathanial's descendants to see if any one of them knows about the undead world. Three of Denise's relatives later, Raum found her, she was spared of her life but with demon essence forced into her so she can find this wretched ancestor who caused her to lose more people she love. She obviously need some vampire help, but she couldn't possibly ask for her best friend help, the last time she heard she was being stalked by a psychotic vampire who claims that she is his wife (Destined for an early grave). Spade's name pops into her mind. While she's still suffering from post traumatic stress the last time she saw Spade, she doesn't really have any choice, he was her only choice.

I love Denise, she is so human and so much different from Cat but I almost put down the book because of all her whining. She is the kind of woman that I avoid. Emotionally distraught and guilt ridden. And seriously why does she keep trying to push Spade away? Yeah yeah I know, I know because she's still traumatized and she still loves Randy... But you know what, when chapter 17 happened I started to like her. That scene was so hard to not like her. Naughty Denise. Spade on the other hand is no Bones, you can just see how Spade treats Denise. I guess one can consider it as sweet that, he is cautious on what he say to Denise but seriously brutally honest is how I like male vampires to be. That's why I am hoping for an Ian spin off. until then I guess I'll have to settle for the next, which will be about Mencheres. I am also happy that Cat, Bones, Ian, Mencheres made an appearance towards the end of the book. I love the it when they all come together to fight a battle.

First Drop of Crimson is sexy, witty, action pack and full of smokin' hot sexual tension and scenes. For the fans of the paranormal and Night Huntress series. Like it's mother ship, once you finish reading it you'll be begging for more.

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Review: Plus (ARC) by Veronica Chambers

BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Around the World Tours
where to buy: BN, Amazon
release date:August 5, 2010

The perfect romantic makeover story about an every-girl whose dream comes true . . .

Beatrice Wilson is our lovable Cinderella, who just got dumped by her very first boyfriend and put on twenty-five pounds. But then she's discovered as a plus model. In the eyes of pop culture, Bee is Jessica Alba and then some! Now she must vanquish skinny rivals, fend off sleazy photogs, and banish jealous frenemies in her rise to superstardom. All the while, she's torn between her first love and the surprisingly sincere up-and-coming rapper she tutors in calculus. But what's better than finding your prince charming? Finally learning to love yourself!

THOUGHTS:
First page got me rooting for our heroine already. Her name is Beatrice but all her friends and family call her Bee. She is 5 foot 8 inches tall, 17 year old pre-med at Columbia (yes, absolute brain child. Her father is a scientist and her mother is an economist) and "had" a perfect boyfriend - Brian. Until he dumped her claiming she's so immature for his 19 year old male bravado. Seriously! wait till you read what a jerk he is. Anyway... Bee then started eating her emotions. She gained 25 lbs. from too much Chinese take out, Indian food delivery, Pizza, Ice Cream, etc... Then one day while waiting for her best friend Consuela (Chela), who by the way insist that they become friends after she found out that they dated the same Lying Brian. An agent spotted her eating at Dean de Luca, her name is Leslie from Chesterfield Modeling Agency and said she resemble a super model named Suzanne Hughes and that she is looking for a plus size model. With a little push from Chela she went and got the modeling contract that changed her life.

It is such a relief not to read anything about a model who either possess the perfect figure, young, rich and absolutely beautiful but so emotionally distraught and/or a complete primadonna. Or a model who keeps her figure by means of self induced regurgitation. I've been looking to read something like Bee for a while now. It was really interesting reading how a plus size model can make it big on present day society. I love how she made a difference even though skinny models / people in this book tried to put her down. Sure she did the gig so she can win her ex-boyfriend back. That was my only problem with Bee. I wanted to shake her, tell her to open her eyes and stop being so naive, but I guess first love makes us do some crazy and pathetic things. And at the end everything worked fine. I can also see why the people in her world admired her right away, she is really the prefect role model. Comfortable with her weight, a dean's lister even with her insane bookings, and she's down to earth. One thing's for sure Bee will never get fired like real life super model Filippa Hamilton because someone think she was too fat to wear their designer line.


Friday, March 19, 2010

Review: Poor Little Bitch Girl by Jackie Collins

BLURB:

where I got my copy: PTA
where to buy: BN, Amazon, Borders

Three twenty-something women, one hot rich guy, two mega movie stars, and a devastating murder: Poor Little Bitch Girl has it all.

Denver Jones is a hotshot twenty-something attorney working in L.A. Carolyn Henderson is personal assistant to a powerful and very married Senator in Washington with whom she is having an affair. And Annabelle Maestro—daughter of two movie stars—has carved out a career for herself in New York as the madame of choice for discerning famous men. The three of them went to high school together in Beverly Hills—and although Denver and Carolyn have kept in touch, Annabelle is out on her own with her cocaine addicted boyfriend, Frankie.

Then there is Bobby Santangelo Stanislopolous, the Kennedyesque son of Lucky Santangelo and deceased Greek shipping billionaire, Dimitri Stanislopolous. Bobby owns Mood, the hottest club in New York. Back in the day he went to high school with Denver, Carolyn and Annabelle. And he connected with all three of them. Frankie is his best friend.

When Annabelle’s beautiful movie star mother is found shot to death in the bedroom of her Beverly Hills mansion, the five of them find themselves thrown together . . . and secrets from the past have a way of coming back to haunt everyone. . . .

THOUGHTS:

Anabelle Maestro the daughter of two hottest and highest paid actor and actress in Hollywood. She is the one in the cover. Spoiled, rich, beautiful, sexy and wild. Which also means unappreciated, insecure, selfish. She moved to the east coast after dropping out of college in Boston to get away from her parents' fame and to venture on her own, she did alright, together with her coke addict boyfriend Frankie Romano they are raking in millions, running a very lucrative business - the high end prostitution ring in New York, geared for the most powerful, rich and famous men.

Bobby Stanislopolous, son of the late Dmitri Stanislopolous, a shipping tycon and Lucky Santangelo a successful business woman who own a chain of hotels in Vegas and is married to Lennie, a Hollywood hot shot. Bobby partnered up with his best friend M.J, and together they are the owner of the hottest club in Manhattan- Mood. Bobby  is obviously born into a family of achievers, in this book he seems to be the most successful and luckiest man, career wise. He is a loser when it comes to dealing with the opposite sex. It's not that he is bad looking, no. He was described as hot but he seems to picky and he seems to be attracted to women who seems to belittle him. One of these women is the cougar Megastar Zeena who has an annoying penchant in referring to herself in a third person every time she have a conversation with people.

Denver Jones is a twenty something hotshot attorney in a prestigious law firm based in Los Angeles, she did two highly publicized case and won both of them. She used to be Anabelle's friend, and also went to high school with Bobby, MJ. One day, Gemma Summers, the most beautiful and talented actress in Hollywood was shot in the face inside her L.A mansion. Her boss Felix, put her on the case, looks like she is going to reacquaint herself with an old friend, since Gemma Summers was Anabelle's mother.

Carolyn Henderson, is Senator Stoneman's assistant and mistress. She is educated, young and beautiful and she is my least favorite character. Nothing is fascinating or intriguing about her. Did she really believe that an ambitious Senator that she's been sleeping with for two years will leave his wife with excellent social and political connection and the father of his two kids? just because he managed to impregnate her? Carolyn is obviously a stupid and delusional, naive girl. Does she not watch TV?

I've never read any of Jackie Collins' book been eyeing them for sometime now but I was never really serious of buying one. So I am extremely grateful that this copy was sent to me for review. Now I am a fan. I love this book. It has  murder, glamour, sex, money, and juicy scandals.


At first I wasn't sure if it is going to work, it seems like there are a lot of characters involve in the story, my concern was it might get too confusing and/or frustrating. but Ms. Collins wrote the chapters by each major characters sometimes in their own perspective and sometimes being narrated. So I know exactly what everyone was thinking, their agenda and their role.


Thursday, March 18, 2010

Review: A Vampire's Kiss (Manigault Vampires 1) Laura Stamp

BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Laura Stamp
where to buy: Kitty Feather Press

Sara Gadsden is a Wiccan Green Witch addicted to paranormal romance novels and their gorgeous vampire heroes. Like most people, she has no idea vampires actually exist until she meets Drayton Manigault at a Samhain party. Dray is not only one of Columbia's wealthiest businessmen, but he's also been a vampire for the last 145 years. Oh, and he's totally yummy. When Dray offers Sara a job working for his computer company, Manigault Technologies, fantasy collides with reality, and Sara's future is suddenly transformed into one wild, smokin' HOT ride.

THOUGHTS:
Thanks to Laura Stamp for providing this copy for review.

*This review is for Chapter 1-3 only*
 Sara's personality is very liberating. She's frank and she knows what she wants and do exactly what it is. No mental pep talk before she acted on it. I like that. I like her, sometimes I tire of heroines that think way too much. Sara met Dray on a costume party hosted by her friend Noelle. Sara is hooked on vampires. So when she met Dray dressed as a vampire she schooled him on the dos and don'ts of being one. It was very comical. They way she describes how vampires dress or act was like when the first time you saw Brad Pitt's awesome behind in Troy. It was like the derange fascination women have with shoes or how some men describe their obsession with World of War Craft. It was like that verging to ridiculous but I still love her anyway. With that being said Dray and Sara hit it off right away, Dray finds Sara's "unpredictable" trait as a turn on.The last chapter was such a teaser!

I am open for new concept when it comes to books / reading. I was a rebelling abit when they came up with ebooks. It just wasn't the same as when you have the actually book and flipping through the pages but after a year I embraced it, although I still really prefer hard copies. The mobility that ebook provides was the major reason. Now here's a new concept. Ms. Stamp is selling her books per chapter. I am not too happy that I was left to wait on what will happen next *sad face* but hopefully, I'll get used to it too.



Here's where you can buy and the release schedule of the rest of the chapters:
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 1 - March 2010: Chapters 1-3 ($1.99) Buy Now
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 2 - April 2010: Chapters 4-5
($1.99)
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 3 - May 2010: Chapters 6-7
($1.99)
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1. No. 4 - June 2010: Chapters 8-9
($1.99)
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 5 - July 2010: Chapters 10-11
($1.99)
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 6 - August 2010: Chapters 12-13
($1.99)
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 7 - September 2010: Chapters 14-15
($1.99)
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 8 - October 2010: Chapters 16-17
($1.99)
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 9 - November 2010: Chapters 18-19
($1.99)
The Manigault Vampires - Vol. 1 No. 10 - December 2010: Chapters 20-21
($1.99)

Each issue runs 15-20 pages in length.For more update you can go to: http://avampskiss.blogspot.com/


Review: How to Lose a Client (Kate William Mystery) by Becky A. Bartness

BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Becky A. Bartness c/o of Bostick Communications
where to buy:  Amazon, BN, Better World Books

Kate Williams, Esq., has just started her own criminal defense law firm in Phoenix, Arizona, when Katherine Paar aka Tangerine, a new client, walks in and proposes a lucrative deal to bring Kate on as her attorney. Things get complicated and events unfold quickly when the body of Tangerine's ex-lawyer is discovered and Tangerine disappears. Kate, aided by MJ, her tattooed, pierced, and fashion-challenged paralegal and Sam, her sometimes cross-dressing investigator, along with a cast of characters straight out of a John Waters movie, try to unravel the bizarre mystery and save Tangerine's life. The action is fast and fantastically funny, and Ms. Bartness proves once again that you can laugh at death.

THOUGHTS:

Kate Williams is a lawyer, she used to practice in Chicago but decided to move to Arizona after two cases. She was in the transition of getting settled into her office. She already have trusted people on her team. Beth her receptionist, M.J her tattooed, seasonal haired paralegal and her cross dressing investigator, nick named as Sam. She had an unfortunate luck of hiring a shady constructor. Who seems to work only when he feels like it. Her quirky team coerced her to have a day off, and she took this as a chance to reinvent herself. She then went to Stranded only to find out that her colorist Michele was with another client. Michele then referred her to Christopher, a flamboyant gay hair stylist that gave her a Lucille Ball look. He gave her a color red confusing her choice of auburn while having a chat with Michele's client, Tuwanda who works for Tangerine, the number one pimp in the city. After the horrendous hair color incident she has to go home and wait until the next day for corrective hair color stripper and redying. An appointment was waiting for her the following day, her new client is Katherine Paar, none other than Tangerine herself. She hired Kate as her new legal representative since her lawyer decided to retire. She then gave Kate the necessary documents and then some that she needs to protect. From that moment on Kate was kidnapped, beaten up, almost died of a house fire, walked into her trashed apartment and office, cross dressers criticized her hair color and clothing choices, and been driving around in a pink mobile with a homeless guy and a professional ho dodging criminals and looking for Tangerine.

Kate's adventure was hilarious. How to Lose a Client is the third novel of Kate Williams. I wouldn't know if not for searching more Bartness books. While it is set to be as a series, this third installment feels like a stand alone, which works perfect. Plus Bartness did some recap on what cases Kate worked on before. I didn't get a hard time navigating this book. Kate is a likable character, she is not the uptight, stressed out, "I am a lawyer, get out of my way". Sometimes I forget because most of the time she was running away from the bad guys, she was incredibly patient with colorist that ruined her hair color, and she banters with criminals when she was about to get kidnapped. The sarcasm, the wit and the characters surrounding her made the whole book a laugh out loud experience. Tuwanda is my favorite. Her metaphors and surprising take on things were a never ending amusement. I love the ending too, I never had a clue on who the criminal was. it was a brilliant ending.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Guest Blogger: Jennifer of Reading with Tequila



FULL NAME: Jennifer Sicurella
BIRTHDATE: December 24, 1979
LOCATION: New Jersey, USA
BLOG CONTENT: Book reviews, giveaways, contests, author guest posts and interviews, blogger interviews and reading challenges. Plus discussions and some other stuff.

YOUR TOP 5 REASONS WHY YOU LOVE READING:
1.      You can escape reality
2.      You get to travel to exotic locations
3.      You get to become an infinite number of different people
4.      Anything can happen. Unlike the movies, there aren’t any financial reasons why you can’t blow something up
5.      It’s a solitary activity. Which means my husband can’t interrupt every 5 minutes asking what that guy said or what just happened.


In Which I Embarrass Myself with My Lack of Literary Knowledge

Thank you so much Pat, for inviting me to guest post on your fabulous blog. This is my first guest post (look mom, I’m famous!) so bear with me if I sound like a complete moron. Because sometime, I kind of am.

I’m a book blogger (obviously) and that leads people to believe I actually know a little something about books. I suppose I do, in a general sense. See, I’m an eclectic book blogger. I enjoy lots of different genres and therefore you can’t classify my blog as romance or urban fantasy or young adult or anything really. I have an entire brain full of information about authors, publishers, books and other reading related stuff relating to mystery, fantasy, horror, chick lit, middle grade books, paranormal, science fiction, etc.

Since I’ve got all that junk (um… knowledge?) jammed in my head, I often reveal myself to be pathetically lacking in what other people believe to be common knowledge. For instance, last year on Twitter, I shared with the world my extreme need to see the movie 2012. Someone replied that they did too, since they loved those kinds of books. Books? Huh. You mean they have books that are about end of the world apocalypse stuff? Really? Luckily, the friendly Twitter replier took pity on me and sent me a list of dystopian novels to get me started. Looking back I wonder how I didn’t know about an entire subgenre of fantastic fiction.

My current embarrassing lack of knowledge comes in the form of steam punk. I’ve been hearing a lot about novels being steam punk or that steam punk is going to be the new big thing. What the heck is steam punk? All I’ve managed to gather so far is that the characters seem to wear goggles of some nature. And maybe trench coats. Or not. I can’t get a definitive answer on the trench coats. I can’t even make up my mind if I want to try it because I don’t have any clue what it is. I feel as though I should know these kinds of things.

Did you know there is fiction about the polygamy lifestyle? I learned that lurking on Twitter today (side note: I’m a lurker. Sorry.) And something called team unicorn? This leads me to believe there are books about unicorns. And, well, the list grows daily.

See, the thing about being an eclectic reader and book blogger is that you get a small taste of many of the great books out there. You also miss out on the stuff you never knew existed. Without blogging I would never know I was missing anything, but I’d also never get a chance to learn about it either.  So in 2030 when I discover a fantastic steam punk book about polygamist unicorns, I’ll kick myself for having not known about it before. But luckily for me, when I finally do read it, there’ll be a whole community to rave to. And they won’t give me crap for having taken 20 years to figure out what they learned back in 2010.

Monday, March 15, 2010

Review: Archangel's Kiss by Nalini Singh

BLURBS:

where I got my copy: Borders
where to buy: Amazon, BN, Books-A-Million

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux wakes from a year-long coma to find that she has become an angel-and that her lover, the stunningly dangerous archangel Raphael, likes having her under his control. But almost immediately, Raphael must ready Elena for a flight to Beijing, to attend a ball thrown by the archangel Lijuan. Ancient and without conscience, Lijuan's power lies with the dead. And she has organized the most perfect and most vicious of welcomes for Elena...

THOUGHTS:
Have I told you guys that I am into angels now? I mean of course I still love to read vampy novels but... Oh I wrote that already? ummm... ok then. But I am pretty sure that I haven't told you that my favorite Angel related adult version is Nalini Singh's Archangels, namely the Archangel of New York himself - Raphael. Why is it so hard to put a celebrity face to play his part? Seriously I cannot find any Hollywood celebs worthy to play Raphael. (Suggestions are welcome, please leave a comment). So yeah and I can't stop raving about how this is my new favorite series. I book pushed this on five people already and they love it too!

*WARNING: IF YOU HAVEN"T READ BOOK ONE COME BACK AFTER YOU READ IT, but if you are willing to catch some spoilers, then feel free*

At the end of the first book Angel's Blood  we read how Archangel Raphael let himself fall from a New York tower because his Hunter Elena was killed by the despicable Archangel Uram. It was by far the most romantic scene that I've read this year. He was willing to die than live in a world without Elena, how freaking sweet is that?! So everybody thought she died right? wrong. She was in a coma for a year when she woke up, she found out that she was an angel. Yes an angel! why is this too shocking, well as you can see. Angels / Archangels cannot make another angel. You have to be born into a family of angels to become one. But there was a little loop hole about this situation. If the scent / taste of Ambrosia a.k.a the taste of True Love is produced near death a new angel will be born. And what are the odds of that happening? Almost zero. So yes Raphael and Elena is a very special couple.

Elena woke up in the Refuge. A place where the young angels get schooled and learn the basics. It was a cool concept since she was just recently made. The first ever angel made from living memory. Her curriculum consists of angel history, ethics, flying lessons and of course grueling training. Not to mention ironing out her relationship details and boundaries to the Archangel of New York, Raphael. He is strong, powerful and dangerous but he loves Elena and despite the statement that Elena is his greatest weakness, I think she is also his greatest strength. The Archangel knows he is a bad ass and everybody does but behind closed doors his heart is tender. He let's Elena see his vulnerable side and share his centuries worth of nightmares. With that being said jealous bitches tried to kill her. To name of of them, no doubt the Archangel Michael. But the most beautiful female Archangel is not really their main problem...

Zhou Lijuan is the oldest of all the Cadre. She is ancient and believed to be either evolving or devolving. Her power is to raise the dead. They call it the reborn (zombies) and she has full control on most of them. She keeps them alive by feeding them other dead bodies. Completely insane right? Not only that she seems to have great interest in Elena (amongst other angels). She started sending her bizarre and disturbing gifts, bringing back her nightmares, etc... This is when Raphael's Seven made their appearance. We've all met their leader, the vampire Dmitri, the one that keeps teasing her and the one that wants to kill her if not for Raphael's strict order not to lay hands on her. We've also met Illium, the blue winged angel that Elena loves and considers as her friend and Venom with the poisonous fangs. Here we met the rest of them. Galen, Aodhan, Jason and Naasir.

I am blown away by how good this book is. The Angels themselves. The group where Elena still belongs, the Hunter Guild, the Refuge, Elena and Raphael's story, the Seven, etc... They all have such unique qualities. I love the ending of this book, not as great as the first one but equally exciting. I can't wait till the whole world find out that Elena is now an angel. I'm dying to know her father and sister's reaction. And what would be her first assignment when she gets back to the Guild? Man waiting for 2011 is such a long time...


Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Review: Claire de Lune (ARC) by Christine Johnson

 
BLURB:
where I got my copy: Simon & Schuster
where to buy: BN, Amazon
release date: May 18, 2010

Torn between two destinies? Claire is having the perfect sixteenth birthday. Her pool party is a big success, and gorgeous Matthew keeps chatting and flirting with her as if she's the only girl there. But that night, she discovers something that takes away all sense of normalcy: she's a werewolf.
As Claire is initiated into the pack of female werewolves, she must deal not only with her changing identity, but also with a rogue werewolf who is putting everyone she knows in danger. Claire's new life threatens her blossoming romance with Matthew, whose father is leading the werewolf hunt. Now burdened with a dark secret and pushing the boundaries of forbidden love, Claire is struggling to feel comfortable in either skin. With her lupine loyalty at odds with her human heart, she will make a choice that will change her forever?.

THOUGHTS:
Claire was a normal 16 year old girl. Crushing on a boy, having a pool party, stressing out about clothes and gossiping with her best friend Emily. Towards the end of the party her long time crush Matthew Engle started showing his interest in her but then the night of her party came into a unprecedented halt. One of her friend's mother came and pick him up, freaking out because of a werewolf attack. That's right in Claire's world werewolf are known to exist and is being feared as dangerous savage and soulless creatures. It was a hassle to a 16 year old's social life but there were bigger problems. That night Claire's mother, Marie told her a disturbing secret, she is a werewolf. Like every other sensible heroine that we've read Claire freaked out but not as bad as I thought she'd be in fact she handled it pretty well.

Now that the revelation of her true self was revealed she now official inherits the pack's problem. Here three note to self:
1. Keeping her identity a secret.
2. Finding out who the rogue werewolf is that is killing in her community.
3. Making sure that she stay away from Matthew's dad, who claims that he found a cure for Lycanthropy.

There are some interesting stuff in this book. It was known that werewolves existed and that there are fresh and new concept about Lycanthropy. One clue:  it is gender base and they are passed on by genes. So no, when a werewolf bit you, you're either dead or mangled. The characters are a bit underdeveloped. It did not really say but there was a goddess who created them, the lack on information on that topic left me unsatisfied. Over all it was a good start. Unique, fresh and exciting.

check out the ARC tour of Claire de Lune soon for more reviews.

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Review: Angelology by Danielle Trussoni

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Viking/Penguin
where to buy: BN, Amazon, Borders

hidden society and heaven's darkest creatures


Sister Evangeline was just a girl when her father entrusted her to the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in upstate New York. Now, at twenty-three, her discovery of a 1943 letter from the famous philanthropist Abigail Rockefeller to the late mother superior of Saint Rose Convent plunges Evangeline into a secret history that stretches back a thousand years: an ancient conflict between the Society of Angelologists and the monstrously beautiful descendants of angels and humans, the Nephilim.

For the secrets these letters guard are desperately coveted by the once-powerful Nephilim, who aim to perpetuate war, subvert the good in humanity, and dominate mankind. Generations of angelologists have devoted their lives to stopping them, and their shared mission, which Evangeline has long been destined to join, reaches from her bucolic abbey on the Hudson to the apex of insular wealth in New York, to the Montparnasse cemetery in Paris and the mountains of Bulgaria.

Rich in history, full of mesmerizing characters, and wondrously conceived, Angelology blends biblical lore, the myth of Orpheus and the Miltonic visions of Paradise Lost into a riveting tale of ordinary people engaged in a battle that will determine the fate of the world.

THOUGHTS:
The book has a Dan Brown feel to it. mystery, history, religion, adventure, symbolism, etc.
It was said that angels came down to earth. The Archangels and the Watchers. They call this period of Antedeluvian. The Watchers were sent to observe the humans but soon they were interacting with them carnally. Despite their angelic features (wings, height, etc...) they are still very much like human thus sexually compatible. The union of angel and human bore an offspring known as "daughters of men" or "Sons of God", "the Giants" and also known as the Nephilims.
The Nephilims bore angelic qualities. But half-human, half-angel. They are known for their inhuman beauty, strength, cruelty, and avarice. It was said that they are the fallen angels who corrupted mankind that was why God got so mad and wanted to destroy the earth by creating the Great Flood or the Deludge to wash out the land of this creatures.But they have survived when the sneak inside Noah's ark.

Genesis 6:1-7

 1 When men began to increase in number on the earth and daughters were born to them, 2 the sons of God saw that the daughters of men were beautiful, and they married any of them they chose. 3 Then the LORD said, "My Spirit will not contend with [a] man forever, for he is mortal [b] ; his days will be a hundred and twenty years."  4 The Nephilim were on the earth in those days—and also afterward—when the sons of God went to the daughters of men and had children by them. They were the heroes of old, men of renown.
 5 The LORD saw how great man's wickedness on the earth had become, and that every inclination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil all the time. 6 The LORD was grieved that he had made man on the earth, and his heart was filled with pain. 7 So the LORD said, "I will wipe mankind, whom I have created, from the face of the earth—men and animals, and creatures that move along the ground, and birds of the air—for I am grieved that I have made them." (reference: bible gateway)


After reading this passage it intrigued me to no end. What is also surprising  is our heroine, Sister Evangeline is a 23 year old nun who lives in St. Rose Convent in Milton, NY. She was born in France but migrated with her father to the United States months after her mother's death. When she was 14, her father left her at the convent for reasons that she only know as work. 9 years later a letter asking for permission for a research from a man named Verlaine offsets her curiosity into digging the past to get the answers in the present day, her discoveries came with a price. After confirming her suspicions based on Sister Celestine's story. She found herself in the middle of a war between the Angelologist and Nephilim that has been going on for centuries. What surprises her more was her grandparent's major role in all these.

Most belief said that angels are indestructible because of said divine component that encompasses their being
but a very interesting concept was introduced on this book. The Angels have weakness. Percival Grigori belongs to a revered family of Nephilim. His wings was considered to be the most beautiful, until the mysterious disease started devouring his wings. The once glorious, sadistic and lustful Percival is now senile, fragile and possibly dying.They have been searching for a cure but the origins of the virus was unknown.Only one known object can restore his kind into their original glory, all they have to do is retrieve it from the hands of their enemies.


There were boring parts of Sister Evangeline's sleuthing that I wish to fast forward yet I chose to endure those parts because I was afraid to miss a potentially important detail. Her daily chores at the convent and observations about other nuns were tedious but I love it when she recalls her past. I gave me a chance to know her and not think of her as... well a nun. It was also full of fascinating clue on how is she connected with the Angelologist.

Angelology is Danielle Trussnoi's first novel. When I heard of this title, I'm like, what is Angelology? It sounds like a phony name for a study Angels but can you think of a better name for it? As a reader of PNR and Urban Fantasy books I confused this as such, as you can tell it isn't. While it is about Angels the story content in this book is pure fiction, it takes some getting used to. The absence of humor and the presence of well mannered dialogues made it borderline dull but the story was enthralling. The first 50 pages did not capture my attention but after some adjustments and with the help of a field guide (thanks you Natasha of Wicked Lil Pixie) I started enjoying it. My other complaint was it has too much information that I get confused sometimes, One part I wished was a prequel instead of actually being part of the book was the 1939 documentation of Celestine and Gabriella's academic life.

Watch out for the movie adaptation of Angelology under Sony Picture's and Will Smith's Overbrook entertainment. to be directed by Marc Forester. For more info click here.

check out the ARC Tour of Angelology soon for more reviews.
 

Guest Blogger: Kat of Bloody Bad

FULL NAME: Katrina
BIRTH DATE: April 25
LOCATION: New England
BLOG URL: BloodyBad.com
BLOG CONTENT:  I do book reviews, bookish memes, the Borrow My ARC Tour and my new weekly event Book Art of The Week.

ANY BOOK(S) THAT YOU’VE READ LATELY AND FEELS LIKE IT HASN’T BEEN NOTICED ENOUGH?
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver - it is a new release but it is so great.
The Thirteenth Princess by Diane Zahler - such a cute retelling of a Grim Fairy Tale


I have a confession, I choose books in the worst ways.
Bad choice number one, book covers. I love them. In high school, I was an “art freak,” it was a clique classification. I spent all my  free time and electives in the art wing of the school. I took every art class that was offered, including a independent study, in art!  I dressed in funky ways, that got attention and I pieced and dyed things I fear to mention here. Now that I am older, I have tamed my appearance and I no longer spend all my time with a pencil and sketch book in hand.  I still admire the creative juices of those who do construct amazing works of art and book covers are some of them. 

We all know the everlasting adage “Never judge a book by it’s cover,” but I admit it. I judge a book by it’s cover. All the time. I'll choose one book over another solely based on the cover. If you think about it though, the more successful publishers typically publish books that will appeal to the masses and these publishers are also the ones with higher marketing budgets. Therefore, a better cover is on a book that will appeal to the masses.  I am, so, a part of the masses. 

Speaking of following the masses brings me to bad choice number 2. I stock the “best” lists on goodreads.  I have to be honest I have found some of my favorite books doing this; Hunger Games, Uglies, Graceling. I also stalk other bloggers on Goodreads pages, if Pat likes Soulless, I bet I will too. I love the Goodreads recent updates page this makes my book stalking so much easier. 

So there you have it, I admit to being a very naughty book chooser. How about you?

Bloody BadBorrow My ARC Tour



Monday, March 8, 2010

What's Up? (2)

THIS WEEK ON MY BLOG

New Reviews

   Angel Star by Jennifer Murgia     Rise of Renegade X  by Chelsea Campbell




Upcoming Reviews this week.


Contest - because I've reached 300++ followers :)





I will also have Katirna of Bloody Bad tomorrow as a Guest Blogger.
Bloody Bad


HAPPENINGS ON MY BLOGGY FRIENDS THIS WEEK



Event Name: Marke Henry Guest Blog
Date: 3/8/10 - Monday
What is it about? Mark Henry is the author of the newly released book, Happy Hour of the Damned. On his guest blog he talks about his zombie books and fascination with Vampires.


Event Name: Contest
Date: 3/08/10 - Monday
What is it about? Sing Me to Sleep by Angela Morrison contest. And a week long dedication.



Around the World ARC Tour
Event Name: New ARC Tours available
Date: 3/08/10 - Monday
What is it about? Angel Star by Jennifer Murgia, Beautiful Between by Alyssa SheinmelDaughters by Joanna Philbin, Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi, Thirteen Treasures by, Michelle Harrison, Thirteen Days to Midnight by Patrick Carman, Sister's Red by Jackson Pearce, Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey





Event Name:Interview with Marta Acosta
Date: 3/10/10 - Tuesday
What is it about? Casa Dracula Week, Interview and Giveaway








HAPPENINGS ON BOOKS & AUTHORS' WEBSITE
 
Danielle Trussoni's book, Angelology is going to be released tomorrow, March 09.

There are going to be exciting events, interviews and giveaways this week in honor of the release date.

EVENTS & DATES (in CA)

MARCH 18                                                 MARCH 19
SAN FRANCISCO, CA                             PETALUMA, CA
7:00 PM                                                      7:00 PM
Book Passage                                              Copperfield's Books
51 Tamal Vista Blvd                                    140 Kentucky St.
Corte Madera, CA 94925                           Petaluma, CA 94952
Reading and Signing                                     Reading and Signing

MARCH 20                                                MARCH 21
PASADENA, CA                                       THOUSAND OAKS, CA
4:00 PM                                                      TIME TK
Vroman’s Books                                          Border's
695 East Colorado Blvd                               125 W. Thousand Oaks Blvd.
Pasadena, CA                                              Thousand Oaks, CA 91360


INTERVIEWS & GIVEAWAY


March 08 @ Sidhe Vicious
March 08 @ SciFi Guy
March 08 @ Parajunkee
March 10 @ Vampire Wire



How about you? What's Up on your blog this week?
I'm sure me and my readers would like to hear all about it.
If you wanted to let me know upcoming events on your blog next week please e-mail me and I'll be happy to post it on this Meme next week.

Review: The Rise of Renegade X (ARC) by Chelsea Campbell

 
BLURB:
where I got my copy: Travelling ARC Tours
where to buy: Amazon, BN,
release date: May 11, 2010
Sixteen-year-old Damien Locke has a plan: major in messing with people at the local supervillain university and become a professional evil genius, just like his supervillain mom. But when he discovers the shameful secret she’s been hiding all these years, that the one night stand that spawned him was actually with a superhero, everything gets messed up. His father’s too moral for his own good, so when he finds out Damien exists, he actually wants him to come live with him and his goody-goody superhero family. Damien gets shipped off to stay with them in their suburban hellhole, and he only has six weeks to prove he’s not a hero in any way, or else he’s stuck living with them for the rest of his life, or until he turns eighteen, whichever comes first.
To get out of this mess, Damien has to survive his dad’s “flying lessons” that involve throwing him off the tallest building in the city—despite his nearly debilitating fear of heights—thwart the eccentric teen scientist who insists she’s his sidekick, and keep his supervillain girlfriend from finding out the truth. But when Damien uncovers a dastardly plot to turn all the superheroes into mindless zombie slaves, a plan hatched by his own mom, he discovers he cares about his new family more than he thought. Now he has to choose: go back to his life of villainy and let his family become zombies, or stand up to his mom and become a real hero.
THOUGHTS:
The first page will immediately throw you into the world of our protagonist. All his life Damien Locke is set to be a great super villain. His mother after all is the great Mistress of Mayhem. A mad scientist who also happens to shoot laser beams from her eyes. Damien lives in Golden City (their very own Gotham City), where in heroes and super villains live among the regular people. Yes disguise and all that. It was said that on the night of a hero or villains sixteenth birthday, a mark on their thumb will be formed. V for villain, H for hero, and X for mix genes between hero and villain tryst. It is very rare and frowned upon since they obviously hate each other. Damien never dreamt that he would be one of these rare ones. All of a sudden his dreams of going to Vilmore (super villain school) and training together with his ex-girlfriend Kat seems impossible and to get matters worst his curiosity to find who his superhero dad turned bad. He only wanted to know who the guy is not live with him. The events following that was full of hilarious and villany antics. Befriending a girl named Sarah, surviving flying lessons with his dad, writing people on his revenge list, sorting out his feelings with Kat, blackmailing his half sister, all the while telling himself that he will be a great villain yet he keeps doing some heroic stuff and adapting the code name Renegade X.

Damien Locke is sarcastic, smart, hilarious, quick witted and shrewd young man. I wasn't sure that I was really up to reading it. The Sky High-ish theme of this book not to mention the very eye catching blurb changed my mind all too quickly. This was more than what I have expected. Damien will charms every reader. Despite the fact that our protagonist was raised as a super villain his traits are actually a cross between hero and villain, his views sounded more reasonable. He has the making of a great action hero. When is book two coming out? I'm excited to see what Kat, Sara and Damien going to be doing.

Friday, March 5, 2010

ARC TOUR (2): Claire De Lune by Christine Johnson


Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson will be released on May 18, 2010. Here is your chance to participate in an ARC tour!



TOUR PARTICIPANTS:

Windowpane-Memoirs
Rex Robot Reviews
Wicked Walker
Kate


RULES:
  • I'll ship it to the first person on the list.
  • Please leave a message on the shout box once you receive the book.
  • All participants have 1 week to read the book. (Please handle it with care, this is my personal copy)
  • You must come back here and post you review in Mr. Linky. So other readers can read your review.
  • Send it to the next person on the list. (Please provide DC on shout box).
  • The last person on the list needs to ship the book to me :)
HOW TO SIGN UP:
  • You have to be a follower of this blog.
  • You must be blogging (reviews) for at least 4 months to qualify.
  • Leave a comment. Name, your state, e-mail and if you are willing to ship to Canada..
*sign up for this tour is closed*

    Thursday, March 4, 2010

    Review: The Line (ARC) by Teri Hall

    BLURB:

    where I got my copy: Around the world ARC TOURS
    where to buy: BN, Amazon, IndieBound
    release date: March 04, 2010

    Rachel lives with her mother on The Property. The good thing about living there is that it’s far from the city where the oppressive government is most active.  The bad thing, at least to most people, is that it’s close to the Line—an uncrossable section of the National Border Defense System, an invisible barrier that encloses the entire country.

    She can see the Line from the greenhouse windows, but she is forbidden to go near it.  Across the Line is Away, and though Rachel has heard many whispers about the dangers there, she’s never really believed the stories. Until the day she hears a recording that could only have come from across the Line.
    It’s a voice asking for help.

    Who sent the message? What is her mother hiding?  And to what lengths will Rachel go in order to do what she thinks is right?

    THOUGHTS:
    After months of waiting I finally got my hands on a copy. Dystopian wasn't really my thing but after reading a bunch of them I started warming up to it. There's something about a sad world that reeks or hopelessness, inconvenience, and anything that is not like the world that we live in is some what appealing, scary yes but that's the beauty of reading it. The characters are always interesting and this book is of no exception.

    The story was futuristic, set after a war that nearly killed our planet. Our main girl Rachel lives with her mother at the guest house of Ms. Moore's  property and that is what they call it, the PROPERTY where in the greenhouse is their source of income. It is situated a few yards from THE LINE border. This all seems intriguing. The government in this book is obviously into some kind of conspiracy. Feeding people all these stories about AWAY and the OTHERS, these scared most people. It prevents them from even thinking about leaving, to question it or start a rebellion. So living a few yards away from it instantly piqued my curiosity. Why live there? I am certain too that Mrs. Moore & Vivian (Rachel's mom)  is hiding something and I wanted to know what it is. It might be two different secrets but it is obviously something to do with AWAY or the OTHERS. But there is one negative about this book. The pace... the employment of Rachel inside the greenhouse bored me. I am not interested in orchids at the moment so the first 7 chapters... I keep thinking, is it relevant? I almost didn't want to finish it. It was too slow and not enough mystery for me to look forward, but I remember the blurb... there is going to be something... so I kept on reading until... Rachel discovered... A tape recorder. With a message. A past. About her parents. About her dad, and it was.... *gasp*

    Patience is a virtue. When you get to "that" chapter you won't be able to put this book down. It is a good start for a new dystopian series.
    BookBlips: vote it up!

    Wednesday, March 3, 2010

    Review: Once Bitten by Kalayna Price

    BLURB:

    where I got my copy: Belle Books
    where to buy: B&N, Amazon, Belle Books

    Kita Nekai, on the run and the smallest of her shifter clan—a calico cat among lions and tigers—is being hunted. She was expected to accept her role as her father’s successor whether or not her cat was up to the task of leading the clan. She disagreed. Now she’s less than a step ahead of the hunters, bone-tired, cold, and living hand-to-mouth in the city of Haven. And that’s the high point of her day. She’s also drugged, "accidently" turned into a vampire, and sentenced to death for recklessly creating a rogue shifter who tortures its human prey. She’s got seventy-two hours to find the rogue, evade a city full of hunters, prove she’s not responsible for the rogue, and keep the vampire council from killing her. All while sorting out an apprentice mage, a married ex-boyfriend shifter-hunter, and the vampire who made her.

    THOUGHTS:
    Kita is a Dyre of Firth (I think that means royal, or heir) Nekai clan, she was a shifter, the smallest of their clan. A Calico cat. She's been on the run for two years. But recently hunters have been following her. Her father sent them out to find her and drag her home. When she arrived at Haven she got herself face to face with Bobby, her ex-boyfriend and a hunter who volunteered to find her. She never want to go back so she tricked him and got away. That same night in an attempt to avoid other hunters Kita went to a rave where she find solace for a few hours until a guy tried to molest her by giving her drugged up drink. She was able to shrug him off but not too far from the party she got in trouble but this guy saved her only to wake up as a vampire. it was an accident. Nathanial was only curious on how she tasted but his curiosity killed the cat (get it? LOL. boo), literally, she woke up and she can't shift anymore. To make matters worse, a guy who claimed he is a Judge sic demons her way. She was charged guilty without trial as a rogue who is tagging humans to be a shifter. Nathanial pleads her case and the judge gave them crap time to prove her innocence. In all this chaos a Mage student from the land of Sabin, materializes and told Kita that she is a subject of her research.

    A lot of stuff happened on the first five chapter. While I like Kita she has this annoying way of cutting off people when they are trying to explain, and it frustrates me. But other than that her transformation into a vampire and their quest to find this rogue was quite an entertainment. I wish I got more background information on the characters. There were boring and confusing parts sure, but the tension between Nathanial and Bobby covered that part. At the end I was left with unanswered questions, so I am hoping to get that from the next book.



    Related Posts with Thumbnails

    Total Pageviews

     
    Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos