visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Saturday, November 19, 2011

Believe Like A Child by Paige Dearth



BLURB:

  • Paperback: 424 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace (June 22, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • BUY A COPY HERE
Alessa is just seven years old when her uncle rapes her for the first time.  As the years pass, his sexual appetite becomes more voracious and his perversion more twisted, until the abuse has become almost a daily ritual, with the unspoken involvement of the girl’s mother.   

At the age of sixteen, after the death of her only friend, Alessa finds herself at the mercy of her real-life monster, with no relief in sight.  She flees her home to escape this hell, only to find herself descending into a more dangerous one. Alone and helpless in the streets of North Philadelphia, she encounters more human predators who want to take over her life and devour her.  About to hit rock bottom, Alessa manages to break away from her new tormentors and finds refuge in a shelter for homeless and abused women.

Wherever she goes, however, trouble keeps seeking her out, until she meets three people who change the course of her life forever.  Though Alessa’s bittersweet journey is perpetually fraught with challenges, she does, nevertheless, manage to find fleeting moments of joy along the way.  But as she begins to settle down, a ghost from the past comes to haunt her again, threatening to destroy the very foundation of her small world and plunging her back into an abyss of despair, until she makes her final bid for escape.

REVIEW:
I haven't reviewed any book in a while. I was beginning to think that no book will ever give me the excitement anymore, the book world got saturated with genres that has become trends with clique themes. I got tired of it, as much as I would love to review the books sent to me, I couldn't lie to myself and to my readers. I do not want to give a negative review and say that the most talked about upcoming books are either a copycat of some best selling book or the themes are just repeats with mediocre modification, these might be new to other but not to me.
Then one afternoon I receive a very intriguing e-mail, a summary of the book and an 11 page sample. The author have a very impressive resume. Her horrifying childhood and her survivor story. I was both scared and excited to read it. She promised a no holds bar account on what/how it was to be raped, the gory details, the humiliation she felt and a could have been story of her life is she did not meet the people she met that lead her to her life today. 

Some scenes are graphic yet it has that reality feel that somewhere out there, this same scenario probably happened to other women, we see it on the news, read it in the papers. Bad things happen to good people, and good people make bad decisions to be able to survive. I could have finished this book faster if I didn't gave birth the next day I receive this book. It was so intense, and Alessa and her survival mode and that spark of hope that someday her life would be better draws me into her story. Definitely the best book I've read this year.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

WINNERS

Strivectin Starter Kit
Malou
Its been crazy! Sorry for the delay.



Congratulations, e-mail has been sent you have 24 hours to reply with your mailing address or I'll have to pick another winner.
Thank you for everyone who joined. Don't worry I'll have more contest to come, you maybe my next winner.:)

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Contest: Strivectin Starter Kit

I love the product. I have a review for the Strivectin SD for Sensitive Skin and now in the process of trying on their Eye Concentrate. I wanted to share this wonderful product. I am offering a starter kit to one lucky blog reader.
Here are the details...
StriVectin-SD™ Age Less Starter Kit
3 full-powered mini age fighters
This must have wrinkle remedy trio polishes and primes the skin, fights wrinkles on the face and eyes, and protects the skin. See smoother, more resilient skin, renewed eyes and reduced puffiness in just two weeks! The convenient travel kit is perfect for StriVectin fans on the go and first time users.
 
What is it?
StriVectin‑SD new Age Less Starter Kit polishes and primes the skin, fights wrinkles on the face and eyes, and protects the skin with three must have wrinkle remedies: StriVectin-SD™, Scrub, and Eye Cream. This must have trial kit is packaged in a mini travel size branded bag for StriVectin customers on the go.

.75 oz. StriVectin-SD™ Instant Retexturizing Scrub
NIA-114 + Pro-Niasomes
The first step in the StriVectin-SD™ routine, this scrub cleanses, smoothes and prepares skin for the optimal use of treatment products, improving texture with regular use.

.75 oz. StriVectin SD™ Intensive Concentrate for Stretch Marks and Wrinkles
8% NIA-114 + Peptide Actives™
The stretch mark cream turned anti-wrinkle phenomenon, now formulated with our proprietary complex of 8% (NIA-114+ Peptide) Actives to improve the appearance of wrinkles and stretch marks in just 2-8 weeks. And even better, results keep improving over time, if you keep using our products twice a day.

.25 oz. StriVectin SD™ Eye Concentrate for Wrinkles
7.5% NIA-114 + Peptide Actives™
New StriVectin-SD™ Eye Concentrate is now formulated with our proprietary complex of 7.5% (NIA-114+ Peptide) Actives to improve the appearance of fine lines, dark circles, and crow’s feet in just 2-8 weeks. And even better, results keep improving over time, if you keep using our products twice a day.

What does it do?
Each product in the StriVectin® Age Less Starter Kit is formulated with our new proprietary, patented NIA–114™ technology, discovered in skin cancer prevention research to help rebuild skin layers. This innovative technology is clinically proven to help reduce visible signs of aging-fight wrinkles and other visible signs of aging.

More information about Strivectin ----> http://www.strivectin.com/

CONTEST:
*One US or Canadian winner only
*ends: 09/05
*read my contest policy before joining

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES: (all optional)
+2 GFC follower in this blog
+2 if you tweet about this contest.

FILL IN THE FORM BELOW

Review: Clinique Touch Base for Eyes

ABOUT THE PRODUCT:
No smearing, no fading, no creasing. Stays on until washed off. Versatile, creamy formula can be worn alone or layered under other eye shadows to give them more staying power. Acts as a holding base for powder shadow, helps it last longer. Ophthalmologist tested.
REVIEW:
I do not put on eyeshadow as an everyday thing. I only wear them when I go out. Eye make up is just too much for me to put on every morning. So I was in search for a natural looking shade than I can easily apply on my eyelids. CAnother important feature that I am looking for is the "no creasing" formula, since I have oily eyelids. Clinique Touch base for Eyes is the perfect one. It is oil free, long lasting and it does not crease as promised. I got the Nude Rose color which gave my lids a natural color with just a hint of pink. I use my ring finger as an applicator.

Another pro and con about this product is it dries up easily. So when you apply it you are good to go but if you left the lid slightly ajar, it dries up fast also, so make sure it is close tight or make sure you keep the foil piece to help seal the moisture.

I BOUGHT IT @
Macy's - $14.50


Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (8)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine.
that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating! Want to participate? Post your own WOW entry on your blog, and leave your link at Breaking the Spine. Here's my pick for this week.....

TITLE: If I Die (Soul Screamers V)
AUTHOR: Rachel Vincent

RELEASE DATE:  September 27, 2011
 The entire school's talking about the gorgeous new math teacher, Mr. Beck. Everyone except Kaylee Cavanaugh. After all, Kaylee's no ordinary high-school junior. She's a banshee—she screams when someone dies.


But the next scream might be for Kaylee.

Yeah—it's a shock to her, too. So to distract herself, Kaylee's going to save every girl in school. Because that hot new teacher is really an incubus who feeds on the desire of unsuspecting students. The only girls immune to his lure are Kaylee and Sabine, her boyfriend's needy ex-girlfriend. Now the unlikely allies have to get rid of Mr. Beck…before he discovers they aren't quite human, either.

But Kaylee's borrowed lifeline is nearing its end. And those who care about her will do anything to save her life.

Anything.



What's your "WoW" pick this week?


 

Pretty by Jillian Lauren


BLURB:

•Pub. Date: August 2011
•Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
•Format: Paperback , 288pp

eARC recevied from Netgalley for review.

ORDER BOOK HERE:

Bebe Baker is an ex-everything: ex-stripper, ex-Christian, ex-drug addict, ex-pretty girl.

It's been one year since the car accident that killed her boyfriend left her scarred and shaken. Flanked by an eccentric posse of friends, she is serving out a self-imposed sentence at a halfway house, while trying to finish cosmetology school. Amid the rampant diagnoses, over-medication, compulsive eating, and acrylic nails of Los Angeles, Bebe looks for something to believe in before something--her past, the dangerously magnetic men in her life, her own bad choices--knocks her off course again.



REVIEW:
It has a promising start. The scene was Bebe and her then boyfriend Aaron was in a bar playing pool, high as kite. Aaron was a musician and Bebe fell in love with him and followed him everywhere. Nothing went as planned and she became an addict and a stripper. That fateful night Aaron died in a car accident. Bebe ended up in a halfway house in LA where she is studying cosmetology to give her some skills when she gets released. She met another questionable character as her new boyfriend, Jake; a paranoid schizo, who thinks he is Jesus. It was both weird and fascinating to read. I got bored a little reading stuff about nail care and its procedures but omitting those parts about cosmetology school, I was left curious on what bebe would do next. Bebe's past life flashback was a wonderful idea in this book. It explains and made me understand her colorful personality and the choices that she made in her life. It made me wonder is she would ever get past her issues and give a better future to ther person at the end of the story. I am impressed with Lauren's writing and hope to read more of her work.

Review: Clinique City Base Compact Foundation with SPF15

ABOUT THE PRODUCT:
Oil-free formula glides on as a cream, then turns into a silky powder. Protects skin with SPF. Smooth, buildable coverage can be used as foundation or for touch-ups.

Skin Types: 1 - Very Dry to Dry, 2 - Dry Combination, 3- Oily

Formula: Stick or Cream
Coverage: Moderate to Full
Benefits: Moisturizing, Buildable coverage





REVIEW:
I've been searching for a new foundation. For years I've been using Bare Essentials and then all of a sudden I started breaking out. I have sensitive oily skin that requires me to change and serach for new great product that will help me keep the zits at bay.

Before discovering Clinique's City Base, I tried two otehr brands but I wasn't satisfied with 3 things. Application, color and effectiveness. The first one requires me to use a brush for smoother application, the second one does not have the right color to match my skin tone and both of them just doesn't have the effect that I wanted. Clinique's City base is so easy to apply, it has a cream to powder formula that makes it so easy to apply, it is non-comdogenic and it feels super light and has that matte effect on my skin. The ivory bisque shade aslo match well with my skin tone, so it has that perfect smooth effect. The best part is it is light weight. No heavy oily feel that it promised. I only need to retouch once the whole day and on a good day no need to retouch at all.

WHERE TO BUY?

I BOUGHT MINE @:


Review: Strivectin SD for Sensitive Skin

ABOUT THE PRODUCT:
NEW StriVectin-SD™ for Sensitive Skin
Intensive Concentrate for Stretch Marks & Wrinkles

New StriVectin-SD for Sensitive Skin is an anti-aging powerhouse, developed exclusively for sensitive skin. With 100% of StriVectin’s collagen-building, wrinkle-reducing, anti-aging power. And none of the oils or fragrances that can cause irritation and leave sensitive skin vulnerable to accelerated aging.

Concern: wrinkles, stretch marks, sensitive skin
Fragrance-free, oil-free, paraben-free, non-comedogenic

What it is:
This non-comedogenic, anti-aging powerhouse treatment was developed exclusively for sensitive skin incorporating 100% of StriVectin's collagen-building, wrinkle-reducing, anti-aging power.
  
What it does:
This collagen-building, wrinkling-reducing and anti-aging treatment helps to strengthen the skin's protective layer to help even skin tone, diminish wrinkles and promote a smooth skin texture. Sensitive skin feels less sensitive.

REVIEW:
You see these brand name product at Macy's, Sephora and other online shop but if you are a mother like me and on a budget, you tend to not pay them any attention. Why? because they are pricey. But then again if you are like me, your skin is giving you a hard time. It breaks out and it frustrates you. You'd do an exception every once in a while, as long as theproduct is worth it.

I've tried numerous moisturizers. From Cetaphil, to Benefit, to Clinique and then Keihls and other stuff that you can get from CVS, Vons or any local pharmacy and grocers. They would work for a while and then BAM! it starts turning against you. So when this wonderful sales person from Macy's offered to give me a free 2 week supply. I said why the hell not.

I keep thinking there is no way I am going to buy this product for 2 oz. @ $79.00 but after just several days I started to see reslts. I have oily skin and some bumps from previous zits that just won't go away. A week after using Strevictin SD for Sensitive Skin, I observed that the bump is slowly getting flat, my skin was also smoother and no need to reapply powder every 2 hrs. to keep away the shine. I wish I could have taken pictures fgor a before and now evidence but I never thought about it, I was just ecstatic that I finally found a product that works. It also says that this product is to reduce wrinkles and stretch marks.I notice some lines in my forehead, at 28, it was shocking, good thing I stopped smoking. And that is slowly disappearing too. The stretchmark part... When I give birth I'll give it a try.

Bottom line, I am extremely satisfied and happy with this product. I highly recommend it to women ages 25 and up. pricey but totally worth it. The 2 oz. should last you for 2-3 months.


BUY THE PRODUCT @:

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Lucky Girl by Cate Lord



BLURB:

•Pub. Date: September 06, 2011
•Publisher: Entangled Publishing
•Format: Paperback

eARC fron Netgalley for Review
PRE-ORDER HERE:
Jessica Devlin isn't looking for love. Heartbroken after being dumped by her unfaithful ex-fiancé, she s determined to have a fabulous time during her vacation in England where she ll be maid-of-honor at her cousin s wedding. After working overtime as beauty editor of Orlando s O Tart magazine, avoiding dating, and putting on ten pounds, Jess is ready to toss her past like an empty lipstick tube and party like a single gal.

But when she steps into the church on her cousin s wedding day, she sees the one man who could sabotage her plan James-Bond-gorgeous Nick Mondinello. She s never forgotten the London marketing exec who held her in his arms after her beloved grandfather s funeral two years ago. Ambitious, and lusted after by women everywhere, Nick is completely wrong for guarded, Plain Jane Jess.

Could Spy Man Nick ever fall for her? Nope. Not unless Jess is one lucky girl.

REVIEW:
I miss ready chick lit with light humor and normal working girl with man problems, so when I saw this available on Netgalley I requested to read it. I love Jess, she is not pretentious nor sickly sweet. She is just a normal girl. Jess is relatable. Most women have reservations after being dumped by a man they love and along with it some self confidence gets taken away. In this book Jess exhibited those issue but they are not as heavy and annoying as some.

I like the transition of the story. Girl meets boy in passing years ago in a drunken moment after her grand father died. Girl got dumped by cheating ex-boyfriend 4 months before she goes on vacation. Girl and boy met again, strong attraction in place. Boy and Girl fell in love, at the end there was a small hiccup but they live happily ever after. Cute story, light read that provided plenty of humor. Recommended for chick lit lovers and romance.

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Sleepwalker by J. Gabriel Gates

BLURB:

•Pub. Date: October 2011
•Publisher: HCI Teens
•Format: Paperback , 336pp
•Age Range: Young Adult

eARC from Netgalley for review.

PRE-ORDER BOOK HERE:

Privileged and popular Caleb Mason is celebrating his high school graduation when he receives a mysterious, disturbing letter from his long-lost childhood playmate, Christine. Caleb and his jokester friend Bean decide to travel to his tiny hometown of Hudsonville, Florida, to find her. Upon arrival, they discover the town has taken a horrifying turn for the worse. Caleb’s childhood home is abandoned and his father has disappeared. Children are going missing. The old insane asylum has reopened, and Christine is locked inside. Her mother, a witch, is consumed with madness, and Christine’s long-dead twin sister whispers clues to Caleb through the static of an A.M. radio.

The terrifying prophesies of the spirits are coming to pass. Sixteen clocks are ticking; sixty-six murdered souls will bring about the end of the world. As Caleb peels back layer after layer of mystery, he uncovers a truth more horrible than anything he had imagined, a truth that could only be uttered by the lips of the dead.

REVIEW:
The story starts of with a dream. From the past or just a random dream? That was my question. It was disturbing and made me wonder what kind of Sleepwalker am I going to encounter? It is obviously not the normal kind.

Beware that there are words / scenes rarely written in YA. If you are a YA reader, this might come to you as darker than usual and bolder, braver. That being said and as an adult reader I love the Sleepwalkers. It is already creepy enough that Caleb's childhood friend Christine, who he hasn't talked to in ages since he left Hudsonville suddenly wrote him a letter with a mysterious message. Going there with his best friend Bean to venture the unknown, I think it is fair to expect creepier scenarios. Then mix it up with an adult named Ron who seem to came out of nowhere but is heading to the same direction as Caleb and Bean and to top all of that there seem to be a deranged doctor/directro in the Dream Center named, Barnett DeFranklin, who seems to know what is happening this is creepy small town; the plot thickens.

Sleepwalker took me to a world where no YA has taken me before, scary enough to render an 7/10 horror scale in my book. My nerves were rattled, I kept wondering what the hell is going on? Too much psychological play. Dreams, hallucinations, satanic rituals, kids with pale faces in dark tunnels, and more. Is is a super natural element or images from a deranged mind of the characters? If you do not mind getting confused and love challenging yourself to find out what really is happening in this book, this one is perfect for you.

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Giveaway Corner: Giveaway Corner Presents... Giveaway Gala!

Giveaway Corner: Giveaway Corner Presents... Giveaway Gala!: "Prizes: 1 $500 grand prize winner 2 $100 winners 3 $50 winners 4 $25 winners 5 $10 winners The Giveaway Gala will run from August 22nd, 2..."



Prizes:
1 $500 grand prize winner
2 $100 winners
3 $50 winners
4 $25 winners
5 $10 winners


The Giveaway Gala will run from August 22nd, 2011 at 12:01 AM EST to September 5th, 2011 at 12:01 AM EST.


Winners:
1. Prizes will be given in order of names drawn. (The first name drawn will receive the grand prize, the second and third names will receive the $100 prize, etc)
2. Prizes will be awarded through Paypal. You must have a Paypal account to participate.
3. Each entry counts as 1 point. You may complete as many as you wish- the more entries you complete, the better chance you have of winning!
4. A total of 15 prizes will be awarded.
5. Winners will be notified by email and will have 48 hours to respond before another winner is chosen.
6. This giveaway is open Worldwide!
7. All amounts are in US dollars.

***CLICK IMAGE ON TOP READ MORE ABOUT THIS EVENT***

Tuesday Teaser (8)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! 
Sleepwalkers
J. Gabriel Gtes


MY TEASER:
"What's your name?"
The boy cocks his head slowly, like somebody shifting on their pillow in their sleep.
Then it snaps. His face contorts into a snarl, his limp hand seize up like claws, and he lurches forward and grabs Bean.

CONTESTS:


Monday, August 1, 2011

Giveaway: Sherrilyn Kenyon's Retribution

***CONTEST CLOSED***



"...Harm no human…

A hired gunslinger, William Jessup Brady lived his life with one foot in the grave. He believed that every life had a price. Until the day when he finally found a reason to live. In one single act of brutal betrayal, he lost everything, including his life. Brought back by a Greek goddess to be one of her Dark-Hunters, he gave his immortal soul for vengeance and swore he’d spend eternity protecting the humans he’d once considered prey.

Orphaned as a toddler, Abigail Yager was taken in by a family of vampires and raised on one belief- Dark-Hunters are the evil who prey on both their people and mankind, and they must all be destroyed. While protecting her adoptive race, she has spent her life eliminating the Dark-Hunters..."

WIN 1 COPY of:

RULES:
Please read my contest policy.
US or Canada only.
Fill out form below.
ends: 08/12/11


ADDITIONAL ENTRIES (all optional):
+1 New/Old followers
+3 Re-Tweet this Giveaway



Movie Captain America

SYNOPSIS:
  • Genre: Action/Adventure, Adaptation
  • Runnint Time: 2 hrs. 5 mins.
  • Release Date: July 22, 2011
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Director: Joe Johnston
Steve Rogers volunteers to participate in an experimental program that turns him into the Super Soldier known as Captain America. As Captain America, Rogers joins forces with Bucky Barnes and Peggy Carter to wage war on the evil HYDRA organization, led by the villainous Red Skull.


REVIEW:

I am not a comics fan, I tried reading it when I was in high school because I have this guy friend who was... still obsess with it, he lend me some Spider Man but the dialogue box and the photos did not work out for me. So I just ask him stuff about it when it comes out as a movie adaptation.

I like the movie, the story the CGI, Chris Evans. I loaugh everytime the Hydra minions yell "Go Hydra!" with hand gestures. I was so cliche and cheesy. I love Chris Evans but... is it just me or do you guys still see the arrogance and confidence of Johnny Storm a.ka. The Human Torch, this is why I prefer if the character has not previously played anotehr super hero in anotehr franchise, yet I couldn't think of a more suitable actor to play Captain America. I also love the character that is, Steve Rogers, I'v never seen such a scrawny individual with so much heart and determination. Nope not even Rudy. The dialogue is good and the actions scenes are at 7/10 in my book, I watched it on the regular screen and it worked out just fine. Be sure to stay after the movie is done, after all the credits are rolled, the Avengers trailer for May 2012 is there. I am so excited for that.

So what I am wondering is... Is Captain America the Superman of Marvel Comics and vice versa? What is the weakness of Captain America? Did I miss that part or it wasn't shared in the movie? I couldn't get a hold of my friend so maybe you guys can help me before he did. It bothers me that I do not know. haha


Guest Post & Giveaway: Glenn Kleier

Suspense thriller
THE KNOWLEDGE OF GOOD & EVIL
 by internationally acclaimed author, Glenn Kleier
(MacMillan/Tor/Forge, July 19, 2011, available in hardbound and eBook editions)

If you’re like most people, you have an opinion about whether or not there’s an afterlife. According to a recent Baylor University Press survey, more than 275 million Americans are believers. Many even have vivid convictions of what lies beyond—spheres of heaven administered by a hierarchy of angels; circles of hell policed by legions of demons.

But while believers generally cite the bible as source of their convictions, they might be surprised to learn that nowhere in either Old or New Testament are there physical descriptions of heaven and hell. Nothing beyond vague references to heavenly glories and hellfire.

So what about the details we all seem to know? Cherubs, and seraphim, and the Pearly Gates? Lucifer and his fallen angels? Devilish plots to acquire souls? Where do these ideas spring from?

The answers to that and far more comprise THE KNOWLEDGE OF GOOD & EVIL. A parody wrapped within an action suspense thriller. An allegorical quest that will take you into the Great Beyond, into the very Mind of God, along the way revealing secrets of history, the universe, and heaven and hell.

At last, keys to the cosmic puzzles Humanity has been seeking to unlock since the dawn of creation! 


About the author:
 Years ago as an English major at the University of Cincinnati, Kleier was intent on a career as a novelist. But upon graduation, finding no positions available for aspiring authors, he earned his living in an alternative field of fiction--advertising. He later went on to co-found what grew to be a national marketing/communications firm. Yet he never lost his initial passion, and finally after seven years working on the side, he produced The Last Day. A combination suspense thriller/religious send-up, it was bought by Warner Books and published in dozens of editions round the globe. Now, after many years of research and writing, he presents his second effort, the first in a trilogy, The Knowledge of Good & Evil. Kleier resides in Louisville, KY.
  
Where to find him:
Website              GoodReads

 
 HIS WORKS:
(click image to get redirected to GoodReads.com for more information)

***CONTEST***
Win 1 copy of The Knowledge of Good & Evil
Read my review here.

RULES:
Please read my contest policy.
US or Canada only.
Fill out form below.
ends: 08/15/11

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES (all optional):
+1 New/Old followers
+2 Follow (each follow) Glenn on Twitter or GoodReads (see above)
+3 Re-Tweet this Giveaway

The Knowledge of Good & Evil by Glenn Kleier

BLURB:

•Pub. Date: July 2011
•Publisher: Doherty, Tom Associates, LLC
•Format: Hardcover , 416pp

Copy recevied for review

BUY BOOK HERE:

On December 4, 1968, world-famous theologian Father Louis Merton visited the ancient Dead City of Polonnaruwa, Ceylon, entered the Cave of the Spirits of Knowledge, and experienced a vision. It’s claimed he found a backdoor to the Afterlife, that he looked into the Mind of God and escaped with a secret so powerful it could change all humanity…bring wars to a standstill…end forever the age-old hatreds between races, creeds and cultures.

Six days later as Merton prepared to announce his discovery at a religious conference, he suffered a horrific death under mysterious circumstances. But the secret did not die with him. Merton left behind a journal…

Years later, beautiful psychologist Angela Weber and her troubled fiancĂ©, Ian Baringer, are on the hunt for Merton’s long-lost journal and its door to the Afterlife. Angela, an agnostic, wants to help Ian heal the wounds of a traumatic childhood plane crash that took the lives of his parents. Ian, a defrocked priest, no longer trusts in religion’s promise of eternal life. He must know for certain if he will ever see his parents again, and is driven to find out firsthand what lies beyond, and what it holds for mankind.

Together, Angela and Ian plunge headlong into a global chase, pursued by a shadowy cult, dead bodies and destruction in their wake. If Ian and Angela succeed, they will defy the gates of heaven and hell to learn a secret hidden from the world since the dawn of time . . .

The Knowledge of Good & Evil.

REVIEW:
The first time I heard about this book is when author, Glenn Kleier e-mailed me about it. I read the synopsis and watch the very greatly made book trailer and I couldn't wait to read it. So I am really excited when I received this book for review. It has all the element that I am looking for in a book at the moment. Suspense, conspiracy, doubts/questions about religion, faith and after life, murder, adventure and photos for reference. The later part was not in the book the files are too large, so you have to go to Kleier's site to check them out.
I was worried that it would be one of those Da Vinci code wanna be, sure same concept but I like this book much better.

The seeker of the Ultimate Reality, Ian Baringer is quite scary and borderline insane for the methods that he used to have a glimpse of the other side. Do you watch Supernatural? Dean did the same insane procedure (sort of) so he can communicate with Death. But anyway, I was really excited to find out what is going to happen next, and if Angela will support this idea. I wanted to find out Ian's account about Near Death Experience (NDE), the afterlife itself and the consequences it would take to prove that God exist. I've always have my own questions and theories about the whole thing (God, religion, death, heaven and hell) and with the death of a friend 3 months ago, the thought of it got stronger, especially when my mother-in-law had a disturbing dream about where he is.

All religious mystery, suspense thriller have a pre-requisite; aside from a world changing revelation and church secrets, a book like this must have a religious zealot. It is not right that they are not there to infuriate me with their twisted ideas and self righteousness while they try to kill the hero. The Knowledge of Good & Evil was wonderfully written and immensely entertaining. Action-packed and mysterious with a great ending. If you are a fan of Robert Langdon, Tom Harris, Paul Sullivan and other conspiracy, religious-thriller heroes, you should check out this book. It would be a great addition for your collection.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Author Guest Post: C.D Shelton - Bullying

Today, here at peace Love & Reviews is an article from author of Kid's Guide to Being a Winner.

A Parent's Guide on Bullying

The act of bullying is the intentional tormenting of a person in a physical, verbal or psychological way. It can range from hitting , shoving, name calling to threats and mocking and even extortion of money or other valued items.

Some kids bully by shunning others and spreading rumors about them. Others use email, chat rooms, instant messages, social networking websites, and text messages to taunt others or hurt their feelings.

There is a fine line to be found by the parents of a child they think is being bullied. We have all been teased and kidded while in school (or workplace). Unless your child has visible bruises or injuries, it can be difficult to figure out if it’s happening to your kid.

There are some telltale signs, you as a parent, might notice. Maybe you see your child acting differently or seeming anxious or not eating or sleeping well. When they start avoiding certain situations, it might be because of a bully.

Talk to your child. See if you can get them to open up. This can be difficult because your kid might feel embarrassed to admit they are the recipient of such behavior.

If your child tells you about a bully, focus on offering comfort and support, no matter how upset you are. Sometimes kids feel like it’s their own fault, that if they looked or acted differently it wouldn’t be happening.

Praise your child for being brave enough to talk about it. Remind your kid that he or she is not alone. Point out many people get bullied at some point in their life. Emphasize that it’s the bully that is behaving badly, not your child.

Sometimes an older sibling or friend can help by relating how they coped with a bullying episode.

Take it seriously if you hear the bullying is getting worse. If you think the parents of the bully needs to be contacted, use a teacher or counselor from the school to mediate.

Many states have bullying laws and policies. Find out about the laws in your community.

C. D. Shelton

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Texan born, C.D. Shelton grew up in Los Angeles California. He served two years in the U.S. Army during the Korean War.

He holds two Masters, one in Administration and the other in Biology.

He taught at Hollywood High School and was assistant Vice-Principal during his first ten years as an Educator.

He has taught Biology for the Los Angeles Community College District for over four decades. As a Biology Professor, he wrote and developed the Biology Curriculum for the Los Angeles Community Colleges for all the pre-med majors and non majors. He co-authored two laboratory manuals for the life science department on Physiology and for Anatomy.

C.D. Shelton’s interest have included aviation, tennis and golf to name just a few. He has a private pilots license, he was a certified tennis instructor for eight years. He is a father of three, grandfather of four, he lives in Orange County California with his wife and niece. He is currently writing his tenth novel.

C.D Shelton's website.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Giveaway: The Shamra Chronicles 3 Book Set & Writing Journal

The Shamra Chronicles re-launches with a new website and a new installment. In celebration of this two events, we are offering a collection of all three titles in the series and a Shamra journal and pen set to give away to one lucky winner.  


THE BOOKS:

In the first book, Curse of the Shamra, a young girl named Dara's peaceful and isolated land of the Shamra is invaded and its people enslaved, and she finds herself in the very unfamiliar role of leading a ragtag resistance to defeat the enemy. But even as she fights the invaders, Dara grapples with self-doubt and is criticized by her own people for being outspoken and different.  Venturing into uncharted territory to seek allies, Dara encounters unusual creatures and dangerous lands and is forced to come to terms with the fact that she alone is the only hope the Shamra have to regain their freedom.  



In Shamra Divided, the second book in the series, Dara has managed to save her people from one enemy but the cost has been high. While Dara struggles to come to terms with the loss of beloved friends, she finds herself thrust into the leadership role of an improbable army and learns that it is her destiny to unite her people as one, even as she faces her biggest challenge:  Chaos.  Dormant for almost two hundred years, Chaos has returned, intent on destroying Dara. 




In Chaos Unleashed: Book Three of the Shamra Chronicles nothing is as it seems in a world where the living mingle with the dead and dreams can turn into frightening reality. Chaos is beginning to spread across the land.   Together, with friends from past journeys and new allies who may not be what they seem, Dara must build an army to confront Chaos. But as she and her army prepare for the final battle, Dara realizes that the only person she can really count on is herself. Chaos Unleashed also includes an original bonus novella, SAFE HAVEN, following the adventures of Dara’s family.  



For those new to the series, readers of Melissa Marr, Carrie Jones, Holly Black, Suzanne Collins and Brandon Mull will find a new favorite in Barry Hoffman and The Shamra Chronicles.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Barry Hoffman has been a teacher, a publisher, an editor, and, of course, a writer.  Hoffman’s eight adult books have been well received by critics and most recently, he is the author of the popular young adult novels, The Shamra Chronicles; the last novel in the series, Chaos Unleashed, will be released May 2011.  What do all of his novels have in common? All have females as protagonists and more than half of the antagonists are also females. These female characters are strong and often flawed, but they are definitely not dependent on males to save the day.

CONTEST:
*One US winner only
*ends: 08/20

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES: (all optional)
+2 GFC follower in this blog
+2  Follow arry Hoffman's blog
+2 If you sign up to receive bi-monthly Shamra Chronicles newsletter
+2 if you tweet about this contest.

TO ENTER FILL OUT THIS FORM:


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos