visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Monday, April 30, 2012

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber

Genre: YA/Action/Adventure
Release: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children; 1 edition (October 25, 2011)
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
Perry Stormaire is a normal high school senior– he is busy applying to college and rehearsing with his band –until he agrees to go to the prom with the Lithuanian exchange student who is staying with his family. It turns out that Gobi Zaksauskas is not the mousy teenager that she seems but rather an attractive, confident trained assassin. Instead of going to the prom, Perry finds himself on a wild ride through the streets of New York City as Gobi commandeers the Jaguar his father lent him for the prom in order to take out her targets. Perry learns a lot about himself – and ends up with some amazing material for his college application essays.

REVIEW:
I finally got the chance to read it!!! I love it, It was fast-paced and quick. Perry's mom made a friend out of a foreign exchange student her family sponsored, she had the same aspirations for Perry and so they decided to sponsor one, it didn't turn out as good as they want it to be.

Gobi was from Lithuanian and for the past nine months, staying under their roof, she was known to be the shy girl, unattractive and is suffering from fainting spells. During prom night Perry was forced by his parent's to take Gobi. He does not want to because it was the same day his Inchworm band finally got a good gig to play at a local bar. But with a very controlling and infuriating father he begrudgingly complied.

Right after leaving prom due to some unpleasant scenes Perry finally saw Gobi, really saw her. It was hard not too, since she was actually hot and on a killing spree and she managed to make him her accomplice. There were a few graphic scenes fitting but might not be appropriate for children (I won't let my son read this book just yet). The blurb also just said Gobi is a trained assassin but it did not explain the why and the how, I like what I discovered. What she went through was heart breaking and tragic and it is based on what is happening somewhere in the real world.

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick is entertaining from start to finish. highly recommended to all fans of YA thriller, mystery and action.

Friday, April 27, 2012

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Romance/Chicklit
Release: Jamie McGuire, LLC May 26, 2011
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon
BLURB:
The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend America, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the charming college co-ed. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.
 
REVIEW:
Man! the book title is definitely appropriate. Abby and Travis are such disasters! I am not saying that because I did not like what I read. Disaster is the definition for these two characters. Both have some serious issues. She is harboring some secrets that she wanted to leave in Kansas. He obviously have some anger problems. When they started their friendship, they seems right for each other. I really like how the story started. It was cute and sweet. Abby snubbing Travis telling him that she will not sleep with him. Travis went on to great lengths to become friends with Abby with the whole schools shocked reaction and them being the topic of the gossip mill. It was the typical format of a chicklit. Sappy and cute, if you are a sucker for love story then you can't help but root for them.

I was completely taken aback on how I started to dislike these characters when they finally became a couple. Everything was a mess. Abby's secret was finally revealed, the secret came to Eastern and put on the guilt trip. Travis became this annoying ex-boyfriend who freaks out and punches other men when he gets jealous. He says I love you all the time and was disturbingly possessive. It was a turn-off. It was like reading completely different characters. Then everything went spiralling down. Especially for Travis, he completely gone insane. I was so mad yet I could not stop reading. *applause to Jamie McGuire* The ending was not surprising. It is what I am expecting, impulsive, sweet and cute in an Abby and Travis kind of way.


Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Genre: Fiction/Occult/Romance/Mystery
Release: Penguin, February 8, 2011

Sold by: Penguin Publishing
Buy the Book: Amazon

 
BLURB:
Deep in the stacks of Oxford's Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

REVIEW:
Wow this book took me almost this whole month to finish. I do love it though but it could have been less detailed and descriptive. I honestly skipped some parts just so I can get to the good part already. I doubt I missed something important. That was the only dislike.

In Diana Bishop's world there are 4 types of beings. Humans, Witches, Daemon and Vampires. They have their own set of rules and they avoid being noticed by humans. Diana belongs to the witches and to one with the most well known name/bloodline, she refuse to use her magic due to the death of her parents and due to the first witch that was killed in Salem. As standard goes, her life is boring. She does her job, being a Historian - studying manuscripts of alchemy and she does her job really well. Then her only past time was physical exercise to avoid adrenaline poisoning. No shopping, no girl friends to hang out with, she does not go to the bar, she does not even belong to any coven. Without the Ashmole 782 and the quest for answers of geneticist and vampire stud Matthew Clairmont, she is the epitome of a proverbial nerd. But the most important part of her personality is she managed to destroy her prejudice about the other creatures around her. The book is knee deep in mystery and I have a lot of unanswered questions. I like how the author end this book, definitely need to read the next book.
.5


Monday, April 16, 2012

Somebody tell Aunt Tillie She's Dead by Christiana Miller

Genre: Fantasy/Romance/ Witch/Magic
Release: HekaRose Publishing, April 23, 2011
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
Mara is having the worst month of her life. At least, that's what her cards tell her and they've never been wrong. She's evicted from her apartment, loses her job and is banned from Beverly Hills. So when the tarot cards predict her imminent demise, she uses a little magic to make her world right.

Suddenly, an aunt she's never met dies, leaving Mara as her sole heir. But when Mara moves into her inherited home, she discovers Aunt Tillie never moved out. She's still one pissed-off old lady, even post-mortem, and she blames Mara's magical meddling for her death.

When Mara accidentally releases a demon and awakens the spirit of the most powerful witch in history, Tillie's ready to kill her -- literally. It's the only way she can think of to save the girl from herself. The witch and the demon, however, have other plans for Mara's body.
 
REVIEW:
Maybe it is just me, but the first part was a little too long I got a little bored even with all the fun and mess Mara and Gus had. Talk about a bad week. Mara got evicted by her apartment biulding manager because she is a "devil worshipper" since she have a pagan altar in her living room. Then a Beverly Hill resident said she's blacklisted in the area for making his daughter cry when she heard Mara's tarot card reading about the future of his father. And her unemployment check is about to get depleted. All that yet, she refused to use her magic for her own gain, or at least she tried to until Gus gave her some pep talk that lead to Aunt Tillie's death. She left her everything, even though they have not met.

The second part of the book is where all the mystery lies. Why does Mara keep dreaming about the cottage? Is she really cursed? I liked the turn out, it was very creepy and horrific. All the witchy practice was very interesting. Now what I wanted to know if Mara's story has a next one.
.5

Thursday, April 12, 2012

ARM CANDY

I love accessories. Who women doesn't?
 What's hot right now? Trending = #ARMPARTY #ARMCANDY on Instagram.

Studded jewels, spiked bracelets, friendship bracelets, chunky bracelet, boyfriend watches, beads, glass beads, leather cuffs, bright colors,

I've got new sites for accessories:

and of course ETSY.COM and eBay have some unique stuff if you know where to look.





I'd love to hear where you get your accessories.

Monday, April 9, 2012

Opal Fire (Stacy Justice 1) by Barbra Annino

Genre: Paranormal Mystery/Romance/ Witch/Magic
Release: Dane House, March 2, 2011
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
Stacy Justice did not expect to be set on fire that night, but being raised by witches prepares one for life's little surprises. In fact, she isn't the least bit shocked when her cousin is accused of arson, or when her divorced grandparents sign up for a marriage retreat, or even when her own boyfriend hauls her off to jail. But when a decades-old secret is discovered within the walls of her cousin's bar, even Stacy is rattled. Now, someone wants her dead and she finds herself dodging angry motorists, exploding chickens and a very creepy man who lurks around every corner. As she begins to dig up the past, Stacy learns that even those closest to her have something to hide--and she's about to discover a destiny she never imagined.

REVIEW:
had fun reading Opal Fire. It is a light read and fast paced. Stacy Justice is an entertaining character. She is independent, stubborn and its seems like trouble seems to find her. She is born a witch and obviously have the power but she refuses to be "one of them", even if she gets visions (that makes it look like it leads to dead bodies), have 2 familiars; her cat Moonlight and her Great Dane, Thor. Her Aunts and grandmother reminds me of this Disney movie with Thora Birch in it... Hocus Pocus. The descriptions of Stacy's Aunts and Grandmother reminds me to SJP and Bette Midler's character but nicer and loving. The story started when a fire broke out from her cousin's bar then later on was accused of Arson. The story then goes deeper and they discovered something nobody ever bothered looking into. I like Stacy's profession - investigative journalism and she's damn good at it too. The romance part is on the down low, it is there but the story does not revolve around it.

This book have moments that piqued my curiosity, dead girl, exploding chicken, accident on an icy lake, creepy mustache man, her cousin Cinnamon, The Blessed Book, and the Wiccan ritual of Imbolc and the killer cliffhanger ending of this book that prompted me to buy book two pronto.


Friday, April 6, 2012

Accidental Witch by Annette Blair

Genre: Romantic-Comedy/ Witch??
Release: Berkley, October 5, 2004
Sold by: Penguin Publishing
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
Set in Old Salem around the Halloween season, this charming romantic comedy features a wacky, if good-hearted, self-proclaimed witch and her upstairs neighbor, a reformed bad boy trying to be a responsible father to his adorable four-year-old son, Shane. Needing a reliable baby sitter, Logan Kilgarven agrees to an exchange: he will find a job for Melody at the local TV station, where he is a producer, and she will be on call to baby sit Shane as needed. Melody, however, spurns his offer of a secretarial position, countering with a bid for a cooking show. The catch? Melody can't cook. At all. But with a combination of sex appeal and well-developed marketing skills, she sells the station owner on the concept, and several spicy encounters in elevators and on counters and desktops are the inevitable result. With both of them fighting their feelings, and several matchmakers as well as one marplot stirring the cauldron, Blair has crafted a fun and sexy romp.

REVIEW:
I like what I read on blurb. But I made a mistake of buying it. I mean I like the book. It is hilarious, light read and the tension between Logan and Melody is quite entertaining. The tease and the seduction would leave you wanting more. But I was lead to believe that this novel is about a spell casting, potion making kind of witch, but none of that. And it means it is not qualified for this month's theme, but I already paid and read it so might as well make a review.

When I read the title I was thinking maybe this girl would cast spells and produce an out of this world meal but nope none of that. There is one magical aspect though, Melody's natural charm and charisma and her ability to bewitch men and audience using her "assets and good looks". But other than that the only "wicthly" theme was she lives in Salem, she dresses like a witch, she said her friend is a real witch and that there is a rumor going around that she is a witch. But it ends there. Logan, (the main man) was quite annoying, he keeps on denying that Melody would be a great mother to his son even though all evidence is right in front of him. It was becoming old but then "Shark Bait" or Tiffany, the station owner's daughter, made it all interesting. The ending was not spectacular but it was ok. Over all, I would recommend this book for chick lit lovers and romantic comedy fans.
.5

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

April novel theme

This month here on Peace Love and Reviews...

Witches and magic novels / movies all month long.
I do not have a line up so if you have any title recommendations, I'd love to look at them.

Halfway Hexed (Southern Witch 3) by Kimberly Frost

Genre: Pranormal/ Romantic/ Suspense/ Witch
Release: Berkley Trade, February 1, 2011
Sold by: Penguin Publishing
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
Pastry-chef-turned-unexpected-action/adventure heroine Tammy Jo Trask is finally ready to embrace her mixed-up and often malfunctioning magic. Too bad not everyone wants her to become all the witch she can be.

First, there are the local residents who form a scripture-spouting posse and kidnap Tammy to “defend” Duvall against witchcraft. Next, someone saddles her with a secret package chock full of dangerous visions, just as the president of WAM—the World Association of Magic—arrives with his entourage to investigate her. And who worse to examine Tammy’s entanglement with off-limits and drop-dead gorgeous wizard Bryn Lyons than his ex-girlfriend? Not to mention that the clash between the locals and the magical visitors leads to a series of unnatural disasters that may doom them all.

Will Tammy Jo’s magical synergy with Bryn be enough to help her save the town or will her enemies succeed in putting Tammy out of commission for good? One thing’s certain: this would-be witch is ready to rumble, Texas style…

REVIEW:
Have I told you guys that I love this series? Oh my goodness I just couldn't get enough of Tammy Jo and Bryn. This book was way more exciting than the other two. Halfway Hexed has got the issue of kidnappings, religious local zealots, WAM council with a super spy in town, a murderous ex-girlfriend, a soul trapped in a brooch and the PROPHECY! If I thought the last two books made Tammy Jo's life was complicated, I was in a treat for this one. The ending was shocking of course and it provided answers. The prophecy was the most important part. It was infuriating, why would it have to be that way? More exciting and interesting I agree and the end, jeeez what now? What's the next adventure? And where would Zach fit in all these? I cannot wait for the next novel.

P.S: Thank you Miss Frost for writing this novel. It is my new favorite.


Monday, April 2, 2012

Flesh Eaters by Joe McKinney

Genre: Science Fiction / Horror
Release: Pinnacle, April 1, 2011
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
Battered by three devastating hurricanes in a row, the Texas coast is flattened. But for the people of Houston--and soon all of America--the most terrifying events are just beginning. . .

REVIEW:
Well first of, I did not know that this is the third book of the series called Dead City. not a bother since this can be a stand alone.

The story started off with the hurricane that destroyed Houston and then two more came that made the streets flooded and everything in ruins. With that said, there was a hopelessness to it. How the heck can people survive here? Not to mention there's that "the government want what is best for the nation" thing. It has a classic build up for a horror novel. Introduce the main players, give the audience a little something about them. name, family history, problems in life and them start off with the first zombie sightings. There are also multiple POVs from the characters which had me both liking and disliking it. I've read a bunch of zombie novels this month and one thing they lack is this. All of them got into the survival mode right away. Nope not this one. Flesh Easters, gave me a chance to get goose bumps and get freightened, not hurried like the other books. I was not thrust into action/adrenaline right away. I love it.
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos