visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Friday, July 29, 2011

Author Guest Post: C.D Shelton - Bullying

Today, here at peace Love & Reviews is an article from author of Kid's Guide to Being a Winner.

A Parent's Guide on Bullying

The act of bullying is the intentional tormenting of a person in a physical, verbal or psychological way. It can range from hitting , shoving, name calling to threats and mocking and even extortion of money or other valued items.

Some kids bully by shunning others and spreading rumors about them. Others use email, chat rooms, instant messages, social networking websites, and text messages to taunt others or hurt their feelings.

There is a fine line to be found by the parents of a child they think is being bullied. We have all been teased and kidded while in school (or workplace). Unless your child has visible bruises or injuries, it can be difficult to figure out if it’s happening to your kid.

There are some telltale signs, you as a parent, might notice. Maybe you see your child acting differently or seeming anxious or not eating or sleeping well. When they start avoiding certain situations, it might be because of a bully.

Talk to your child. See if you can get them to open up. This can be difficult because your kid might feel embarrassed to admit they are the recipient of such behavior.

If your child tells you about a bully, focus on offering comfort and support, no matter how upset you are. Sometimes kids feel like it’s their own fault, that if they looked or acted differently it wouldn’t be happening.

Praise your child for being brave enough to talk about it. Remind your kid that he or she is not alone. Point out many people get bullied at some point in their life. Emphasize that it’s the bully that is behaving badly, not your child.

Sometimes an older sibling or friend can help by relating how they coped with a bullying episode.

Take it seriously if you hear the bullying is getting worse. If you think the parents of the bully needs to be contacted, use a teacher or counselor from the school to mediate.

Many states have bullying laws and policies. Find out about the laws in your community.

C. D. Shelton

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Texan born, C.D. Shelton grew up in Los Angeles California. He served two years in the U.S. Army during the Korean War.

He holds two Masters, one in Administration and the other in Biology.

He taught at Hollywood High School and was assistant Vice-Principal during his first ten years as an Educator.

He has taught Biology for the Los Angeles Community College District for over four decades. As a Biology Professor, he wrote and developed the Biology Curriculum for the Los Angeles Community Colleges for all the pre-med majors and non majors. He co-authored two laboratory manuals for the life science department on Physiology and for Anatomy.

C.D. Shelton’s interest have included aviation, tennis and golf to name just a few. He has a private pilots license, he was a certified tennis instructor for eight years. He is a father of three, grandfather of four, he lives in Orange County California with his wife and niece. He is currently writing his tenth novel.

C.D Shelton's website.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Giveaway: The Shamra Chronicles 3 Book Set & Writing Journal

The Shamra Chronicles re-launches with a new website and a new installment. In celebration of this two events, we are offering a collection of all three titles in the series and a Shamra journal and pen set to give away to one lucky winner.  


THE BOOKS:

In the first book, Curse of the Shamra, a young girl named Dara's peaceful and isolated land of the Shamra is invaded and its people enslaved, and she finds herself in the very unfamiliar role of leading a ragtag resistance to defeat the enemy. But even as she fights the invaders, Dara grapples with self-doubt and is criticized by her own people for being outspoken and different.  Venturing into uncharted territory to seek allies, Dara encounters unusual creatures and dangerous lands and is forced to come to terms with the fact that she alone is the only hope the Shamra have to regain their freedom.  



In Shamra Divided, the second book in the series, Dara has managed to save her people from one enemy but the cost has been high. While Dara struggles to come to terms with the loss of beloved friends, she finds herself thrust into the leadership role of an improbable army and learns that it is her destiny to unite her people as one, even as she faces her biggest challenge:  Chaos.  Dormant for almost two hundred years, Chaos has returned, intent on destroying Dara. 




In Chaos Unleashed: Book Three of the Shamra Chronicles nothing is as it seems in a world where the living mingle with the dead and dreams can turn into frightening reality. Chaos is beginning to spread across the land.   Together, with friends from past journeys and new allies who may not be what they seem, Dara must build an army to confront Chaos. But as she and her army prepare for the final battle, Dara realizes that the only person she can really count on is herself. Chaos Unleashed also includes an original bonus novella, SAFE HAVEN, following the adventures of Dara’s family.  



For those new to the series, readers of Melissa Marr, Carrie Jones, Holly Black, Suzanne Collins and Brandon Mull will find a new favorite in Barry Hoffman and The Shamra Chronicles.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Barry Hoffman has been a teacher, a publisher, an editor, and, of course, a writer.  Hoffman’s eight adult books have been well received by critics and most recently, he is the author of the popular young adult novels, The Shamra Chronicles; the last novel in the series, Chaos Unleashed, will be released May 2011.  What do all of his novels have in common? All have females as protagonists and more than half of the antagonists are also females. These female characters are strong and often flawed, but they are definitely not dependent on males to save the day.

CONTEST:
*One US winner only
*ends: 08/20

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES: (all optional)
+2 GFC follower in this blog
+2  Follow arry Hoffman's blog
+2 If you sign up to receive bi-monthly Shamra Chronicles newsletter
+2 if you tweet about this contest.

TO ENTER FILL OUT THIS FORM:


Coffee at Little Angels by Nadine Rose Larter

BLURB:

•Pub. Date: August 2011
•Publisher: SELF PUBLISH
•Format: eBook, Paperback
•Stores: B&N, Amazon, Sony Readerstore, iBookstore

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 “Phillip, Sarah, Kaitlyn, Caleb, Maxine, Grant, Melanie and Josh grew up in a small town where they spent their high school years together as an inseparable clique. But high school has ended, and they are all living their own “grown up” lives, each under the impression that their group has basically come to an end. When Phillip dies in a hit and run accident, Kaitlyn summons the others to all come back home, forcing a reunion that no one is particularly interested in partaking in.

Coffee at Little Angels follows how each character deals with the death of a childhood friend while at the same time dealing with their own ignored demons after years of separation. Events unfold as the group tries to rekindle the friendship they once shared to honour the memory of a friend they will never see again.”

REVIEW:
I am hooked from the start, I love Philips's introduction, his views on death and the memories of his childhood, it took me back to my own and reflected on how I feel about death. My thoughts momentarily digress to where I stand in all these, starting missing my childhood friends, and reminiscing about my own "funny little town, with funny little people". I have to stop myself a bunch of times while reading this book because it catapults me to my memories.

The story is told separately by each character, so you get their side of the story. They share stories of their lives, you can read the emotions and understand where they are coming from. My favorite character is Maxine, she reminds me of some parts of me past and present. But the other members of the group and their individual stories and issues are also quite interesting, I was glued on what is going to happen next. Will the awkward conversations stop? Will Melanie realize how insensitive her comments sound? Will Caleb or the group accept his situation of marrying a woman outside the norm of their society? Will Melanie and Kaitlyn mend their issues? and more.

The thing that draws me to this book is somewhere, somehow you have a friend or met people like them. Melanie, the miss know it all. Sarah the nice girl that have that stand offish way with her. Josh, the player... They have flaws but you love them and tolerate them anyway. You fight, you make up and no matter how much you hate their attitude sometimes, they are still part of you. The issues are real and it is relatable.
They have so many good points to share about lessons on friendship, love, compromise, death, coping, differences and letting go.
Its my best summer read this year.

Interview & Contest: R.J Anderson


Please tell our readers what to expect on Ultraviolet?


It's a psychological thriller with paranormal and SF elements -- the story of a teenaged girl with extraordinary sensory abilities, who ends up in psychiatric hospital after confessing to the murder of a schoolmate. She meets an attractive young researcher who believes in her sanity and her innocence -- but can she trust him? Can she even trust herself?


I finished reading it last month, it kept me guessing until the term of what she has was explained. I even researched it to see if it even exists, so I was fascinated when it does. I am curious, how did you come up with the idea of using that in Ultraviolet?

Synesthesia has fascinated me ever since I first heard about it twenty years ago. Back then it was little known, and quite a few scientists were still skeptical -- but a lot of terrific scientific research and case studies have been done in recent years, so it's becoming better understood. To me the idea of having cross-wired senses and being able to taste words or see music is endlessly fascinating -- but I don't have synesthesia myself, so I decided to explore the idea through Alison.


What is the most rewarding experience in writing Ultraviolet?

When I wrote the book I did it for the sheer love of the ideas and characters involved, without any real assurance that anybody else would care about the book as much as I did. I knew it was a strange, genre-bending story that didn't fit into any of the usual promotional boxes, and deep down I feared that meant it might never sell. But when I showed it to my agent he fell head over heels with it, and my UK and US editors loved it too. And since then I've been thrilled to discover how many readers love the book and appreciate what I was trying to do with it as well.

What was the most challenging part?

The writing process for Ultraviolet was incredibly difficult, because it took me three years to figure out how to tell Alison's story. I had the story all worked out, but for some reason it just wasn't hanging together properly and I couldn't seem to finish the book. I spent about a year and a half rewriting the first eight chapters over and over until I realized where I'd gone wrong, and even after that I had to do two thorough revisions with the help of my critique group and editors before I felt like I'd finally fixed all the problems. I'm very satisfied with it now, though.

At first I was not sure I am going to like Alison, but towards the ending I saw her potential and courage. What can we expect of her on the coming book(s)?

I believe we will see her again in the forthcoming companion novel, but in what situation or what state, I couldn't tell you at this point. That'll have to wait until I've written it!


Ultraviolet also explores the “other dimension”, have you always wanted to write something about it or does this came into realization recently?

I am an unabashed science fiction geek, who grew up watching all kinds of shows and movies about strange phenomena and scientific concepts. So those things came into Ultraviolet very naturally for me. I'll always be a fantasy and SF author at heart -- I don't think I could write a straight contemporary if I tried.

Please tell our readers about your other books.

My three earlier books are contemporary fantasy novels for ages 11 and up, and they've all become bestsellers in the UK -- Knife (known as Spell Hunter in the US), Rebel (Wayfarer in the US) and Arrow. The main characters are faeries of the small, winged variety, but they aren't cute and sparkly and they don't live in a magical fantasyland -- they grapple with serious issues of survival, mortal danger, and all the complications of the modern, human-dominated world. The first book is the story of a fierce young faery hunter who fights to save her dying people while concealing her forbidden friendship with a human. The story grows and expands from there.


What is your favorite book/author of all time?

There were a lot of authors whose books I loved as a child, but I keep coming back to the Narnia series by C.S. Lewis. I still re-read all seven of the books every couple of years, and I find new things to enjoy and think about every time.


Would you say that this book inspired your writing?

The Narnia books definitely inspired me to make up my own fantastic stories of adventure, and Lewis's essays about writing gave me confidence in doing so. I'd say there are some philosophical similarities as well, though I don't agree with all of Lewis's views to be sure!

ABOUT R.J Anderson:
Rebecca was born in Uganda, raised in Ontario, went to school in New Jersey, and has spent much of her life dreaming of other worlds entirely.

As a child she immersed herself in fairy tales, mythology, and the works of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and E. Nesbit; later she discovered more contemporary authors like Ursula LeGuin, Patricia A. McKillip and Robin McKinley, and learned to take as much pleasure from their language as the stories they told.

Now married and a mother of three, Rebecca reads to her sons the classic works of fantasy and science fiction that enlivened her own childhood, and tries to bring a similar sense of humor, adventure, and timeless wonder to the novels she writes for children and young adults. She currently lives in the beautiful theatre town of Stratford, Ontario.


***CONTEST CLOSED***
Rebecca has agreed to give out a signed copy of ULTRAVIOLET to (1) lucky winner.
Entrants can choose between the US Hardcover or UK paperback edition.
Open only to US or Canadian residents.
contest ends: 07/28

EXTRA ENTRY:
+2 if you are a GFC follower.
+2 if you tweet about this contest.

To Enter contest, please fill out the form below:



Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Donate $9 for Water Charity

I just finished reading an article on Yahoo! Donations pour in for 9-year-old’s clean water cause after tragic accident, a 9 year old girl named Rachel Beckwith asked family and friends to donate money to raise $300.00 for her water charity project instead of receiving a gift for herself. She only raised $220.00 by the time of her birthday. Her birthday was June 12, she died last week in a 13-car accident on I-30 Bellevue, Washington.

Most of us talk about changing the world and making a difference but we act slowly on it, this 9 year old girl lost her life yet in her short life she is making this world a better place. She is my new inspiration. I admit that there is a slight possibility that I will not donate for a cause like this because I am cautious about internet fraud. But this project is so amazing, I made an exemption. I willed my mind to stop thinking that this might be a hoax or an elaborate scheme to get money out of people.

Rachel's message about this charity.

On June 12th 2011, I'm turning 9. I found out that millions of people don't live to see their 5th birthday. And why? Because they didn't have access to clean, safe water so I'm celebrating my birthday like never before. I'm asking from everyone I know to donate to my campaign instead of gifts for my birthday. Every penny of the money raised will go directly to fund freshwater projects in developing nations. Even better, every dollar is "proved" when the projects are complete, and photos and GPS coordinates are posted using Google Earth. My goal is to raise $300 by my birthday, June 12, 2011. Please consider helping me.

Thank you so much!!!


DONATION PAGES:
Read details of this story here.
Go to Rachel's charity page here.
Help Rachel's family cover medical expenses here.

Spying in Heels by Gemma Halliday

BLURB:

•Pub. Date: October 2010
•Publisher: Gemma Halliday
•Sold By: Amazon Kindle
•Format: eBook
•Series: High Heels Series #1

L.A. shoe designer, Maddie Springer, lives her life by three rules: Fashion. Fashion. Fashion. But when she stumbles upon the work of a brutal killer, her life takes an unexpected turn from Manolos to murder. And things only get worse when her boyfriend disappears - along with $20 million in embezzled funds - and her every move is suddenly under scrutiny by the LAPD's sexiest cop. With the help of her post-menopausal bridezilla of a mother, a 300 pound psychic and one seriously oversexed best friend, Maddie finds herself stepping out of her stilettos and onto the trail of a murderer. But can she catch a killer before the killer catches up to her...

REVIEW:
I have a craving for mystery genre, after reading the Stephanie Plum series, I wanted to read more but I need a change of hero/heroine and Gemma Halliday's High Heels mystery came highly recommended.

Maddie was not the heroine I expected her to be, in fact my initial reaction was idiot, naive, and cliche. If your boyfriend bailed and there was a $20 million embezzeled funds missing along with him, found a condom in his office while you were snooping, or was told by a Detective that your boyfriend is actually married; aren't you going to get suspicious? Sure Maddie was suspicous but she still have all this rigtheous feelings that what she heard couldn't be true, even though she realized that she didn't really know anything about him outside their relationship. There is also that slight possibility that she is being fed with false information but still, her reactions just seems unreal considering the theme of the story is mystery, not my kind of sleuthing from where I'm reading. Maddie's procrastination is kind of annoying, I would have the result of the EPT the first time I'm late and I would call said "wife" and see if it is true instead of living in denial.

I did like that she gets her clues from the shoes. Kind of ridiculous but it fits the title. It is entertaining yet I could not connect with the main character and the lack of action. I'll give it another try and read the second book. If you are looking for a light read chick lit mystery then this book is for you.

Waiting on Wednesday (7)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine.
that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating! Want to participate? Post your own WOW entry on your blog, and leave your link at Breaking the Spine. Here's my pick for this week.....

TITLE: And Then It Happened
AUTHOR: Linda Green

RELEASE DATE: October 27, 2011
How would you feel if the only man you'd ever loved was taken away from you? And imagine how he'd feel if he hadn't really been taken away at all - but couldn't find a way to let you know...

Mel Taylor was thirteen years old when she found her Mr Right. Twenty years on they are blissfully in love. She has the man she adores, a gorgeous daughter, a great job and a dream home. But Mel's happiness is spoilt by a dark secret and a niggling fear that her good fortune can't last spite her husband Adam's efforts to reassure her that nothing bad is going to happen, Mel can't shake the feeling that someone is about to call time on their happiness. And then it happens...


What's your "WoW" pick this week?


Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Smokin Seventeen (Stephanie Plum 17) by Janet Evanovich

BLURB:

•Pub. Date: June 2011
•Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
•Format: Hardcover , 320pp
•Series: Stephanie Plum Series #17

Hardcopy received fro review.

BUY THE BOOK HERE:

Dead bodies are showing up in shallow graves on the empty construction lot of Vincent Plum Bail Bonds. No one is sure who the killer is, or why the victims have been offed, but what is clear is that Stephanie’s name is on the killer’s list.

Short on time to find evidence proving the killer’s identity, Stephanie faces further complications when her family and friends decide that it’s time for her to choose between her longtime off-again-on-again boyfriend, Trenton cop Joe Morelli, and the bad boy in her life, security expert Ranger. Stephanie’s mom is encouraging Stephanie to dump them both and choose a former high school football star who’s just returned to town. Stephanie’s sidekick, Lula, is encouraging Stephanie to have a red-hot boudoir “bake-off.” And Grandma Bella, Morelli’s old-world grandmother, is encouraging Stephanie to move to a new state when she puts “the eye” on Stephanie.

With a cold-blooded killer after her, a handful of hot men, and a capture list that includes a dancing bear and a senior citizen vampire, Stephanie’s life looks like it’s about to go up in smoke.

REVIEW:
At this point I am Stephanie Plum sick, I guess reading the series 3 weeks straight has that effect. The last 4 books left me bored and disappointed. So I kept my fingers crossed on this one.


Since the bond office burned down, the office is camped inside Mooner's trailer. 2 bodies were found at the lot of the office, there was a vampire FTA, a bear as a collateral, some other crazy happening in between and the same old Morelli, Stephanie, Ranger complications. Most of the humor are recycled. Stephanie is not as fun as I used to think she was. I cannot believe she stayed inadequate after all 16 books. I would understand if she at lease improved, or if she is McGyver. But no, she still doesn't bring her gun, still cannot seem to properly cuff her FTAs, still no self defense, still mooching dinner from her mom... I've never seen a fictional character who can't seem to grow up. It is unattractive. Maybe Stephanie will stay like this, if that is the case, this might be a good bye from me.
.5

Teaser Tuesday (7)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! 
Coffee at Little Angels
Nadine Rose Larter


MY TEASER:

When we were young we'd talk aboutwho would be the first of us to get married or have kids or get a grownup job and buy a grownup car. We'd talk about who was most likely to be rich, or become a stripper or marry for money or have an affair. We would talk about who would perform which role if we joined the circus. Or started a band. But never the death thing. Young people don't die.Its not the part of future that you wonder about or make plans for, so it never makes it into any significant discussions. Not when you're young. Or at least not when you're me.

Low entry contest: 500 Followers Giveaway

Monday, July 25, 2011

Stepahnie Plum 11-16 by Janet Evanovich

BLURB:
  • Pub. Date: June 2006
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback , 368pp
  • Series: Stephanie Plum Series #11 
Read Synopsis HERE

REVIEW:
Stephanie Plum quit after she captured FTA Sam Sporky. PMS or Fed up with running around, rolling in garbage and getting targeted by the bad guys? Either way she seems serious about it. She even applied for a position at the button factory even when the boss was a pervert. Sadly, she was late the first day and her only redemption was to wear provocative clothes that scream "have sex with me", so she said no way and she got fired. There were two disasters after that; Mama Macaroni of Kan Klean got blown up inside Stephanie's car and the Cluck-Bucket had some fire problems after Spiro gave her a clock that one of his co-workers thought was a bomb. So she ended up working with Ranger again, wrong timing since she was on the no-sugar diet. Valerie and Uggy Woogins decided they want to go to Disnety World instead of going to their wedding.
In this book, readers will see the jealous side of Joe and yet another tension building up between Ranger and Stephanie. I am really surprise that Stephanie did not find out who the real villain, must be all those no-sugar diet. The ending.... man, at this point I am all Team Ranger now.


BLURB:

  • Pub. Date: June 2006
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Format: Hardcover , 320pp
  • Series: Stephanie Plum Series #12
Read blurb HERE

REVIEW:
Man, this is an exciting book. This one focuses more on Ranger. Very convenient since at the moment I am Team Ranger. Questions about this Mystery Man's life is here, all thanks to the psycho who is copying him. it was all very intense because his daughter is involved and this psycho is trying to get Stephanie to make his Ranger personification complete. I was glad that this guy does not have a sick mind when it comes to kids, I mean sure he kidnapped Julie but he did not molest her. Love the all Ranger theme, its my favorite book in the series yet.


BLURB:

  • Pub. Date: June 2008
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback , 352pp
  • Series: Stephanie Plum Series #13
Read Blurb HERE

REVIEW:
Joyce Barnhardt and Dickie Orr were back together, brings back painful memories from Stephanie, she was not jealous, she just couldn't believe it! Sure Orr is a douch and Joyce is a gold digger but still some events are really hard to forget. So when Orr goes missing she was the suspect, she almost choked him to death after all. I was beginning to get annoyed at Stephanie, what's wrong with her letting Joyce push her around like she is back in high school. Seriously, I keep thinking fight back you moron, the fgirl needs a bitch slap or the animal bomb would do, it was actually better. Rqanger and Morelli developed this weird tag team between Stephanie, and to tell you the truth I am still enjoying it but two more fo this charade... its getting old. I hope something really shocking happens soon.


BLURB:

•Pub. Date: June 2009
•Publisher: St. Martin's Press
•Format: Mass Market Paperback , 352pp
•Series: Stephanie Plum Series #14

Read it HERE

REVIEW:
Very interesting premise, I could not never picture Joe Morelli having a child with someone else other than Stephanie, even though his distant cousin's son Zook, was introduced as a possible child in his wild ways. It is something that still did not quite add up. I never believe that it was even possible for a second.
A diva guest in Trenton wrecking havoc between Stephanie, Ranger, and the other characters life is a nice surprise. Something hilarious in a train wreck kind of way.
Lula also tricked Tank into getting engaged to be married, that was the only thing that kept me going withthis book. I wanted to see if it will actually happen or if Tank would have to shoot Lula. 
A nine million treasure hunt is not something I especially like and it seems kind of boring, like Evanovich is running out of stuff to write. Some of the humor seems recycled and some of them of the premise are getting old. It needs something more exciting, like maybe get out of Trenton for a while... I don't know, something...


BLURB:

•Pub. Date: June 2009
•Publisher: St. Martin's Press
•Format: Hardcover , 320pp
•Series: Stephanie Plum Series #15

Read BLURB here

REVIEW:
Book 14 left me unhappy, I think I am getting bored. I need something. Maybe a Ranger and Stephanie complication or something more serious in Stephanie's life.
This book focus on Lula and her being a wintess in a decapitation. I can already see that she is going to be difficult, what with her allergic reaction with cops, a residue left from her former profession. She only trust Joe Morelli, and in this book, Steph and him are OFF again, all because of differing thoughts about peanut butter. It has become clear that I will not get the "more serious" part that I am wishing for and I wonder how long is this going to continue, will Stephanie's life continue like this?
No romance on this book. Joyce goes after Morelli; I was wondering when will that happen... Then Ranger was naked a couple of times, but that's it.
The usual comedy and car deaths surrounds Stepahnie... it is getting old.

BLURB:

•Pub. Date: June 2010

•Publisher: St. Martin's Press
•Format: Hardcover , 309pp
•Series: Stephanie Plum Series #16


Read BLURB here.

REVIEW:
The past two books has left me deflated. I am not such a huge fan anymore.
I was hoping that this would be good since Vinnie is now the one in trouble. Not worth buying this on hardbound, I might actually return it and exchange it to a better book.

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Kid's Guide to Being a Winner by. C.D Shelton

BLURB:

  • Pub. Date: June 2011
  • Publisher: Choice PH
  • Format: Hardcover , 50pp
  • Age Range: 12 and up
Copy received for review.
BUY THE BOOK HERE: A Kid's Guide to Being a Winner  

A Kid's Guide to being a Winner is an easy-to-read book for kids who are in need of that little "Extra" spark of understanding. A Kid's Guide to being a Winner is a book for young people on the Values of being responsible, being thoughtful, being respectful, having a positive mental attitude and having gratitude. A Kid's guide to being a Winner is about timeless and fundamental principles, which are essential to SUCCESS. A Kid's Guide to being a Winner includes steps that are simple, yet the results are POWERFUL.

REVIEW:
The first time I read this, I knew I could use this as a reference. Raising a child is hard, sometimes I drew a blank on words of encouragement, so I am always on the look out for books that will help me make him understand more about principle and life in general. I made sure that my son read this book with me. The messages are powerful and encouraging. Success is a choice, you have to make that decision for yourself. He enjoyed it, the illustration help but mostly it was the words written that caught his attention. This book serves as a tool for the parent and their children. Lessons on respect, responsibility, gratitude and more.
The path of choosing Winner Ville and Looser Ville is pretty straight forward. The Age goup of reding says 12 and up but I think this could also work for the younger kids. My son is 9 and the contents are appropriate and it speaks to him.
Recommended to parent and children 8 years and up.


Waiting on Wednesday (6)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine.
that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating! Want to participate? Post your own WOW entry on your blog, and leave your link at Breaking the Spine. Here's my pick for this week.....

TITLE: Sleepwalkers
AUTHOR: J. Gabriel Gates

RELEASE DATE: October 03, 2011



Privileged and popular Caleb Mason is celebrating his high school graduation when he receives a mysterious, disturbing letter from his long-lost childhood playmate, Christine. Caleb and his jokester friend Bean decide to travel to his tiny hometown of Hudsonville, Florida, to find her. Upon arrival, they discover the town has taken a horrifying turn for the worse.  Caleb's childhood home is abandoned and his father has disappeared. Children are going missing. The old insane asylum has reopened, and Christine is locked inside. Her mother, a witch, is consumed with madness, and Christine's long-dead twin sister whispers clues to Caleb through the static of an A.M. radio.

The terrifying prophesies of the spirits are coming to pass. Sixteen clocks are ticking; sixty-six murdered souls will bring about the end of the world. As Caleb peels back layer after layer of mystery, he uncovers a truth more horrible than anything he had imagined, a truth that could only be uttered by the lips of the dead.


What's your "WoW" pick this week?

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Tuesday Teaser (6)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! 
Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum 11)
Janet Evanovich
MY TEASER: - 6 more books to go before my deadline on 07/22, yikes!
"No! This might be a bomb. I want you to very quietly call
the police while I take this outside."
"Are you shitting me?"
"Just call the police, okay?"
"Holy crap! You're serious. That guy gave you a bomb?"
"Maybe..."
Low entry contest: 500 Followers Giveaway

Movie: Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 2

SYNOPSIS:
  • Genre: Action/Adventure, Sci-Fi, Adaptation, Sequel
  • Running Time: 2 hrs. 10 mins.
  • Release Date: July 15, 2011
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Director: David Yates
In the epic finale, the battle between the good and evil forces of the wizarding world escalates into an all-out war. The stakes have never been higher and no one is safe. But it is Harry Potter who may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice as he draws closer to the climactic showdown with Lord Voldemort. It all ends here. 

REVIEW:
We are finally here, the final Harry Potter movie, I felt sad yet happy that the world has seen this movie adaptation of the beloved book. I do not think I have any complaint. Ok, maybe one. LOVE, that theme was not as strong as what it was written in the book. The friendship part and loyalty were excellent. Last year I was disappointed that the great battle between Hogwarts & Voldemort was omitted from the whole movie but then again a lot has been, they can't really fit everything in a movie, so I'm over that part. All the harry Potter movies are classically done, I am happy that my children and their children will watch this in the future and will say my mother's generation love this story and it still lives on. The effects, the performance, the story are with high quality. If I do not know what to expect I would have been bawling out inside the theater but instead my tears was more because I cannot believe this is the last movie. Snape's heroism was beautifully portrayed, I especially love that part. Of all the adaptations, this is probably the only film deserved to have a standing ovation. 
What do you guys think of the ending? I think it feels kind of weak but acceptable and the epilogue? Ginny and Harry was so cute! 

Monday, July 18, 2011

Stephanie Plum 7-10 by Janet Evanovich

BLURB:
  • Pub. Date: June 2002
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback , 352pp
  • Series: Stephanie Plum Series #7 
Semiretired mob guy Eddie DeCooch is caught trafficking contraband cigarettes through Trenton, New Jersey. When DeCooch fails to show for a court appearance, bond enforcement agent Stephanie Plum is assigned the task of finding him and dragging his decrepit ass back to jail. Not such an easy job, it turns out, since DeCooch has learned a lot of tricks over the years and isn't afraid to use his gun. He's already shot Loretta Ricci, an innocent old lady, and left her for worm food in his shed. He wouldn't mind shooting Stephanie next.
REVIEW:
Stephanie has made new friends, she went to high school with them but didn't really hang out of anything. Their names; Mooner and Dougie. Stoner and Dealer (smuggled appliance, stolen car, etc.) This book's FTA - Eddie DeCooch, a senior and retired mobster who got caught smuggling cigarettes. He may be old and can't see all too well but he kept slipping away and shooting at Stephanie and Co., whenever he's about to get handcuffed. Arch enemy Joyce decided to steal this case away from her again by doing yet another weird sexual favor for Vinnie. but she didn't last long, her foot got smashed in a chase. 

Mooner and Dougie disappeared, she doesn't want to ask Ranger for help because he wants something in return; to be with Stephanie for a night. Tension, tension and then there's the fake wedding date Stephanie told her mother and her sister Valerie is back in the Burg to start  a new life after her husband left her and the kids to be with their 18 year old baby-sitter.
BLURB:
  • Pub. Date: June 2003
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback , 352pp
  • Series: Stephanie Plum Series #8 
Steven Soder is somehow linked with a very scary Eddie Abruzzi. Trenton cop and on-again, off-again fiancé Joe Morelli and Stephanie's mentor and tormentor, Ranger, warn Stephanie about Abruzzi, but it's Abruzzi's eyes and mannerisms that frighten Stephanie most. Stephanie needs Ranger's savvy and expertise, and she's willing to accept his help to find Annie even though it might mean getting too involved with Ranger. Stephanie, Ranger, Lula (who's not going to miss riding with Ranger), and Evelyn's lawyer/Laundromat manager set out to find Annie. The search turns out to be a race among Stephanie's posse, the True Blue Bonds' agent-a Rangerette known as Jeanne Ellen Burrows-and the Abruzzi crew. Plus, there's a killer rabbit on the loose!

REVIEW:
Stephanie took a case that isn't normally her route. Missing mother and daughter and on top of that she is not even getting paid for it.  I guess heroics can be applauded but may this one is stupid. Especially when it was so obvious that the mother and daughter are safe, sort of since Abruzzi, this book's bad guy, can seem to find them. I really think Stephanie was suicidal for taunting this man. And what's up with the sex scene with Ranger. I imagined it to be more, I don't know hot? Not really detailed but man this one was a disappointment since Evanovich created a lot of tension only to be described like that?! I understood, Ranger does not want emotions involved but still it can be written with passion. What a waste!
Even with those complaints I still enjoyed it. It was still funny and interesting. The murders are darker fits the description of how mad and insane Abruzzi is, seriously Stephanie needs to at least learn some karate skills.
The ending was brief and not too shocking. Now I am torn if I am Team Morelli  or Team Ranger.
BLURB:
  • Pub. Date: June 2004
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback , 352pp
  • Series: Stephanie Plum Series #9 
Stephanie Plum's got rent to pay, people shooting at her, and psychos wanting her dead every day of the week (much to the dismay of her mother, her family, the men in her life, the guy who slices meat at the deli...oh, the list goes on). An ordinary person would cave under the pressure.
But hey, she's from Jersey.

Stephanie Plum may not be the best bounty hunter in beautiful downtown Trenton, but she's pretty darn good at turning bad situations her way...and she always gets her man. In To The Nines, her cousin Vinnie (who's also her boss) has posted bail on Samuel Singh, an immigrant who becomes an illegal alien by violating his Visa and extending his stay in the United States. When the elusive Mr. Singh goes missing, Stephanie is on the case. But what she uncovers is far more sinister than anyone imagines and leads to a group of killers who give new meaning to the word "hunter..."

REVIEW:
Stephanie and Morelli are in their complicated relationship again, Stephanie and Ranger is working on another case, Stephanie trying to not have any conversations with Ranger. Valerie is pregnant with Kloughn's baby. Lula enrolled herself in a FatBuster to loose 100lbs. to have a supermodel weight because she got a new man but on the first day she decided she hates carrots and got a bag of McDonald's from Stephanie's hand. This book's FTA, (sort of, he is on a Visa bond and he went missing and only got 1 week left before he become FTA) is India resident Samuel Singh. I don't exactly know what to make of him. Maybe he ran away, didn't really want to get married or decided to go in hiding and find an under the table job or another sponsor somewhere else. Then Stephanie's search lead her to Vegas, with Lula and Connie in tow. The usual comedy, disaster and death was present and a very nice twist to whom Singh was running away from.

BLURB:
  • Pub. Date: June 2005
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback , 352pp
  • Series: Stephanie Plum Series #10
It begins as an innocent trip to the deli-mart, on a quest for nachos. But Stephanie Plum and her partner, Lula, are clearly in the wrong place at the wrong time. A robbery leads to an explosion, which leads to the destruction of yet another car. It would be just another day in the life of Stephanie Plum, except that she becomes the target of a gang—-and of an even scarier, more dangerous force that comes to Trenton. With super bounty hunter Ranger acting more mysteriously than ever (and the tension with vice cop Joe Morelli getting hotter), she finds herself with a decision to make: how to protect herself and where to hide while on the hunt for a killer known as the Junkman. There's only one safe place, and it has Ranger's name all over it—-if she can find it. And if the Junkman doesn't find her first. With Lula riding shotgun and Grandma Mazur on the loose, Stephanie Plum is racing against the clock in her most suspenseful novel yet. Ten Big Ones is page-turning entertainment, and Janet Evanovich is the best there is. 

REVIEW:
So Valerie finally decided to get married to cuddle upkins, Albert Klough. Hiring Sally Sweet as the wedding planner and musician for the event. Stephanie on the other hand pissed off the gang and Joe and her had another disagreement so she moved out of his out and found Ranger's lair, sadly it was not the Bat Cave. I love that Sally Sweet is back and he made a very impressive ending for this book. I was kind of disappointed that there was not much action, considering the them was about gangs. But it was still entertaining as hell. Well, mostly it was the fact that Stephanie was living in Ranger's property.
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos