visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Wednesday, December 12, 2012

How to Misbehave by Ruthie Knox

 Genre: Romance/Chic Lit
Release: January 28, 2013

BLURB:
What woman can resist a hot man in a hard hat? Beloved author Ruthie Knox kicks off her new Camelot series with this deliciously sexy original novella, in which a good girl learns how to misbehave . . . with all her heart.

As program director for the Camelot Community Center, Amber Clark knows how to keep her cool. That is, until a sudden tornado warning forces her to take shelter in a darkened basement with a hunk of man whose sex appeal green lights her every fantasy. With a voice that would melt chocolate, he asks her if she is okay. Now she’s hot all over and wondering: How does a girl make a move?

Building contractor Tony Mazzara was just looking to escape nature’s fury. Instead, he finds himself all tangled up with lovely Amber. Sweet and sexy, she’s ready to unleash her wild side. Their mutual desire reaches a fever pitch and creates a storm of its own—unexpected, powerful, and unforgettable. But is it bigger than Tony can handle? Can he let go of painful memories and let the force of this remarkable woman show him a future he never dreamed existed?


REVIEW:
I was ecstatic when I receive an invite to review an upcoming Ruthie Knox book. I was not a sucker for romance novel but I have been converted. The girl in me wanted to feel butterfly in my stomach and really I' rather read it than watch a chic flick.

I was not sure if Amber Clark is going to keep me interested. There are some intriguing factors but most of her screams boring. She has a controlling mother so I thought she is going to be one fo those adult women who is scared of their mother's guilt trip. And then she went on a little bit of pity party and became one of those girls. But as the story progress I started to like her and by the end I understood her. Tony Mazzara on the other hand is you typical bad boy wanting to do good haunted by a dark past, can't get over his issues and can't forgive himself. Something most readers are familiar with.

How to Misbehave is the first part of novellas about the Clark Siblings. It is a nice but too short and not as good as About Last Night. It felt rushed.


Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Last Minute Christmas Shoppers

Looking for a great gift for your teens or girlfriends. Peace Love Flair has some ideas to help you.
Check out some stuff we have in store. (click photo to redirected store link)

Where can I buy those bleeding chanel logos? (take not they are not Chanel, just a logo play. A store in NY is selling some for $75.00 - $110.00) Peace Love Flair got them for $25.00 - $35.00




Looking for meanigful and simple gift to your friends? How about those trending sideways cross bracelet?
Peace Love Flair got them on sale today for only $7.00

There are more items on the website, prices are reduced to help with the holiday shopping.
Please visit: www.peaceloveflair.com

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Plague by Victor Methos

Genre: Apocalyptic/Thriller/Virus/Plague
Release: August 14, 2012
Sold by: CreateSpace
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
THE DEADLIEST DISEASE IN HISTORY . . . A lethal pathogen appears on the Hawaiian island of Oahu. Dr. Samantha Bower of the Centers for Disease Control is handed the case and asked to investigate its origins and containment. A MYSTERIOUS FIGURE THAT IS NOT WHO HE APPEARS TO BE . . . Samantha discovers a lethal pathogen unlike any she has encountered in her lifetime. Extremely contagious with a mortality rate higher than any disease ever recorded, it is an extinction level event. A man with an intimate knowledge of the microorganism offers her help. But Samantha Bower begins to suspect he is not who he says he is. HUMANITY HANGS ON THE EDGE OF A CLIFF . . . Samantha begins to realize there are forces at work that she can't understand. Pressures are being applied from outside sources and not all of them wish for a vaccine. But Samantha is sure of one thing: if a vaccine isn't developed, humanity may soon be an endangered species. . .

REVIEW:
This is a really interesting plot. Pre-apocalyptic happened in Hawaii that found its way to the Mainland. Another scary "what if" and act of terrorism. I read this together with the Gemini Virus and I cannot choose which I like best. Aside from the virus there are some horrific scene about how humans cope and take advantage of an already scary situation. I love Samantha and how she wouldn't back down and really annoyed with the ending. I have to wait for the next book?! I was not expecting  a trilogy but there it is I have to see what happens next.


Gemini Virus by Wil Mara

Genre: Thriller/Apocalyptic/Virus/Plague
Release: October 2012
Sold by: Forge Books



BLURB:
Bob Easton thinks he has a cold. Before he dies in agony, four days later, he infects dozens of people. Local health agencies become quickly overwhelmed by the sick and dying and beg the CDC for help. Dr. Michael Beck and Cara Porter, a member of the Epidemic Intelligence Service, race to identify the deadly bug. They can't cure it until they know what it is.


Dennis and Andi Jensen and their children are terrified. Schools and offices close. Fresh food disappears from store shelves. Three of their children's friends die. Their neighbors are dying or running away, fleeing the unstoppable infection. Desperate, the Jensens join the exodus, making a nightmarish journey to their isolated mountain cabin along empty roads, through abandoned towns, past looted shopping malls.

The superbug—and the panic—quickly spreads beyond America’s borders. On a packed plane, someone coughs—and at their destination, the pilots are told, “you can’t land here.” US military bases are quarantined. Yet the virus continues to spread. Some believe the plague is man-made. Others see it as a sign of the end times.

In the lab, Cara Porter makes a potentially fatal mistake. In the mountains, Andi Jensen tells her husband that she doesn’t feel well.

The world is running out of time.

REVIEW:
When this book was offered to me for review. I cannot wait to get my hands on it. But life has a way of making me delay my reviews, so I apologize but I did drop everything I was doing when I got this book, which if I can remember correctly, I was planning a birthday party. Ok! let's move on.

In accepting this book, I have managed to wriggle myself out of the romantic comedies and start off a chain of apocalyptic virus themes book that later all kills 90% of humans.Frankly I was hoping not to like it as much, but man this book is awesome! The moment patient zero, Bob "germaphobe" Easton died I knew I had to get into the bottom of his death. I mean seriously the man had a seriously issue with uncleanliness, how can he be the first person to go?! Ah! the irony. The next thing I knew I was ready all the gory stuff on how the virus spread, how and what it does to you until you die, and how it felt so real that I was scared that it might really happen to us. I was paranoid for two days and that the over whelming urge to go stock up on hand sanitizer, and join the Dooms Day Prepper wagon.

I had a lot of guesses on who was responsible for this virus. The government is number one, some stupid sceintist made a mistake or went crazy, then a terrorist attack, mother nature felt like ending us and lastly it will leave us a vague open ending kind of thing. You have to find out, go buy the book now.
visit: www.peacelvoeflair.com the accessory junkies' playground. enter:PLR15 for 15% off check out.

The Marriage Bargain by Jennifer Probst

Genre: Romantic Comedy
Release: Entangled, September 2012
Sold by: Entangled


BLURB:
A marriage in name only...


To save her family home, impulsive bookstore owner, Alexa Maria McKenzie, casts a love spell. But she never planned on conjuring up her best friend's older brother—the powerful man who once shattered her heart.

Billionaire Nicholas Ryan doesn’t believe in marriage, but in order to inherit his father’s corporation, he needs a wife and needs one fast. When he discovers his sister’s childhood friend is in dire financial straits, he offers Alexa a bold proposition.

A marriage in name only with certain rules: Avoid entanglement. Keep things all business. Do not fall in love. The arrangement is only for a year so the rules shouldn’t be that hard to follow, right?

Except fate has a way of upsetting the best-laid plans…


REVIEW:
The Marriage Bargain is one of the books that I chose in my quest to find a more Twilight-esque / Fifty Shades of Grey-ish book. I am not ashamed to admit that Twilight gave me crazy butterflies in my stomach and Fifty Shades was pure unadulterated shock to my hormones. So I was looking for something in between, and this book gets it. The ridiculous idea of fake marriage has never worked in every form of entertainment, so it was safe to say that they obviously fell for each other after all the secrets. Nonetheless it was very entertaining. I am kind of annoyed by Ms. Mckenzie's philantrophic efforts on why she needed the money. The effort was not really clear to me, surely there are other ways but whatever that is a very small flaw in the story, just really wanted to mention it. It is really a nice fast read that any woman can enjoy.

visit: www.peacelvoeflair.com the accessory junkies' playground. enter:PLR15 for 15% off check out.

Monday, November 19, 2012

Peace Love Flair Commercial

Peace Love Flair is in the process of creating a tv ad that are being distributed all over the country. .


Our first commercial is going to be aired in a California campus location, the area where the commercial is going to be aired is frequented by an estimate of 5000 students weekly.

Every month we are going to feature our customers as an additional token of appreciation. All you need to do is take a photo of you and the item that you have purchased from us and send it to us. Please make sure your facial features and the item is clearly visible.



Where to send it?

1. instagram: tag us @peaceloveflair and use the hashtag @plfcommercial
2. post it on our Facebook page.

You can send as many photo as you want for a chance to get featured.

Here is the draft of our commercial, these lovely bloggers are going to be featured in next month's commercial.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

FLASH SALE - peaceLoveflair.com

Peace Love Flair.com is havinmg a FLASH sale starting now until Friday.
visit our website for details.

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Dark Inside (Book 1) by Jeyn Roberts

Genre: Fiction/YA/Apocalyptic/Thriller/Horror
Release: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (November 1, 2011)
Sold by: Simon & Schuster Digital Sales Inc.
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
Since the beginning of mankind, civilizations have fallen: the Romans, the Greeks, the Aztecs...and now us. Huge earthquakes rock the world. Cities are destroyed. But something even more awful is happening: An ancient evil has been unleashed, and it's turning everyday people into hunters, killers, and crazies. This is the world Mason, Aries, Clementine, and Michael are living in--or rather, trying to survive. Each is fleeing unspeakable horror, from murderous chaos to brutal natural disasters, and each is traveling the same road in a world gone mad. Amid the throes of the apocalypse and clinging to love and meaning wherever it can be found, these four teens are on a journey into the heart of darkness--and to find each other and a place of safety.

REVIEW:
Holy smokes! Its been awhile since I've read something YA and something apocalyptic and wow I just realized how I miss it. I was so lost and confused as the characters in the book. An earthquake with a magnitude of epic proportions rocked the whole world, naturally ALOT of people died, The West Coast was wiped out (maybe I should move?), electronic communications - non-existent and then people started killing people. Have you seen the movie, The Crazies? It reminds me greatly of that movie although this book clearly is not the cause of some bio-weapon that the military accidentally dropped. The reason on why? how? and who? unleased such form of disease is still not clear. Sure there were clues of supernatural force and some reference about how the former great civilizations died but there was no concrete answer from the author. I approve, why reveal the mystery so soon? Keep the readers hungry for more, it is a great strategy.

The premise and ambitious, I am sure some people already rolled their eyes and thought of the whole thing as ridiculous and decided that this book is not for them. But I have decided to see this series through and am dying for the release of book 2 this September. I do have an issue, is this really acceptable for a YA? For a 14 year old? be warned that the book have some serious violence and graphic scenes of people killing people. But after the James Holmes Dark Knight massacre, I am seriously rethinking everything that has to do with violence in film, books and video games.

The Line Between Here and Gone (Forensic Instinct 2) by Andrea Kane

Genre: Action/Suspense/Thriller/Sleuthing
Release:  (June 26, 2012)
Sold by: Harlequin Mira
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
The man she loved is gone forever. The child she lives for could be next.Each day is a struggle for Amanda Gleason's newborn son as he battles a rare immune deficiency. Justin's best chance for a cure lies with his father, who was brutally murdered before Amanda even realized she carried his child.

Or was he?

One emailed photo changes everything, planting a seed of doubt that Amanda latches on to for dear life: a recent photo of a man who looks exactly like Paul. Could Justin's father be alive? The mother in her is desperate to find out. But tracking down a ghost when every second counts is not for amateurs.

REVIEW:
Like the previous book of Forensic Instinct, this book is full of psychological thriller and mystery. Twist and turns and shocking revelations. The case this time is for a missing person, that was assumed dead for years. There was no doubt in my mind when Amanda Gleason walked inside FI and talked to Marc Deveraux, a former Navy Seal about her case, that the team is going to accept it. It was unorthodox that Marc dropped the ball without consulting his team members first but a child's life is at risk so all logic went out the door and he said yes.

It boggles my mind on why Paul (the missing person) would leave his girlfriend. She told FI that they were happy and then he disappeared. There were a lot of guesses on my mind on why. Did he just use Amanda's family connection to get ahead in his career?, Is he even Paul? He was into something shady and now ont he run because somebody tried to kill him? Very intriguing all of it and then it would switch of to a very critical infant that needed his dad for a bone marrow transplant... it was heartbreaking always.

I like this book better than "The Girl who Disappered twice" it is a page turner, and is a really good thriller but there are still some dull moments, but it was good writing over all.

Want to follow the book blog tour? http://booktrib.com/blog-tour-between-here-and-gone/

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Bared To You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia Day

Genre: Fiction/Contemporary Romance/ Erotica
Release: Berkley (May 24, 2012)
Sold by: Penguin Publishing
Buy the Book: Amazon



BLURB:
Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness...He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I'd never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily...

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other's most private worlds...and desires.

The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn't tear us apart...

REVIEW:
This is recommended to all Fifty Shades of Grey fans. Over the top wealth, over the top sex scenes, intense issues, obsessive behaviors, stalkerish tendencies, the works and more.

Holy smokes! This is one intense novel and some scenes are just so weird and messed up. I really like the beginning, when Eva and Gideon were starting out. I always like the tension between characters before they decide that they are going to have sex or enter into some type of an arrangement / relationship. There is a certain excitement and I just cannot help but guess what is going to happen next, will they have discustingly sweet moments? Will I feel butterflies in my stomach when they profess their love? Will I get irritated with the character? Who is going to mess up first? etc...

I really like Eva, she is strong, smart and obviously pretty. I thought she was doing pretty well considering she was abused when she was 10. I also like Gideon, the control freak, the hotness that was described in the book and his impressive decisions in breaking his rules. I was really into them until Eva decided to tell Gideon of her ugly past. Then it went to really disturbing. They are showing a really messed up sign of co-dependency, the jealousy, using sex to relieve stress and to manipulate (especially on Eva's part) mood. Then Gideon started these nigthmares that are obviously sexually abused related, that causes him to have to release tension by pleasuring himself even at sleep. I was really into Cary too. Bisexual best friend who is always there when you need him, pretty awesome. Until he started showing some signs of destructive tendencies too. How in the hell are these characters going to survive? I am really intrigued and wanted to find out but I have this 45% feeling that this novel had the motehrload of all messed up and maybe it is too much for me. The other 55% thinks it is worth a shot and is telling me to suck it up and finish the series.


Monday, July 16, 2012

Fifty Shades Freed by E.L James

Genre: Fiction/Romance/Light BDSM/Erotica
Release: Vintage (January 17, 2012)
Sold by: Random House Digital
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
When unworldly student Ana Steele first encountered the driven, damaged young entrepreneur Christian Grey, it sparked a sensual affair that changed both their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and ultimately repelled by Christian's singular sexual tastes, Ana demanded a deeper commitment; determined to keep her, Christian agreed. Now, together, they have more-love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of infinite possibilities. But Ana always knew that loving her Fifty Shades would not be easy and being together poses challenges neither of them ever anticipated. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian's opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own integrity, identity, or independence; Christian must somehow overcome his compulsion to control and lay to rest the horrors that blighted his past and haunt his present. Just when it seems that together their love can conquer any obstacle, tragedy, malice and fate combine to make Ana's worst nightmares come true.

REVIEW:
I don't really read a lot of Erotica, but when I do, I started looking for other titles so I can compare it. That is what exactly I did after reading the Fifity Shades of Grey 1. And in comparisson, other books are much more graphic, lewd and definitely not for prudes. Fifty Shades series is PG-13 compared to the other titles that I've read. All have something in common, the sex scenes are constantly there that at some point it has become boring. Sure there are some scenes that had a little, more and no kink but gets old all the same.
So anyway, I am surprise that I like this book, sex scenes, ridiculous amount of I love Yous, I will never leave you, Mr Grey, Mrs. Grey, My husband, My wife (lovingly said to each other) aside... I like how the story progressed. Questions has been answered and character growth has been present. I would say I felt that girl feeling when I read the Twilight Saga the first time, I still do not like the insecurity / jealousy type hero but I do love the sickly sweet way they show their love.

P.S: In case you are frantically looking for the copy:
From what I've read so far (first chapter), the fan fic that started this all, The Master of the Universe looks like the same as Fifty Shades, the only change was the name of the Characters. Miss Kavanagh is Rose. Bella is obviously Ana and of course, Edward is Christian.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Accidental it Girl by Libby Street

Genre: Romatic Comedy/ Chick Lit/Fiction
Release: Pocket Books; Original edition (October 10, 2006)
Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
What comes around...

Photographer Sadie Price is known for her thick skin and infallible instincts. A lofty education has made her skilled in her craft, and a fear of poverty -- and love for Jimmy Choo -- has made her one of the East Coast's most savvy paparazzi. She keeps her exhilarating but sometimes hectic life manageable by staying on the right side of the razor-thin line between celebrity photographers and the stalkerazzi. But all that changes when Sadie locks horns with one of Hollywood's hottest bachelors.


...goes around.

Something about Ethan Wyatt's charisma and startling good looks throws Sadie off her game. Something about Sadie's dogged determination -- and a very compromising picture she snaps -- throws Ethan off his. Hatching a scheme befitting the silver screen that made him famous, Ethan sets out to give Sadie a taste of her own medicine. And when her life almost instantly becomes as frenzied as those of the "It Girls" she follows, Sadie starts to see her career, her love life, and Ethan Wyatt in ways she never had before....
REVIEW:
Libby Street is one of my favorite chick lit authors. Happiness Sold Separately is one of their books that I probably read a couple of times because it felt good to read it. Its been a while since I read a book from them so I decided to finally read the Accidental It Girl, the summary promised a very intriguing plot that involves a paparazzi and a celebrity. In the real world their interaction can end up in accidents, cursing, slewof insults, legal battles, etc. In this story our heroine, Sadie Price is the paparazzi being taught a lesson, a very inconvenient, embarassing yet eye opening experience. The person giving said lesson, Ethan Wyatt, described as one of the hottest movie stars, who got caught in a scandal involving two sisters.

I was into it up until I felt like Sadie decides to sulk. I call it that because instead of taking advantage of the situation she was so caught up on who was behind all the crazy rumor. I mean she could have turn the whole thing to her advantage. I don't know I just feel like there was something missing, even the ending, that was it? It was that simple? No mention where Sadie finally flourish into a photographer that she really is? I am a little disappointed to be honest. It lacked spark that Happiness Sold Separately have.

And One Last Thing by Molly Harper

Genre: Fiction/Female Heroine/Chic lit
Release: Pocket Star; Original edition (July 27, 2010)
Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
Lacey Terwilliger’s shock and humiliation over her husband’s philandering prompt her to add some bonus material to Mike’s company newsletter: stunning Technicolor descriptions of the special brand of "administrative support" his receptionist gives him. The detailed mass e-mail to Mike’s family, friends, and clients blows up in her face, and before one can say "instant urban legend," Lacey has become the pariah of her small Kentucky town, a media punch line, and the defendant in Mike’s defamation lawsuit.

Her seemingly perfect life up in flames, Lacey retreats to her family’s lakeside cabin, only to encounter an aggravating neighbor named Monroe. A hunky crime novelist with a low tolerance for drama, Monroe is not thrilled about a newly divorced woman moving in next door. But with time, beer, and a screen door to the nose, a cautious friendship develops into something infinitely more satisfying.

Lacey has to make a decision about her long-term living arrangements, though. Should she take a job writing caustic divorce newsletters for paying clients, or move on with her own life, pursuing more literary aspirations? Can she find happiness with a man who tells her what he thinks and not what she wants to hear? And will she ever be able to resist saying one . . . last . . . thing?
REVIEW:
I loved the bit where Lacey, a perfect wife, hostess and member of the wives community lost her mind and sent a newsletter detailing her husband's philandering ways to everybody they know. I loved that she owned up to it, sure there was guilt and doubt on that method but hey, it was a learning process and it was very entertaining for me as a reader. Reading how she kept appearances for the sake of reputation and to make her husband's life easy is exhausting. I can't even stand people who thinks they are above everybody else for 2 minutes without saying anything snarky or rolling my eyes, so to read about somebody (doesn't matter if fictional)about living that fake live, loyalty and friendship is somewhat refreshing. I've read many female characters not giving a hoot and thi is quite a good break from that.

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Click: An online love story by Lisa Becker

Genre: Fiction/Romantic Comedy/Chick Lit
Release: Create Space (April 5, 2011)
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
Fast approaching her 30th birthday and finding herself not married, not dating, and without even a prospect or a house full of cats, Renee Greene, the heroine of Click: An Online Love Story, reluctantly joins her best guy pal on a journey to find love online in Los Angeles. The story unfolds through a series of emails between Renee and her best friends (anal-compulsive Mark, the overly-judgmental Ashley and the over-sexed Shelley) as well as the gentlemen suitors she meets online. From the guy who starts every story with "My buddies and I were out drinking one night," to the egotistical "B" celebrity looking for someone to stroke his ego, Renee endures her share of hilarious and heinous cyber dates. Fraught with BCC's, FWD's and inadvertent Reply to All's, readers will root for Renee to "click" with the right man.

REVIEW:
I used to be one of those people who thinks that resorting on joining an online dating site is a sure sign of desperation, laziness, and a good source of getting laid. But now I am more forgiving and open minded about it. I still think that the best way to meet people is to go out there but anyway back to the book.

I love the characters, in my group of friends, there is always that one person who is so anal about everything that sometimes you wanted to choke them and wonder how on earth did we ever become friends? That is Mark in this book. There is also that one or two girlfriends whom we've met in our lifetime who just doesn't give a hoot on what other people think about them being so open about their sex lives or thinks like a man. Shelley in this book ( and I love her) The other character Ashley, whom in this book is one of those Charlotte York types and the one who is in an on and off relationship. Everytime they are on again, everything is perfect and she feels sorry for people who is not in a relationship, yet when they are off again she keeps saying, "that's it we are over", "I am going to be a spinster" and would have her own pity party. And then you have that one friend in between. The one who understands everybody, liked be all, the cool chick with just a little bit insecurity on the side. That would be Renee in this book.

I love the concept of reading the e-mails of a group of friends swapping stories about their lives. All the cc's and bcc's, it brings back memories. I enjoyed reading the banter of Ashley and Shelley, that one is always so funny. The dating adventures of Renee was pretty funny too but evertything else in between... not great but not bad either.
.5


Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Chances by Jackie Collins

Genre: Fiction/Female Heroine/Crime Family
Release: Jackie Collins, June 5, 2012
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon
BLURB:
Handsome, hot-blooded, hard-to-handle Gino Santangelo took
CHANCES

On the city streets where he staked his guts and brains to build an empire. In the arms of women he used and discarded…until he met the girl of his dreams. But the biggest chance he ever took was when he fled America to escape prosecution and trusted his empire to someone else…

Lucky Santangelo his daughter, stunning, sensual, spoiled, a female version of himself as hooked on pleasure as he, as keen for power, as ready to take

CHANCES.

REVIEW:
I've been hearing the name Lucky Santangelo for quite sometime now and I've been meaning to check out her story I just don't know when I am going to get around to it, and then Jackie Collins decided to self-publish and then goes my oppotunity to get a copy and say WOW!! At first I thought this is a reprint and some changes were made to modernize it. I am glad none of this is true, the only reason for the new cover is because it is an ebook version.

Ms. Nieves from the PR company was right this book has that Saga feel.
Chances chronicles the story of Gino Santangelo, his loss innocence in a world filled with bad parent, sex, crime, and violence that turned him into one of the notorious mobsters in his time. It also tells the story of  his children Lucky and Dario and how they become the person they are. And lastly the story of  a prostitute turned NY society hostess named Carrie, and her son Steven. Aside from what I have mentioned above, the book is filled with drugs, prostitution and intrigue. I was blown away. Very impressed on how brave Jackie Collins for writing this novel. I cannot imagine all the heat she got when this book was released, I read that it was banned from other countries. There is something very real about the book, the mobster story, the crime, the violence, family drama. We don't live in the perfect world, somewhere here and other parts of the world this is happening, we see it in the news everyday and read about it. It took me a whole week to finish this book, I need to come up for air, it was so intense and unputdownable, I absolutely love it.

The saddest story was of Carrie's damn the girl was helpless, I am not quite sure why her story was important, I mean sure she is somewhat connected to the Santangelo by Bonnati and a one night with Gino but is there a deeper reason why her story needs to be heard? Is it because Steven is Gino's son? This unanswered question is killing me. So I guess there is no way around it, I have to read the rest of the Santangelo novels.


Wednesday, June 13, 2012

About Last Night by Ruthie Knox

Genre: Contemporary Romance/Chicklit
Release: Love Swept, June 11, 2012
Sold by: Random House Digital
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
Cath Talarico knows a mistake when she makes it, and God knows she’s made her share. So many, in fact, that this Chicago girl knows London is her last, best shot at starting over. But bad habits are hard to break, and soon Cath finds herself back where she has vowed never to go . . . in the bed of a man who is all kinds of wrong: too rich, too classy, too uptight for a free-spirited troublemaker like her.

Nev Chamberlain feels trapped and miserable in his family’s banking empire. But beneath his pinstripes is an artist and bohemian struggling to break free and lose control. Mary Catherine—even her name turns him on—with her tattoos, her secrets, and her gamine, sex-starved body, unleashes all kinds of fantasies.

When blue blood mixes with bad blood, can a couple that is definitely wrong for each other ever be perfectly right? And with a little luck and a lot of love, can they make last night last a lifetime?

REVIEW:
Best $2.99 spent! I loooove this book. It was exactly what i was looking for. After a disappointing Snow White and The Huntsman day, I wasready to hate K-Stew so instead of dwelling on that disaster she called acting (I still love her), I decided to surf Amazon or was this an e-mail blast? Ugh! I could not remember anymore, anyway I read the summary and I'm sold. I've never heard of Ruthie Knox before and its been a pleasure reading one of her books, I am thrilled to find new (undiscovered to me, maybe) authors.

This is classic chick lit, contemporary romance. It was fun, sexy (hot sex scenes alert!!!), and romantic. I like my heroine a reformed bad girl with her dark side still lurking around the corner. Not so damaged yet complicated if she is real I would want to shake her and tell her, that past is past, she did a good job recovering from it. Exactly, what I like with Cath. A woman with tattoos wrap around her belly to remind her of who she was. 2 years of no trouble until she met her stranger - Nev on whom she insisted calling City, a dubbed nickname, a part of her description on him as a train passenger regular. Long story short, they met and fell in love in an unconventional way, just the way I like it. He is filty rich, handsome and very hot with a snotty mother and horrible older brother. She- young, wild and free with baggage. I like her wit and her passion for both sex and her survivor attitude. Love the ending, now that's how a man should show a woman how much she is worth to him.

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Thw Girl Who Disappeared Twice (Forensic Instincts) by Andrea Kane

Genre: Action/Suspense/Thriller/Sleuthing
Release: Mira, May 31, 2011
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
SHE COULDN'T STOP IT. NOT THEN. NOT NOW.

If she'd only turned her head, she would have seen the car containing her daughter, struggling to get out. Struggling to escape her kidnapper.

Despite all her years determining the fates of families, veteran family court judge Hope Willis couldn't save her own. Now she's frantically grasping at any hope for Krissy's rescue. Her husband dead-set against it, she calls Casey Woods and her team of renegade investigators, Forensic Instincts.

A behaviorist. A techno-wizard. An intuitive. A former Navy SEAL.

Unconventional operatives. All with unique talents and personal reasons for being part of Casey's group, they'll do whatever it takes.

Able to accurately read people after the briefest of encounters, Casey leads her crew to Krissy's home. There, she picks up the signs of a nervous spouse, a guilty conscience, a nanny that hides on her cell. She watches as secrets beg to creep into the open.

Forensic Instincts will dig through each tiny clue and eliminate the clutter. But time is running out, and even working around the clock, the authorities are bound by the legal system. Not so Casey's team. For they know that the difference between Krissy coming back alive and disappearing forever could be as small as a suspect's rapid breathing, or as deep as Hope's dark family history. 

REVIEW:
The book summary is very impressive. I couldn't wait to get my eyes into these and see what the mystery was all about. The kidnapping and the whole deal about Forensic Instincts. It start off with a kidnapping that occured when the victim was only 6 years old, fast -forward to the present day (30 somethig years after), the twin of the kidnapped victim's daughter was abducted. What a nightmare!
Naturally all law enforcement agency were immediately briefed and working on the case 24/7 but Judge Willis, the mother of the kidnap victim, Krissy wants someone fast, someone who doesn't have to deal with protocols and b.s , someone who can help find her daughter fast. Someone like Casey Woods' team - the Forensic Instincts. Love the whole premise, theme and characters but there was not so page turning moments that I wanted to get it over with. Once the mystery was solved it was a shocking revelation but something that I did not anticipate, either way it was good writing. A promising start of a good series.
.5

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Wife for Hire by Janet Evanovich

 Genre: Fiction/Romance
Release: Harper Collins, October 13, 2009
Sold by: Harper Collins Publisher
Buy the Book: Amazon

 

BLURB:
A classic romance by the #1 "New York Times" bestselling author of the Stephanie Plum series is now revised and repackaged. When firecracker Maggie Toone agrees to pose as Hank Mallones wife so he can secure a bank loan, she never imagines Hank would turn out to embody every fantasy shes ever had.

REVIEW:
This book is a result of post- One for the Money movie screening. The next day I have a sudden urge to read something from Ms. Evanovich and this is what I've chosen. This is a fast read. man hires a women sick of everything around her and wants a change of scenery and wants a change in career. Man hires said women to be his fake wife to get a loan from the bank that his father runs so he can move up his apple orchard business into something more. It is a cute has pretty decent light humor and very pg-13 love scenes.

 

Private (Jack Morgan 1) by James Patterson, Maxine Paetro

 Genre: Fiction/Action/Suspense
Release: Little Brown & Company, December 1, 2012
Sold by: Hatchette Book Group
Buy the Book: Amazon - First 28 Chapters Free on Kindle
 BLURB:
Unsolvable casesSince former Marine Jack Morgan started Private, it has become the world's most effective investigation firm--sought out by the famous and the powerful to discreetly handle their most intimate problems. Private's investigators are the smartest, the fastest, and the most technologically advanced in the world--and they always uncover the truth.

Impossible murdersWhen his former lover is found murdered in Jack Morgan's bed, he is instantly the number one suspect. While Jack is under police investigation, the mob strong-arms him into recovering $30 million in stolen pharmaceuticals for them. And the beautiful manager of a luxury hotel chain persuades him to quietly investigate a string of murders at her properties.

The #1 suspect is Jack MorganWhile Jack is fighting for his life, one of his most trusted colleagues threatens to leave Private, and Jack realizes he is confronting the cleverest and most powerful enemies ever. With more action, more intrigue, and more twists than ever before, PRIVATE: #1 SUSPECT is James Patterson at his unstoppable best.

REVIEW:
The first few chapters were insteresting but as I get to know Jack...Let's just say his is not a character that I normally would swoon over. I am not even interested in following his journey. He lack something that I look for in a hero or protagonist. Sure he seems to be a good guy. He is a good leader. But other than that what does he have? I cannot get past the thing where he seems to fall in love with women super fast. There was the dead ex-girlfriend Coleen. He said she loves her yet not enough to get married. Then their's Dr. Shrink, Justine, he also loves her but he slept with Colleen and now he is saying that he like hotellier Amelia Poole and at the end he was knocking at Justine's doorstep.

I like the murder mystery but not as much as much as I am expecting it to be. Maybe it is because I read too much heavy action, intense, dramatic novels before this one. To sum it all up, it was an ok book. A quick read and maybe a little over priced.

Monday, May 14, 2012

Midnight Rescue by Elle Kennedy

  Genre: Fiction/Action/Romantic Suspense
Release: Signet, May 1, 2012
Sold by: Penguin Publishing
Buy the Book: Amazon
BLURB:
Dangerous. Ruthless. Savage. And she's the good guy.

Abby Sinclair had a desperate childhood until she was rescued and adopted by a retired army ranger who molded her into a master of self-defense. Now, she's a cunning and fearless assassin thrust into assignment after dangerous assignment, using everything she has-nerve, resilience, strength, sex-to come out on top. Her only rule: trust no one.
Abby's latest assignment is in Columbia: go undercover and snuff out a dangerous arms dealer active in the underground sex trade. But when Abby purposely blows her cover in a last-ditch attempt to free the helpless victims, deadly mercenary Kane Woodland is recruited as back-up. His mission: get Abby out of that hell hole.

The last thing Kane expects is to feel a primal attraction for Abby. But when she convinces him to join her on her perilous mission, their newfound passion could put the lives of their whole team at risk.

REVIEW:
I've been looking for an assassin novel, especially women assassins, thanks to GoodReads I finally find my first one. After reading 2 books with titillating theme, I need more action in my imagination.

I really like Midnight Rescue. It involves two assassin agency, woman and man (different agencies, same mission statement). Kind of like the Mr. & Mrs. Smith movie. So there was a lot of testesterone, sexual tension, action and showing off. Everybody was a bad ass with sepcialized skills and really big ego, trust issues and diva complex. I understand, they all had a dark past and a horrible childhood, so for most of them they are assassins with a purpose. They only kill the "bad guys".

Book 1 is about Abby and Kane. Like I said they are from different agencies, their boss hates each other but as Abby purposely blew her cover to rescue kids from a sex slave mob boss, Nicole; the female assasin boss went to the male boss - Morgan for help. As expected the men does not like the idea but when Morgan heard it was Abby, he had to help. The story was fast. Despicable villians and a psychopath right hand man who gets his kicks when he tortures, whips, rapes and kills his victims. The ending was cheesy and a little hurried but over all the story did well, no stray or boring moments. It is a good start of a new series 

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Fifty Shades Darker by E.L James

 Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Romance/Erotica
Release: Vintage, September 13, 2011
Sold by: Random House Digital
Buy the Book: Amazon
BLURB:
Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life


REVIEW:
The break up only lasted a week?! That was my initial reaction. But I can emphatize with the pain of the broken heart, appetite loss and sleepless nights. Being in love and breaking up at the beginning stages was always hell and the make up sex after that... heaven, look what happened to Christian and Ana. The man almost went 360 for her. It was all so very sweet yet I have this feeling that it will not last long. And there it was the drama with the ex-submissive and Mrs. Robinson. But you know it made them a real couple, it was a good and nerve wracking challenege especially if one of the threat/challenge is mentally unstable but book two redefined the relationship of Miss Steele and Mr. Grey. The charity ball at his mother's house was really cool. No wonder there are a lot of funny e-cards out there with Fifty's reference.

I can see that Ana is very conflicted with what she and Christian have in this book. She wants straight up vanilla, romance, flowers and normal. Yet at the same time she wants to be in the Red Room of Pain for Christian and because she kind of wants to. I am also glad that she is more vocal and dares to push Christian's boundaries to understand him better. This is full of cliches, very repetitive, and I got bored with most of  the sex scenes (I might have skipped a scene or three), I love and hate it simultaneously. I cannot really blame the book, I mean seriously it is porn I am just happy that there is a bonus story behind it, so I am not complaining much. I am annoyed because I jumped in to the hype and tried to chastise myself, obviously I was unsuccessful. I can't resist it, i can't put it down. I wanted to find out what will happen, how it will end.

Monday, May 7, 2012

Movie Review: Avengers


SYNOPSIS:


  • Genre: Action/Adventure, Sci-Fi/Fantasy

  • Running Time: 2 hrs. 22 mins.

  • Release date: 0605/04/2012

  • Rating: PG-13 

  • Director: Joss Whedon



  • Continuing the epic big-screen adventures started in "Iron Man," "The Incredible Hulk," "Iron Man 2," "Thor," and "Captain America: The First Avenger," "Marvel's The Avengers" is the super hero team up of a lifetime. When an unexpected enemy emerges that threatens global safety and security, Nick Fury, director of the international peacekeeping agency known as S.H.I.E.L.D., finds himself in need of a team to pull the world back from the brink of disaster.

    REVIEW:
    I am reminded on why I love Joss Whedon. I love how he directed this film. The camera angles - fantastic.
    I also love how each Avengers stood out. Even Black Widow and Hawkeye had their moments. Before I saw the movie I was concerned on how they are going to make the audience see these two assassins, I mean seriously how good are they? And they turned out such bad ass! The scene that keep playing in my head over and over was when Black Widow said she have a ride, that it is going to be fun but she does need a boost.

    I enjoyed the humor. The Hulk movies are always so serious, always so sad, his predicament always have that doomed feeling but in this movie. He is not just the green monster with rage problems anymore. He really get to help and he is finally in control, well... after he fell out of the sky that is. The dialogue is also impressive. The characters, I think the actors deserve to get the role. I'd watch it again and this time I will gladly pay to see it on IMAX.

    Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James

     Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Romance/Erotica
    Release: Vintage, May 25, 2011
    Sold by: Random House Digital
    Buy the Book: Amazon

    BLURB:
    When literature student Anastasia Steele is drafted to interview the successful young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, she finds him attractive, enigmatic and intimidating. Convinced their meeting went badly, she tries to put Grey out of her mind - until he happens to turn up at the out-of-town hardware store where she works part-time.

    The unworldly, innocent Ana is shocked to realize she wants this man, and when he warns her to keep her distance it only makes her more desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her - but on his own terms.

    Shocked yet thrilled by Grey's singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success – his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving adoptive family – Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a passionate, physical and daring affair, Ana learns more about her own dark desires, as well as the Christian Grey hidden away from public scrutiny.

    REVIEW:
    For the first time since I started reading and reviewing books, I took a chance and bought this one without reading the book description or any customer and book blogger reviews. The reason I bought and decided to read it are these... first everytime I go to Amazon to look for books it was always there, I was watching the news the other day and this book was featured but I never got around to seeing it because I just wasn't interested and then I went to GoodReads.com to post some of my reviews and there it is again. With mostly 4.5 star ratings, that's when I said F it, fine now I am irritated and curious and intrigued.

    This is what I found out. It is not for teenagers. It is not a paranormal fiction. And I am addicted to it. Not going to lie Mr. Grey and Ms. Steele got me all hot and bothered. Anyone who read this book and did not get the same reaction is probably dead, so don't even lie. I was not totally shock as other readers, this is still acceptable compared to Anne Rice's Claiming of Sleeping Beauty series. That one I could not finish, but yes same kinky sex theme so I was ok.

    I do not know if I like the writing, I am torn. There are too many repeated phrases. I probably saw the contract 3x amongst other things. I really enjoyed the seduction, before Mr. Grey deflowered Ana. I also like that I get to feel first love again through Ana's journey. A married woman needed that.

    I am surprised to hear that this is going to be adapted ont he big screen? how in the hell are they going to pull that off? Nevertheless, I am looking forward to it.

    Related Posts with Thumbnails

    Total Pageviews

     
    Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos