visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Thursday, May 31, 2012

Thw Girl Who Disappeared Twice (Forensic Instincts) by Andrea Kane

Genre: Action/Suspense/Thriller/Sleuthing
Release: Mira, May 31, 2011
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
SHE COULDN'T STOP IT. NOT THEN. NOT NOW.

If she'd only turned her head, she would have seen the car containing her daughter, struggling to get out. Struggling to escape her kidnapper.

Despite all her years determining the fates of families, veteran family court judge Hope Willis couldn't save her own. Now she's frantically grasping at any hope for Krissy's rescue. Her husband dead-set against it, she calls Casey Woods and her team of renegade investigators, Forensic Instincts.

A behaviorist. A techno-wizard. An intuitive. A former Navy SEAL.

Unconventional operatives. All with unique talents and personal reasons for being part of Casey's group, they'll do whatever it takes.

Able to accurately read people after the briefest of encounters, Casey leads her crew to Krissy's home. There, she picks up the signs of a nervous spouse, a guilty conscience, a nanny that hides on her cell. She watches as secrets beg to creep into the open.

Forensic Instincts will dig through each tiny clue and eliminate the clutter. But time is running out, and even working around the clock, the authorities are bound by the legal system. Not so Casey's team. For they know that the difference between Krissy coming back alive and disappearing forever could be as small as a suspect's rapid breathing, or as deep as Hope's dark family history. 

REVIEW:
The book summary is very impressive. I couldn't wait to get my eyes into these and see what the mystery was all about. The kidnapping and the whole deal about Forensic Instincts. It start off with a kidnapping that occured when the victim was only 6 years old, fast -forward to the present day (30 somethig years after), the twin of the kidnapped victim's daughter was abducted. What a nightmare!
Naturally all law enforcement agency were immediately briefed and working on the case 24/7 but Judge Willis, the mother of the kidnap victim, Krissy wants someone fast, someone who doesn't have to deal with protocols and b.s , someone who can help find her daughter fast. Someone like Casey Woods' team - the Forensic Instincts. Love the whole premise, theme and characters but there was not so page turning moments that I wanted to get it over with. Once the mystery was solved it was a shocking revelation but something that I did not anticipate, either way it was good writing. A promising start of a good series.
.5

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Wife for Hire by Janet Evanovich

 Genre: Fiction/Romance
Release: Harper Collins, October 13, 2009
Sold by: Harper Collins Publisher
Buy the Book: Amazon

 

BLURB:
A classic romance by the #1 "New York Times" bestselling author of the Stephanie Plum series is now revised and repackaged. When firecracker Maggie Toone agrees to pose as Hank Mallones wife so he can secure a bank loan, she never imagines Hank would turn out to embody every fantasy shes ever had.

REVIEW:
This book is a result of post- One for the Money movie screening. The next day I have a sudden urge to read something from Ms. Evanovich and this is what I've chosen. This is a fast read. man hires a women sick of everything around her and wants a change of scenery and wants a change in career. Man hires said women to be his fake wife to get a loan from the bank that his father runs so he can move up his apple orchard business into something more. It is a cute has pretty decent light humor and very pg-13 love scenes.

 

Private (Jack Morgan 1) by James Patterson, Maxine Paetro

 Genre: Fiction/Action/Suspense
Release: Little Brown & Company, December 1, 2012
Sold by: Hatchette Book Group
Buy the Book: Amazon - First 28 Chapters Free on Kindle
 BLURB:
Unsolvable casesSince former Marine Jack Morgan started Private, it has become the world's most effective investigation firm--sought out by the famous and the powerful to discreetly handle their most intimate problems. Private's investigators are the smartest, the fastest, and the most technologically advanced in the world--and they always uncover the truth.

Impossible murdersWhen his former lover is found murdered in Jack Morgan's bed, he is instantly the number one suspect. While Jack is under police investigation, the mob strong-arms him into recovering $30 million in stolen pharmaceuticals for them. And the beautiful manager of a luxury hotel chain persuades him to quietly investigate a string of murders at her properties.

The #1 suspect is Jack MorganWhile Jack is fighting for his life, one of his most trusted colleagues threatens to leave Private, and Jack realizes he is confronting the cleverest and most powerful enemies ever. With more action, more intrigue, and more twists than ever before, PRIVATE: #1 SUSPECT is James Patterson at his unstoppable best.

REVIEW:
The first few chapters were insteresting but as I get to know Jack...Let's just say his is not a character that I normally would swoon over. I am not even interested in following his journey. He lack something that I look for in a hero or protagonist. Sure he seems to be a good guy. He is a good leader. But other than that what does he have? I cannot get past the thing where he seems to fall in love with women super fast. There was the dead ex-girlfriend Coleen. He said she loves her yet not enough to get married. Then their's Dr. Shrink, Justine, he also loves her but he slept with Colleen and now he is saying that he like hotellier Amelia Poole and at the end he was knocking at Justine's doorstep.

I like the murder mystery but not as much as much as I am expecting it to be. Maybe it is because I read too much heavy action, intense, dramatic novels before this one. To sum it all up, it was an ok book. A quick read and maybe a little over priced.

Monday, May 14, 2012

Midnight Rescue by Elle Kennedy

  Genre: Fiction/Action/Romantic Suspense
Release: Signet, May 1, 2012
Sold by: Penguin Publishing
Buy the Book: Amazon
BLURB:
Dangerous. Ruthless. Savage. And she's the good guy.

Abby Sinclair had a desperate childhood until she was rescued and adopted by a retired army ranger who molded her into a master of self-defense. Now, she's a cunning and fearless assassin thrust into assignment after dangerous assignment, using everything she has-nerve, resilience, strength, sex-to come out on top. Her only rule: trust no one.
Abby's latest assignment is in Columbia: go undercover and snuff out a dangerous arms dealer active in the underground sex trade. But when Abby purposely blows her cover in a last-ditch attempt to free the helpless victims, deadly mercenary Kane Woodland is recruited as back-up. His mission: get Abby out of that hell hole.

The last thing Kane expects is to feel a primal attraction for Abby. But when she convinces him to join her on her perilous mission, their newfound passion could put the lives of their whole team at risk.

REVIEW:
I've been looking for an assassin novel, especially women assassins, thanks to GoodReads I finally find my first one. After reading 2 books with titillating theme, I need more action in my imagination.

I really like Midnight Rescue. It involves two assassin agency, woman and man (different agencies, same mission statement). Kind of like the Mr. & Mrs. Smith movie. So there was a lot of testesterone, sexual tension, action and showing off. Everybody was a bad ass with sepcialized skills and really big ego, trust issues and diva complex. I understand, they all had a dark past and a horrible childhood, so for most of them they are assassins with a purpose. They only kill the "bad guys".

Book 1 is about Abby and Kane. Like I said they are from different agencies, their boss hates each other but as Abby purposely blew her cover to rescue kids from a sex slave mob boss, Nicole; the female assasin boss went to the male boss - Morgan for help. As expected the men does not like the idea but when Morgan heard it was Abby, he had to help. The story was fast. Despicable villians and a psychopath right hand man who gets his kicks when he tortures, whips, rapes and kills his victims. The ending was cheesy and a little hurried but over all the story did well, no stray or boring moments. It is a good start of a new series 

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Fifty Shades Darker by E.L James

 Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Romance/Erotica
Release: Vintage, September 13, 2011
Sold by: Random House Digital
Buy the Book: Amazon
BLURB:
Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life


REVIEW:
The break up only lasted a week?! That was my initial reaction. But I can emphatize with the pain of the broken heart, appetite loss and sleepless nights. Being in love and breaking up at the beginning stages was always hell and the make up sex after that... heaven, look what happened to Christian and Ana. The man almost went 360 for her. It was all so very sweet yet I have this feeling that it will not last long. And there it was the drama with the ex-submissive and Mrs. Robinson. But you know it made them a real couple, it was a good and nerve wracking challenege especially if one of the threat/challenge is mentally unstable but book two redefined the relationship of Miss Steele and Mr. Grey. The charity ball at his mother's house was really cool. No wonder there are a lot of funny e-cards out there with Fifty's reference.

I can see that Ana is very conflicted with what she and Christian have in this book. She wants straight up vanilla, romance, flowers and normal. Yet at the same time she wants to be in the Red Room of Pain for Christian and because she kind of wants to. I am also glad that she is more vocal and dares to push Christian's boundaries to understand him better. This is full of cliches, very repetitive, and I got bored with most of  the sex scenes (I might have skipped a scene or three), I love and hate it simultaneously. I cannot really blame the book, I mean seriously it is porn I am just happy that there is a bonus story behind it, so I am not complaining much. I am annoyed because I jumped in to the hype and tried to chastise myself, obviously I was unsuccessful. I can't resist it, i can't put it down. I wanted to find out what will happen, how it will end.

Monday, May 7, 2012

Movie Review: Avengers


SYNOPSIS:


  • Genre: Action/Adventure, Sci-Fi/Fantasy

  • Running Time: 2 hrs. 22 mins.

  • Release date: 0605/04/2012

  • Rating: PG-13 

  • Director: Joss Whedon



  • Continuing the epic big-screen adventures started in "Iron Man," "The Incredible Hulk," "Iron Man 2," "Thor," and "Captain America: The First Avenger," "Marvel's The Avengers" is the super hero team up of a lifetime. When an unexpected enemy emerges that threatens global safety and security, Nick Fury, director of the international peacekeeping agency known as S.H.I.E.L.D., finds himself in need of a team to pull the world back from the brink of disaster.

    REVIEW:
    I am reminded on why I love Joss Whedon. I love how he directed this film. The camera angles - fantastic.
    I also love how each Avengers stood out. Even Black Widow and Hawkeye had their moments. Before I saw the movie I was concerned on how they are going to make the audience see these two assassins, I mean seriously how good are they? And they turned out such bad ass! The scene that keep playing in my head over and over was when Black Widow said she have a ride, that it is going to be fun but she does need a boost.

    I enjoyed the humor. The Hulk movies are always so serious, always so sad, his predicament always have that doomed feeling but in this movie. He is not just the green monster with rage problems anymore. He really get to help and he is finally in control, well... after he fell out of the sky that is. The dialogue is also impressive. The characters, I think the actors deserve to get the role. I'd watch it again and this time I will gladly pay to see it on IMAX.

    Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James

     Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Romance/Erotica
    Release: Vintage, May 25, 2011
    Sold by: Random House Digital
    Buy the Book: Amazon

    BLURB:
    When literature student Anastasia Steele is drafted to interview the successful young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, she finds him attractive, enigmatic and intimidating. Convinced their meeting went badly, she tries to put Grey out of her mind - until he happens to turn up at the out-of-town hardware store where she works part-time.

    The unworldly, innocent Ana is shocked to realize she wants this man, and when he warns her to keep her distance it only makes her more desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her - but on his own terms.

    Shocked yet thrilled by Grey's singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success – his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving adoptive family – Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a passionate, physical and daring affair, Ana learns more about her own dark desires, as well as the Christian Grey hidden away from public scrutiny.

    REVIEW:
    For the first time since I started reading and reviewing books, I took a chance and bought this one without reading the book description or any customer and book blogger reviews. The reason I bought and decided to read it are these... first everytime I go to Amazon to look for books it was always there, I was watching the news the other day and this book was featured but I never got around to seeing it because I just wasn't interested and then I went to GoodReads.com to post some of my reviews and there it is again. With mostly 4.5 star ratings, that's when I said F it, fine now I am irritated and curious and intrigued.

    This is what I found out. It is not for teenagers. It is not a paranormal fiction. And I am addicted to it. Not going to lie Mr. Grey and Ms. Steele got me all hot and bothered. Anyone who read this book and did not get the same reaction is probably dead, so don't even lie. I was not totally shock as other readers, this is still acceptable compared to Anne Rice's Claiming of Sleeping Beauty series. That one I could not finish, but yes same kinky sex theme so I was ok.

    I do not know if I like the writing, I am torn. There are too many repeated phrases. I probably saw the contract 3x amongst other things. I really enjoyed the seduction, before Mr. Grey deflowered Ana. I also like that I get to feel first love again through Ana's journey. A married woman needed that.

    I am surprised to hear that this is going to be adapted ont he big screen? how in the hell are they going to pull that off? Nevertheless, I am looking forward to it.

    Wednesday, May 2, 2012

    Catch a Mate by Gena Showalter

    Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Romance/Chicklit
    Release: HQN Books, May 1, 2010 
    Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
    Buy the Book: Amazon
    BLURB:
    Jillian Greene is always getting caught in the act—it's her job! Working at Catch a Mate, Jillian gets paid by suspicious wives to smile, flirt and prove that no man can be trusted around the opposite sex. But she never gets physical—until a heart-stoppingly gorgeous male walks in.…

    Marcus Brody has just been hired to test female fidelity. But the last thing Jillian needs is a partner…especially an infuriating, irresistible man who doesn't plan to let her get away with anything -- not even letting him go . .

    REVIEW:
    I was really intrigued with the summary of the story and was excited to read it but there was too many repetitive phrases of "men are pigs" or a synonym of that phrase that it gave me the impression that every women in these story is a man haters. And I wonder if I was going to read the same phrases over and over. As the story progress, It was just mostly Jillian and her mother, blinded by what the father did. In Jillian's defense what her dad did was really beyond messed. So when sexy British Marcus Brody showed up Jillian's defenses were tested and her pent up sexual energy was threatening to get out. There was a lot of bickering, issues, complications and sexy encounter. I am going to say it, so if you haven't read this book yet stop right here.

    It is always fun reading something from Ms. Showalter, as usual I liked what I read from thsi book. It was a fast read. The owner of CAM - Anne decided to do something shocking that affected Jillian's future. In 3 days she forgave her father, had crazy rough sex, finally got sick of her mother's depression and vulnerability - she called her out on it and ... ok the last part I'll leave it for you guys to find out.

    Recommended to all Gena Showalter fans, lovers of comedy, drama, erotica and romance.
    
    Related Posts with Thumbnails

    Total Pageviews

     
    Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos