visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Tuesday, June 29, 2010

BORROW MY BOOK(6)

Sixth Batch
Something strange is stalking the small town of Junction…

When junior Jess Gillmansen gets called out of class by Guidance, she can only presume it’s for one of two reasons. Either they’ve finally figured out who wrote the scathing anti-jock editorial in the school newspaper or they’re hosting yet another intervention for her about her mom. Although far from expecting it, she’s relieved to discover Guidance just wants her to show a new student around—but he comes with issues of his own including a police escort.

The newest member of Junction High, Pietr Rusakova has secrets to hide--secrets that will bring big trouble to the small town of Junction—secrets including dramatic changes he’s undergoing that will surely end his life


read this first:

*sign up close*


PARTICIPANTS:
The Book Vixen
Girl on a Mission
The Fiction Enthusiast
Rex Robot Reviews


You can also check




The Introverted Reader




to see what she have to offer

Monday, June 28, 2010

WINNER - Nancy's Theory of Style

Leslie B.

e-mail is sent. 24 hrs. reply window or a new winner will be drawn.
Thank you for everyone who joined.

Cross my heart and hope to spy by Ally Carter

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Barnes and Noble

After staking out, obtaining, and then being forced to give up her first boyfriend, Josh, all Cammie Morgan wants is a peaceful semester. But that's easier said than done when you're a CIA legacy and go to the premier school in the world... for spies.

Cammie Morgan may have a genius IQ and attend the best school in the country, but as she starts the spring semester of her sophomore year there are a lot of things she doesn't know. Like will her ex-boyfriend even remember she exists? And how much trouble did she really get in last semester? And, most of all, exactly why is her mother acting so strangely?

All Cammie wants is a nice, normal semester, but she's about to learn her greatest lesson yet—that when you go to a school for spies, nothing is ever as it seems.

THOUGHTS:
This is more I like it! The questions that I kept on asking while I was reading the first book. Is there an exclusive espionage school for boys, an equivalent of the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women? I do not know why it was so exciting, maybe because Cammie and her friends became smarter or because this was less predictable. Last semester Cammie broke a million rules, spy code and school code then her forbidden boyfriend found out about her true identity and the school's real mission statement. Not everything went well of course when Josh left the premise he also left the secret embedded in its walls. But I was totally expecting a new boy, a new distraction, a young spy at that and I was not disappointed.

Here we meet Zach, one of the boy from Blackthorne Institute. He got the creepy way of sneaking up to Cammie unnoticed. He seems to be where ever Cammie goes and he pose as a threat and a protector at the same time. It is so frustrating that I do not know anything about him, Cammie and her friends tried but Zach and the rest of his school is so covert, no clue was given. It is getting exciting. The characters are getting stronger and more distinguished, even Tina Walter's ridiculous gossip theory is growing on me. I am still not a fan of the covers but I am glad that the series is picking up, the cuteness is still there but I want more action. Will I be getting that on the next book?

Friday, June 25, 2010

I'd Tell You I Love You, But then I have to kill you by Ally Carter

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Barnes & Noble

The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is a fairly typical all-girls school—that is, if every school teaches advanced martial arts in PE, chemistry always consists of the latest in chemical warfare, and everyone breaks CIA codes for extra credit in computer class. So in truth, while the Gallagher Academy might say it's a school for geniuses what they really mean is spies. But what happens when a Gallagher Girl falls for a boy who doesn't have a code name?

Cammie Morgan may be fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways (three of which involve a piece of uncooked spaghetti), but the Gallagher Academy hasn't prepared her for what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she's an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, and track him through a mall without him ever being the wiser, but can she have a regular relationship with a regular boy who can never know the truth about her? Cammie may be an elite spy in training, but in her sophomore year, she's doing something riskier than ever—she's falling in love.

THOUGHTS:
I have been searching for a spy related book in over three months now and I already have a line up but I chose to read this one first. A school training to be an international espionage does sound interesting. An all girls school definitely appealing. I do not exactly have high hopes but I still got disappointed. It was a little bland and predictable. Cammie knows how to say "I'd tell you I love you, but then I have to kill you" in fourteen different language, can disable a nuclear weapon, hack to into the CIA, NSA or any other government agency local or international, and can take out a group of obnoxious men if she has to but like any other Gallagher girls, she is clueless when it comes to boys. It was cute and annoying at the same time, I understand how her character is portrayed and I like how she is still aware that she is not an ordinary girl nor had suddenly crave to be one. I think what puts me off a little bit is the lack of action and intrigue. The secondary characters also needs to have more spunk. But I do love the ending and I am willing to continue reading the series. I hope it gets better.


Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Review: Maze Runner by James Dashner

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Barnes & Noble

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

THOUGHTS:
Dystopian novels are rising on the popularity scale these days. While I think that Hunger Games is a pretty hard book to compare others too, James Dashner's Maze Runner can definitely be on the list of to read under this genre.

What a strange strange world the Glade was, smack right in the middle of a huge maze where teenager boys with penchant for weird lingo lives. I thought I would give up for reading the work "shank" and klunk" so many time! I cringe every time I read it. Is the use of such words really necessary? Aside from the Gladers choice for curse words and all other important information that you need to know about them mentioned at the blurb, the only thing that they remember is their name and how to do things that keeps them alive from day to day. Each any everyone of them have a chore to do. They are surprisingly organized and peaceful. I keep forgetting that they are kids not adults who are trying to figure out what they are doing inside the maze. Where in hostile creatures called the Grievers get locked up at night by a wall that close up all sections

I think Maze Runner is one of those books that you would have to develop an acquired taste for. You must embrace the strangeness of its world. I was only really pumped up when Thomas broke the number one rule of the Glade, and most especially when Teresa woke up. Don't get me wrong it was not boring, chapters before that part was essential for the readers to adjust to Thomas' world, it just seems too long for me. So when my friend Tina in GoodReads said that her friend gave up after chapter 5, I did not even question it because I almost gave up myself. But the mystery of who the Creators are and the true purpose of WICKED kept me going. And the codes! what is up with that? It was borderline sci-fi at that point and I still don't know how I feel about that but it was really an awesome read. Especially the ending! Talk about a cliffhanger, Maze Runner got an excellent one.

Book Review: Ancient Whispers (ARC) by Marie-Claude Bourque

BLURB:

where I got my copy: A Book Lover's Review - ARC Tour
where to buy: Amazon, Borders, BN


“Make love to me, sorcerer. Show me your powers.”

Gabriel is the youngest member of the Priory of Callan—an ancient Celtic brotherhood of cursed sorcerers and alchemists, each with deadly abilities and each haunted by a tragic past. Tortured by the devastating loss of his fiancĂ©e in 1755, Gabriel wants nothing more than to reunite with his soul mate.

Two and a half centuries later, Gabriel is still searching for his love. And then he finds Lily Bellefontaine. Cool-headed and practical, she has no memory of Gabriel. But she also can’t deny the pull of attraction drawing her under his seductive spell, urging her to give in to the…

THOUGHTS:

It all started year 1755 in a small village in France. Gabriel and Evangeline were to get married but their village got attacked by foreign soldiers separating the two. Heartbroken and physically tortured Gabriel has turned to something that will guarantee a reunion with his beloved Evangeline. But what would be the cost?

A wait of two and a half century later, his beloved Evangeline was reincarnated as Lily, a modern woman. A woman he rescued from harm in the woods. That same night they had unbelievably hot tryst. Lily kept thinking it was just one hell of a weekend affair yet there was that weird familiarity that she had met Gabriel before. As most rational women, she dismissed this idea. How could she have, that night was the first time they've met. And then there's Morag Callan, Gabriel's pseudo-aunt who keeps talking about power and all other weird stuff that makes sense to Lily. The plot also thickens when a guy named Theuron started dating Lily's best friend Keira, there is something sinister about him but what exactly? Then there were those weird dreams and other characters. I admit confusion at first, there were so many elements that I wasn't used to. But it was a good read for me. A tale of immortal love and magic.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Review: The Alexandria Letter by George Honig

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Phenix Publicity


After Cambridge scholar Nathan Tobin discovers an ancient Aramaic letter, he finds himself thrown into an agonizing struggle against powerful forces committed to discrediting him. The Alexandria letter discloses surprising revelations about the lives of Jesus and John the Baptist, as well as shocking claims of duplicity by Paul of Tarsus, which threaten to turn long-held principles of Christianity on their heads.
But as he races to verify the authenticity of the letter, he faces rejection by his fellow scholars and sinister opposition from within the Church that aims to stop him at any cost. The Alexandria letter represents the most important work Nathan has ever done, but it may also be the last.

THOUGHTS:
There was a time that I was so engrossed with religious-conspiracy thriller. Dan Brown had started that trend. After reading all his books, I went on a quest to find similar plots and intrigue. The one that the church wants to burn and the ones that my mother condone, seriously, its only a novel, sure it might somehow makes you think... what if it is really true? But really it is all up to you.

In the Alexandria Letter, Dr. Honig tells a tale about Jesus not only being who he is in the bible but also a person with an advance knowledge in medicine. It is by far the most acceptable theory I've even read. The Armaic letter that was now with Cambridge scholar Nathan Tobin was intriguing since the very beginning. An ancient scripture that will change everything. Of course there will always be that group of people who will stop at nothing just so this secret won't come out. That part was predictable but the plot itself was what I was looking for in a long time. Suspenseful and thought provoking.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Review: Nocturne by L.D Harkrader

BLURB:

where I got my copy: Raab Assoc.

A romantic tale of vampires and magic from award-winning author L.D. Harkrader

Flanerry Lane is tired of being protected by her Uncle Anatole. After years of studying magic in the back of his bookshop, she's ready for an adventure of her own. Then one day, strange things start happening. A burglar breaks into the butcher's shop, stealing nothing, but leaving the floors sparkling clean. Soon the seamstress's apprentice vanishes on her way home, leaving behind only a shoe still laced at the top. And then worst of all, Uncle Anatole disappears. That night, a young vampire hunter named Pascoe knocks urgently on the bookshop door. Pascoe insists there is a vampire lurking in nearby Blakely Hall. Flanders looks deep into Pascoe's gorgeous eyes and finds herself agreeing to help him. As Flanders tracks the vampire, her feelings for Pascoe grow until she stumbles upon a secret that turns everything she thought she knew about Pascoe--and herself--upside down.

THOUGHTS:
Our heroine Flannery Lane has a mysterious past, she was left at the doorstep of the Wicker Street's most powerful wizard when she was a baby. For the longest time her life was just in that box. A lace dress worn when she was a baby and a letter that says she is better off with her own kind. Anatole (the wizard), immediately noticed that Flan is with magic. I had the greatest hopes that Anatole can teach her how to be  great like him when she grew older but Anatole has been restricting her of using it. But magic is a part of her and she loves it and is efficient at it. So I feel a little disappointed in that part of the story. But Flannery's got the making of a great stubborn, independent, strong willed, resourceful heroine so at the end I started rooting for her.

The other part of what I like was the tone of the story, it was written with an medieval twang and British english accent. I like it a lot and it reminds me of Harry Potter but the difference ends there. Nocturne is not only a story about magic but vampire hunters and vampires. There used to be this great hunter, Lord Blakely but he was defeated by his former stableman turned vampire named Lucien Kidd. The cause of the feud? Love of course. After this battle nobody saw Lucien again, nobody really knows where he went and nobody questioned it that much. The town was left vulnerable and paranoid that evil might attack them. For sometime they look up to Anatole (Flannery's Uncle - adopt) until rumors started milling about him. For a long time nobody claimed the Blakely Manor until a one Adrian Blakely showed up.

The story was pretty predictable yet you have that doubt that it might be what you are suspecting. I wish there was more about Pascoe and Flannery together, it feels so unfinished. Book 2?


Interview & Contest: Grace Coopersmith - Nancy's Theory of style



1.      Who is Grace Coopersmith?
 
      Grace Coopersmith went to the same Fancy University I attended and read the same books I read, but she knows the proper way to clean a sterling silver soup ladle.  She can tell you about the history of Coco Chanel.  I can tell you the funny things my dogs have done.  She never eats salad with her fingers.  Not that I do.  Whoever told you that was making it up, I swear.

2.      Please tell us about your new book Nancy’s Theory of Style?
     
      Nancy Carrington-Chambers is a perfectionist and a control-freak.  When her husband turns her dream house into a tacky McMansion, she takes a “marriage sabbatical” and returns to her posh Pacific Heights apartment in a building owned by her family.  She hires the perfect assistant for her party-planning business.  Derek is gorgeous, stylish, British, and gay.  Nancy’s very attracted to this unattainable man and together they begin to work on her big project, reinventing the city’s dreariest – and most venerated – fundraiser.  Then Nancy’s irresponsible cousin abandons her four-year-old daughter with Nancy.

      Somehow, the young socialite, the assistant, and the child manage to get along.  However, Nancy’s snobbery sets in motion a chain of events that cause her world to come crashing down.  She can save herself, or risk everything for those she’s come to love.  Also, it’s very funny.

3.      What is the inspiration behind it?
   
      Nancy is one of those characters I just knew from the start.  She first appears in my Casa Dracula books.  She was so much fun that my editor and I decided she needed her own book.  Also, I’ve known stylish young women who lived in pretty and chic apartments in Pacific Heights.  It always seemed wonderful to me, and I wanted to write about that sort of life. 

4.      What are your top 10 favorite books and why?
           
     Don’t ask me this question.  I can’t answer it.  But John Kennedy Toole’s A Confederacy of Dunces is on it, as is Persuasion by Jane Austen.
     
       
      5.   Interesting facts about you? Whatever comes to mind.
       
      The interesting fact about me is that it’s a real effort for me not to say something crazy and/or appalling at any given moment.  Also, I want “Mayhem Ensues” on my gravestone.

6       .  Do you have any future projects?
      
      Yes, I plan to clean the cobwebs from my ceiling.  Also, I’m writing a short story for an anthology about Scottish vampires.  I know -- how cool is that!  I’m going to start speaking in a brogue at home just to get in the mood.  Besides the Scottish vamp thing, I’m working on a young adult novel with a ghostly theme (not funny) and a new contemporary novel set in San Francisco (funny).  It’s about two best friends who decide to dramatically improve their lives.   Basically, I’m alternating funny and not funny books.

     Thanks for having me as your guest Patricia!  I’ll mention it to Grace…if only she’d email me back.

___________________________________________________________________________
This lovely ballerina is one of my favorite authors. Her character Milagros hailed from the Casa Dracula Series, while waiting for her comeback, she released a novel that centers around Milagro's well bred and stylish friend Nancy. Have you guessed who she is yet?
visit her websites: 
www.martaacosta.com    www.gracecoopersmith.com
HOW TO PLAY:
+ 2 new/old followers
+ 2 Tweet this contest. Spread the love.
+ 2 leave a comment for Marta
  
  • Contest starts today thru 06/28 {3pm PST}
  • You must provide a working email when you leave a comment so that I can notify you should you win.
  • Contest is open to Blogger and Non-Blogger and must be US residents only.
Winner will be notified via email and has 24 hours (two days) to respond with a mailing address. If the winning contestant does not respond after 24 hours a new winner will be drawn.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

ARC TOUR (3): Nocturne by. L.D Harkrader - Advance Copy

BLURB:

A romantic tale of vampires and magic from award-winning author L.D. Harkrader

Flanders Lane is tired of being protected by her Uncle Anatole. After years of studying magic in the back of his bookshop, she's ready for an adventure of her own. Then one day, strange things start happening. A burglar breaks into the butcher's shop, stealing nothing, but leaving the floors sparkling clean. Soon the seamstress's apprentice vanishes on her way home, leaving behind only a shoe still laced at the top. And then worst of all, Uncle Anatole disappears. That night, a young vampire hunter named Pascoe knocks urgently on the bookshop door. Pascoe insists there is a vampire lurking in nearby Blakely Hall. Flanders looks deep into Pascoe's gorgeous eyes and finds herself agreeing to help him. As Flanders tracks the vampire, her feelings for Pascoe grow until she stumbles upon a secret that turns everything she thought she knew about Pascoe--and herself--upside down.

The ARC Tour rules:
  1. You must be a follower of this blog
  2. You must email me ( peaceloveandpat@yahoo.com ) when you receive the ARC.
  3. You will have ONE WEEK to read the ARC before you must mail it off to the next person.
  4. You must get Delivery Confirmation and email me the confirmation number.
  5. You will have ONE WEEK from the date you mail the ARC to post your review.
  6. You must post your review on your blog or any of these sites (Goodreads, Library Thing, Barnes & Noble, Amazon.com, etc.). Email me the links to your reviews and I will link to you.
  7. The last person on the tour must mail the ARC back to me.
  8. By registering for the ARC tour, you agree not to scan/copy/digitize the ARC and respect author copyright.
If you cannot commit to ALL of these rules, then please don't sign up. It is imperative that the ARC gets circulated quickly to everyone on the tour so we can all get our reviews up before the release date.

*SIGNS UP CLOSED*

PARTICIPANTS:


Tour 1:
A Romantic Heart


Tour 2 



Thursday, June 3, 2010

Product Review: Cover Girl & Olay Simply Ageless make Up

click on the image to buy the product

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION (from Amazon.com)
CoverGirl & Olay Simply Ageless Corrector incorporates an advanced suspension formula which uses special yellow intensive pigments to make extreme dark circles seem to disappear. Wear in conjunction with CoverGirl & Olay Simply Ageless Concealer to even and instantly revitalize your look. Infused with Olay Regenerist serum, the Simply Ageless Collection of foundation, blush, concealer, and corrector is formulated to stay suspended over fine lines and wrinkles for flattering, flawless coverage at any age.


THOUGHTS:
There was a small gathering at our place last month and the Covergirl & Olay was lying around the living room when my friends and some of my in laws came. I checked out the product and even read the Bzz pamphlet enclosed to it. Then started asking me questions about the product. I told them. I have no idea yet since I just got it Friday. So I offered to open and it up and try it on.After applying the make up I asked them if I can apply on them too to see how it will work for them and if they can share any comments for research. I told them that I am a Bzz Agent and explain how that works. They love the creamy and silky feel, the wonderful way the corrector and concealer. Seven of them said they'll buy it. Two were not sure because they prefer high end cosmetics. And three was still thinking about it.

I love the feel of the product. The packaging is attractive . The product itself feels good on the skin whenever I apply it. It has a creamy and silky. it was refreshing and truly an awesome privilege to have tried this product before a lot of people did. The only thing that did not work right was the shade of the foundation. Too light for me, I should have chosen a bit darker since I just got a tan. haha But it was not a complete fail, it was perfect for four of my friends. The Blush is the crowd favorite. Then the corrector and concealer were the next. I would totally buy it and will recommend it to my other friends and relatives.

BzzAgent Badge

Announcement: I am expanding my website.

*new* Peace Love & Pat is now also reviewing products.

I am expanding my website. Instead of separating them I have decided to write them all in one website.You will now see products that are sen to me in exchange of an honest review or products that I currently purchase and would like to share my joys and frustrations of said products.

Book Review: Pefect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

BLURB:

where Ig ot my copy: B&N


When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she's worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more. In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.

THOUGHTS:
Brittany Ellis' life has to be perfect, even though her sister, Shelley has cerebral palsy and have autism. Her mother freaks out and gives her the guilt tip when she does maintain or exceeds her expectation. Her boyfriend Colin came home this summer changed and pressuring her into having sex. She is surrounded by people who thinks image is everything and doesn't know who she can fully trust. To make matters worse her chemistry teacher partnered him with gangbanger.

Alex Fuentes lives on the south side of town, where he needs to carry a gun for protection and maintain his troublemaker and dangerous appearance. Being a member of the Latino Blood gang, he had no choice but to act like one. But in reality he had never used his gun, he keeps his family safe, her works to help his mother put food on their table and he really wanted to go to college. Ever since his dad died he had always thought that his destiny was already written and that he had no choice but to follow it, little did he know his infuriating white girl chemistry partner will change all that.

I love the story it is definitely a change from all the PNR that I've been reading. Two different cultures and two different worlds collide. The story is very realistic and very relatable. Brittany can be perceived as this shallow and spoon fed person, and she was at some point until she started following her heart. I know that sounds cheesy but that is exactly what she did, suddenly let herself go. To become happy with Alex even though his world is dangerous. I've seen one too many gang related documentary on Nat Geo and History channel to say that Alex had it easy when he finally decided to quit the gang. I was glad that his family was safe and that he made a pretty darn good future for himself and Brittany.

Polyvore

I am addicted...


Sex and The City

Concert Review: Black Eyed Peas - E.N.D Tour

CONCERT DESCRIPTION: (source: wikipedia.com)
The tour began in Japan on September 15, 2009, with shows also performed in Australia and New Zealand in 2009. The group will tour North America starting in February 2010, with dates also planned for Europe starting in Dublin, Ireland in May. The group performed 2 shows in Las Vegas at the end of 2009 as a warm up to their extensive North American tour. The tour is also expected to reach South America and more parts of Asia during 2010. It is the group's biggest tour production-wise to date, with the group's female vocalist Fergie stating that they are "trying to up [their] game" and the shows will "utilize a lot of the technology that's out there".[1] The E.N.D. World Tour is backed by presenting sponsor BlackBerry®, and Bacardi® as the official spirit of the tour.[2]

MY REVIEW:
Venue: San Diego Sport Arena
Date: April 03, 2010 - Saturday 7:30pm

My friends and I decided to go at the last minute. So our seats aren't the best in the house but the huge projector screen and the crowd was awesome. Of course it would have been so much better if we were seated at least facing the cent of the stage but oh, well I'll just take whatever I got as long as I'm there. 

Let's start with the venue. it was not that big so I didn't mind being that far away from the stage. We did not have any difficulties in parking either, we already anticipated it and got good parking spot. The nearby diners and restaurant however was impossible to infiltrate. There were probably a thousand people inside Chili's when we get there so we ended up eating at Chick-Fil-A. So a word of advise be at the venue vicinity 4 hours early if you're planning to grab a few drinks before a concert. 

The  opening acts was LMFAO and Ludacris. LMFA started the show first. I am not really a fan of their music, I mean sure if I go to a club I might dance with their songs but it will never listen to it on a regular basis. People around me and my friends seems to really like their music, they know the tune and lyrics on most of it. They of course sang their number one hit - I'm In (your city name here) Bitch!, La la la, I am not a Whore, Get Crazy and two or three more songs. Ludacris on the other hand, ummm... I missed most of the performances, there was a long line for buying drinks. But I did hear him sang his new song How Low and his old song Move Bitch. Again I'm not really a fan but other people enjoyed his performance so I guess all in all the opening acts were great. I remember my friend's daughter saying that the prospect of the Black Eyed Peas concert got more exciting after that.

Now as for the main act. Black Eyed Peas is probably the only band that I can listen to on a regular basis under the genre of pop/dance/hip-hop/alternative hip hop. their music has evolved over the years, I still preferred the old one better but the tunes of the new songs are catchy I just could not say that I don't like it. They had this elaborate and futuristic stage and a face of an animated green man made the introductions. Taboo, Apl, Fergie and Will.I.Am's costume was something out of a sci-fi movie. It was all shiny, glittery. silver, black. And trust me you will never miss the out of this world back up dancers costumes. Their first song was Let's get it Started, which already includes lots of drama from the stage, they start off with minimal lighting and green fog creeping on stage then a black of lights showing their name and its members. The first part of the concert showcases their new songs from their new album The E.N.D. and some of their songs that was a hit from the last 2-3 years. My favorite part of the concert was when they sang their songs individually. Apl Di Ap was the first one singing his Bebot song. All the Filipinos in the house went nuts when they heard it. Then next was Fergie, or was it Taboo? I'm not sure but Fergie did really well, her shoes are to die for and her physique was impressive. She sang her Fergielicious song, Glamorous, and Big Girls don't Cry. Taboo did was pulled up from under the stage and was suspended for a good few feet from the stage riding a motor bike  while singing his song. Will.I.Am's was the longest performance. He did not do any of his song but was DJ-ing some song from famous band and some Michael Jackson tunes. I got bored on that one, not to mention that there was some technical difficulties. His microphone was not working and it took a million years to fix that problem. it was a blunder on next two group songs. I could not hear Fergie and Apl, their mic was not functioning. I know that it was to be expected in a live concert. They last song was I gotta Feeling. Very appropriate. It was a loooong concert, the show ended at 11:00pm and we have to drive all the way back to Oragne County, which was cool. You can tell that people had so much fun, most of them were still singing Black Eyed Peas songs when we reached the parking lot.


Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Product Review: Kielh's Blue Herbal

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION: (source: kiehls.com)

Blue Herbal Gel Cleanser - 8.4 fl. oz
  • Oil-free
  • Non-drying
  • Inspired by Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion®
  • Salicylic Acid Acne Treatment with Extracts of Cinnamon Bark and Ginger Root
  • Helps keep skin clear of new acne blemishes
  • Not tested on animals
Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion - 8.4 fl. oz.
  • Oil-free
  • Non-drying
  • Inspired by Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion®
  • Salicylic Acid Acne Treatment with Extracts of Cinnamon Bark and Ginger Root
  • Helps keep skin clear of new acne blemishes
  • Not tested on animals
Blue Herbal Moisturizer - 3.4 fl. oz.
  • Oil-free
  • Inspired by Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion®
  • Salicylic Acid Acne Treatment with Extracts of Cinnamon Bark and Ginger Root
  • Reduces appearance of pores
  • Helps prevent new acne blemishes from forming
  • Not tested on animals

MY REVIEW: 
where I got it: Kiehl's Store - South Coast Plaza

Friends have been recommending Kiehl's before but I just keep on dismissing the idea. For some reason I never asked them about the price. I just estimate it as "expensive" but a trip to the mall changed my mind. At the time I bought this product I was in a serious case of acne. I was in desperate search for a new Skin Care line that will take care of my acne, the previous one that I have is not working anymore. The potency has lost its effect and I am back to my original dilemma. And then my sister drag me to the Kiehl's store. I asked one of the Sales Associates on what is the best product for oily skin and she directed me to their Blue Herbal group.


The cleanser's main ingredient is Cinnamon Bark and Ginger Root extract and has a Salicylic Acid. I was really not sure if the 1.5 % of the later ingredient is strong enough but it did wonders for my skin. The washing experience is invigorating. I always get this fresh minty cool feel. And after patting my skin dry I get that squeaky clean feel. The Astringent cleared my acne within three days. The the redness was gone and it gives me that new facial - tightens my pores. The best part is using the Moisturizer, all day everyday is oil free. It dries quickly and no residue. After using all three my skin now feels soft and smooth. Good bye oily skin. I don't even have to use the oil blotter anymore. All three product actually works, I got my money's worth, and the price is not too bad. The Sales Associated told me that this product is not really for men but I still ask my husband to try it. It worked wonders from him too and now we both use the product. So far its magic is still working on me, let's hope that this time I finally found the acne zapping product for me.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos