visit my jewelry & accessories blog

GIVEAWAYS










read the contest & privacy policy here


Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Dark Inside (Book 1) by Jeyn Roberts

Genre: Fiction/YA/Apocalyptic/Thriller/Horror
Release: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (November 1, 2011)
Sold by: Simon & Schuster Digital Sales Inc.
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
Since the beginning of mankind, civilizations have fallen: the Romans, the Greeks, the Aztecs...and now us. Huge earthquakes rock the world. Cities are destroyed. But something even more awful is happening: An ancient evil has been unleashed, and it's turning everyday people into hunters, killers, and crazies. This is the world Mason, Aries, Clementine, and Michael are living in--or rather, trying to survive. Each is fleeing unspeakable horror, from murderous chaos to brutal natural disasters, and each is traveling the same road in a world gone mad. Amid the throes of the apocalypse and clinging to love and meaning wherever it can be found, these four teens are on a journey into the heart of darkness--and to find each other and a place of safety.

REVIEW:
Holy smokes! Its been awhile since I've read something YA and something apocalyptic and wow I just realized how I miss it. I was so lost and confused as the characters in the book. An earthquake with a magnitude of epic proportions rocked the whole world, naturally ALOT of people died, The West Coast was wiped out (maybe I should move?), electronic communications - non-existent and then people started killing people. Have you seen the movie, The Crazies? It reminds me greatly of that movie although this book clearly is not the cause of some bio-weapon that the military accidentally dropped. The reason on why? how? and who? unleased such form of disease is still not clear. Sure there were clues of supernatural force and some reference about how the former great civilizations died but there was no concrete answer from the author. I approve, why reveal the mystery so soon? Keep the readers hungry for more, it is a great strategy.

The premise and ambitious, I am sure some people already rolled their eyes and thought of the whole thing as ridiculous and decided that this book is not for them. But I have decided to see this series through and am dying for the release of book 2 this September. I do have an issue, is this really acceptable for a YA? For a 14 year old? be warned that the book have some serious violence and graphic scenes of people killing people. But after the James Holmes Dark Knight massacre, I am seriously rethinking everything that has to do with violence in film, books and video games.

The Line Between Here and Gone (Forensic Instinct 2) by Andrea Kane

Genre: Action/Suspense/Thriller/Sleuthing
Release:  (June 26, 2012)
Sold by: Harlequin Mira
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
The man she loved is gone forever. The child she lives for could be next.Each day is a struggle for Amanda Gleason's newborn son as he battles a rare immune deficiency. Justin's best chance for a cure lies with his father, who was brutally murdered before Amanda even realized she carried his child.

Or was he?

One emailed photo changes everything, planting a seed of doubt that Amanda latches on to for dear life: a recent photo of a man who looks exactly like Paul. Could Justin's father be alive? The mother in her is desperate to find out. But tracking down a ghost when every second counts is not for amateurs.

REVIEW:
Like the previous book of Forensic Instinct, this book is full of psychological thriller and mystery. Twist and turns and shocking revelations. The case this time is for a missing person, that was assumed dead for years. There was no doubt in my mind when Amanda Gleason walked inside FI and talked to Marc Deveraux, a former Navy Seal about her case, that the team is going to accept it. It was unorthodox that Marc dropped the ball without consulting his team members first but a child's life is at risk so all logic went out the door and he said yes.

It boggles my mind on why Paul (the missing person) would leave his girlfriend. She told FI that they were happy and then he disappeared. There were a lot of guesses on my mind on why. Did he just use Amanda's family connection to get ahead in his career?, Is he even Paul? He was into something shady and now ont he run because somebody tried to kill him? Very intriguing all of it and then it would switch of to a very critical infant that needed his dad for a bone marrow transplant... it was heartbreaking always.

I like this book better than "The Girl who Disappered twice" it is a page turner, and is a really good thriller but there are still some dull moments, but it was good writing over all.

Want to follow the book blog tour? http://booktrib.com/blog-tour-between-here-and-gone/

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Bared To You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia Day

Genre: Fiction/Contemporary Romance/ Erotica
Release: Berkley (May 24, 2012)
Sold by: Penguin Publishing
Buy the Book: Amazon



BLURB:
Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness...He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I'd never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily...

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other's most private worlds...and desires.

The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn't tear us apart...

REVIEW:
This is recommended to all Fifty Shades of Grey fans. Over the top wealth, over the top sex scenes, intense issues, obsessive behaviors, stalkerish tendencies, the works and more.

Holy smokes! This is one intense novel and some scenes are just so weird and messed up. I really like the beginning, when Eva and Gideon were starting out. I always like the tension between characters before they decide that they are going to have sex or enter into some type of an arrangement / relationship. There is a certain excitement and I just cannot help but guess what is going to happen next, will they have discustingly sweet moments? Will I feel butterflies in my stomach when they profess their love? Will I get irritated with the character? Who is going to mess up first? etc...

I really like Eva, she is strong, smart and obviously pretty. I thought she was doing pretty well considering she was abused when she was 10. I also like Gideon, the control freak, the hotness that was described in the book and his impressive decisions in breaking his rules. I was really into them until Eva decided to tell Gideon of her ugly past. Then it went to really disturbing. They are showing a really messed up sign of co-dependency, the jealousy, using sex to relieve stress and to manipulate (especially on Eva's part) mood. Then Gideon started these nigthmares that are obviously sexually abused related, that causes him to have to release tension by pleasuring himself even at sleep. I was really into Cary too. Bisexual best friend who is always there when you need him, pretty awesome. Until he started showing some signs of destructive tendencies too. How in the hell are these characters going to survive? I am really intrigued and wanted to find out but I have this 45% feeling that this novel had the motehrload of all messed up and maybe it is too much for me. The other 55% thinks it is worth a shot and is telling me to suck it up and finish the series.


Monday, July 16, 2012

Fifty Shades Freed by E.L James

Genre: Fiction/Romance/Light BDSM/Erotica
Release: Vintage (January 17, 2012)
Sold by: Random House Digital
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
When unworldly student Ana Steele first encountered the driven, damaged young entrepreneur Christian Grey, it sparked a sensual affair that changed both their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and ultimately repelled by Christian's singular sexual tastes, Ana demanded a deeper commitment; determined to keep her, Christian agreed. Now, together, they have more-love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of infinite possibilities. But Ana always knew that loving her Fifty Shades would not be easy and being together poses challenges neither of them ever anticipated. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian's opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own integrity, identity, or independence; Christian must somehow overcome his compulsion to control and lay to rest the horrors that blighted his past and haunt his present. Just when it seems that together their love can conquer any obstacle, tragedy, malice and fate combine to make Ana's worst nightmares come true.

REVIEW:
I don't really read a lot of Erotica, but when I do, I started looking for other titles so I can compare it. That is what exactly I did after reading the Fifity Shades of Grey 1. And in comparisson, other books are much more graphic, lewd and definitely not for prudes. Fifty Shades series is PG-13 compared to the other titles that I've read. All have something in common, the sex scenes are constantly there that at some point it has become boring. Sure there are some scenes that had a little, more and no kink but gets old all the same.
So anyway, I am surprise that I like this book, sex scenes, ridiculous amount of I love Yous, I will never leave you, Mr Grey, Mrs. Grey, My husband, My wife (lovingly said to each other) aside... I like how the story progressed. Questions has been answered and character growth has been present. I would say I felt that girl feeling when I read the Twilight Saga the first time, I still do not like the insecurity / jealousy type hero but I do love the sickly sweet way they show their love.

P.S: In case you are frantically looking for the copy:
From what I've read so far (first chapter), the fan fic that started this all, The Master of the Universe looks like the same as Fifty Shades, the only change was the name of the Characters. Miss Kavanagh is Rose. Bella is obviously Ana and of course, Edward is Christian.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Accidental it Girl by Libby Street

Genre: Romatic Comedy/ Chick Lit/Fiction
Release: Pocket Books; Original edition (October 10, 2006)
Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Services
Buy the Book: Amazon


BLURB:
What comes around...

Photographer Sadie Price is known for her thick skin and infallible instincts. A lofty education has made her skilled in her craft, and a fear of poverty -- and love for Jimmy Choo -- has made her one of the East Coast's most savvy paparazzi. She keeps her exhilarating but sometimes hectic life manageable by staying on the right side of the razor-thin line between celebrity photographers and the stalkerazzi. But all that changes when Sadie locks horns with one of Hollywood's hottest bachelors.


...goes around.

Something about Ethan Wyatt's charisma and startling good looks throws Sadie off her game. Something about Sadie's dogged determination -- and a very compromising picture she snaps -- throws Ethan off his. Hatching a scheme befitting the silver screen that made him famous, Ethan sets out to give Sadie a taste of her own medicine. And when her life almost instantly becomes as frenzied as those of the "It Girls" she follows, Sadie starts to see her career, her love life, and Ethan Wyatt in ways she never had before....
REVIEW:
Libby Street is one of my favorite chick lit authors. Happiness Sold Separately is one of their books that I probably read a couple of times because it felt good to read it. Its been a while since I read a book from them so I decided to finally read the Accidental It Girl, the summary promised a very intriguing plot that involves a paparazzi and a celebrity. In the real world their interaction can end up in accidents, cursing, slewof insults, legal battles, etc. In this story our heroine, Sadie Price is the paparazzi being taught a lesson, a very inconvenient, embarassing yet eye opening experience. The person giving said lesson, Ethan Wyatt, described as one of the hottest movie stars, who got caught in a scandal involving two sisters.

I was into it up until I felt like Sadie decides to sulk. I call it that because instead of taking advantage of the situation she was so caught up on who was behind all the crazy rumor. I mean she could have turn the whole thing to her advantage. I don't know I just feel like there was something missing, even the ending, that was it? It was that simple? No mention where Sadie finally flourish into a photographer that she really is? I am a little disappointed to be honest. It lacked spark that Happiness Sold Separately have.

And One Last Thing by Molly Harper

Genre: Fiction/Female Heroine/Chic lit
Release: Pocket Star; Original edition (July 27, 2010)
Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
Buy the Book: Amazon

BLURB:
Lacey Terwilliger’s shock and humiliation over her husband’s philandering prompt her to add some bonus material to Mike’s company newsletter: stunning Technicolor descriptions of the special brand of "administrative support" his receptionist gives him. The detailed mass e-mail to Mike’s family, friends, and clients blows up in her face, and before one can say "instant urban legend," Lacey has become the pariah of her small Kentucky town, a media punch line, and the defendant in Mike’s defamation lawsuit.

Her seemingly perfect life up in flames, Lacey retreats to her family’s lakeside cabin, only to encounter an aggravating neighbor named Monroe. A hunky crime novelist with a low tolerance for drama, Monroe is not thrilled about a newly divorced woman moving in next door. But with time, beer, and a screen door to the nose, a cautious friendship develops into something infinitely more satisfying.

Lacey has to make a decision about her long-term living arrangements, though. Should she take a job writing caustic divorce newsletters for paying clients, or move on with her own life, pursuing more literary aspirations? Can she find happiness with a man who tells her what he thinks and not what she wants to hear? And will she ever be able to resist saying one . . . last . . . thing?
REVIEW:
I loved the bit where Lacey, a perfect wife, hostess and member of the wives community lost her mind and sent a newsletter detailing her husband's philandering ways to everybody they know. I loved that she owned up to it, sure there was guilt and doubt on that method but hey, it was a learning process and it was very entertaining for me as a reader. Reading how she kept appearances for the sake of reputation and to make her husband's life easy is exhausting. I can't even stand people who thinks they are above everybody else for 2 minutes without saying anything snarky or rolling my eyes, so to read about somebody (doesn't matter if fictional)about living that fake live, loyalty and friendship is somewhat refreshing. I've read many female characters not giving a hoot and thi is quite a good break from that.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Total Pageviews

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila | Artwork: 123RF Stock Photos