visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Thursday, March 29, 2012

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Genre: Science Fiction / Horror / YA/ Dystopian
Release: Delacorte Book for Young Readers, March 10, 2009
Sold by: Random House Digital
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
In Mary's world, there are simple truths.
The Sisterhood always knows best.
The Guardians will protect and serve.
The Unconsecrated will never relent.
And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village....
REVIEW:
Forest of Hands and Teeth is told on Mary's POV. I am impressed with the concept and love the postapocalyptic  timing. Yet the story drags with Mary's emotions. All the angst, doubts, anger with a touch of hormones. It gave the book the intensity and build up it needed when the village was over taken.  I liked it for the first part but having it all through out the book not so much.  But I did warm up to Mary although discontent with her life, the girl is hard headed and determined to seek the ocean and to see what else is outside their little village. I feel bad for the people around her, they love her enough to risk their lives but she could not reciprocate fully. I love the battle scenes with the Unconsecrated but I don't think it should be for 13 year old. It is both violent and graphic. The ending was... a blah for me, it was not spectacular nor special it judt left me with more questions, not enough for me to buy book two right away.


Tuesday, March 27, 2012

LZR-1143: Infection by Bryan James

Genre: Science Fiction
Release: 2011
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
Mike McKnight was an action movie star, condemned to a lifetime of incarceration in a psychiatric prison for the murder of someone he loved. He was discarded and forgotten, locked away by a society that moved on.
At least until the zombies showed up.
He emerges into a world that has crumbled and mankind is on the verge of elimination. From his cell in the asylum, he is suddenly thrust into a nightmare of unbelievable proportions when the dead rise and rapidly become a horrific plague on the world of the living. In a landscape littered with post-apocalyptic terrors, Mike and a handful of survivors battle humans and zombies alike, fleeing headlong through danger and despair.
From Long Island to the suburbs to the mountainous countryside, Mike fights to stay alive, recover his memories, and retrieve a cure to the most threatening plague the world has ever known.

REVIEW:
Mike McKnight woke up the same way the protagonist of  on 28 Days movie - Jim and Walking Dead - Rick Grimes woke up. World in chaos and zombies taking over the world he knew. I do not know how can these three possibly survived while in a medically induced sleep. But they did. I am not sure what to make of Mike. Former actor convicted of killing his wife, pronounced as criminally insane. Pretty good start. There is a lot of running, shooting and trying not to get bitten, all pretty standard stuff. As soon as his first memory resurfaced I already knew that his wife and her project was connected to what had happened. The stroy was predictable but Mike isn't, he have an unstable character. The voices inside his head bugs me (in a good way). I do not know if he really has some mental issues or this is how he weighs his decisions. The ending of the book is quite interesting, a cliff ahnger! It was like Alice from Resident Evil, he went back to square one.


Monday, March 26, 2012

Thoughts on Hunger Games movie

After much anticipation, I finally saw the Hunger Games yesterday. I was planning to bring the 10 year old but people threw a fit around me and told me that it is not for kids, too much violence , kids killing kids, weird setting, blah, blah, blah.
First off those comments made me mad. I've been avoiding blogosphere and review sites because I want to see it for myself, no clouded judgement, no expectations. Second, why the hell did people think I needed a summary for this movie after I numerously told them that I am a fan and I've read the book a bunch of times. Third, a non-fan comment about how the movie suck or the questions of why would an author write such a book? Seriously? Someone even told me that he like John Carter better! Because it was just more entertaining!!! How can you even compare?  I don't know if I  wanted to laugh or throw something at him. I get that people have different taste, and diferent opinions on what works and what won't work for them. But to focus on just one element in a 2 hour and 22 minutes of a movie is just plain ridiculous.

Let's look at the violence level of the movie. Book much more graphic and violent. Movie version, water downed and appropriately censored for PG-13 standards. Did not work good for me. Why didn't they just rate it as R18 so we got all the good stuff? Anyway...Then there is this major concern mostly from parents about. "Kids killing kids for food" That was all they got from it. The other element like bravery, compassion, hope, family and standing up for what you believe in, totally when out the door. I think the haters will eat their words once they see Catching Fire and Mockingjay.

The characters who played the roles. Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss? Had my doubts, she looks awful in dark brown hair but she aced playing Katniss. After the reaping scene I was sold. Josh Hutcherson as Peeta? Great choice, I want it to be played by Alexander Ludwig (the guy that played Cato) but after his interview with Ceasar Flickerman, I saw why they chose Josh. The dilemma, as most adaptations do, the personality and traits of each characters were not shown fully due to time limitation.

The images of Panem? and other key players? District 12 is what I am expecting it to look like. Gray and miserable. Capitol is what I am hoping for as well. Colorful, indulgent, shallow, grand and futuristic. Cinna rocking the gold eyeliner, Seneca with his intricate beard, Effie Trinket looking like Bjork, excellent! Donald Sutherland as President Snow, gave me the goosebumps. I could not wait to see how he'll play the horrors and tyranny on the 2 next movies.

Glad I finally got this off my chest. I get riled up everytime a movie that I've been waiting for gets released and I hear negative comments from people who just watched it to see what the hype is all about. It lis like Sheldon Cooper exasperated by Penny's comments about Star Trek. haha

*photos are not mine just copied off google.

Friday, March 23, 2012

Dead of Night by Jonathan Maberry

Genre: Science Fiction
Release: St. Martin's Griffin, October 25, 2011
Sold by: Macmillan
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
A prison doctor injects a condemned serial killer with a formula designed to keep his consciousness awake while his body rots in the grave.  But all drugs have unforeseen side-effects.  Before he could be buried, the killer wakes up.  Hungry.  Infected.  Contagious.
.
Small town cop Dez Fox and her partner JT are caught in a wave of murder as everyone they know and love die…only to rise again as the ravenous living dead.  If Dez and JT can’t contain the plague inside the town limits, the infection will spread beyond all control.
.
This is the way the world ends.  Not with a bang…but a bite.

REVIEW:
The location is set on a fictional town of Stebbins, PA with a population of 7000 people. The lady protagonist Desdemona Fox is such a despicable character. She's be branded as damaged goods. Potty mouth, short tempered, bitter, stubborn, rude, promiscuous, truly horrible. Yet I love her! Her bravery, her good heart and her strong will to survive and save lives... an ace in my book.

Jonathan Maberry, maybe my favorite zombie novel writer. The transition of the scenes are fast-paced yet he still managed the element of suspense and horror only reserved when you are watching a movie and you are at the edge of your seat thinking, hurry up and tell me!

The horrifying twist about the zombies in this book is something I've always wanted to read about. It is almost like a dream come true. It has a very intricate scientific fictional explanation of the source of infestation. It was literally hell on earth and I truly wish that this type of biochemical invention is not somewhere available in real life and that no mad scientist is as sick as Dr. Volker. It has the promise of gore and graphic scenes that if you are squeamish might invoke your gag reflex. Over all, Dead of the Night is an excellent book, a must read for zombie fans. I cannot recommend it enough.

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Feed (Newsflesh #1) by Mira Grant

Genre: Science Fiction
Release: Orbit, May 2010
Sold by: Hatchette Book Group
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
"Alive or dead, the truth won't rest. My name is Georgia Mason, and I am begging you. Rise up while you can."

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we had created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over buddies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED.

Now, twenty years after the Rising, Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives—the dark conspiracy behind the infected. The truth will out, even if it kills them.

REVIEW:
The virus in this book is similar to the mutation of N1H1 in I am Legend. A brilliant scientist named Dr. Alexander Kellis discovered a cure for cancer but instead of side effects like suicidal thoughts, insomia, heart attack, etc. I twas not entirely his fault, it was untested and was kept in a lab until some people broke in and decided to distribute it. Meanwhile on the other side of the country, Amanda Amberlee was cured with an experimental drug called Marbug EX19. It was a success, until it wasn't the combination of the two drugs has turned people into the living dead. The virus is then dubbed, Kellis-Amberlee. Our main characters Georgia & Shaun Mason (foster siblings) and Georgette "Buffy" Meissonier are controversial bloggers that got selected to cover a Presidential campaign.

Mira Grant's website described this book as a "Dystopian political zombie thriller in a backdrop of national political campaign", I was skeptical when I read that but I've been wanting to read this book for so long so I decided to go ahead with it. I dislike anything that has to do with politicians and with politics, but I dislike it more when the whole story has a lot of new technology and how that technology works. That was a bummer. I was also a bit dragging for me. It took me a long time to really get into it.

The survivors of this horrible postapocalyptic world live in so much caution. Blood test to all the public gatherings, voice operated (everything) to lessen contamination, no animal / pets becasue they can be / had been infected with the virus too, you had to be bleached and thoroughly sterilized to make sure the virus dies, etc. All those was really interesting but the way the blogging and news community, not so much. I did not had fun reading that at all. The ending? really GOOD but not enough for me to purchase book two right away.

Friday, March 9, 2012

Hunger Games Illustrated Movie Companion Contest

I have a reason to believe that Hunger Games movie will not suck! maybe because I watched Tru Grit the other night and Jennifer Lawrence did a wonderful job in that movie. Or maybe because Woody Harrelson is going to play Haymitch and Lenny Kravitz will be the fab Cinna?!?!

Anyway, here's a copy of the Illustrated Move Companion for a lucky winner.
Please fill the blanks below.
This contest is international.

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Nude Wedge

I just wanted to share that today, I am wearing the most comfortable wedge I've ever bought. They are not one of those high end designers either so it was well worth it.

Cotton On - Nude Wedge $34.95

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

World War Z by Max Brooks

Genre: Science Fiction

Release: Crown, September 12, 2006
Hardcover: 342 Pages
Sold by: Random House Digital
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
The Zombie War came unthinkably close to eradicating humanity. Max Brooks, driven by the urgency of preserving the acid-etched first-hand experiences of the survivors from those apocalyptic years, traveled across the United States of America and throughout the world, from decimated cities that once teemed with upwards of thirty million souls to the most remote and inhospitable areas of the planet. He recorded the testimony of men, women, and sometimes children who came face-to-face with the living, or at least the undead, hell of that dreadful time. World War Z is the result. Never before have we had access to a document that so powerfully conveys the depth of fear and horror, and also the ineradicable spirit of resistance, that gripped human society through the plague years...

REVIEW:

This month is ZOMBIE month on Peace Love & Reviews. Let's start off with this book.

Took me two years to finally finish this book. I've put it down a bunch of times, the concept is very interesting the format fitting, yet I just could get into it, the third time I decided to try again worked. Maybe it was because I've been watching too many plague, zombie, outbreak driven films. Some of the accounts from all over the world were quite interesting and some lagging/dragging. I imagine that is how you get answers from some people, they say so much stuff and you yawn and you just couldn't wait till they give you the gory details of the point of their story. One of my favorite accounts was the one from Brazil, which his heart transplant patient and his theory about the black market for human parts.

I also like that Brooks on where the disease started and not towards the ending. A book like this... I can see why there are "Doomsday Preppers" and "Zombie Survival" although the accounts are fictional, an event somewhat similar can potentially happen. So now every time I see a documentary on Travel, history of NatGeo about organizations with such programs, I stopped saying WTF?!

.75
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos